DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-61 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
- claims 1, 22, 43, and 56 are amended
- claims 4-5, 8-9, 11-21, 25-26, 29-32, 34-42, 45-47, 51-55, and 58-60 are canceled
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 04/22/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 1, 22, 43, and 56 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “Thus, Sun discloses that the SFI parameter, which informs a UE whether a particular slot is used for uplink or downlink, may indirectly result in the cancellation of an uplink or downlink transmission if the slot format does not match the configured grant. But the SFI parameter provides no guidance for what actions the UE may perform after cancelling a data transmission. The SFI parameter certainly does not disclose a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation.” on page 11, filed on 04/22/2026, with respect to Zhou et al. US Pub 2020/0260391 (hereinafter “Zhou”), in view of Babaei US Patent 10979976, claiming provisional application 62932485 priority 2019-11-07 (hereinafter “Babaei”), and further in view of Sun et al. US Pub 2021/0120431, claiming foreign application priority 2019-10-18 (hereinafter “Sun”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Islam et al. US Pub 2021/0168783 (hereinafter “Islam”), in combination with previously applied references Zhou and Babaei. See section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 below for complete details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 22-24, 28, 43, 44, 49, 56, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. US Pub 2020/0260391 (hereinafter “Zhou”), in view of Babaei US Patent 10979976, claiming provisional application 62932485 priority 2019-11-07 (hereinafter “Babaei”), and further in view of Islam et al. US Pub 2021/0168783 (hereinafter “Islam”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Zhou discloses a method performed by a wireless device (“Systems, methods, and apparatuses for wireless communications are described. Transmissions from a wireless device may be cancelled/delayed to enable a wireless device to send another transmission (e.g., for more urgent communications, higher priority service, etc.).” [0004]), the method comprising:
receiving a cancellation indicator (CI) (i.e. “cancellation indication/uplink pre-emption indication”) cancelling a transmission of data associated with a configured grant (CG) in a first transmission occasion (“The wireless device may receive a cancellation indication/uplink pre-emption indication, for example, during/before the uplink transmissions (equivalent to first transmission occasion) in the first transmission occasion (equivalent to second transmission occasion). The wireless device may stop and/or cancel the uplink transmissions, for example, based on receiving the uplink pre-emption indication.” [0489]); and
transmitting the data associated with the CG in a second transmission occasion of the CG (“A wireless device may perform uplink transmissions in a first transmission occasion (e.g., a first PUSCH transmission occasion) (equivalent to second transmission occasion), for example, based on an uplink grant (e.g., a configured grant).” [0489]).
Zhou does not specifically teach wherein the CI uses a cancellation indicator-radio network temporary identifier (CI-RNTI).
In an analogous art, Babaei discloses wherein the CI uses a cancellation indicator-radio network temporary identifier (CI-RNTI) (“The uplink cancellation indication configuration parameters may comprise a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with uplink cancellation indication. The first RNTI may be called a cancellation indication RNTI (e.g., CI-RNTI). The uplink cancellation indication configuration parameters may comprise other parameters comprising first parameters for determining an uplink cancellation indication for the wireless device in a DCI that includes a plurality of uplink cancellation indications.” Col. 34, lines 20-21).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions to include Babaei’s method for receiving a cancellation indication downlink control information, in order to efficiently reallocate radio resources due to cancellation (Babaei [Abstract]).
Zhou and Babaei do not specifically teach receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration comprising a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation, wherein the parameter comprises an autonomousTx parameter; transmitting the data associated with the CG based on the parameter in the RRC configuration.
