DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Clam 5, line 2, change “comprising” to –comprising:--.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a pulse signal generation section”, “a light-emitting section”, and “a pulse signal generation procedure” in claims 1, 5, 10-11 .
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0088843 A1 by Tsai (hereinafter Tsai) in view of US Patent No. 5682562 A by Mizukoshi et al. (hereinafter Mizukoshi).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches a solid-state imaging element (Fig. 1) comprising:
a pulse signal generation section (Fig. 1 @ 11, Par. [0028]. Also see Fig. 2 @ light emission, Par. [0028]) that is provided with an avalanche photodiode (Fig. 1 @ AD, Par. [0029]) that converts incident light including reflected light of irradiation light radiated during a predetermined light-on period into a photocurrent (Fig. 1 @ O, Par. [0028-0029]); and
an up-down counter that performs one of up counting and down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during the light-on period, and performs another of the up counting and the down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during a light-off period that does not correspond to the light-on period (Fig. 1 @ 15, Par. [0049]) but does not explicitly teach multiplies the photocurrent and a quench circuit that generates a pulse signal on a basis of the multiplied photocurrent.
However, Mizukoshi teaches multiplies the photocurrent and a quench circuit that generates a pulse signal on a basis of the multiplied photocurrent (Fig. 2, Fig. 3 @ 20, 70, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai by Mizukoshi as taught above such that multiplies the photocurrent and a quench circuit that generates a pulse signal on a basis of the multiplied photocurrent is accomplished in order to design a quenched flash circuit for an electronic camera to decide when the film exposure is adequate, so that the flash light output can be halted at the appropriate time (Mizukoshi, Col. 1, line 5-7, 20-22).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai teaches the irradiation light includes intermittent light (Fig. 2 @ light emission, Par. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai teaches the up-down counter includes first and second up- down counters (Fig. 1),
the first up-down counter performs either the up counting or the down counting on a basis of a first clock signal having a phase difference of 0 degrees or 180 degrees from the intermittent light (Fig. 4 @ T1 (up counting), T3 (down counting), Par. [0049-0050, 0058]. T1 has a phase difference of 0 degree and T3 has a phase difference of 180 degree with respect to light emission (i.e. the intermittent light)), and
the second up-down counter performs either the up counting or the down counting on a basis of a second clock signal having a phase difference of 90 degrees or 270 degrees from the intermittent light (Fig. 4 @ T2 (up counting), T4 (down counting), Par. [0049-0050, 0058]. T2 has a phase difference of 90 degree and T4 has a phase difference of 270 degree with respect to light emission (i.e. the intermittent light)).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsai teaches the up-down counter performs either the up counting or the down counting on a basis of a predetermined clock signal (Fig. 1, Fig. 4 Par. [0049-0050, 0058]), and
a phase difference of the clock signal with respect to the intermittent light is set to 0 degrees or 180 degrees during a first period, and set to 90 degrees or 270 degrees during a second period (Fig. 1, Fig. 4 @ T1 (i.e. the first period), T2 (i.e. the second period), Par. [0014, 0049-0050, 0058]. T1 has a phase difference of 0 degree and T2 has a phase difference of 90 degree with respect to light emission (i.e. the intermittent light)).
Regarding Claim 10, Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi teaches a sensing system (See Claim 1 rejection) comprising:
a light-emitting section that radiates irradiation light during a predetermined light-on period (See Claim 1 rejection);
a pulse signal generation section that is provided with an avalanche photodiode that converts incident light including reflected light of the irradiation light into a photocurrent and multiplies the photocurrent and a quench circuit that generates a pulse signal on a basis of the multiplied photocurrent (See Claim 1 rejection); and
an up-down counter that performs one of up counting and down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during the light-on period, and performs another of the up counting and the down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during a light-off period that does not correspond to the light-on period (See Claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi teaches a control method of a solid-state imaging element (See Claim 1 rejection. Note: an apparatus claim can be used to implement a method claim) comprising:
a pulse signal generation procedure of converting incident light including reflected light of irradiation light radiated during a predetermined light-on period into a photocurrent and multiplying the photocurrent, and generating a pulse signal on a basis of the multiplied photocurrent (See Claim 1 rejection); and
an up-down counting procedure in which an up-down counter performs one of up counting and down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during the light-on period, and performs another of the up counting and the down counting each time the pulse signal is generated during a light-off period that does not correspond to the light-on period (See Claim 1 rejection).
