Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (US 20110021101).
Hawkins is directed to a modified starch based binder (Title). Hawkins teaches an aqueous binder composition is provided that includes a modified starch and a silane coupling agent, and optionally, a crosslinking agent. The starch from which the modified starch is derived is natural in origin, biorenewable, and is derived from plant sources. Hawkins teaches the binder may be used in formation of insulation materials and nonwoven chopped strand mats (ABST).
Hawkins teaches an embodiment of the invention wherein the pH adjuster has a basic pH and is added to the binder composition in an amount sufficient to produce a binder that has a desired, basic pH. Non-limiting examples of suitable basic pH adjusters include sodium bisulfate, sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, and/or ammonium hydroxide. The pH of the binder composition, when in a basic state, may range from about 8 to about 14, or from about 8 to about 12. In at least one exemplary embodiment, the pH of the binder composition is about 9. It is to be appreciated that the binder may alternatively have a neutral pH [0041].
Hawkins teaches the binder further includes water to dissolve or disperse the active solids for application onto the reinforcement fibers. Water may be added in an amount sufficient to dilute the aqueous binder composition to a viscosity that is suitable for its application to the reinforcement fibers and to achieve a desired solids content on the fibers. In particular, the binder composition may contain water in an amount from about 70% to about 98.0% by weight of the total solids in the binder composition [0045].
Hawkins teaches the binder composition is aqueous, claimed step (a), adjusts the ph to a range of 8-12 or 9 which is in the claimed range claimed step (d).
Hawkins teaches a crosslinker but also teaches the crosslinker is optional (ABST); [0010]; [0011]; [0033]. Hawkins teaches a starch binder that does not require a crosslinker as claimed.
Hawkins teaches a second embodiment of the present invention, the binder composition may be used to form a non-woven chopped strand mat. A nonwoven chopped strand mat is equated with the claimed fabric. The binder is added during the formation of the chopped strand mat in a wet-laid mat processing line. One exemplary process of separately adding the coupling agent to the chopped strand mat is depicted in FIG. 3. Chopped glass fibers 100 (110 as shown in Fig. 3) may be provided to a conveying apparatus such as a conveyor 112 by a storage container 114 for conveyance to a mixing tank 116 that contains various surfactants, viscosity modifiers, defoaming agents, and/or other chemical agents with agitation to disperse the fibers and form a chopped glass fiber slurry (not shown). The glass fiber slurry may be transferred to a head box 118 where the slurry is deposited onto a conveying apparatus such as a moving screen or foraminous conveyor 120 and a substantial portion of the water from the slurry is removed to form a web (mat) 122 of enmeshed fibers. The water may be removed from the web 122 by a conventional vacuum or air suction system (not shown) [0060].
Hawkins teaches and aqueous binder is applied to a nonwoven, i.e. a fabric, step (b) and the binder is applied during the wet laid process which coats all of the fibers and equated with the claimed “wet-impregnated” as applied in a wet-laid method as an aqueous binder as in claimed step (c) and also meets the limitation of “spread on one or both side of the fabric and through the fabric” as claimed by the nature that the process of wet-impregnating is the same.
The inventive binder 124 is applied to the web 122 by a suitable binder applicator, such as the spray applicator 126 or a curtain coater (not illustrated). Once the binder 124 has been applied to the mat 122, the binder coated mat 128 is passed through at least one drying oven 130 to remove any remaining water and cure the binder composition 124. The formed non-woven chopped strand mat 132 that emerges from the oven 130 is an assembly of randomly oriented, dispersed, individual glass fibers. The chopped strand mat 132 may be rolled onto a take-up roll 134 for storage for later use as illustrated. The non-woven mat can be use in roofing, flooring, ceiling, wall applications, as filters, in ground based vehicles, and in aircraft [0061].
Hawkins teaches the nonwoven is dried to remove the remaining water of the binder as claimed in step (d) [0065]; [0068], [0071].
