Applicant's submission filed on 8/14/26 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-15, 17 , 23, 25-26, and 30 are pending examination, claims 18-22, 27, and 29 are withdrawn and claims 5, 12, 16, 24, and 28 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11, 13, and 25-26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-10 each recite the limitation "the one or more coatings". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the previous basis from claim 1 has been amended to: “at least one coating”. It is therefore indefinite as to if these recitations are intending on referencing the “at least one coating” or some other coatings altogether. For purposes of examination “the one or more coatings” will be interpreted as at least inclusive of any such scenarios.
The other dependent claims do not cure the defects of the claims from which they depend.
Claim 26 recites the limitation: “the method according to claim 12”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as previous claim 12 has been canceled; making it indefinite as to which claim 26 is supposed to depend from. For purposes of examination claim 12 will be interpreted as at least inclusive of depending from one of claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-15, 17 , 23, 25, and 30.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 recites: “the one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide is selected from titanium alkoxides and silicon alkoxides or mixtures thereof.” which fails to include the limitation of claim 1 of “one or more metal or metalloid oxide(s) and /or one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide(s), that is non-silicon…” (emphasis added). which would prevent “silicon alkoxides” from being included as “the one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 14, 17, 23, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirtay et al “Glass strengthening by SiO2–TiO2 organically modified silica coating” Thin Solid Films 515 (2006) 2145–2152; (provided in 10/16/26 IDS) hereafter Kirtay).
Claims 1-2: Kirtay teaches a method of forming on a glass substrate at least one coating of a hybrid hydrolytic polycondensation product for improving glass strength and fracture toughness of glass by about 170%, (see, for example, abstract, section 2, section 4, section 5) the method comprising,
forming on the glass surface a hydrolytic polycondensation product of one or more alkoxysilane(s) of the general formula
R.sub.xSi(OR.sup.1).sub.4-x wherein R is an organic radical, R.sup.1 is independently selected from hydrogen and C.sub.1-18 alkyl, or isomers or polyvalences thereof, and x is an integer from 0 to 3 (see, for example, Glymo (gamma-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane)
with one or more metal or metalloid oxide(s) and/or one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide(s), that is non-silicon and is a coating forming co-reactant (such as tetrapropylorthotitanium, Ti(OC3H7)4) the presence of water and a catalyst or trigger (such as nitric acid) (See, for example, section 2)
wherein the at least one coating penetrate into micro-cracks in the glass substrate (See, for example, abstract, section 1, pg 2149-2151).
wherein the at least one coating is cured under conditions to form at least interfacial covalent bonds (siloxane, Si-O-SI bonding and /or Ti-O-Si formed) between the coating and at least glass surfaces defining the micro-cracks (see, for example, abstract, section 1, pg 2149-2151, Fig 7 wherein the chemical bonding is explicitly taught to occur between the coating composition and contacted glass surfaces, and wherein the composition is explicitly taught to at least be partially penetrated in surface micro-flaw / crack features, thus contacting and formation of bonding therewith)
With respect to fracture toughness, Kirtay further teaches the coating on the glass as protective; and further as a hydrolytic polycondensation product of one or more alkoxysilane(s) of the claimed general formula with one or more metal or metalloid oxide(s) and/or one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide(s) in the presence of water and a catalyst or trigger, as it has taught the formation of covalent bonding, and the penetration and filling of micro-cracks, and the enhancement of glass strength on the order of 170% (See rejection above). The examiner asserts that the fracture toughness improvements for such applied protective coating composition of Kirtay would inherently achieve the same resulting properties as claimed as such similar coating systems are exemplified by applicant as providing for improving glass strength and fracture toughness of the glass, since relative to an uncoated glass surface the coated glass additionally comprises such a protective coating and since the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim 3-4 and 23: Kirtay further teaches wherein the one or more alkoxysilane(s) is GLYMO (γ-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane) (See, for example, section 2).
Claim 6: Kirtay further teaches wherein the one or more alkoxysilane(s) is GLYMO (γ-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane), and the one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide is a titanium alkoxide ( (Ti(OC₃H₇)₄) AKA titanium (IV) propoxide) (See, for example, section 2).
Claim 7-8: Kirtay further teaches wherein the glass strength and fracture toughness is improved by healing cracks in the surface of the glass, as well as various properties (see, for example, abstract, section 1, section 2, section 4, section 5, and rejection of claim 1 above).
