DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 12/16/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-15 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimizuka et al (WO 2016/204301, of record, ‘301 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 15, ‘301 discloses a nanocomposite ([0011], [0018]) comprising a polymeric matric ([0011], [0015]), a macrocycle such as a porphyrin structure being a doner ([0011], Fig 3) and a polyaromatic guest including a pyrene structure ([0024]) being an acceptor forms into a donor-acceptor dyad ([0011]), which is a host-guest complex and can be used to catalyze an artificial photosynthesis ([0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimizuka et al (Wo 2016/204301, of record, ‘301 hereafter ) in view of Ryan et al (JACS 2015, Nov. 14, of record, see IDS 09/24/24 ).
Regarding claims 3-4, 7 and 11-14, ‘301 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but ‘301 does not disclose that the donor-acceptor dyad is formed from a macrocycle being cationic cyclophane and a polyaromatic being a substituted pyrene. However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryan discloses a donor-acceptor dyad comprising a macrocycle being a ExBOX4+ and a polyaromatic compound being substituted pyrene (see sections of Introduction, Synthesis and Structure, and Conclusion), which has potential for artificial photosynthesis (Abstract, Conclusion). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the donor-acceptor dyad as taught by Ryan, to modify the nanocomposite of ‘301, in order to render a nanocomposite having desired photocatalysis function, because the known donor-acceptor dyad of ExBOX4+ and substituted pyrene would predictably resulted in application in artificial photosynthesis (See MPEP 2143 (D)). Modified ‘301 does not expressly disclose that the nanocomposite has the properties as set forth in the present claims 11-14, however, the cited references fairly suggest a nanocomposite comprising a donor-acceptor dyad being substantially identical to the dyad as presently claimed, it is reasonable to expect that the nanocomposite taught by the prior art would have possessed the same properties including the properties as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose or fairly suggest that nanocomposite as recited in the present claim 1, wherein the polymeric matric is an ionic polymer being polystyrene sulfonate and the substituted pyrene is a 1,3,6,8-brotetrabropyrene.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/16/2025 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art Kimizuka does not teaches or suggests the host-guest complex as presently claimed. It is noted that the donor-acceptor dyad of Kimizuka is one of the species of the host-guest complex; and the polyaromatic guest as claimed does not exclude a polyaromatic compound being a ligand, which can be an acceptor (guest) and forms into a host-guest complex with an macrocycle donor (host) (See Figure 3 of Kimizuka).
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782