DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues On page 7, the Office Action asserts that it would have been obvious to apply Saklang's circular section 50 to Denso "to distribute stress more uniformly throughout the ring 61 when tightening the screw 300 in Denso in order to make a better connection between the ring portion 60 and the resin body 50 since the rounded head of the screw 300 in Denso would press onto the rounded ring 61." Applicant respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have arrived at the above proposed modification of Denso in view of Saklang presented in the Office Action without information gleaned only from the present disclosure, which constitutes impermissible hindsight reasoning. Referring to Saklang, the circular section 50 appears to have the purpose of accommodating a press-fit pin 20. Thus, the press-fit pin 20 appears to exert force on the circular section 50 in a radial direction against the circular section 50. In contrast, in Denso, the screw 300 appears to exert a downward force against the exposed portion 61. As such, there is no suggestion in the cited references to modify Denso's exposed portion 61 in view of Saklang's circular section 50, as these structures appear to apply forces in entirely different directions.
However, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper," see MPEP 2145.
Saklang discloses The press-fit holes 66 formed in the housing are aligned with the center holes 54 in the press-fit leads 46 so that a press-fit connection pin 20 (bottom left drawing of FIG. 4) can be inserted therein and extend entirely through the housing. In one embodiment, a diameter of the press-fit hole 66 in the housing is greater than a diameter of the center hole 54 of the press-fit lead 46. For example, in one embodiment the center hole 54, [0022].
The bottom left portion of FIG. 4 shows the press-fit pin 20 being pushed downward through a center hole 54 of the circular section 50. As the press-fit pin 20 exerts force in a radial direction against the circular section 50, the press-fit pin would also exert force in a downward direction against the circular section 50 when the press-fit pin is pushed downward as shown in FIG. 4. Accordingly, the exerted force / stress would be more uniformly distributed throughout the circular section 50 as the press-fit pin 20 is pushed downward compared to a section 50 that is non-circular, e.g., rectangular.
Similarly, Denso’s screw 300 applies a downward force on Denso’s ring 61 as Denso’s screw 300 is tightened.
The definition of “washer” from Cambridge Dictionary was relied upon in the prior Office Action, a copy of which is attached. Included as a visual aid in the definition is a picture of a washer which has an inner rounded circumference and an outer rounded circumference. This definition for “washer” is “a flat ring of metal, rubber, or plastic that is put somewhere, especially between a screw or bolt and a surface, or between joined pipes, in order to make a better connection between them.”
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying Denso’s ring 61 to have an inner rounded circumference and an outer rounded circumference as in Saklang would make a better connection between Denso’s ring portion 60 and the resin body 50 and distribute stress more uniformly throughout Denso’s ring 61 as Denso’s screw 300 applies a downward force on Denso’s modified ring 61.
Furthermore, another definition for “washer” by Dictionary.com states “a flat ring or perforated piece of leather, rubber, metal, etc., used to give tightness to a joint, to prevent leakage, to distribute pressure, etc., as under the head of a nut or bolt” which supports the argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that modifying Denso’s ring 61 to have an inner rounded circumference and an outer rounded circumference as in Saklang would allow pressure and therefore stress to be distributed more uniformly as Denso’s screw 300 exerts a downward force on Denso’s modified ring 61.
Additionally, the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2016162992A (“Fukase”) discloses in FIG. 5 a ring portion 34 having an inner rounded circumference and a portion of an outer rounded circumference. Fukase discloses by setting the exposed portion of the N electrode 4 to a flexible structure that is easily deformed, it is possible to perform more effective tightening. For example, by setting the flexible structural portion 34 as shown in FIG. 5, the flexible structural portion 34 of the N electrode 4 is pushed by the bearing surface of the screw 32 at the time of screw tightening, thereby deforming in the screw tightening direction . By deforming the exposed portion of the N electrode 4, the stress generated between the mold resin 6 and the lead terminal (P electrode, AC electrode) can be reduced, and peeling of the interface can be prevented, [0025]. FIG. 4 shows a screw inserted into the electrode 4.
The reference US20160035658A1 (“Okabe”) discloses in FIG. 9 washers 908 are provided between the mounting structures 904 (here screws) and the encapsulant 110 to further decrease the mechanical impact on the brittle encapsulant 110 per contact area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2014-183242A to Denso Corp (hereinafter “Denso”; cited in IDS filed Oct. 19, 2022) in view of US20200126895A1 to Saklang et al. (“Saklang”) further in view of JPH05-109795A to (“Totokawa”), further in view of JP2001-338940A (“Mizuta”), further in view of US 20200254663 A1 to Kazuno et al. (hereinafter “Kazuno”).
