DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 6 and 8-14 are cancelled. Claims 1-5 and 7 are pending. Claims 1-5 and 7 are amended. Claim 1 is an independent claim. Claims 1-5 and 7 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites "...programmed to perform the steps of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed. Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites "...programmed to perform the step of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed. Claims 3-5 are rejected because they depend on claim 2.
Claim 3 recites "...programmed to perform the step of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed.
Claim 4 recites "...programmed to perform the step of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed.
Claim 5 recites "...programmed to perform the step of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed.
Claim 7 recites "...programmed to perform the step of…", which is not described in the specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the steps". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-5 and 7 recite the limitation "the step". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oi Sotaro (JP 2003012395 A, machine translation, “Sotaro”), and further in view of Jacobson et al (US 6175652 B1, “Jacobson”) and Bandoh et al (US 20100100217 A1, “Bandoh”).
Regarding claim 1, Sotaro teaches a single crystal manufacturing apparatus comprising a single crystal pulling apparatus 10 (puller) pulling up a single crystal S from a melt SL (fig 1, 0020-0024); a camera 18 photographing a fusion ring FR generated at the boundary between the melt SL and the single crystal s (figs 1-3, 0021, 0023, 0026-0030); and a computer system comprising program (being programmed) to perform the steps of growing the crystal (0001, 0004, 0012-0016, 0018, 0030, 0066-0068, 0072 and claims 6-8), including processing a photographed image taken by the camera (abstract, 0009, 0012, 0016-0018, 0021,0023, 0024, 0042, 0050, 0067, 0068, 0073, claims 6-8), calculating a diameter of the single crystal from a shape of the fusion ring on the reference plane (abstract, 0005, 0006, 0009, 0010, 0012, 0013, 0016, 0017, 0023, 0024, 0026-0030, 0034-0039, 0043-0045, 0058, 0062, 0063, claims 1, 3, 5 and 7), and the computer system (comprising the program and image processing unit/section and an storage unit 19) converts the fusion ring appearing in the photographed image taken by the camera on a reference plane corresponding to a melt surface (liquid level position) of the melt SL based on an installation angle and a focal length of the camera (figs 1-3, abstract, 0023, 0025-0027, 0029-0033, 0035, 0042, 0044-0054, 0059, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0082, 0088).
Sotaro teaches the apparatus comprising the puller, the camera, the fusion ring, the reference plane corresponding to the liquid level position and the computer system, as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach a projection of the fusion ring. However, Jacobson teaches a system for monitoring crystal growth, wherein a projection of a circular meniscus (fusion ring) of a melt surface is used for monitoring of crystal growth (figs 1-10, abstract, col 3 line 15 to col 5 line 12, col 19 line 15 to col 20 line 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Sotaro per teachings of Jacobson in order to enable a robust, real time and automated machine vision monitoring of a crystal growth process in a controlled manner (Jacobson abstract, col 2 lines 5-16 and col 5 lines 1-12).
Sotaro/Jacobson teaches the computer being programmed and calculating the diameter of the single crystal as addressed above, but does not exility teach that the program/computer calculating the diameter by subtracting. However, Bandoh teaches a control system for pulling crystal, wherein the control system comprising a computer with subtractor to perform calculations of crystal diameter (0004, 0019, 0079, 0082, 0090, 0094, 0095, 0124, 0133). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Sotaro per teachings of Jacobson in order to accurately control the conditions for pulling the crystal with enhanced quality (Bandoh abstract, 0015-0030).
As addressed above, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh teaches the apparatus comprising the puller, the projection of the fusion ring, the liquid/melt level position, the camera, the computer system being programmed and subtractor, and further teaches that the computer system/user interface sets correlation based on process parameters of the growth furnace (Sotaro figs 1-7, 0058 and 0062; Jacobson figs 1-12, col 12 lines 1-9, col 27 lines 3-5; Bandoh abstract, 0011-0033). As just addressed, the arrangements of structural features in Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh are similar to the instantly claimed structural. Therefore, it is reasonably expected that the apparatus of Sotaro/Jacobson is capable of “calculating the diameter of the crystal under room temperature by subtracting a correction amount from the diameter during the pull-up process of the single crystal or multiplying the diameter during the pull-up process of the single crystal by a correction coefficient” and “setting the correction amount or the correction coefficient individually based on the single crystal puller”. It is well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)).
