DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment/arguments filed on 04/24/2026. Claims 10-15 and 27 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 16 have been amended. Claim 28 has been added. Currently, claims 1-9, 16-26 and 28 are pending. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to amended claims 1 and 16, and new claim 28, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Regarding claim 23, Applicant argues that the combination of Zimmerman and Zimmerman ’662 (corresponding to Zimmerman I and Zimmerman II) does not teach “a plurality of diplexers, each diplexer having a first input port that is coupled to a respective one of the beam forming ports, a second input port that is coupled to a respective one of the multi-beam device outputs, and an output port that is coupled to a respective one of the phase shifters” and “wherein each phase shifter output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements”. Applicant states that “the diplexers 380 could not be moved to be positioned before the phase shifters 350, 354 while still allowing the antenna to work for its intended purpose” and that such an arrangement would make it “impossible to have the antenna support 4xMIMO operation in a first frequency sub-band while support sector-splitting operation in a second frequency sub-band” because “the two sub-bands are being combined prior to the beamforming networks”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument assumes a bodily relocation of Zimmerman’s existing diplexers 380 upstream of the existing phrase shifter 350/354, whereas the rejection relies on Zimmerman ’662’s known feed-network ordering in which a diplexed output feeds a downstream phase shifter or phase shifter assembly.
Specifically, Zimmerman provides the base shared antenna architecture. Zimmerman discloses a multi-column array of wideband radiating elements that operates as a MIMO sector antenna in a first frequency band and as a multi-beam sector-splitting antenna in a second frequency band (par [0059]). The first frequency band ports may form four antenna beams for 4xMIMO operation, while second band ports may split a 120 degrees sector into two 60 sub-sectors (par [0085]). At the combining port, each diplexer 380 includes a first input coupled to a power divider 370, a second input coupled to a beam-forming network 360, and an output coupled to a sub-array 342; the diplexer 380 combine the low-band RF signals with the high-band signals for transmission by radiating elements 340 (par [00340]). Thus, Zimmerman already provides separate first band and second band feed paths up to the diplexer combining point.
Applicant’s figure-relevance arguments do not identify a deficiency. Figures 3A-3B are relevant to the overall shared antenna architecture, including first frequency band ports 210, second frequency band ports 220, array 230 and beam-forming network 260 outputs coupled to sub-arrays through multiplexer filters 280 (par [0077] and [0080] of Zimmerman). Figure 5 is relevant because Zimmerman describes each individual beam-forming network 360 as having first and second input ports and four outputs, and further describes beam-forming network 360-5 as a bidirectional 2x4 beamforming network including a 4x4 Butler Matrix 366 with each Butler Matrix output coupled to a respective sub-array 340 (par [0090]-[0093]). Figure 6 does not create a separate defect because Zimmerman states that the individual beam-forming networks 360, diplexers 380, high band phase shifters 354 and array 330 may be identical to those in figure 4 (see par [0096]).
Zimmerman ’662 provides the disputed downstream ordering. Zimmerman ’662 discloses a diplexer having first and second inputs for receiving respective RF signals having unequal frequencies and a phrase shifter having an input electrically coupled to a diplexed output of the diplexer and a plurality of outputs electrically coupled to a plurality of radiating elements (see par [0009]). Additionally, Zimmerman ’662 similarly teaches first through eighth diplexers and first through eighth phase shifters, with each phase shifter having an input electrically coupled to an output of a respective one of the diplexers and output coupled to dual band radiating elements (see par [0012]). Therefore, Zimmerman ’662 discloses the claimed diplexer output to phase shifter relationship and the claimed phase shifter output to radiating element relationship.
The combination does not require the two bands to be combined “prior to the beamforming networks” as applicant argues. Zimmerman’s first band MIMO and second band sector-splitting feed paths remain separate up to the diplexer combining point. Zimmerman ’662 then provides the known downstream phase-shifter arrangement after the diplexed output. Accordingly, the combination preserves Zimmerman’s MIMO/sector-splitting architecture while providing the claimed diplexed output to phase shifter ordering.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the Office Action does not identify a reason to perform “post combination beam steering” and that the modification would require “applying the same electronic downtilt” to both bands, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zimmerman ’662 provides the reason for the relied-upon ordering by teaching “a two-input diplexer to implement frequency domain multiplexing of two band (RF1, RF2), see par [0033]. Zimmerman ’662 also describes an array of diplexers for supporting dual-band signal transmission with an array of phase shifter assemblies coupled thereto (par [0035]). These phase shifter assemblies may apply a phase taper to effect an electronic downtilt (see par [0027]). Thus, the rationale is the predictable use of Zimmerman ’662’s dual band frequency domain multiplexing followed by downstream phase tapering in Zimmerman’s shared antenna system, not Applicant’s proposed reconstruction that would combine the bands before the beam-forming networks.
