DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on February 16, 2026.
Applicant’s amendment to the specification, filed February 16, 2026, is hereby entered.
Claims 16 and 20 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 15 have been cancelled previously.
Claims 16 – 33 are currently pending and have been examined.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendments
Applicant's amendments to the claims, filed February 16, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 16 – 20, 23, and 24 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia as set forth in the office action filed November 26, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed February 16, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 21, 22, and 25 – 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia as set forth in the office action filed November 26, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16 – 33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed January 5, 2026, February 6, 2026, and March 9, 2026 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, 5 – 9, and 16 – 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,466,994. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘324 patent, as evidenced by Formula II in claim 3 of the ‘994 patent.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 33 of copending Application No. 17/996926 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula IIIe-0 in claim 1 of the ‘926 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 33 of copending Application No. 17/997024 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘024 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 22 of copending Application No. 18/001661 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘661 application as evidenced by formula (V) in claim 6 of the ‘661 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 13 of copending Application No. 18/022606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘606 application as evidenced by the compounds on page 172 in claim 11 of the ‘606 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of copending Application No. 18/022736 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘736 application as evidenced by the compounds on page 499 in claim 9 of the ‘736 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of copending Application No. 18/251978 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula III in claim 3 of the ‘978 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 35 of copending Application No. 18/284518 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘518 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 15 of copending Application No. 18/550101 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘101 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 35 of copending Application No. 18/554618 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘618 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 15 of copending Application No. 18/555850 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘850 application as evidenced by Formula IIa-21 in claim 6 of the ‘850.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 15 of copending Application No. 18/556342 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 1 of the ‘342 application as evidenced by Formula IIIa in claim 6 of the ‘342.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 40 of copending Application No. 18/556863 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 16 of the ‘863 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 35 of copending Application No. 18/556859 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 16 of the ‘859 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 35 of copending Application No. 18/556874 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 16 of the ‘874 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 16 – 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16 – 35 of copending Application No. 18/729878 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula I in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds within the scope of Formula I in claim 16 of the ‘878 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 – 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duck (WO2020135953A1, cited previously).
As per claims 16 – 21, and 23, Duck teaches:
An organic molecule, comprising a structure represented by Formula I
(Duck teaches compounds of Formula I
(Page 1). A particular compound taught by Duck is compound 1 on page 37
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein n is 1; X is NR3 wherein R3 is a C6 aryl group, Rd and Re form a mono-cyclic aromatic ring system, RV is a C6 aryl group as required by claim 21 and the remaining R atoms are all hydrogen. The compound is represented by Formula III in claim 18 and Formula III-2 in claim 20.)
Duck is eligible as prior art under 102(a)(2) based on its earlier effectively filed date and could be used in a rejection against the claimed as currently presented. However, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claims 16 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayano (US20210202861A1).
As per claims 16 – 19, 21, 23, and 24, Hayano teaches:
An organic molecule, comprising a structure represented by Formula I
(Hayano teaches compounds of Formula I
([0008]). A particular compound taught by Hayano is compound B-11 on page 14
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein n is 1; X is O; Rd and Re form a mono-cyclic aromatic ring system as do the two bottom Ra groups, and RV and RIV. Specifically, RV is a C6 aryl which forms a polycyclic heteroaromatic fused ring system with RIV as required by claim 21. The remaining R atoms are hydrogen. The compound is represented by Formula III in claim 18 and Formula III-2 in claim 20.)
As per claims 20 and 22, another compound taught by Hayano is compound B-2 on page 27
, which contains a nitrogen atom in the six-membered boron ring and reads on Formula III-2 of claim 20 and RV forms a heteroaromatic fused ring system with one or more substituents as required by claim 22.
Hayano is eligible as prior art under 102(a)(2) based on its earlier effectively filed date and could be used in a rejection against the claimed as currently presented. However, a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 25 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duck (WO2020135953A1, cited previously) as applied to claims 16 – 21 and 23 above.
As per claims 25, 26, 28 and 31, Duck does not specifically teach the use of compound 1 in a device. Duck teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule as a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is selected from the group consisting of organic light-emitting diodes (Page 1, Paragraph 2: “The invention relates to organic light-emitting molecules and their use in organic light-emitting diodes.”)
Duck teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the emission layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Duck as Duck demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 27 and 32, Duck teaches:
A composition comprising (a) the organic molecule as an emitter, (b) and emitter and/or host material, which differs from the organic molecule, (c) optionally a dye and/or solvent (Page 20, Paragraph 4: “In one embodiment, the light-emitting layer comprises not only the organic molecules according to the invention, but also a host material whose triplet (T1) and singlet (S1) energy levels are energetically higher thant he triplet (T1) and singlet (S1) energy levels of the organic molecule.” As the dye and solvent are optional, they are not required to be taught by the prior art reference.)
As per claim 29, Duck teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode, and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is disposed on the substrate, and a light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, and comprising the organic molecule (Claim 14: “Optoelectronic device according to claim 13, comprising a substrate, an anode, and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is disposed on the substrate and a light emitting layer, which is arranged between the anode and the cathode and which comprises the organic molecule or the composition.”)
As per claims 30 and 33 Duck teaches,
A method for producing an optoelectronic device, the method comprising depositing the composition by a vacuum evaporation method or from a solution (Page 30, Last Paragraph: “Vapor deposition processes, for example, comprise thermal (co)evaporation, chemical vapor deposition and physical vapor deposition”)
Claims 25 – 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayano (US20210202861A1) as applied to claims 16 – 24 above.
As per claims 25, 26, 28 and 31, Hayano does not specifically teach the use of compound B-11 in a device. Hayano teaches:
An optoelectronic device comprising the organic molecule as a luminescent emitter, wherein the optoelectronic device is selected from the group consisting of organic light-emitting diodes (Abstract: “An organic electroluminescence device includes a first electrode, a hole transport region disposed on the first electrode, an emission layer disposed on the hole transport region, an electron transport region disposed on the emission layer, and a second electrode disposed on the electron transport region. The emission layer includes a polycyclic compound represented by Formula 1 to thereby achieve high luminous efficiency.”)
Hayano teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the emission layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Hayano as Hayano demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claims 27 and 32, Hayano teaches:
A composition comprising (a) the organic molecule as an emitter, (b) and emitter and/or host material, which differs from the organic molecule, (c) optionally a dye and/or solvent ([0135]: “In an embodiment, the emission layer EML includes a host and a dopant, the host may be a host for delayed fluorescence emission, and the dopant may be a dopant for delayed fluorescence emission. In some embodiments, the polycyclic compound of an embodiment represented by Formula 1 may be included as a dopant material of the emission layer EML.” As the dye and solvent are optional, they are not required to be taught by the prior art reference.)
As per claim 29, Hayano teaches:
The optoelectronic device comprising a substrate, an anode, and a cathode, wherein the anode or the cathode is disposed on the substrate, and a light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, and comprising the organic molecule (Abstract: “An organic electroluminescence device includes a first electrode, a hole transport region disposed on the first electrode, an emission layer disposed on the hole transport region, an electron transport region disposed on the emission layer, and a second electrode disposed on the electron transport region. The emission layer includes a polycyclic compound represented by Formula 1 to thereby achieve high luminous efficiency.”)
As per claims 30 and 33 Hayano teaches,
A method for producing an optoelectronic device, the method comprising depositing the composition by a vacuum evaporation method or from a solution (In [0052], Hayano teaches that the layers may be formed via vacuum deposition.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789