DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIDHAGE (US 20140062834 A1) in view of Hagerman (US 6697643 B1).
Regarding claim 19, JIDHAGE teaches a base station antenna (JIDHAGE, fig. 1, 60) comprising:
a plurality of arrays of radiating elements (JIDHAGE, fig. 2, arrays 2, 3; JDHAGE discloses antenna columns (2, 3) comprising sets of subarrays (4, 5, 6, 7), where each subarray (e.g., 4a–4d) comprises a plurality of radiating/antenna elements (e.g., elements 8–15));
a downlink radio frequency (RF) feed network (JIDHAGE, fig. 2, 40-47), the downlink RF feed network comprising an integrated filter that is configured to filter downlink portions of different frequency bands (JIDHAGE, fig. 2, JIDHAGE teaches filter devices 40,41,44,45, being integrated into a single base station, para. 0046-48) and that couples the filtered downlink portions of the different frequency bands to the arrays (JIDHAGE, fig. 2, para. 0048, f1, f2, para. 0037-39, TX1, TX2); and
an uplink RF feed network that couples uplink portions of the different frequency bands to the arrays (JIDHAGE, fig. 2, para. 0048, f1, f2, para. 0037-39, RX1, RX2).
JIDHAGE is silent to teaching that wherein an uplink RF feed network is separate from the downlink RF feed network.
In the same field of endeavor, Hagerman teaches a base station wherein an uplink RF feed network is separate from the downlink RF feed network (Hagerman, fig. 3, 4, Hager teaches the system utilizing the uplink feeder cables 30b, 30d, 30e and 30g that are separate from the downlink feeder cables 30a, 30c, 30f and 30f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the dual-band antenna system of JIDHAGE to feature completely separate downlink and uplink RF feed networks as taught by Hagerman. By separating the uplink and downlink paths per Hagerman, the modified JIDHAGE antenna would inherently possess a dedicated downlink RF feed network with integrated frequency filters (for dual-band operation) that is physically distinct from its uplink RF feed network, reducing overall cost and antenna volume.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of JIDHAGE and Hagerman teaches the base station antenna of Claim 19, wherein the downlink and uplink RF feed networks comprise downlink and uplink multiplexers, respectively (JDHAGE discloses diplexers (40, 41, 44, 45) acting as filter devices/multiplexers).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17, 31, and 32 are allowed.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648