DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not depict or present the shielding plates directly connected to the carrier inner plates. The term is not use in regard to this in the specification and directly means in immediate physical contact. Claim 15 further attempts to require that the direct contact is via one or more rods, however, using said rods is not direct contact as commonly understood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the shielding plates directly connected to the carrier inner plates must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki.
Suzuki teaches a holding apparatus for holding multiple substrates comprising:
- carrier inner plates parallel to each other for holding substrates on either side – see the inner supports including two substrates as per of Fig. 16 and
- carrier outer plates parallel to the inner plates for supporting a substrate only on its inner surface, see outer plates on the outer edges with one substate, and
- shielding plates space apart from the outer plates and shade the outer plates – see heat insulating plates 213. As it is placed into system per Fig. 17, the elements of Fig. 16 are unified and the shielding plates connected to the inner/outer plates indirectly.
The requirement of “in a plasma assisted deposition” is merely an intended use but in any case, Suzuki teaches a plasma system [0059].
The Office holds the position that “directly” connected is not supported and that rods intervening does not meet the requirement of “direct” contact, but in any case, the rejection over Suzuki is made based on the fact that applicants claim “direct” contact between the elements with an intervening rod and therefore this interpretation is applied. Suzuki teaches the elements connected as depicted in Figs. 16-17 including parts 212 and the bottom plate which are broadly equivalent to the claimed “rods”.
Regarding claim 2, the plates are arranged as claimed / parallel.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 14, the teachings do not include the claimed dimensions but generally the selection of size and shape is not patentable, see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. and B. In this case one would alter the size and shape so long as the dimensions resulted in the requirements of shielding as described. There are no claimed limitations on what difference in size is required.
Regarding claim 4, the shield plates are free of electrical contact as presented.
Regarding claim 7-9 and 12, Suzuki is silent on the composition of the plates, but per MPEP 2144.07, the selection of a particular material for its intended use is obvious without a showing of criticality. In this case, to form the plates of one or more materials, including the materials such as graphite and/or metal, would have been obvious without a showing of criticality of using multiple materials and including graphite in the parts.
Regarding claim 10, the shielding plates do not include cutouts.
Regarding claims 15, as argued above– the shielding plates are connected.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Seo (2006/0137607).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the teachings of Suzuki do not include a cooling structure on the heat shields – but Seo teaches that on a heat dissipation plate for use in a substrate processing apparatus it is useful to include heat dissipation fins [0056]. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to apply the heat dissipation fins of Seo on the heat shields of Suzuki. Both elements are generally to prevent the transfer of heat and Seo teaches that the fins (understood generally as “rib-like” structures) are useful for removing heat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered, the Office does not agree that applicant’s have support for the ‘direct’ connection as now claimed. Further, the amendment to claim 15 requiring rods to ‘directly’ connect the two parts completely contradicts the meaning of “directly”. The term is not used in the specification in order to support any alternative definition.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the rejection was maintained by applying applicants interpretation, per claim 15 of “directly” including rods in between the shielding plates and inner/outer plates. It is also further noted that the term “rod” is not specifically limiting in particular wherein the original term in the German application, Stange, would imply parts such as a pole, post, bar, beam or stem as well as a rod.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712