DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 11-16, 18-24, 29, 32, 35, 36, 38, 39, 48, and 55-58 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I, claims 1-8, 11-16 and 18-20, and the species of
a) as recited in claim 3(b)
wherein: R1, R2, R3 are the same or different and are each selected from the group consisting of C1- C20 alkyl, Cl-C20 cycloalkyl, C1-C20 unsaturated alkyl, C1-C20 haloalkyl, hydroxylalkyl, alkoxyalkyl, carboxyalkyl, C6-C2o aryl, and substituted aryl; and
x and y are each independently an integer from 1 to 500; and
b) octyl methoxycinnamate (or octinoxate) recited in claim 8(b),
in the reply filed on 10/13/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 21-24, 29, 32, 35, 36, 38, 39, 48, and 55-58 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 4, 11, and 12 are withdrawn as not being directed to the elected species.
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 13-16 and 18-20 are under consideration to the extent that the composition comprises the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/19/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 13-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akthakul et al. (US 2021/0213047; effectively filed 11/9/2015) in view of Berg-Schultz et al. (US 2006/0160976).
Akthakul et al. teach compositions that can form a covering, layer, film, device, and/or prosthetic skin that can be comfortably worn to provide skin barrier function, skin hydration and therapeutic and aesthetic benefits (e.g. abstract), comprising one or more crosslinked polysiloxanes associated with one or more light-filtering compounds (e.g. e.g. paragraphs 0070, 0123 and 0124; Claims 1 and 21; Example 81). Akthakul et al. teach that the polysiloxane may have the following structure:
wherein each R1, R2, and Rt1-Rt6 is independently selected from hydrogen, C1-25 alkyl, C2-25 alkenyl, C2-25 alkynyl, C5-10 aryl, halogen, amino and hydroxy, wherein the C1-25 alkyl, C2-25 alkenyl, C2-25 alkynyl, and C5-10 aryl may be optionally substituted with 1 to 3 substituents selected from C1-25 alkyl, halogen, haloC1-25 alkyl, amino and hydroxy, and wherein n is an integer between 10 and 3000. R1 and R2 of each monomer unit may be, but are not necessarily the same (i.e. may be the elected species (II) when one of R-1 or R2 are H and the remaining R1 or R2 are C1-20 alkyl or C5-10 aryl, and Rt1-Rt6 are CH3). While the elected species is not exemplified, the substituents are included among a short list of preferred ingredients. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results.
Akthakul et al. do not teach that the one or more light-filtering compounds is the elected species of octyl methoxycinnamate. This is made up for by the teachings of Berg-Schultz et al.
Berg-Schultz et al. teach novel compounds, useful as sunscreens on the basis of polymethylsiloxanes and compositions containing them (e.g. abstract). Berg-Schultz et al. teach that the sunscreen may be octyl methoxycinnamate (e.g. paragraph 0020, 0044 and Examples). Berg-Schultz et al. teach that the sunscreens are covalently bound to the polysiloxanes (e.g. paragraph 0044, Examples). Berg-Schultz et al. teach that the polysiloxane compounds show and excellent liposolubility and can thus be incorporated in high concentrations into cosmetic formulations leading to a high protection factor of the final compositions. Additionally they are homogeneously distributed in the cosmetic formulation containing at least a fatty phase and a cosmetically accepted organic solvent which leads, applied on the skin/or hair, to the formation of a protective film which protects effectively the skin and/or hair against the deleterious effects of UV-radiation (e.g. paragraph 0092).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6-8, 19 and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the octyl methoxycinnamate, which is covalently bound to a polysiloxane, of Berg-Schultz et al. for use in the composition and polysiloxanes of Akthakul et al.. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as both of the compositions are directed to skin protecting compositions comprising polysiloxanes and UV filters, and one would have been motivated to select the polysiloxane-bound UV filters of Berg-Schultz et al. in order to provide the benefits of excellent liposolubility which allows for incorporated in high concentrations into cosmetic formulations leading to a high protection factor of the final compositions, and homogeneous distribution in the cosmetic formulation which leads to the formation of a protective film which protects effectively the skin and/or hair against the deleterious effects of UV-radiation, as taught by Berg-Schultz et al.
Regarding Claim 5, Akthakul et al. teach that the crosslinked polysiloxanes form a network (e.g. paragraphs 0071, 0072).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14, Akthakul et al. teach the inclusion of a Vinyl Q Resin (e.g. Examples 47 and 65).
Regarding Claims 15, 16 and 18, Akthakul et al. teach the inclusion of reinforcing fillers, including fumed silica, hydrated silica, or anhydrous silica (e.g. paragraph 0085).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619