Hawkins teaches modified starch (Title), the modified starch has a low viscosity [0011], [0020], that is chemically modified form its natural derived source by oxidation, bleaching, or acid or base treatment [0034]. Hawkins does not refer to the modified starch as thinned starch but it is equated with the claimed thinned starch as Applicant describes the thinned starch can be made as described in the instant application [0022]-[0023] and includes acid thinning, oxidizing agents:
[0022] As will be known to a person skilled in the art, a thinned starch can be produced in a number of ways, including thinning by using acid (acid thinning), enzymes (enzymatic thinning), oxidizing agents (hydrogen peroxide thinning, hypochloride thinning, persulfate thinning) and heat (thermal degradation).
[0023] Preferably, the thinned starch of the present invention is obtained by thermal degradation. Thermal degradation is achieved by heat treating starch molecules under low moisture conditions (i.e. no more than 25% moisture).
As to claims 1 and 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a thinned starch aqueous composition at a pH of 9-12 motivated to replace synthetic polymers and provide for the desired improvement of properties.
As to claims 2 and 21, Hawkins teaches the pH of the binder composition, when in a basic state, may range from about 8 to about 14, or from about 8 to about 12. In at least one exemplary embodiment, the pH of the binder composition is about 9. It is to be appreciated that the binder may alternatively have a neutral pH [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a thinned starch aqueous composition at a pH of 10-12 motivated to replace synthetic polymers and provide for the desired improvement of properties.
As to claims 4 and 16, Hawkins teaches modified starch and differs and is not specific with regard to thinned starch. Hawkins teaches the starch can be dextrin in Table 14, [0096]. Hawkins teaches the modified starch can be derived from plant sources such as corn, potatoes [0010]. While Hawkins does not explicitly teach corn dextrin or native corn, as Hawkins teaches the starch can be derived from corn and teaches dextrin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ corn dextrin and native corn motivated obtain starch from a natural source.
As to claims 6, 18 and 19, Hawkins teaches the modified starches have beneficially low viscosity and cure at moderate temperatures (80-200°C) [0035]. The drying and curing oven may operate at 100°C – 325°C [0057]. The temperatures overlap the claimed ranges of less than 200°C, less than 170°C and less than 150°C.
As to claim 7, Hawkins teaches the aqueous binder contains water in amounts of 70-98% [0045] which overlaps the claimed range of 40-90%. Hawkins teaches starch in amounts of can be 20% as shown in Table 4 [0064], page 7.
As to claims 9, 10 and 20, Hawkins teaches a nonwoven of chopped strand mats (ABST). Hawkins teaches the binder composition can be used to form an insulation product with inorganic fibers as well as organic fibers such as synthetic fibers such as polyester [0050].
As to claim 11, Hawkins does not teach heating the binder composition prior to spraying on the nonwoven mat. The binder is applied by spray applicator 124 (as shown in Fig. 3). The binder coated mat is passed through at least one drying overn to remove remaining water [0061]. Not heating the binder would be an ambient temperature and overlap the temperature of 20°C.
Hawkins teaches the binder is added on in amounts of about 10-25% as a dry weight [0053]. As the amount of binder in the aqueous composition is about 20% and the water is 80%, this would be an wet add on weight of 25/0.2 = 125 or 125% by weight of the fabric.
As to claim 13, Hawkins teaches the amount of binder on the fibers is less than 25%, less than 20% and less than or equal to 10% by weight of the total product [0053] which overlaps the claimed range of 5-35%.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (US 20110021101) in view of Marakainen et al (WO201131330) and Griffin et al (US 2343898).
As to claim 3, Hawkins does not teach thinned and non-thinned starch.
Marakainen is directed to binders of a starch mixture for use in coating compositions. The present invention provides a starch mixture for use in the preparation of coating compositions - and to coating compositions prepared therewith - characterized in that the starch mixture comprises (a) a non-thinned starch; and (b) a thinned starch (ABST).
Marakainen teaches the coatings are for substrates such as textiles and paper.
