DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2025 and 12/22/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/12/2025 has been entered. Claims 3 and 7 are amended, Claim 23 is newly added and Claims 3-7 and 23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Amended independent claim 3 requires “wherein the second material comprises lithium fluoride and wherein the third material comprises lithium carbonate” in Lines 12 and 13 and Claims 4 and 5 list groups of materials for the second and third materials respectively which encompass lithium fluoride and lithium carbonate and thus both claims 4 and 5 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 3 upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20140065488 A1), hereinafter "Lee". Lee et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because it pertains to the same field of endeavor, namely negative electrode active materials.
In regard to Claims 3-6, Lee et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a negative electrode active material, the method comprising the steps of forming a first mixture by mixing a first material, a second material comprising halogen, and a third material comprising oxygen and carbon; and heating the first mixture (Lee, Abstract, Examples). Lee et al. also discloses wherein the first material comprises graphite (Lee, [0010]), wherein the additional materials comprise a lithium compound which comprises at least one selected from lithium fluoride and lithium carbonate and may reasonably include both based on properties of the materials and design incentives known to the skilled artisan. Lee et al. further discloses wherein the heating is performed in a reduction atmosphere including nitrogen, argon, hydrogen, or a mixed gas thereof, or under vacuum. (Lee, [0057]).
Finally, Lee et al. discloses after heat treatment the lithium compound decomposes and is present in the particle surface in the form of lithium oxide (Li.sub.2O), lithium fluoride (LiF), and lithium carbonate (Li.sub.2CO.sub.3) (Lee, [0063]) and a specific example wherein a region comprising oxygen is detected on a particle surface of the negative electrode active material (Lee, [0103, 0111]). While Lee et al. is silent as to the EDX analysis, Lee discloses XRD analysis and the presence of the species on the surface of the particles due to the lithium compounds decomposition, which would necessarily be detectable under EDX analysis as well.
In regard to Claim 7, Lee et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a negative electrode active material according to claim 3. Lee et al. also discloses specific examples where the heating is performed for 1 hour in a rare gas atmosphere (Lee, Examples 4-7) and wherein the heating is performed at a temperature range of 500 to 2500°C (Lee, [0056]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
In regard to Claim 23, Lee et al. discloses the method for manufacturing a negative electrode active material according to claim 3. The skilled artisans of Lee et al. must provide the lithium compound in a specific weight ratio with the graphite in order to achieve the desired results and Lee et al. discloses that the lithium compound which may include both lithium carbonate and lithium fluoride is provided in a range of 0.1-50 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the graphite first material (Lee, [0066]), which overlaps the claimed range and amounts to nothing more than a result effective variable to be optimized by the skilled artisan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference, as overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been changed from a 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) rejection to a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection and relies on a different prior art reference. While the amendment to claim 3 overcomes the previous rejection, Lee et al. (US 20140065488 A1) discloses the limitations provided in amended claim 3, 7 and newly added claim 23 as discussed above.
Further, it is acknowledged that Applicant requests that the double patenting rejection be held in abeyance. However, the double patenting rejection will be withdrawn if and when the requirements are met.
Double Patenting
Claims 3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/004,700 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 3 and 7 of the current application disclose the mixing of identical materials, according to the same method, at the same temperature and duration, under the same atmospheric conditions, to form the same final product as is disclosed in claim 20 of the reference application, with the exception of the simple substitution of silicon for carbon. Both silicon and carbon are standard classes of negative electrode active materials in lithium ion battery technology and would amount to nothing more than an obvious variation to one of ordinary skill in the art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725