DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s Preliminary Amendment filed on 11/15/2022. Claims 10-15 and 27 have been cancelled. Currently, claims 1-9 and 16-26 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
The Requirement for Restriction/Election dated 10/30/2025 has been withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/15/2022 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zimmerman (US 20200044345 A1).
Consider claim 1, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna (read as the base station antenna 200/300, figure 3A and 4, par [0083] and [0087]), comprising:
an array of radiating elements, including multiple columns of radiating elements with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as array 330 having four columns 332, each column including multiple radiating elements 340, figure 4, par [0087[);
a first phase shifter configured to impart a phase progression to sub-components of a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band for transmission in a beam forming mode (read as the adjustable phase shifter and power divider circuits 350 split low-band (first frequency) RF signals from ports 310 into sub-components and vary their phasing, thereby imparting phase progression for beamforming, figure 4, par [0087]-[0088]);
a second phase shifter configured to impart a phase progression to sub-components of an RF signal of a second frequency band for transmission in a multi-beam mode (read as the high-band phase shifter circuits 354 that impart phase progression to sub-components of a second, different frequency band for sector-splitting (multi-beam) operation, figures 4-5, par [0090]), wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band (read as first frequency band (low-band) and second frequency band (high-band), par [0077] and [0085]), the RF signal of the second frequency band includes a first beam signal and a second beam signal (read as beam-forming network generates first and second antenna beams based on RF signals input to different high-band ports, figures 4 and 5, par [0080] and [0091]);
a multi-beam device configured to generate an output signal corresponding to the corresponding radiating elements according to the phase shifted first beam signal and the phase shifted second beam signal (read as individual beam-forming networks 360, implemented as Butler Matrices 366, that combine phase-shifted high-band signals to produce multiple output feeding radiating elements, figures 4-5, par [0091]-[0091] and [0093]); and
a diplexer configured to receive the phase shifted RF signal of the first frequency band and the output signal of the multi-beam device, and transmit a diplexer output signal to the corresponding radiating elements (read as the multiplexer filter 280 (corresponding to the diplexer), having a first input from low-band power divider networks, and a second input from beam-forming networks, and an output feeding the radiating elements, figures 3A and 4 and 6, par [0081] and [0094]).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the second phase shifter comprises a first beam phase shifter configured to change a phase of the first beam signal; and a second beam phase shifter configured to change a phase of the second beam signal (read as the first and second high-band phase shifter 354-1 and 354-2, each changing the phase of respective beam signals, figure 4, par [0090]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein a predetermined amount of radiating elements in each row are coupled to the same diplexer, base station antenna further comprises a power divider configured to distribute a power of the corresponding diplexer output signal to a predetermined amount of corresponding radiating elements according to a predetermined ratio (read as one diplexer 380 per sub-array 342 of 6 sub-array 342, each sub-array including one or more radiating elements arranged by row, with power divider networks 370 configured to equally or unequally split RF power according to predetermined ratios, figures 3A-3B and 4-5, par [0082]-[0083] and [0089], [0092] and [0094]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Zimmerman, discloses wherein the predetermined amount is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 6 (read as the 6 sub-arrays 242 (242-1, 242-2, 242-3, 242-10, 242-11, 242-12) as shown in figure 3A, par [0082]-[0083]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the multi-beam device is a Butler matrix (read as beam-forming networks implemented using 4x4 Butler Matrix 366, figure 5, par [0093]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the Butler matrix includes a first input port, a second input port and a plurality of first output ports, the first input port receives the phase shifted first beam signal, the second input port receives the phase shifted second beam signal, and the plurality of first output ports are respectively coupled to corresponding radiating elements through the plurality of diplexers (read as each individual beam-forming network 360 includes first and second input ports coupled outputs of first and second high-band phase shifters 354-1 and 354-2 that provide phase-shifted first and second beam signals (figure 4, par [0090]), that the beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix 366 having a plurality of output ports (figure 5, par [0093]), and that each Butler Matrix output is coupled via respective diplexer 380 to a sub-array 342 of radiating elements (figures 4-6, par [0094]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of output ports of each Butler matrix are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row (read as one individual beam-forming network (including a Butler matrix) is provided per row and that all outputs of the network feed sub-arrays in the same row, figures 4-5, par [0092]-[0093]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein, the diplexer comprises a third input port, a fourth input port and a second output port, and the third input port receives the phase shifted RF signal of the first frequency band, the fourth input port is coupled to the first output port of the Butler matrix, and the second output port is coupled to the corresponding radiating element (read as each diplexer 380 includes a first input coupled to power dividers 370 carrying phase-shifted first-frequency band signals, a second input coupled to the beam-forming network 360 including Butler Matrix outputs, and a single output coupled to respective sub-array 342 of radiating elements, figures 4-5, par [0094]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the first phase shifter comprises a plurality of third output ports which are respectively coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same column (read as each first frequency (low) band adjustable phase shifter and power divider circuit 350 includes multiple outputs that are routed via power divider network 370 to sub-arrays 342 located in specific columns 332 of the array, figure 4, par [0087]-[0088]).