Note: paragraphs cited below for Denso are from its translation that was submitted with the IDS. Paragraphs cited below for Mizuta are from its translation previously attached.
RE: Claim 1, Denso discloses A method for manufacturing a semiconductor device (10, [0016]-[0027]; FIGs. 1-8, FIG. 15; see Annotated FIG. 2 of Denso below) comprising the steps of:
(a) preparing a lead frame (lead frame 100, [0027] in FIG. 1, 2, 8, or 15) including
a plurality of lead portions (40, [0017]),
a tie bar (30, 31, [0044]) that connects intermediate portions of the plurality of lead portions and extends along an arrangement direction of the plurality of lead portions (30, 31 connect intermediate portions of 40 and 30, 31 extend along arrangement direction of 40),
a frame body (70) that connects both end portions of the plurality of lead portions and the tie bar and is placed so as to surround the plurality of lead portions and the tie bar (FIG. 3 shows outer frame 70 surrounding leads 40, tie bar 30), and
a ring portion (ring portion in Denso is formed by parts of 60, e.g., 61, 62, lefthand 63, lefthand 64, and/or lefthand 65, in FIG. 2; or 61 in FIGs. 8, 15; reinforcing member 60 with through-hole 67, [0036], FIG. 7) placed on an inner-surface side of the frame body (the term “ring portion” is not defined in the instant specification; the term “ring” is defined as “an encircling arrangement” and “encircle” is defined as “to pass completely around”, see definitions by Merriam-Webster available at <https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/ring> and <https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/encircle> accessed on October 30, 2025; accordingly, in FIG. 7, as 60 passes completely around through-holes 52, 67, 60 is considered a ring portion),
the ring portion comprising a ring (61 defining 67, [0036]) including an inner rounded circumference (inner portion of 61 defining 67);
(b) connecting a semiconductor element (20 in FIG. 1) to the lead frame to form an assembled body (semiconductor element is fixed to 30, [0007]; lead frame 100 has an island 30, a lead 40, a reinforcing member 60 and an outer frame body 70, and the island 30, the lead 40 and the reinforcing member 60 are connected to the outer frame body 70, [0027]);
(e) cutting the frame body, the tie bar, and the connecting portion (Then, a removal step is performed. Out of the lead frames 100 exposed from the sealing resin body 50, unnecessary portions including the outer frame body 70 are removed. After the removing step, as shown in FIG. 6, the lead 40 protrudes from the 3 side surface 50 of the sealing resin body 50 and the 4 side surface 50 f, [0031]; FIG. 6 shows outer frame 70 was removed / cut and the leads 40, tie bar 31, connecting portion 65 were cut).
Denso does not explicitly disclose the ring (60) including a portion of an outer rounded circumference, the portion of the outer rounded circumference being connected to the inner-surface side of the frame body via a connecting portion;
(c) placing the assembled body in a cavity of a molding die including an upper die and a lower die;
(d) injecting a molding resin in a liquid form into the cavity and curing the molding resin in a state in which a pin provided in the lower die is inserted through a hole of the ring portion and an upper surface of the ring portion is in contact with an inner surface of the upper die, to form a resin-molded body;
(e) the cutting the frame body, the tie bar, and the connecting portion is after taking out the resin- molded body from the molding die;
wherein in the state in which the pin provided in the lower die is inserted through the hole of the ring portion, the pin extends above the upper surface of the ring portion that is in contact with the inner surface of the upper die.
However, the same field of endeavor, Saklang discloses in FIG. 4 a ring (50 of lead frame 30) including an inner rounded circumference (circumference defining 54) and a portion of an outer rounded circumference (outer portion 50), the portion of the outer rounded circumference being connected to the inner-surface side of the frame body (32) via a connecting portion (48, 56).
In addition, a washer is defined as “a flat ring of metal, rubber, or plastic that is put somewhere, especially between a screw or bolt and a surface, or between joined pipes, in order to make a better connection between them,” (see definition provided by Cambridge dictionary available at <https://dictionary.cambridge.org/us/dictionary/english/washer>, accessed on Oct. 29. 2025).
Denso discloses as shown in FIG. 2, during fixing by tightening of the screw 300, the exposed surface 61 a exposed on the 1 main surface 61 a of the 1 exposed portion 50 comes into contact with the lower surface 310 of the head portion of the screw 300, [0025].
Further, FIG. 1 of Denso shows the screw 300 as having a rounded head.
FIG. 2 of Denso shows the portion 61 between the head of the screw 300 and the top surface of the resin 50.