Finally, regarding Applicant’s same electronic downtilt argument, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant shows at most an alleged design tradeoff, not inoperability or unsuitability as claim 23 does not require independently controlled downtilt for each band; in relevant part, it recites a diplexer output coupled to a phase shifter and phase shifter outputs coupled to radiating elements; and Zimmerman ’662 discloses a phase shifter input coupled to a “diplexed output of the diplexer for electronic downtilt after frequency domain multiplexing of two bands (RF1, RF2), see par [0009], [0027] and [0033] of Zimmerman ’662). Because Zimmerman’s 4xMIMO and sector-splitting feed paths remain before the diplexer combining point (par [0085] and [0094]), Applicant shows at most an alleged design tradeoff, not inoperability or unsuitability.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments on claim 23 are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20200044345 A1) in view of Zimmerman (US 20180367199 A1) (hereinafter Zimmerman ’199).
Consider claim 1, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna (read as the base station antenna 200/300, figure 3A and 4, par [0083] and [0087]), comprising:
an array of radiating elements, including multiple columns of radiating elements with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as array 330 having four columns 332, each column including multiple radiating elements 340, figure 4, par [0087[);
a first phase shifter configured to impart a phase progression to sub-components of a radio frequency (RF) signal of a first frequency band for transmission in a beam forming mode (read as the adjustable phase shifter and power divider circuits 350 split low-band (first frequency) RF signals from ports 310 into sub-components and vary their phasing, thereby imparting phase progression for beamforming, figure 4, par [0087]-[0088]);
a second phase shifter configured to impart a phase progression to sub-components of an RF signal of a second frequency band for transmission in a multi-beam mode (read as the high-band phase shifter circuits 354 that impart phase progression to sub-components of a second, different frequency band for sector-splitting (multi-beam) operation, figures 4-5, par [0090]), wherein the second frequency band is different from the first frequency band (read as first frequency band (low-band) and second frequency band (high-band), par [0077] and [0085]), the RF signal of the second frequency band includes a first beam signal and a second beam signal (read as beam-forming network generates first and second antenna beams based on RF signals input to different high-band ports, figures 4 and 5, par [0080] and [0091]);
a multi-beam device configured to generate an output signal corresponding to the corresponding radiating elements according to the phase shifted first beam signal and the phase shifted second beam signal (read as individual beam-forming networks 360, implemented as Butler Matrices 366, that combine phase-shifted high-band signals to produce multiple output feeding radiating elements, figures 4-5, par [0091]-[0091] and [0093]); and
a diplexer configured to receive the phase shifted RF signal of the first frequency band and the output signal of the multi-beam device, and transmit a diplexer output signal to the corresponding radiating elements (read as the multiplexer filter 280 (corresponding to the diplexer), having a first input from low-band power divider networks, and a second input from beam-forming networks, and an output feeding the radiating elements, figures 3A and 4 and 6, par [0081] and [0094]).