Consider claim 16, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna (read as the base station antenna 200/300, figure 3A and 4, par [0083] and [0087]) comprising:
a first sector-splitting port (read as second frequency band ports 220 that operate as sector splitting inputs used to divide a sector into sub-sectors in the high band, figures 3A-3B, par [0077], [0080] and [0085]); a second sector-splitting port (read as additional high band ports (e.g. 220-3 and 220-4) generating different azimuth beam to form multiple sub-sectors, figures 3A-3B, par [0085]);
a plurality of beam forming ports (read as a plurality of first frequency band ports 210/310, each capable of forming a separate antenna beam, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0085]);
a multi-column array of radiating elements, with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as the array including multiple columns 232/332 of radiating elements arranged in sub-arrays containing one or more radiating elements per column, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0087]);
a plurality of first phase shifters that are coupled between the respective beam forming ports and the columns of the array of radiating elements, the plurality of first phase shifters together having a plurality of first phase shifter outputs (read as adjustable phase filter and power divider circuit 350 coupled to low band ports and routing their outputs via power dividers to sub-arrays in specific column, each adjustable phase shifter circuit would include multiple outputs,, figure 4, par [0088]);
a second phase shifter having an input port that is coupled to the first sector-splitting port and a plurality of second phase shifter outputs (read as high band adjustable phrase shifter circuits 354 coupled to high band ports and providing multiple outputs to downstream beam-forming networks, figure 4, par [0090]);
a third phase shifter having an input port that is coupled to the second sector-splitting port and a plurality of third phase shifter outputs (read as a second high band phase shifter circuit 354-2 distinct from the first, each receiving a different high band port signal and providing multiple outputs, figure 4, par [0090]);
a plurality of multi-beam devices, each multi-beam device coupled to a respective one of the second phase shifter outputs and a respective one of the third phase shifter outputs, the plurality of multi-beam devices together having a plurality of multi-beam device outputs (read as individual beam-forming networks 360, each having first and second input ports coupled respectively to outputs of the two high-band phase shifters, and each beam-forming network include four outputs implemented by a Butler Matrix, figures 4 and 5, par [0090]-[0091] and [0093]); and
a plurality of diplexers, each diplexer having a first input port that is coupled to a respective one of the first phase shifter outputs, a second input port that is coupled to a respective one of the multi-beam device outputs, and an output port that is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements (read as diplexers 380 each having a first input from low band power dividers, a second input from beam-forming networks, and an output coupled to sub-array of radiating elements, figures 4 and 6, par [0094]-[0096]).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the multi-beam devices are Butler Matrices (read as each individual beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix, figure 5, par ]0093]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein two first phase shifters are coupled to the radiating elements in each column of the array of radiating elements for each polarization radiator of the radiating elements (read as the duplication of the low band feed networks, including phase shifter paths, for −45° and + 45° polarizations feeding the same columns, figures 3A-3B, par [0084]-[0085]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the number of Butler Matrices that are connected to the multi-column array of radiating elements is equal to twice the number of columns in the multi-column array of radiating elements (read the configuration in figure 4 comprising five beam-forming networks 360 and ten antenna array column 342, figure 4,par ]0090]-[0092]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein a predetermined amount of radiating elements in each row are coupled to the same diplexer, the base station antenna further comprises a power divider configured to distribute a power of the signal output from the output port of the corresponding diplexer to a predetermined amount of corresponding radiating elements according to a predetermined ratio (read as one diplexer 380 per sub-array 342 of 6 sub-array 342, each sub-array including one or more radiating elements arranged by row, with power divider networks 370 configured to equally or unequally split RF power according to predetermined ratios, figures 3A-3B and 4-5, par [0082]-[0083] and [0089], [0092] and [0094]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 20 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the predetermined amount is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 6 (read as the 6 sub-arrays 242 (242-1, 242-2, 242-3, 242-10, 242-11, 242-12) as shown in figure 3A, par [0082]-[0083]).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of multi-beam device outputs of each multi-beam devices are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row (read as individual beam-forming network (BFN) 360 is provided for each row of sub-arrays 342 and that each output of the Butler Matrix 366 is coupled to a respective one of the sub-arrays 342 for transmission by the radiating elements, such that the array comprises a plurality of rows and the plurality of BFN outputs of each BFN are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row, figures 4-5, par [0091]-[0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20200044345 A1) in view of Zimmerman (US 20190326662 A1) (hereinafter Zimmerman 662).