In an analogous art, Islam discloses receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration (“UE is configured by RRC signaling to monitor for UL transmission cancellation indication (UL_CI)” [0017]) comprising a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation (“In particular, a higher layer parameter UL_CI=ON or OFF can be used to activate monitoring of UL preemption or cancellation indication after UE receives the grant (e.g., successful decoding of the DCI).” [0017]), wherein the parameter comprises an autonomousTx parameter (“In another example, UL grant in a PDCCH may contain a field to trigger monitoring for UL transmission cancellation indication(s). In particular, a bit-field in PDCCH containing UL grant can be 1 or 0 (or vice versa) to indicate the UE to monitor for UL PI or not monitor, respectively. PI i.e., preemption indication is interchangeably used for CI in the disclosure.” [0017]);
transmitting the data associated with the CG based on the parameter in the RRC configuration (“If the cancellation indication is used for other UL transmissions such as PUCCH, PRACH, and SRS, then UE can monitor for UL_CI at configured locations after higher layer parameter triggers activation of monitoring, e.g., UL_CI=ON. The higher layer parameter that provides the trigger that CI may need to be monitored can be obtained via one or more of configuration of UL BW part where PUSCH transmission is made, configuration of DL BW part where PDCCH transmission carrying UL_CI is made, PUSCH configuration of a given UE, common PUSCH configuration in a component carrier.” [0017]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions, as modified by Babaei, to include Islam’s method for receiving a configuration signaling to monitor for uplink (UL) cancellation indications, in order to efficiently reallocate resources due to cancellation (Islam [0010]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate include Islam’s method for receiving a configuration signaling to monitor for uplink (UL) cancellation indications into Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the method of Claim 1,
Islam further discloses wherein the CG is a de-uplink grant prioritized (“In one example, UL grant such as format 0_0 or format 0_1 includes an indication in a field, such as comprising 1 bit, whether the corresponding scheduled PUSCH can be preempted or canceled, if a subsequent cancelation indication is received and indicates a resource that overlaps with that of scheduled PUSCH. In other words, the indication identifies whether the transmission scheduled by the UL grant is prioritized or not, i.e., the transmission may not be dropped based on other control signaling. For example, bit value 0 may indicate the transmission is prioritized and may not be preempted/canceled by another L1 signaling such as UL grant or cancelation indication, or vice versa.” [0088]) following the cancellation of the transmission of the data associated with the CG (“the UE to receive an UL grant; schedule the UL transmission based on the UL grant; determine, based on the UL grant, that the UL grant is prioritized; and receiving the cancellation indication for the scheduled UL transmission; and transmitting the scheduled UL transmission.” [0143]).
Regarding claim 3
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the method of Claim 1,
Zhou further discloses wherein the second transmission occasion (i.e. “first transmission occasion”) is a next transmission occasion of the CG after the first transmission occasion (“The wireless device may receive a cancellation indication/uplink pre-emption indication, for example, during/before the uplink transmissions (equivalent to first transmission occasion) in the first transmission occasion (equivalent to second transmission occasion). The wireless device may stop and/or cancel the uplink transmissions, for example, based on receiving the uplink pre-emption indication.” [0489]).
Regarding claim 7
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the method of Claim 1,
Islam further discloses wherein the CI indicates a time and/or frequency resource associated with first transmission occasion for cancellation (“In one example, if a UE receives an UL grant with the UL-SCH indicator bit=0, CSI request field=all zeros, UE may assume the UL grant is a cancelation indication and UE may identify the time-frequency region for UL transmission cancelation based on the time domain resource assignment and frequency domain resource assignment fields. UE may cancel one or more UL transmissions, including one or more subsequent/ongoing scheduled or configured grant PUSCH, SRS, PUCCH transmissions that overlap with the indicated time-frequency region.” [0102]).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended)
Zhou discloses a wireless device (“wireless device 110” in Fig. 3; [0239]) comprising:
processing circuitry (“processor 314” in Fig. 3; [0239]) configured to:
receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration comprising a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation, wherein the parameter comprises an autonomousTx parameter;
receive (“communication interface 310” in Fig. 3; [0239]) a cancellation indicator (CI) cancelling the transmission of data associated with a configured grant (CG) in a first transmission occasion, wherein the CI uses a cancellation indicator-radio network temporary identifier (CI-RNTI); and
transmit (“communication interface 310” in Fig. 3; [0239]) the data associated with the CG in a second transmission occasion of the CG based on the parameter in the RRC configuration.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 22 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 22 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 23
The wireless device of Claim 22, wherein the CG is a de-prioritized uplink grant following the cancellation of the transmission of the data associated with the CG.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 23 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 23 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 24
The wireless device of Claim 22, wherein the second transmission occasion is a next transmission occasion of the CG after the first transmission occasion.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 24 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 3. Therefore apparatus claim 24 corresponds to method claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 3 rejection above.