Accordingly, 61 in Denso functions as a washer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Denso with Saklang so that 61 in Denso includes a ring as taught by Saklang to distribute stress more uniformly throughout the ring 61 when tightening the screw 300 in Denso in order to make a better connection between the ring portion 60 and the resin body 50 since the rounded edge of the head of the screw 300 in Denso would press onto the rounded ring 61. As modified, 61 would be connected to the inner surface of the frame body 70 in Denso via a connecting portion (righthand 62, 63, 64, 65 in FIG. 2 of Denso).
Further, Denso discloses Next, a molding process is performed. As shown in FIG. 5, a portion of the semiconductor element 20, the island 30, and the lead 40 and a portion of the reinforcing member 60 are sealed by a transfer molding method. Thus, the sealing resin body 50 is formed, [0030];
Denso further discloses a portion of the semiconductor element 20, the island 30, and the lead 40 and a portion of the reinforcing member 60 are sealed by a transfer molding method. Thus, the sealing resin body 50 is formed. The notch 51 may be a mold which forms a notch 51 at the time of transfer molding. A notch 51 is formed by preparing a mold such that a notch 51 is formed at the time of transfer molding [0030].
In the same field of endeavor, Totokawa discloses (c) placing the assembled body in a cavity (cavity 32, FIG. 7) of a molding die (29, 30) including an upper die (29) and a lower die (30);
(d) injecting a molding resin in a liquid form into the cavity and curing the molding resin in a state in which a pin is inserted through a hole of the ring portion to form a resin-molded body (injection of liquid resin in molding cavity is performed using a transfer molding method, and cured to form resin-coated body 37, [0013]; FIG. 4 shows the lead frame; FIG. 7 shows pin 29a inserted through notch 28 in lead frame 21; Denso discloses an opening in place of a notch, [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Denso, Saklang to include the transfer molding process as taught by Totokawa to form the resin molded body of Denso to thinly form a resin-coated portion therein and improve the heat dissipation effect as taught by Totokawa, [0004].
In the same field of endeavor, Mizuta discloses:
curing the molding resin in a state in which a pin provided in the lower die is inserted through a hole of the ring portion and an upper surface of the ring portion is in contact with an inner surface of the upper die, to form a resin-molded body (FIG. 7 shows a guide pin 14 of lower mold 6 inserted through a positioning hole 1b of the lead frame 1, [0017]; upper mold 5 is in contact with the portion of the lead frame 1 defining the positioning hole 1b; In modified Denso, this portion would correspond to upper surface of the ring 61; the molten mold resin 17 is injected into the cavities 7 and 8 through the runner 10 and the gate 11. As a result, the IC chip 3 is sealed with the mold resin 17, and if the resin is cured after a predetermined time has elapsed, the upper and lower molds 5 and 6 are opened to obtain a resin-molded semiconductor IC molded product, [0016]. The positioning hole of the lead frame is inserted into the guide pin (12) provided on the lower mold, [0017]; The guide pin 12 is shown to have a conical top portion; FIGs. 2-7);
wherein in the state in which the pin provided in the lower die is inserted through the hole of the ring portion, the pin extends above the upper surface of the ring portion that is in contact with the inner surface of the upper die (FIG. 7 shows the pin 14 extending above the upper surface of the portion of the lead frame 1 defining the positioning hole 1b; In modified Denso, this portion would correspond to the upper surface of the ring 61 in contact with the upper die).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa with the teachings of Mizuta so that the pin is a conical guide pin 12 provided in the lower mold and the upper surface of the ring portion 61 contacts the inner surface of the upper mold as taught by Mizuta to better align the lead frame with respect to the upper and lower molds and the conical top portion of the pin would allow the lead frame to be positioned onto the conical guide pin more easily. Further, contacting the upper surface of the ring portion 61 in Denso with the upper mold would prevent any resin from covering the upper surface of the ring portion 61 as this portion is exposed in Denso.
In the same field of endeavor, Kazuno discloses:
(e) cutting the frame body, the tie bar, and the connecting portion is after taking out the resin-molded body from the molding die (Then, after separating the molded part 7 from the metal mold 8, the frame 21 is cut and removed from the lead frame 20, and at the same time, the part projected from the molded part 7 of each of the leads 23, 24, 25, 26, and 27 is folded into a predetermined shape. Subsequently, the tie bars 29 for coupling the leads 23, 24, 25, 26, and 27 to each other are cut by a laser or the like. Further, burrs such as the molding material M in the inflow channel 82 and the communication channels 863, 864, and 865 or an unwanted molding material M are removed as needed. According to the process described hereinabove, the electronic device 1 shown in FIG. 1 is manufactured, [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta with the teachings of Kazung so that the cutting the frame body 70, the tie bar 31, and 65 is after removing the resin-molded body (shown in FIG. 5 of Denso) from the molding die as taught by Kazuno as the frame body 70, the tie bar 31, and 65 would be more accessible for cutting and no longer covered by the molding die.