Regarding claim 7, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh teaches apparatus comprising the computer being programmed to perform the steps of growing the crystal, the liquid level position and the single crystal as addressed above, and further teaches a furnace structure (Sotaro fig 1), the computer and the furnace structure are similar to the instantly claimed structural features. Therefore, it is reasonably expected that apparatus of Sotaro/Jacobson is capable of “changing the correction amount or the correction coefficient according to a change in a furnace structure, the liquid level position, or a length of the single crystal.” It is well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)).
Claims 2, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keiichi Takanashi (US 20090064923 A1, “Takanashi”).
Regarding claim 2, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh teaches the computer being programmed to perform the steps of growing the crystal, the fusion ring and the photographed image on the reference plane (melt surface) as addressed above, and further teaches capturing the image of a high-brightness fusion ring FR that occurs near the boundary (edge) between the melt and the crystal, i.e., the crystal growth interface (Sotaro 0023), but does not explicitly teach a threshold value for a brightness distribution. However, Takanashi teaches an apparatus/method for pulling a crystal comprising detecting an edge (edge pattern) of a fusion ring based on a predetermined threshold value for the brightness distribution of the photographed image on an interface/liquid level (the reference plane) (fig 6, 0019, 0029, 0055, claim 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh per teachings of Takanashi in order to accurately control the diameter of the crystal and obtain a high-quality crystal with little crystal defect (Takanashi 0001 and 0010). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)). It is also well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 3, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh/Takanashi teaches the threshold value, the brightness distribution, the photographed image, the being programmed to perform the steps of growing the crystal and the fusion ring having the edge as addressed above, and further that the threshold value is a value obtained by multiplying the peak value of brightness in the photographed image by a value in the range of 70% to 95% (smaller than 1) (Takanashi 0019, 0055 and claim 3), and in the photographed image, a horizontal scanning line intersecting the fusion ring and detects an outer intersection between brightness distribution on the horizontal scanning line and the threshold value as the edge pattern of the fusion ring (Sotaro 0030, 0033, 0036, 0039 0057; Takanashi figs 1-3, abstract, 0012-0015, 0040, 0055). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)). It is also well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 5, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh/Takanashi teaches the computer being programmed to perform the steps of growing the crystal, the edge pattern of the fusion ring and calculating the diameter of the single crystal and the fusion ring as addressed above, and further teaches that the computer system approximates the edge pattern of the fusion ring to a circle and the diameter of the single crystal is calculated from the diameter of the approximate circle of the fusion ring (Sotaro 0005-0019, 0043-0045, 0058, 0059, 0062, 0063; Takanashi 0019, 0041, 0042 and claim 2). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)). It is also well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sotaro/ Jacobson / Takanashi as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ken et al (JP 2017154901 A, machine translation, “Ken”).
Regarding claim 4, Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh/Takanashi teaches the computer being programmed to perform the steps of growing the crystal calculating the diameter of the single crystal, edge pattern of the fusion ring and the reference plane as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach calculates the diameter of the single crystal based on a distance between two intersections of the edge pattern of the fusion ring projected on the reference plane and a predetermined diameter measurement line and a distance from the center position of the single crystal to the diameter measurement line. However, Ken teaches an apparatus/method for manufacturing a crystal, wherein the diameter of the crystal/fusion ring is calculated based on a distance between two intersections (D1, D1’) of the edge pattern of the fusion ring projected on the reference plane and a measurement line L1 (predetermined diameter measurement line) and a distance from the center position C0 of the single crystal/fusion ring to the measurement line (fig 5, pages 7-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Sotaro/Jacobson/Bandoh/Takanashi per teachings of Ken in order to measure a crystal diameter precisely during the lifting process the crystal (Ken abstract). Furthermore, it should be noted that the instant claims are apparatus claims, and the courts have ruled that expressions relating an apparatus to the contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining the patentability of the apparatus claims, consult Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App, 1969). ln re Young (25 U.S.P.Q. 69, 71 (CCPA 1935)) and ln re Rishoi (94 U.S.P.Q. 71,73 (CCPA 1952)). It is also well established that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because the arguments do not apply to the new ground rejection provided above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714