Regarding claim 28
The wireless device of Claim 22,
wherein the CI indicates a time and/or frequency resource associated with first transmission occasion for cancellation.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 28 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 28 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 43 (Currently Amended)
A method performed by a network node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration comprising a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation, wherein the parameter comprises an autonomousTx parameter;
transmitting, to a wireless device, a cancellation indicator (CI) configured to cancel a transmission of data associated with a configured grant (CG) in a first transmission occasion wherein the CI uses a cancellation indicator-radio network temporary identifier (CI-RNTI); and
receiving the transmission of the data associated with the CG in a second transmission occasion of the CG based on the parameter in the RRC configuration.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 43 is reciprocal to the method as claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 43 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 44
The method of Claim 43, wherein the CG is a de-prioritized uplink grant following the cancellation of the transmission of the data in the first transmission occasion.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 44 are similar to the scope and subject matter of method as claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 44 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 49
The method of Claim 43, wherein the CI indicates a time and/or frequency resource associated with first transmission occasion for cancellation.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 49 are similar to the scope and subject matter of method as claimed in claim 7. Therefore method claim 49 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 56 (Currently Amended)
Zhou discloses a network node (“base station 1 120A” in Fig. 3; [0240]) comprising:
processing circuitry (“processor 321A” in Fig. 3; [0240]) configured to:
transmit, to a wireless device, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration comprising a parameter that configures the wireless device for autonomous transmission of data after cancellation, wherein the parameter comprises an autonomousTx parameter;
transmit (“communication interface 320A” in Fig. 3; [0243]), to the wireless device (“wireless device 110” in Fig. 3; [0240]), a cancellation indicator (CI) configured to cancel a transmission of data associated with a configured grant (CG) in a first transmission occasion wherein the CI uses a cancellation indicator-radio network temporary identifier (CI-RNTI); and
receive (“communication interface 320A” in Fig. 3; [0243]) the transmission of the data associated with the CG in a second transmission occasion of the CG based on the parameter in the RRC configuration.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 56 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 43. Therefore apparatus claim 56 corresponds to method claim 43 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 43 rejection above.
Regarding claim 57
The network node of Claim 56, wherein the CG is a de-prioritized uplink grant following the cancellation of the transmission of the data in the first transmission occasion.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 57 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 44. Therefore apparatus claim 57 corresponds to method claim 44 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 44 rejection above.
Claims 10 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Babaei and Islam, and further in view of Joseph et al. US Pub 2020/0076657 (hereinafter “Joseph”).
Regarding claim 10
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the method of Claim 1, comprising
Zhou, Babaei, and Islam do not specifically teach autonomously transmitting the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG and/or transmitting the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG without receiving a scheduling of a re-transmission of the data transmission cancelled by the CI.
In an analogous art, Joseph discloses autonomously transmitting the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG and/or transmitting the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG without receiving a scheduling of a re-transmission of the data transmission cancelled by the CI (“To reduce the PDCCH overhead and needs, autonomous transmission configurations may be utilized, where grants are configured semi-statically (e.g., via RRC signaling and/or a DCI) by the base station 105 for each of the UEs 115. The autonomous transmission configurations may allocate one or more RBs based on a periodicity that may be utilized for the periodic traffic and/or include an MCS (e.g., data rate) for the periodic traffic. In some cases, the autonomous transmission configurations may include an SPS configuration and/or a CS configuration (e.g., Type 1 Configured Grants, Type 2 Configured Grants, etc.). For example, the SPS configuration may be utilized for downlink transmissions, and the CS configuration may be utilized for uplink transmissions. Additionally or alternatively, the SPS configurations may be utilized for both uplink and downlink transmissions, or the CS configuration may be utilized for both uplink and downlink transmissions (e.g., based on the network for wireless communications system 100). Accordingly, the autonomous transmission configurations may reduce the PDCCH overhead and needs by semi-statically configuring the parameters (e.g., resources, MCS, etc.) for the autonomous transmissions such that multiple PDCCHs are not transmitted for each UE 115 connected to the base station 105.” [0112]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions, as modified by Babaei and Islam, to include Joseph’s method for autonomous transmission, in order to efficiently reallocate resources due to cancellation (Joseph [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate include Joseph’s method for autonomous transmission into Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 50
The method of Claim 43, comprising configuring the wireless device to autonomously transmit the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG and/or transmit the data in the second transmission occasion of the CG without receiving a scheduling of a re-transmission of the data transmission cancelled by the CI.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 50 are similar to the scope and subject matter of method as claimed in claim 10. Therefore method claim 50 corresponds to method claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 10 rejection above.
