Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
43. Although the original disclosure discloses water vapor itself has a flow rate between 0-3 slm, there is no basis in the original disclosure that the water vapor in addition to nitrogen has a flow rate between 0-3 slm. Thus this claim is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 14-23, 29, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over He et al., W.O. Int’l Pub. No. 2019/212986 A1 [hereinafter He] in view of Rosenblum et al., W.O. Int’l Pub. No. 92/08245 [hereinafter Rosenblum] or/and Gurer et al., U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2002/0004100 A1 [hereinafter Gurer]; Gordon et al., U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0163062 A1 [hereinafter Gordon]; and alternatively Torre, Fundamentals of real-time processing in automation and control (2014).
The body of the claim is generally written with parentheses following the limitations indicating the prior art’s teachings and/or examiner notes.
1. The following references render this claim obvious.
I. He
A method, comprising:
receiving a substrate in a humidification environment (vacuum/atmosphere transition module and pretreatment chamber; He [00030], [00039], [00044], figs. 6A-6B;
…whereby the active surface of the substrate is humidified without forming condensed water on the active surface (moisturize the substrate without condensation; He [00052], figs. 4C-4D);
removing the substrate from the humidification environment (substrate transferred out of the humidification environment to a plating cell; He [00035]-[00036], figs. 4C-4D); and
electroplating a material onto the active surface of the substrate (undergoing electrochemical deposition; id.).
II. Relative Humidity Data
He is silent on receiving, in real-time, relative humidity data of the humidification environment from a relative humidity sensor; and exposing an active surface of the substrate in the humidification environment to water vapor conditions controlled by the relative humidity data.
A. Rosenblum
However, Rosenblum teaches a method comprising using humidity sensors 80, 82, and 84 to measure the relative humidity and sends control signals to a control means that controls the relative humidity with the flow of humidified gas in lines 70, 72, and 74. Rosenblum p. 13, fig. 2. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized this to be real time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Rosenblum’s real-time relative humidity control method to control the relative humidity.
B. or/and Gurer
Gurer teaches a method comprising controlling the humidity with a humidity controller which senses the humidity with a humidity sensor and then adjusts the control valves to adjust the gas flow rates and compositions. Gurer [0038], fig. 1. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized this to be real time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Gurer’s real-time relative humidity control method to control the relative humidity.
C. Real Time – Alternatively Torre
Alternatively regarding real time control, Torre teaches that real time controls avoid non-valid outputs which produce malfunctions or even a catastrophic failure. Torre p. 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Torre’s real time control to avoid non-valid outputs which produce malfunctions or even a catastrophic failure.
III. Pressure/Temperature Control - Gordon
He is silent on receiving, in real-time, at least one of pressure data of the humidification environment from a pressure sensor and temperature data of the humidification environment from a substrate temperature sensor, and exposing an active surface of the substrate in the humidification environment to water vapor conditions controlled by … at least one of the pressure data and the temperature data.
However, He does teach a vacuum level of 0.1-5 torr. He [00039], fig. 6A.
Gordon teaches a method comprising using a pressure sensor to control a butterfly valve (i.e. throttle valve) to maintain the pressure. Gordon [0132].
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Gordon’s method comprising using a pressure sensor to control a butterfly valve in order to maintain the desired pressure.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising pre-treating the substrate to reduce a metal oxide layer on the surface of the substrate (N2-filled FOUP prevents oxidation, also since the claimed invention uses hydrogen plasma, FOUP with nitrogen, and/or annealing pre-treating which reduces metal oxide, so would Gurer’s). He [00011], see also infra claims 4-6 rejections.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the substrate reduces the substrate moisture (since the claimed invention uses hydrogen plasma, FOUP with nitrogen, and/or annealing pre-treating which reduces moisture, so would Gurer’s). See infra claims 4-6 rejections.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the substrate includes exposing the substrate to a hydrogen plasma (hydrogen plasma). He [00036], fig. 4D.
5. The method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the substrate includes annealing the substrate in the presence of hydrogen (hydrogen anneal). He [00035], fig. 4C.
6. The method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the substrate includes containing the substrate in a front opening, unified pod (FOUP) with nitrogen (FOUP with nitrogen). He [00035]-[00036], figs. 4C-4D.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the substrate in the humidification environment is performed at atmospheric pressure (inbound vacuum/atmospheric transition module would start at atmospheric pressure). He [00043], [00047], figs. 6A-6B.
8. The method of claim 7, further comprising reducing pressure in the humidification environment prior to exposing the active surface of the substrate in the humidification environment to water vapor (inbound vacuum/atmospheric transition module would start at atmospheric pressure and then increase the vacuum while decreasing atmospheric pressure). He [00043], [00047], figs. 6A-6B.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the pressure in the humidification environment prior to exposing the active surface of the substrate in the humidification environment to water vapor is between 0 and 100 Torr (0.1-5 torr). Gurer [00036], [00039].
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the conditions under which the active surface of the substrate is exposed to the humidification environment include exposing the active surface to the humidification environment at a temperature between 5 to 95 °C (30-400°C). He [00035]-[00036].
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the conditions under which the active surface of the substrate is exposed to the humidification environment include delivering water vapor to the humidification environment (humidified nitrogen supplied to humidification environment). He [00030], [00046], [00055].
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the composition of the water vapor is less than 10 ppm dissolved oxygen (oxygen-free environment). He [00030].
16. The method of claim 14, wherein the pressure of the humidification environment prior to delivering water vapor is between 5 and 100 Torr (0.1-5 torr). He [00036], [00039].