However, Zimmerman discloses the clamed invention above and first frequency band port 310 and circuit 350 (figure 4 and par [0088]) but does not specifically disclose the RF signal of the first frequency band is for transmission in a beam forming mode and is provided to the first phase shifter from a beam forming radio.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman ’199 discloses beam-forming radio coupling, where ports 244 of base station antenna 200 connect to radio ports 44-1 through 44-8 of beam-forming radio 42; port 244-1 is coupled to phase shifter 280-1, which splits RF signals into three sub-components and applies a phase taper, and radio 42 would transmit data using beam-forming alone, figure 8, par [0046], [0062], [0064], [0077] and [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman ’199 into the teachings of Zimmerman, to modify the first frequency band port path using Zimmerman ’199’s beam-forming radio coupling, in order to increase gain toward selected users during each TDD time slot (see par [0046] of Zimmerman ’199).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the second phase shifter comprises a first beam phase shifter configured to change a phase of the first beam signal; and a second beam phase shifter configured to change a phase of the second beam signal (read as the first and second high-band phase shifter 354-1 and 354-2, each changing the phase of respective beam signals, figure 4, par [0090]).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein a predetermined amount of radiating elements in each row are coupled to the same diplexer, base station antenna further comprises a power divider configured to distribute a power of the corresponding diplexer output signal to a predetermined amount of corresponding radiating elements according to a predetermined ratio (read as one diplexer 380 per sub-array 342 of 6 sub-array 342, each sub-array including one or more radiating elements arranged by row, with power divider networks 370 configured to equally or unequally split RF power according to predetermined ratios, figures 3A-3B and 4-5, par [0082]-[0083] and [0089], [0092] and [0094]).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the predetermined amount is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 6 (read as the 6 sub-arrays 242 (242-1, 242-2, 242-3, 242-10, 242-11, 242-12) as shown in figure 3A, par [0082]-[0083]).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the multi-beam device is a Butler matrix (read as beam-forming networks implemented using 4x4 Butler Matrix 366, figure 5, par [0093]).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the Butler matrix includes a first input port, a second input port and a plurality of first output ports, the first input port receives the phase shifted first beam signal, the second input port receives the phase shifted second beam signal, and the plurality of first output ports are respectively coupled to corresponding radiating elements through the plurality of diplexers (read as each individual beam-forming network 360 includes first and second input ports coupled outputs of first and second high-band phase shifters 354-1 and 354-2 that provide phase-shifted first and second beam signals (figure 4, par [0090]), that the beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix 366 having a plurality of output ports (figure 5, par [0093]), and that each Butler Matrix output is coupled via respective diplexer 380 to a sub-array 342 of radiating elements (figures 4-6, par [0094]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of output ports of each Butler matrix are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row (read as one individual beam-forming network (including a Butler matrix) is provided per row and that all outputs of the network feed sub-arrays in the same row, figures 4-5, par [0092]-[0093]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein, the diplexer comprises a third input port, a fourth input port and a second output port, and the third input port receives the phase shifted RF signal of the first frequency band, the fourth input port is coupled to the first output port of the Butler matrix, and the second output port is coupled to the corresponding radiating element (read as each diplexer 380 includes a first input coupled to power dividers 370 carrying phase-shifted first-frequency band signals, a second input coupled to the beam-forming network 360 including Butler Matrix outputs, and a single output coupled to respective sub-array 342 of radiating elements, figures 4-5, par [0094]).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the first phase shifter comprises a plurality of third output ports which are respectively coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same column (read as each first frequency (low) band adjustable phase shifter and power divider circuit 350 includes multiple outputs that are routed via power divider network 370 to sub-arrays 342 located in specific columns 332 of the array, figure 4, par [0087]-[0088]).
Consider claim 16, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna (read as the base station antenna 200/300, figure 3A and 4, par [0083] and [0087]) comprising:
a first sector-splitting port (read as second frequency band ports 220 that operate as sector splitting inputs used to divide a sector into sub-sectors in the high band, figures 3A-3B, par [0077], [0080] and [0085]); a second sector-splitting port (read as additional high band ports (e.g. 220-3 and 220-4) generating different azimuth beam to form multiple sub-sectors, figures 3A-3B, par [0085]);
a plurality of beam forming ports (read as a plurality of first frequency band ports 210/310, each capable of forming a separate antenna beam, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0085]);
a multi-column array of radiating elements, with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as the array including multiple columns 232/332 of radiating elements arranged in sub-arrays containing one or more radiating elements per column, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0087]);
a plurality of first phase shifters that are coupled between the respective beam forming ports and the columns of the array of radiating elements, the plurality of first phase shifters together having a plurality of first phase shifter outputs (read as adjustable phase filter and power divider circuit 350 coupled to low band ports and routing their outputs via power dividers to sub-arrays in specific column, each adjustable phase shifter circuit would include multiple outputs,, figure 4, par [0088]);
a second phase shifter having an input port that is coupled to the first sector-splitting port and a plurality of second phase shifter outputs (read as high band adjustable phrase shifter circuits 354 coupled to high band ports and providing multiple outputs to downstream beam-forming networks, figure 4, par [0090]);
a third phase shifter having an input port that is coupled to the second sector-splitting port and a plurality of third phase shifter outputs (read as a second high band phase shifter circuit 354-2 distinct from the first, each receiving a different high band port signal and providing multiple outputs, figure 4, par [0090]);
a plurality of multi-beam devices, each multi-beam device coupled to a respective one of the second phase shifter outputs and a respective one of the third phase shifter outputs, the plurality of multi-beam devices together having a plurality of multi-beam device outputs (read as individual beam-forming networks 360, each having first and second input ports coupled respectively to outputs of the two high-band phase shifters, and each beam-forming network include four outputs implemented by a Butler Matrix, figures 4 and 5, par [0090]-[0091] and [0093]); and
a plurality of diplexers, each diplexer having a first input port that is coupled to a respective one of the first phase shifter outputs, a second input port that is coupled to a respective one of the multi-beam device outputs, and an output port that is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements (read as diplexers 380 each having a first input from low band power dividers, a second input from beam-forming networks, and an output coupled to sub-array of radiating elements, figures 4 and 6, par [0094]-[0096]).