(Annotated FIG. 2 of Denso)
RE: Claim 2, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a tip end portion of the ring portion (In Denso, the side edge of lefthand load support portion 63 in FIG. 2) located in a direction extending from the frame body toward the ring portion via the connecting portion is bent downward so as not to be in contact with the inner surface of the upper die (Denso discloses The reinforcing member 60 is formed by bending an integral plate member which is a part of the lead frame 100, [0023]-[0024]. FIGs. 2-4 show left 63 is bent downward relative to 61; side edges thereof are considered tip end portions and are embedded in the resin body 50 and would not be in contact with the upper die as modified above).
RE: Claim 3, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the upper surface of the ring portion (In Denso, upper surface of lefthand 65 in FIG. 2) and an upper surface of the connecting portion (In Denso, upper surface of righthand 65 in FIG. 2) are on the same level with an upper surface of the frame body (In Denso, FIGs. 2-4 show both 65 are level with the upper surface of the frame body 70).
RE: Claim 4, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein a recess (As modified above, the recess 32a in Totokawa) that is recessed upward is formed in the inner surface of the upper die (As modified above, upper die 29 in Totokawa), and
a tip end portion of the ring portion (In Denso, side edges of 63 in Denso) located in a direction extending from the frame body toward the ring portion via the connecting portion extends to the recess so as not to be in contact with the inner surface of the upper die (63 in Denso is embedded in the resin body 50 in FIG. 2; side edges thereof are considered tip end portions; As modified above, these side edges are embedded in the resin body 50 and would extend into the recess of the upper die as 63 extends above the frame body 70 and would not be in contact with the upper die).
RE: Claim 5, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a stepped portion is formed in the pin (As modified above, the pin would be Mizuta’s pin; Mizuta discloses a guide pin 12 including a stepped portion 12b with a stepped width larger than that of top portion 12a, see FIG. 4; 12b is considered a stepped portion as the pin 12 has a step-wise change in width at 12b), and the ring portion is sandwiched between the upper die and the stepped portion of the pin, to be fixed (As modified above, since Mizuta discloses the stepped portion 12b is under the opening in the lead frame 1 in FIG. 4, ring 61 which is part of the lead frame in modified Denso would be sandwiched between the upper die and the stepped portion 12b of the pin).
RE: Claim 6, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a recess (As modified above, recess 32a in Totokawa) that is recessed upward is formed in the inner surface of the upper die (As modified above, the upper die in Totokawa),
the connecting portion (righthand load support portion 63 in FIG. 2 of Denso) is bent downward (Denso discloses The reinforcing member 60 is formed by bending an integral plate member which is a part of the lead frame 100, [0023]-[0024]. FIGs. 2-4 show 63 is bent downward relative to 61), and
a tip end portion of the ring portion (side edge of left 63 in FIG. 2 of Denso) located in a direction extending from the frame body toward the ring portion via the connecting portion extends to the recess so as not to be in contact with the upper die and the lower die, and is bent upward (left 63 is bent upward relative to left 62 in FIG. 2 Denso; As modified above, these side edges of 63 are embedded in the resin body 50 and would extend into the recess of the upper die as 63 extends above the frame body 70 and would not be in contact with the upper die or lower die).
RE: Claim 8, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno discloses The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein, prior to injecting the molding resin in the liquid form into the cavity and curing the molding resin, the ring portion is connected to the frame body only via the connecting portion, the connecting portion being connected to one side of the ring portion (Denso discloses in FIGs. 8, 15, a lead frame 100 prepared with the connecting portion 65 connected to one side of the ring portion 61, 62, 63; the lead frame 100 is prepared prior to the transfer molding process, [0027]-[0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denso, in view of Saklang, further in view of Totokawa, further in view of Mizuta, further in view of Kazuno, further in view of US20110127694A1 to Kurita et al. (hereinafter “Kurita”).
RE: Claim 7, the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno does not explicitly disclose The method for manufacturing a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the pin engages with the inner surface of the upper die.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Kurita discloses in FIG. 18:
wherein the pin (44) engages with the inner surface (surface of 42 defining 51 in FIG. 15) of the upper die (42; FIG. 18 shows no gaps between the guiding pin 44 and the upper mold 42).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Denso, Saklang, Totokawa, Mizuta, Kazuno so that the guide pin 12 of Mizuta fits into a corresponding hole in the upper mold as taught by Kurita with no gaps therebetween, to accurately position the upper mold with respect to the lower mold and the lead frame as taught by Kurita, [0127]. As a result, the guide pin would engage the inner surface of the upper die.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899