The amount of each of these ingredients to be added will be determined in accordance with standard practice and with the desired properties of the particular coating composition. For 100 parts pigment, the coating composition of the present invention will preferably comprise 1-50 parts of the starch mixture defined above, 0-30 parts synthetic binder, 0-5 parts thickener and 0-5 parts additive(s) (all calculated on a dry weight basis). Advantageously, it will comprise 100 parts pigment, 5-25 parts starch mixture, 1-10 parts synthetic binder, 0-2 parts thickener and 0-2 parts additive(s). More preferably, the composition will comprise 5-15 parts starch mixture, 3-8 parts synthetic binder, 0-1 parts thickener and 0-1 parts additive(s). The exact make-up of the composition will readily be determined by the skilled person depending on the desired end properties of the coating composition. When in its aqueous, ready-to-use form, the composition of the invention will preferably comprise at least 50% by weight dry substance, more preferably 50-80%. The composition will advantageously have a pH of 7 to 12. Preferably, the pH will be from 8 to 10 (page 6 and 7, lines 24-36, 1-3)
Marakainen teaches an aqueous starch composition with thinned starch and a pH that overlaps the claimed range of 9 to 12.
Marakainen teaches the objective of the invention is to employ non-thinned and thinned starch to replace in whole or in part synthetic binders in coating compositions and the advantage is that the starch mixture can significantly improve the rheology of the coating compositions without adversely affecting mottling or surface strength compared to latex only binders (page 9, lines 1-5). Marakainen teaches the thinned starches are modified by hydrolysis (page 3, lines 29-37) per Applicant’s definition in [0021].
Marakainen teaches the composition provides for an improvement in one or more properties of the substrate, e.g. appearance, feel, printability, strength, water resistance, reflectivity and/or functionality.
Marakainen teaches the compositions can be coating on one or both sides and multiple coatings. Marakainen teaches the coating is applied by methods known in the art such as air knife coating, rod coating, bar coating, wire bar coating, spray coating, brush coating, cast coating, flexible blade coating, gravure coating, jet applicator coating, curtain coating reverse roll coating (page 8, lines 15-26). As the coating is an aqueous solution or dispersion, the coating would inherently penetrate the fabric and are equated with wet impregnating.
Marakainen teaches a blend of non-thinned and thinned starch at a ratio of 50:50, to 1:99 (page 4, lines 22-30) which is the same as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a combination of thinned and non-thinned starch motivated to improve the rheology of the mixture provided by the thinned starch.
Wherein Marakainen teaches the binders are for use in textiles and papers, the examples are all for paper. Additional evidence that the it would have been obvious to use a modified starch as a textile binder is found in Griffin. Griffin teaches thin boiled starch binders for use in textiles and paper.
Griffin is directed to film forming compositions and to a method of increasing the permanency and the resistance to water of various types of materials by the treatment of said materials with the compositions of this invention. Griffin teaches the expression "film forming compositions" as employed herein is intended to cover generically a rather wide variety of compositions useful in several different industries with some modification, for example, compositions useful in the textile Industry, the paper industry, the leather industry, as adhesives, as insulating materials and for many other purposes where resistance to water is a factor and increased resistance to water is desired. The compositions of the invention may be applied in sizing, coating, impregnating, finishing, dyeing, printing and in various other types of treatments applicable to textiles, paper and other types of materials (col. 1, lines 1-20).
Griffin teaches any one of a number of different types of fibrous material, including textile fibers or fabrics, paper, insulating materials and other types of materials. The compositions may also be applied to form films on metals, wood and other materials of construction where water resistance or greater permanency is desired (page 2, first column, lines 14-32). Griffin teaches the addition of the starch composition to treat textiles and fabric and
Griffin teaches it is preferable to employ a starch or a starch degeneration product as the film forming base. By a starch degeneration product is meant a derivative of starch such as may be obtained by the various processes of making thin boiling and so-called modified starches and dextrins. In general, especially good results have been obtained with specially modified starches (page 4, first column, lines 57-66).
Griffin does not refer to the modified, thin boiling starch as thinned starch but it is equated with the claimed thinned starch as Applicant describes the thinned starch can be made as described in the instant application [0022]-[0023] and includes heat; thermal degradation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a combination of thinned and non-thinned starch motivated to improve the rheology of the mixture provided by the thinned starch to provide water resistance to a textile.
As to claims 5, 16 and 17, Hawkins teaches modified starch and differs and is not specific with regard to thinned starch. Hawkins teaches the starch can be dextrin in Table 14, [0096]. Hawkins teaches the modified starch can be derived from plant sources such as corn, potatoes [0010]. While Hawkins does not explicitly teach corn dextrin or native corn, as Hawkins teaches the starch can be derived from corn and teaches dextrin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ corn dextrin and native corn motivated obtain starch from a natural source.