17. The method of claim 14, wherein the relative humidity of the humidification environment prior to delivering water vapor is between 0 and 50% (20-99%). He [00046].
18. The method of claim 14, wherein the temperature of the water vapor is between 10°C and 100°C (30-400°C). He [00036], [00039].
19. The method of claim 14, wherein delivering water vapor is performed at a flow rate between 0 and 3 slm. He is silent on this.
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious. MPEP § 2144.05.
Rosenblum teaches that the humidified gas flow is a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting the relative humidity. See Rosenblum p. 13. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the water vapor flow is a key component in the humidified gas flow which would also affect the relative humidity, hence making it a result-effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have routinely experimented with the variable and determined the optimum or workable range to be inclusive of the claimed range/value(s).
20. The method of claim 14, wherein the duration of delivering water vapor is between 0.1 and 300 seconds (30-600 seconds). He [00035]-[00036], figs. 4C-4D.
21. The method of claim 14, wherein the relative humidity of the humidification environment after delivering water vapor is between 50 and 99% (20-99%). He [00046].
22. The method of claim 1, wherein the conditions under which the active surface of the substrate is exposed to the humidification environment include a delay time period (delay time). He [00028], [00042], [00047].
23. The method of claim 22, wherein the delay time period is between 0 and 300 seconds (1-1200 seconds or 10-1200 seconds). He [00042], [00046].
29. The method of claim 1, further comprising immersing the substrate in an electroplating bath prior to electroplating a material onto the active surface of the substrate (this is well known and very common in the art, a person having ordinary skill would have assumed this to be the case when electroplating).
42. The method of claim 1, further comprising: reducing a pressure in the humidification environment using a throttle valve prior to exposing the active surface of the substrate in the humidification environment to the water vapor conditions to remove condensed water from a surface of the substrate (a person having ordinary skill in the art would have used the prior art’s butterfly valve to get the pressure down to He’s desired pressure of 0.1-5 torr before introducing the substrate). See claim 1 rejection.
Claims 12, 24, 26-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over He in view of Rosenblum or/and Gurer; Gordon and alternatively Torre as applied to claim 1 previously, and further in view of Futase, U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0227472 A1 [hereinafter Futase] or Nakada et al., U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2005/0023149 A1 [hereinafter Nakada].
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the humidification environment includes one or more sensors, and wherein each sensor of the one or more sensors is selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensor, a substrate temperature sensor, and a relative humidity sensor. This is an alternative rejection.
A. Futase
Futase teaches a method comprising maintaining the pressure of chamber 56 using a pressure sensor and exhausting gas through a gas exhaust port 65 with a vacuum pump. Futase [0136], fig. 11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Futase’s method in order to control the pressure.
B. or Nakada
Nakada teaches a method comprising maintaining the pressure of anode chamber 530 using a control section, pressure sensor 572, and exhausting gas with a vacuum pump 568. Nakada [0142], fig. 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Nakada’s method in order to control the pressure.
24. The method of claim 1, wherein the conditions under which the active surface of the substrate is exposed to the humidification environment include reducing pressure in the humidification environment after exposing the active surface of the substrate to water vapor (obvious in view of Futase or Nakada as explained previously, and when controlling the pressure with a vacuum pump the pressure would decrease after exposure). See claims 12-13 rejections.
26. The method of claim 24, wherein reducing pressure in the humidification environment reduces pressure to between 0 and 100 Torr (0.1-5 torr). He [00036], [00039].
27. The method of claim 24, wherein reducing pressure in the humidification environment reduces pressure by between 0 and 100 Torr (obvious in view of Futase or Nakada as explained previously, and when controlling the pressure with a vacuum pump the pressure would decrease after exposure and at least some adjustments would fall within 0-100 torr since the desired range is 0.1-5 torr which would span 4.9 torr, and adjustments would desirably happen within this 4.9 torr range). See claims 12-13 rejections, see also He [00036], [00039].
29. The method of claim 1, further comprising immersing the substrate in an electroplating bath prior to electroplating a material onto the active surface of the substrate. This serves as an alternative rejection of the previous rejection.
Nakada teaches a method comprising having the wafer in the plating solution and then starting the current. Nakada [0241], figs. 34-35. Thus the wafer must have been immersed before electroplating. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized this to be a suitable method to electroplate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious with a reasonable expectation of success to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aforementioned prior art’s method with Nakada’s immersion method in order to yield the predictable result of having a suitable method to electroplate with.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s latest filed arguments have been fully considered and are addressed below.
The Examiner has considered Applicant’s argument that Rosenblum and Gurer are silent on real-time feedback. Remarks p. 10.
The Examiner respectfully submits that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have understood the two to use real-time feedback since there is no suggestion that the feedback is delayed in any manner.
The Examiner has considered Applicant’s argument that “Rosenblum is silent regarding any flow rate.” Remarks p. 11.
The Examiner respectfully submits that Rosenblum explicitly teaches controlling the flow of humidified air: “humidity sensors … provide control signals to control means … that control the flow of humidified air” which would necessarily include the water vapor it contains. Rosenblum p. 13. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that controlling the flow would mean controlling the flow rate since that would control the relative humidity that Rosenblum wishes to control.
The Examiner has considered Applicant’s disagreement of the rejection of claims 24, 26-27, and 29 without an argument. Remarks p. 12.
The Examiner respectfully maintains the rejections.
Conclusion
/HOSUNG CHUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794