DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to the original filing of 10/19/2022. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn and claims 7-12 are pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election of Group II which included claims 7-12 now stand in the application.
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn or canceled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected Groups.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim 7 recites and/or inherits recitations of limitations “a data collecting unit configured to…”, “a 3-dimensional (3D) image generating unit configured to…”; “the surgical stage classifying unit of the learning model is configured to classify…” in Claim 9; “a feature information detecting unit configured to detect” and “an image signal generating unit configured to generate” in Claim 10; “the 3D image generating unit is further configured to generate” in Claim 11 and “successful rate evaluating unit is configured to detect” in Claim 12 that invoke interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) due to the “configured to” language used therein. In this case, the specification does not indicate what the functions recited by the means-plus-function limitations are intended to perform.
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 USC 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 USC 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Claim 7 recites and/or inherits recitations of limitations “a data collecting unit configured to…”, “a 3-dimensional (3D) image generating unit configured to…”; “the surgical stage classifying unit of the learning model is configured to classify…” in Claim 9; “a feature information detecting unit configured to detect” and “an image signal generating unit configured to generate” in Claim 10; “the 3D image generating unit is further configured to generate” in Claim 11 and “successful rate evaluating unit is configured to detect” in Claim 12 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification does not indicate what the functions recited by the means-plus-function limitations are intended to perform. However, MPEP 2181(II)(B) indicates that “[i]n cases involving a special purpose computer-implemented means-plus-function limitation, the Federal Circuit has consistently required that the structure be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor and that the specification must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed function” [emphasis added], wherein “[a]n algorithm is defined, for example, as ‘a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task’”. Algorithms for the following means-plus-function limitations incorporated in claims 7, 9-12 which invoke 35 USC 112(f) are not adequately disclosed by the specification.
Therefore, claims 7, 9-12 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112(a)
Claim(s) 7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 USC 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7, 9-12 invoke(s) 35 USC 112(f) and is found to be indefinite under 35 USC 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure in the specification. MPEP 2181(II)(B) indicates that “[w]hen a claim containing a computer-implemented 35 USC 112(f) claim limitation is found to be indefinite under 35 USC 112(b) for failure to disclose sufficient corresponding structure (e.g., the computer and the algorithm) in the specification that performs the entire claimed function, it will also lack written description under 35 USC 112(a).” Consequently, these claims are further rejected for inadequate written description under 35 USC 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 USC 112, second paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2020/0357502).
Claim 7. Lee discloses a machine learning-based surgical guide system comprising:
a data collecting unit configured to collect a plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data on patients of a plurality of operating surgeons (actual surgical data obtained in an actual surgical process into a plurality of detailed surgical operations to obtain actual surgical cue sheet data composed of the plurality of detailed surgical operations, obtaining, by the computer) ([0010], [0032]);
an image providing server comprising a learning model trained based on the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data, and a 3-dimensional (3D) image generating unit configured to generate a 3D surgical guide image based on a selected image output by the learning model ([0055],[0057]-[0058], [0033], [0097]-[0098],[0117]); and
a user device configured to receive the 3D surgical guide image from the image providing server and display the 3D surgical guide image ([0034],[0055],[0096]) ..the computer determines a surgical situation, and provides a surgical guide image according to a rehearsal result or an optimal surgical scheme) ([0118]), wherein the learning model is configured to classify the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data according to surgery item information comprising patient information and surgical stage information (..calculate the division criteria and detailed categories included within the division criteria via deep learning..)([0066]-[0067], [0124]), and output the selected image from the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data according to a user input of selecting a surgical condition ([0055]-[0058])
Claim 8. Lee discloses the machine learning-based surgical guide system of claim 7, wherein the learning model is further configured to categorize the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data by using a patient information recognizing unit, a surgical instrument recognizing unit, a surgical stage classifying unit, a movement information detecting unit, and a successful rate evaluating unit ([0011],[0065],[0068],[0074], [0085], [0096]).
Claim 12. Lee discloses the machine learning-based surgical guide system of claim 8, wherein the successful rate evaluating unit is configured to detect successful rates of surgeries with the respect to the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data and classify the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data into surgery success data or surgery failure data ([0011],[0065],[0068],[0074], [0085]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0357502) in view of Jin et al. (KR 20160136833).
Claim 9. Lee discloses the machine learning-based surgical guide system of claim 8, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of pieces of actual surgical skill data comprises first surgical skill data performed during a preparation stage, second surgical skill data performed during an intermediate stage after the preparation stage, and third surgical skill data performed during a finishing stage after the intermediate stage, and the surgical stage classifying unit of the learning model is configured to classify the first surgical skill data, the second surgical skill data, and the third surgical skill data according to first surgical movement information of the plurality of operating surgeons.
However, Jin discloses first surgical skill data performed during a preparation stage, second surgical skill data performed during an intermediate stage after the preparation stage, and third surgical skill data performed during a finishing stage after the intermediate stage, and the surgical stage classifying unit of the learning model is configured to classify the first surgical skill data, the second surgical skill data, and the third surgical skill data according to first surgical movement information of the plurality of operating surgeons ([0043])[ wherein, editing content including time code classification information indicating an arrangement order of surgical images, location information of an object requiring additional information in a surgical image frame, additional information related to each of mapping points, additional information related to the currently displayed surgical image, and the like]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee with Jin features. One would have been motivated to do so in order to assist a medical personnel while performing surgery.
Claim 10. Lee and Jin disclose the machine learning-based surgical guide system of claim 9, Lee further discloses wherein the image providing server comprises: a feature information detecting unit configured to detect feature information from surgical skill data included in the selected image ([0019],[0044]); and an image signal generating unit configured to generate an image signal corresponding to the feature information ([0055],[0058]).
Claim 11. Lee and Jin disclose the machine learning-based surgical guide system of claim 10, Lee further discloses wherein the 3D image generating unit is further configured to generate the 3D surgical guide image by combining the image signal with the selected image, and generate the 3D surgical guide image using a first surgical image generated based on the first surgical skill data, a second surgical image generated based on the second surgical skill data, and a third surgical image generated based on the third surgical skill data ([0074]-[0075]).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
/PHENUEL S SALOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146