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Mizukoshi) as applied to Claim 2 above and further in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0139041 A1 by Drader et al. (hereinafter Drader).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches the pulse signal generation section (Fig. 1 @ 11, Par. [0028]. Also see Fig. 2 @ light emission, Par. [0028]) is arranged in each of the plurality of pixels (Fig. 1 @ AD, Par. [0029, 0038, 0072]) but does not explicitly teach a logical sum gate that supplies a logical sum of the pulse signals of each of a plurality of pixels to the up-down counter.
However, Drader teaches a logical sum gate that supplies a logical sum of the pulse signals of each of a plurality of pixels to the up-down counter (Fig. 2, Par. [0042-0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi by Drader as taught above such that a logical sum gate that supplies a logical sum of the pulse signals of each of a plurality of pixels to the up-down counter is accomplished in order to combine onto a single line on its output line (Darder, Fig. 2 @ 204), pulses generated each time an event is detected by any of the SPAD cells (Darder, Par. [0042]).
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Mizukoshi) as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2005/0088644 A1 by Morcom (hereinafter Morcom).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai teaches the irradiation light (See Claim 1 rejection), and
the incident light includes the reflected light and background light (Par. [0005, 0031]: ambient light, i.e. the background light) but does not explicitly teach includes structured light.
However, Morcom teaches structured light (Par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi by Morcom as taught above such that the irradiation light includes structured light is accomplished in order to measure the profile of the object/measure the distance of the remote object/compute the 3D surface profile of the remote object (Morcom, Par. [0003-0005]).
11. Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Mizukoshi) as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0316160 A1 by Kurokawa (hereinafter Kurokawa).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsai teaches the up-down counter (See Claim 1 rejection) includes:
a first flip-flop to which the pulse signal is input (Par. [0065]); but does not explicitly teach:
a selector that selects either a non-inverted output signal or an inverted output signal of the first flip-flop in accordance with a predetermined enable signal, and outputs the selected signal as a selection signal; and
a second flip-flop to which the selection signal is input.
However, Kurokawa teaches a selector (Fig. 1 @ 33) that selects either a non-inverted output signal or an inverted output signal of the first flip-flop (Fig. 1 @ 34) in accordance with a predetermined enable signal (Fig. 1 @ 94), and outputs the selected signal as a selection signal (Fig. 1 @ 34, Q); and
a second flip-flop (Fig. 1 @ 35) to which the selection signal (Fig. 1 @ 34, Q) is input (Fig. 1 @ 35 @ 52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi by Kurokawa as taught above such that a selector that selects either a non-inverted output signal or an inverted output signal of the first flip-flop in accordance with a predetermined enable signal, and outputs the selected signal as a selection signal; and a second flip-flop to which the selection signal is input is accomplished in order to perform up/down counting operation of the counter circuit (Kurokawa, Par. [0103]).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi as modified by Kurokawa teaches the first and second flip-flops include D flip- flops (Tsai, Par. [0065]), and
the inverted output signal (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 34, Q) of the first flip-flop (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 34) is input to a delay terminal (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 51) of the first flip-flop (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 34) but does not explicitly teach the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals.
However, it is considered obvious to try all known solutions when there is a recognized need in the art (the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals), there had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need (pulse signal, selection signal, clock signal, combination of pulse signal and the selection signal), and when one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143, E. Furthermore, such an arrangement would imply to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals in order to obtain a predictable result.
12. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Mizukoshi) and Kurokawa as applied to Claim 7 above and further in view of JP2019047383A by Taura et al. (hereinafter Taura).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsai teaches the first and second flip-flops (See Claim 7 rejection) and the pulse signal input (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 32) to clock terminals (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ CLK2 (first flip-flop 34)) and selection signal (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 34, Q) is input to clock terminals (Kurokawa, Fig. 1 @ 52, 56 (second flip-flop 35)) but does not explicitly teach include JK flip- flops, and
the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals.
However, Taura teaches JK flip- flops (Fig. 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsai as modified by Mizukoshi as modified by Kurokawa by Taura as taught above such that the first and second flip-flops include JK flip- flops is accomplished in order to obtain a predictable result.
Still lacking limitation such as: the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals.
However, it is considered obvious to try all known solutions when there is a recognized need in the art (the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals), there had been a finite number of identified, predictable solutions to the recognized need (pulse signal, selection signal, clock signal, combination of pulse signal and the selection signal), and when one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143, E. Furthermore, such an arrangement would imply to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the pulse signal and the selection signal are input to clock terminals in order to obtain a predictable result.
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877