Additionally / alternatively, Kirtay further teaches the coating on the glass as protective; and further as a hydrolytic polycondensation product of one or more alkoxysilane(s) of the claimed general formula with one or more metal or metalloid oxide(s) and/or one or more metal or metalloid alkoxide(s) in the presence of water and a catalyst or trigger, forming covalent bonds, and penetrating micro-cracks (See, for example, rejection of claim 1 above). As such coatings are exemplified by applicant as providing for improving glass strength and fracture toughness by healing cracks in the surface of the glass, and or achieving the various improvements of claim 8, the same applied protective coating composition of Kirtay would inherently achieve the same resulting properties to at least some degree, since relative to an uncoated glass surface the coated glass additionally comprises such a protective coating and since the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim 9: Kirtay further teaches wherein the one or more coatings are applied by dipping (see, for example, pg 2147).
Claim 14 and 30: Kirtay further teaches wherein surplus coating is removed from the glass surface, and a primary coating remaining is in the micro-cracks forming covalent bonding bridges (See, for example, pg 2151 and the rejections of claims 1 and 9 above; wherein at least the teaching of application by dipping would intrinsically involve surplus coating being removed from the glass surface (such as the portion of material that flows off the surface during withdrawal)).
Claim 17: Kirtay further teaches devitrification is avoided (see, for example, section 2-4, wherein the glass substrate remains as glass, no crystallization is taught).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11, 13, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirtay as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al (US 2008/0039310; hereafter Hayashi).
Claim 10 and 13: Kirtay further teaches wherein the glass strength improved by healing cracks / flaws in the surface of the glass by application of the alkoxysilane / metal(oid) alkoxide composition (see, for example, abstract, rejection of claim 1 above). But it does not explicitly teach the at least one coating is applied in a controlled atmosphere by pressures below or above atmospheric pressure, further wherein the pressure comprises an absolute pressure of 950 hPa, below 500 hPa, below 100 hPa, below 10 hPa, below 1 hPa, below 0.1 Pa, less than 10−6 Pa, or even less than 10−9 Pa. Hayashi teaches a method of treating, and further penetrating, the glass surface with compositions comprising metal alkoxides undergoing hydrolysis, (See, for example, [0035-38]). Hayashi further teaches the implementation of reduced pressure during application enhances penetration, further wherein a pressure is preferably 13,000 Pa (130 hPa). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated application of the one or more coatings in controlled atmosphere that includes a reduced pressure of below 130 hPa since such a reduced pressure would predictably enhance coating penetration.
Claim 11: Hayashi further teaches controlled atmosphere comprises an industrial or specialty gas, with a dew point temperature of the atmosphere of less than 0oC to prevent non-controlled reaction with moisture (See, for example, [0037]). Although such a range is not explicitly below −20° C, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a dew point temperature within the claimed range since in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 25-26: refer to the rejections of claims 11 and 13 above.
Claim(s) 14-15, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirtay as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pellerite et al (US 5,851,674; hereafter Pellerite).
Claim 14-15 and 30: Kirtay teaches the method of claim 1 (Above), wherein coating material is in the micro-cracks forming covalent bonds , and wherein application is achieved via dip coatings (See, for example, pg 2147, and the rejections of claim 1 above); but it does not explicitly recite removing a portion of surplus coating, further particularly by dipping the coated glass into or rinsing the coated glass with a solvent. Pellerite teaches a method of applying coatings to glasses, further prepared from silanes further comprising alkoxy groups, and including application by dipping (See, for example, abstract, col 2, and col 5 lines 30-65). Pellerite further teaches wherein controlling the amount of applied coating material can conventionally be controlled by performing a removal of excess coating material, further wherein such a removal process prevents detrimentally affecting optical properties of the glass article (See, for example, col 5 lines 46-65). Pellerite further teaches wherein such removal can conventionally and predictably be achieved by solvent washing (See, for example, col 5 lines 49-65). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated removing a portion of surplus coating, by rinsing the coated glass with a solvent as such removal processes are well known and conventional in the art and as it would predictably prevent detrimentally affecting optical properties of the glass article.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 12, 16, and 24 and amendments to claims 14-15 have overcome the previous 35 USC 112 grounds of rejections, but these and other amendments to the claims have resulted in new grounds of 35 USC 112 rejections being raised, as described further above.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1, filed 8/14/26, particularly with respect to requiring the one or more metal or metalloid oxide(s) and /or one or more metal or metalloid alkoxides being non-silicon within the full scope of the claim have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the art rejections over Dirkx / Carson as these two references did not adequately anticipate such content. Therefore, these rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kirtay, as described further above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN H EMPIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712