Consider claim 23, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna comprising:
a first sector-splitting port (read as second frequency band ports 220 that operate as sector splitting inputs used to divide a sector into sub-sectors in the high band, figures 3A-3B, par [0077], [0080] and [0085]); a second sector-splitting port (read as additional high band ports (e.g. 220-3 and 220-4) generating different azimuth beam to form multiple sub-sectors, figures 3A-3B, par [0085]);
a plurality of beam forming ports (read as a plurality of first frequency band ports 210/310, each capable of forming a separate antenna beam, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0085]);
a multi-beam device having first and second inputs that are coupled to the respective first and second sector-splitting ports and a plurality of multi-beam device outputs (read as beam-forming network 260/360 having two input ports coupled to high band phase shifter outputs and multiple outputs generated by Butler Matrices 366, figure 4-5, par [0080], [0090]-[0091] and [0093]);
a plurality of phase shifters, the plurality of phase shifters together having a plurality of phase shifter outputs; (rad as low-band adjustable phase shifter circuits 350 and high band phase shifters 354, each having multiple outputs, figure 4, par [0088] and [0090]);
a plurality of diplexers, each diplexer having a first input port that is coupled to a respective one of the beam forming ports, a second input port that is coupled to a respective one of the multi-beam device outputs, to an output (rad as multiplexer filter/diplexer 380 receiving low band signals and beam-forming network outputs and routing combined signals along the feed path toward radiating element circuitry, figures 4 and 6, par [0081], [0094] and [0096]);
a multi-column array of radiating elements, with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as an array 342 including multiple columns of radiating elements arranged in sub-arrays containing one or more radiating elements per column, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0087]).
However, and an output port of each diplexer of a plurality of diplexers that is coupled to a respective one of the phase shifters, and wherein each phase shifter output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman 662 discloses an alternative feed-network ordering in which diplexers precede phase shifters while preserving identical signals combination and beam-forming functionality, and each the phase shifters output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements, figure 4, par [0009], [0012] and [0035]-[0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman 662 into the teachings of Zimmerman to modify Zimmerman’s antenna system using Zimmerman 662’s diplexer before phase shifter arrangement in order to allow phase adjustment of already combined multi-band signals, thereby enabling post combination beam steering.
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman 662, discloses wherein the multi-beam device is a Butler Matrix (read as each individual beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix, figure 5, par ]0093]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman 662, discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of multi-beam device outputs of each multi-beam devices are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row of the array of radiating elements (read as one beam-forming network per row, with all outputs feeding sub-array and radiating elements in that same row, figures 4-5, par [0092]-[0093]).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman 662, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the phase shifters includes a plurality of phase shifter outputs, and the plurality of the phase shifter outputs of each phase shifter are respectively coupled to the corresponding radiating elements in the same column of the array of radiating.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman 662 discloses an alternative feed-network ordering in which diplexers precede phase shifters while preserving identical signals combination and beam-forming functionality, and each the phase shifters output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements, figure 4, par [0009], [0012] and [0035]-[0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman 662 into the teachings of Zimmerman, which modified by Zimmerman 662, to further modify the antenna system using Zimmerman 662’s phase shifter before antenna arrangement in order to allow phase adjustment of already combined multi-band signals, thereby enabling post combination beam steering.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645