However, Zimmerman discloses the clamed invention above and first frequency band port 310 and circuit 350 (figure 4 and par [0088]) but does not specifically disclose the plurality of beam forming ports that are coupled to respective ports of a beam forming radio.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman ’199 discloses beam-forming radio ports coupling, where ports 244 of base station antenna 200 connect to radio ports 44-1 through 44-8 of beam-forming radio 42; port 244-1 is coupled to phase shifter 280-1, the same feed structure is used for the remaining phase shifter 280, and radio 42 would transmit data using beam-forming alone or beam-forming with MIMO technique, figure 8, par [0046], [0062], [0064], [0077] and [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman ’199 into the teachings of Zimmerman, to modify the first frequency band port path using Zimmerman ’199’s beam-forming radio port coupling, in order to increase gain toward selected users during each TDD time slot (see par [0046] of Zimmerman ’199).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the multi-beam devices are Butler Matrices (read as each individual beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix, figure 5, par ]0093]).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein two first phase shifters are coupled to the radiating elements in each column of the array of radiating elements for each polarization radiator of the radiating elements (read as the duplication of the low band feed networks, including phase shifter paths, for −45° and + 45° polarizations feeding the same columns, figures 3A-3B, par [0084]-[0085]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the number of Butler Matrices that are connected to the multi-column array of radiating elements is equal to twice the number of columns in the multi-column array of radiating elements (read the configuration in figure 4 comprising five beam-forming networks 360 and ten antenna array column 342, figure 4,par ]0090]-[0092]).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein a predetermined amount of radiating elements in each row are coupled to the same diplexer, the base station antenna further comprises a power divider configured to distribute a power of the signal output from the output port of the corresponding diplexer to a predetermined amount of corresponding radiating elements according to a predetermined ratio (read as one diplexer 380 per sub-array 342 of 6 sub-array 342, each sub-array including one or more radiating elements arranged by row, with power divider networks 370 configured to equally or unequally split RF power according to predetermined ratios, figures 3A-3B and 4-5, par [0082]-[0083] and [0089], [0092] and [0094]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 20 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the predetermined amount is greater than or equal to 2 and less than or equal to 6 (read as the 6 sub-arrays 242 (242-1, 242-2, 242-3, 242-10, 242-11, 242-12) as shown in figure 3A, par [0082]-[0083]).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 16 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’199, discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of multi-beam device outputs of each multi-beam devices are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row (read as individual beam-forming network (BFN) 360 is provided for each row of sub-arrays 342 and that each output of the Butler Matrix 366 is coupled to a respective one of the sub-arrays 342 for transmission by the radiating elements, such that the array comprises a plurality of rows and the plurality of BFN outputs of each BFN are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row, figures 4-5, par [0091]-[0094]).
Claims 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20200044345 A1) in view of Zimmerman (US 20190326662 A1) (hereinafter Zimmerman ’662).