Marakainen teaches the starch can be a corn dextrin (page 4, lines 13-16) or native waxy corn starch (page 4, line 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a native corn starch or corn dextrin motivated to produce a thinned starch binder.
As to claim 8, Hawkins teaches mixing the modified starch with water to form the aqueous binder. Hawkins teaches the pH can be adjusted to 8 to 14 in some embodiments [0041].
Marakainen teaches mixing thinned and non-thinned starch at a pH to solubilize the thinned starch in water at a pH of 7-12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce the binder composition via the steps of providing thinned starch, mixing the thinned starch and adjusting the pH motivated to achieve the desired rheology of the composition and at a pH that solubilizes the starches and replaces synthetic polymers in the binder composition.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawkins et al (US 20110021101) in view of Rempt et al (US20100129593).
As to claim 15, Hawkins teaches the chopped fiber mat with starch binder can be used for insulation and roofing but is silent with regard to a bituminous membrane support.
Rempt is directed to a novel binder system for its use for the consolidation of the textile fabrics. The materials are suitable for manufacture of lining materials which can be used in the manufacture of sarking membranes and roofing sheets (ABST). Rempt teaches the present invention is thus a textile fabric which is consolidated by means of a binder system comprising: a) 10 to 70% by weight polycondensates on the basis of carboxylic acid which are cross-linked by means of a cross-linking agent, and b) 0 to 50% by weight polyvinyl acetate, or c) 70 to 1% by weight of an additive, selected from the group of starch, amphoteric hydroxides, kaolin or mixtures thereof, and d) 0 to 10% by weight additives, wherein the specified percentages by weight refer to the dry weight of the binder system, i.e., without water [0009]-[0012].
Rempt teaches an aqueous binder composition that comprises starch that is applied on a fabric.
Rempt teaches the manufacture of the textile fabrics used according to the invention is carried out by means of known methods and processes. The manufacture of the consolidated textile fabric of the invention is carried out by means of the following steps: A) generation of a textile fabric and mechanical consolidation thereof, if necessary; B) application of the binder system of the invention, comprising: I) 10 to 70% by weight polymerisates on the basis of carboxylic acid, in particular polycarboxylic acid, which can be cross-linked by means of a cross-linking agent, and II) 0 to 50% by weight polyvinyl acetate, or [0118] III) 70 to 1% by weight of an additive, selected from the group of starch, amphoteric hydroxides, kaolin or mixtures thereof, and IV) 0 to 10% by weight additives, C) drying and consolidation of the binder, wherein the specified percentages by weight refer to the dry weight of the binder system, i.e., without water [0113]-[0120].
Drying or consolidation of the binder is also carried out by means of methods known to the person skilled in the art, wherein temperatures of 160°C. to 210°C. prove to be advantageous [0126].
Rempt teaches the fabric membrane can be used for roofing sheets and further processing such as bituminization can be employed [0003], [0110], [0112].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ a starch binder mat for use in roofing sheets that are bituminous.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection over Rempt in view of Marakainen have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 103 rejection of Rempt in view of Marakainen over claims 1-13, 15-21 have been withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection is presented over Hawkins and Hawkins in view of Marakainen and Hawkins in view of Marakainen and Rempt.
Applicants amendments and arguments with respect to Rempt are persuasive as Rempt teaches a cross-linking agent is required.
Applicants amendments and arguments with respect to Marakainen are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Marakainen is silent with regard to improved mechanical properties and building applications and also fails to provide any pointers for a method of producing a fabric impregnated with a binder composition as recited in claim 1 of the present application to be advantageous for producing a fabric with improved mechanical properties.
Marakainen is directed to starch binder composition for textiles and paper and while the examples are directed to binders for paper, Marakainen teaches for use in textile and therefore suggests a textile binder. Note, the rejection additionally includes an additionally cited reference to Griffin which teaches thin boiled starch for use in textile and paper to provide water resistance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Falivene et al US 3644241 A
Sivasligil et al WO 2018213393 A1 (cited as US 20210155776)
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789