Claims 6, 27, 33, 48, and 61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, in view of Babaei and Islam, and further in view of Taherzadeh et al. US Pub 2022/0217736 (hereinafter “Taherzadeh”).
Regarding claim 6
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the method of Claim 1,
Zhou, Babaei, and Islam do not specifically teach wherein the CI comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with the CI-RNTI.
In an analogous art, Taherzadeh discloses wherein the CI comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with the CI-RNTI (“In another problem, in inter-UE eMBB and URLLC multiplexing, the gNB may send a cancellation indication, for example, an indication sent in a PDCCH, to the eMBB WTRU in order to cancel its transmission for a duration and send a scheduling indication, for example, a DCI transmitted in a WTRU-specific DCI, to the URLLC WTRU to use the cancelled resources. For example, the indication may be sent in a GC-PDDCH. In a further example, the indication may be sent in a PDCCH for a DCI format 2_4 with CRC scrambled by CI-RNTI.” [0099]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions, as modified by Babaei and Islam, to include Taherzadeh’s method for receiving a higher layer configuration for a cancellation indication (CI), in order to efficiently reallocate radio resources due to cancellation (Taherzadeh [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Taherzadeh’s method for receiving a higher layer configuration for a cancellation indication (CI) into Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 27
The wireless device of Claim 22, wherein the CI comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check, CRC, that is scrambled with a Cancellation Indicator-Radio Network Temporary Identifier, CI-RNTI.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 27 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 27 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 33
Zhou, as modified by Babaei and Islam, previously discloses the wireless device of Claim 22, wherein:
Zhou further discloses the data for transmission in the first transmission occasion is assembled into a medium access control (MAC) channel protocol data unit (PDU) (“a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment” [0370]);
the processing circuitry is configured to autonomously transmit the MAC PDU (“a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured uplink grant or received in a configured downlink assignment” [0370]) in the second transmission occasion of the CG (“The MAC PDU may comprise a MAC header comprising a plurality of MAC sub-headers. A MAC sub-header in the plurality of MAC sub-headers may correspond to a MAC CE or a MAC SUD (e.g., logical channel) in the one or more MAC CEs and/or in the one or more MAC SDUs.” [0224]).
Zhou, Babaei, and Islam do not specifically teach the MAC PDU is not transmitted in the first transmission occasion based on the receiving of the CI.
In an analogous art, Taherzadeh discloses the MAC PDU is not transmitted in the first transmission occasion based on the receiving of the CI (“A WTRU may trigger a new buffer status report (BSR) or a new SR, for example, for the highest priority LCH that mapped to the cancelled PDU. Such a new BSR or new SR may further depend on whether a pending BSR or SR was cancelled due to inclusion of a BSR MAC CE in the cancelled PDU. For example, the WTRU may trigger a new BSR instead of a BSR that was cancelled due inclusion of a BSR MAC on a PDU dropped because of inter-WTRU cancellation.” [0217] and furthermore “A WTRU may trigger a new BSR or a new SR, for example, for the highest priority LCH that mapped to the cancelled PDU. Such a new BSR or a new SR may further depend on whether a pending BSR or SR was cancelled due to inclusion of a BSR MAC CE in the cancelled PDU.” [0222]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions, as modified by Babaei and Islam, to include Taherzadeh’s method for receiving a higher layer configuration for a cancellation indication (CI), in order to efficiently reallocate radio resources due to cancellation (Taherzadeh [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Taherzadeh’s method for receiving a higher layer configuration for a cancellation indication (CI) into Zhou’s method for transmitting uplink transmission occasions since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 48
The method of Claim 43, wherein the CI comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with the CI-RNTI.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 468 are similar to the scope and subject matter of method as claimed in claim 6. Therefore method claim 48 corresponds to method claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 61
The network node of Claim 56, wherein the CI comprises a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) that is scrambled with the CI-RNTI.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 61 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 48. Therefore apparatus claim 61 corresponds to method claim 48 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 48 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411