Consider claim 23, Zimmerman discloses a base station antenna comprising:
a first sector-splitting port (read as second frequency band ports 220 that operate as sector splitting inputs used to divide a sector into sub-sectors in the high band, figures 3A-3B, par [0077], [0080] and [0085]); a second sector-splitting port (read as additional high band ports (e.g. 220-3 and 220-4) generating different azimuth beam to form multiple sub-sectors, figures 3A-3B, par [0085]);
a plurality of beam forming ports (read as a plurality of first frequency band ports 210/310, each capable of forming a separate antenna beam, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0085]);
a multi-beam device having first and second inputs that are coupled to the respective first and second sector-splitting ports and a plurality of multi-beam device outputs (read as beam-forming network 260/360 having two input ports coupled to high band phase shifter outputs and multiple outputs generated by Butler Matrices 366, figure 4-5, par [0080], [0090]-[0091] and [0093]);
a plurality of phase shifters, the plurality of phase shifters together having a plurality of phase shifter outputs; (rad as low-band adjustable phase shifter circuits 350 and high band phase shifters 354, each having multiple outputs, figure 4, par [0088] and [0090]);
a plurality of diplexers, each diplexer having a first input port that is coupled to a respective one of the beam forming ports, a second input port that is coupled to a respective one of the multi-beam device outputs, to an output (rad as multiplexer filter/diplexer 380 receiving low band signals and beam-forming network outputs and routing combined signals along the feed path toward radiating element circuitry, figures 4 and 6, par [0081], [0094] and [0096]);
a multi-column array of radiating elements, with each column including multiple radiating elements (read as an array 342 including multiple columns of radiating elements arranged in sub-arrays containing one or more radiating elements per column, figures 3A and 4, par [0077] and [0087]).
However, and an output port of each diplexer of a plurality of diplexers that is coupled to a respective one of the phase shifters, and wherein each phase shifter output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman ’662 discloses an alternative feed-network ordering in which diplexers precede phase shifters while preserving identical signals combination and beam-forming functionality, and each the phase shifters output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements, figure 4, par [0009], [0012] and [0035]-[0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman ’662 into the teachings of Zimmerman, to modify Zimmerman’s antenna system using Zimmerman ’662’s diplexer before phase shifter arrangement, in order to allow phase adjustment of already combined multi-band signals thereby enabling post combination beam steering (see par [0009] and [0027] of Zimmerman ’662).
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’662, discloses wherein the multi-beam device is a Butler Matrix (read as each individual beam-forming network is implemented using a 4x4 Butler Matrix, figure 5, par [0093]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’662, discloses wherein the array of radiating elements comprises a plurality of rows, and the plurality of multi-beam device outputs of each multi-beam devices are coupled to corresponding radiating elements in the same row of the array of radiating elements (read as one beam-forming network per row, with all outputs feeding sub-array and radiating elements in that same row, figures 4-5, par [0092]-[0093]).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’662, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each of the phase shifters includes a plurality of phase shifter outputs, and the plurality of the phase shifter outputs of each phase shifter are respectively coupled to the corresponding radiating elements in the same column of the array of radiating.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman ’662 discloses an alternative feed-network ordering in which diplexers precede phase shifters while preserving identical signals combination and beam-forming functionality, and each the phase shifters output is coupled to a respective one of the radiating elements in the array of radiating elements, figure 4, par [0009], [0012] and [0035]-[0036].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman ’662 into the teachings of Zimmerman, which modified by Zimmerman ’662, to further modify the antenna system using Zimmerman ’662’s phase shifter before antenna arrangement, in order to allow phase adjustment of already combined multi-band signals thereby enabling post combination beam steering (see par [0009] and [0027] of Zimmerman ’662).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 20200044345 A1) in view of Zimmerman (US 20190326662 A1) (hereinafter Zimmerman ’662) and in further view of Zimmerman (US 20180367199 A1) (hereinafter Zimmerman ’199).
Consider claim 28, as applied to claim 23 above, Zimmerman, as modified by Zimmerman ’662, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein each beam forming port is coupled to a respective port of a beam forming radio.
Nonetheless, Zimmerman ’199 discloses beam-forming radio ports coupling, where ports 244 of base station antenna 200 connect to radio ports 44-1 through 44-8 of beam-forming radio 42; port 244-1 is coupled to phase shifter 280-1, the same feed structure is used for the remaining phase shifter 280, and radio 42 would transmit data using beam-forming alone or beam-forming with MIMO technique, figure 8, par [0046], [0062], [0064], [0077] and [0080].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Zimmerman ’199 into the teachings of Zimmerman, to modify the first frequency band port path using Zimmerman ’199’s beam-forming radio port coupling, in order to increase gain toward selected users during each TDD time slot (see par [0046] of Zimmerman ’199).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645