Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Applicants Arguments/Remarks”, filed May 21st, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-18 and 26-30 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 19-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yokoi (WO 2020137625 A1) in view of Wang (US 20200238540 A1).
Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 1, but fails to disclose a plurality of axial force sensors.
However, Wang teaches a gripping device comprising an axial force sensor.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of axial force sensors” as claimed in claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15, 17-18 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi (WO 2020137625 A1) in view of Wang (US 20200238540 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoi discloses a gripping device as claimed in claim 11 comprising, a case (2; see Fig. 1); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies being mutually matched to grip an object (3-1 and 3-2; see Fig. 1), and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip configured to grip the object (305-1 and 305-2; see Fig. 1); a first link fixedly connected to the fingertip (303-1 and 303-2; see Fig. 1); a second link (301-1 and 301-2; see Fig. 1), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2; see Fig. 1), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); a driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1; see Fig. 1) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link (see Page 2, Para. 12); and a plurality of displacement sensors (4), each of the plurality of displacement sensors being embedded in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly in an axial direction (see Page 7, Para. 5), and being configured to measure an internal axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for establishing a static model to calculate force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 2) based on structural parameters and positional parameters of the first link, the second link and the third link, wherein the force information comprises a tangential force exerted on a contact surface, a normal force, and a bending moment of the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 8).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yokoi’s displacement sensor for a plurality of axial force sensors on the gripping device of Yokoi, as taught by Wang, to detect an internal force from the driving assembly (see Abstract).
Such substitution would have yielded the predictable result of providing force feedback representative of internal axial loading in the links and/or driving assembly during gripping, thereby allowing the gripping device to evaluate gripping/contact conditions and determine force information associated with the fingertip-object interaction, such as force loading at the fingertip. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 12, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein at least
the third link is embedded with one of the plurality of load cells in an axial direction to measure the internal axial force of the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of the third link (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a motor (1; see Fig. 1); a lead screw (9; see Fig. 8) connected to an output end of the motor, and configured to be driven to rotate about an axial direction by the motor; a nut (10; see Fig. 8) matched with the lead screw and configured to move in an axial direction of the lead screw responsive to rotation of the lead screw; and a plurality of transmission members (202-2, 201, 202-1; see Fig. 7), each of the plurality of transmission members corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies (see Fig. 7), wherein a first end of each of the plurality of transmission members is rotatably connected to the nut (see Fig. 7-8), and a second end of each of the plurality of transmission members is fixedly connected to the second end of the second link (see Fig. 7-8), such that the nut rotates the second link responsive to the motor driving the lead screw to rotate about the axial direction (see Fig. 1 and 7-8).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 13, wherein the driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1; see Fig. 1) is provided with one load cell of the plurality of load cells (4; see Fig. 1); and the load cell is configured to measure a driving force output by the driving assembly in the axial direction of the lead screw (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 15, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of load cells (4; see Fig. 1) is embedded in a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link in an axial direction (see Fig. 1), and is configured to measure the internal axial force of a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fingertip is further provided with a multi-DOF sensor (Page 3, Para. 12 discloses component '5', which is not shown in figures) to measure force information of the fingertip responsive to the fingertip gripping the object.
Regarding claim 18, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies is a quadrilateral linkage gripping assembly (see Fig. 1); the second link and the third link are arranged in parallel (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Yokoi discloses a method for sensing force information, applied to a gripping device comprising: a case (2; see Fig. 1); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies (3-1 and 3-2; see Fig. 1) being mutually matched to grip an object, and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip (305-1 and 305-2; see Fig. 1) configured to grip the object; a first link (303-1 and 303-2) fixedly connected to the fingertip; a second link (301-1 and 301-2), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); a driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link; and a plurality of load cells (4), each of the plurality of load cells being embedded in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly in an axial direction, and being configured to measure an internal axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for computing force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 1-2); the method comprising: obtaining force measurements of the plurality of load cells (4) responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium (see Page 6, Para. 1-2); measuring structural parameters and positional parameters of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Page 6, Para. 1-2); and establishing a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly based on the force measurements, the structural parameters and the positional parameters, and computing the force information output by the fingertip (305-1 and 305-2; see Page 3, Para. 2), wherein the force information output by the fingertip comprises a tangential force exerted on a contact surface, a normal surface, and a bending moment of the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 8).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yokoi’s displacement sensor for a plurality of axial force sensors on the gripping device of Yokoi, as taught by Wang, to detect an internal force from the driving assembly (see Abstract).
Such substitution would have yielded the predictable result of providing force feedback representative of internal axial loading in the links and/or driving assembly during gripping, thereby allowing the gripping device to evaluate gripping/contact conditions and determine force information associated with the fingertip-object interaction, such as force loading at the fingertip. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 27, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in 26, wherein the establishing the static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly based on the force measurements, the structural parameters and the positional parameters (see Page 6, Para. 1-2) comprises: simplifying each of the first link, the second link and the third link as a two-force member, and simplifying an integration of the driving assembly and the second link as a moment equilibrium model; performing a static force analysis on the two-force member and the moment equilibrium model; and establishing a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Regarding claim 28, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in claim 26,
wherein the obtaining force measurements of the plurality of load cells responsive to the gripping
device being in static equilibrium comprises: responsive to the gripping device being in static
equilibrium (see Page 6, Para. 1-2), obtaining at least three of the internal axial force of the first link, the internal axial force of the second link, the internal axial force of the third link and the internal axial force of the fourth link based on the at least three load cells (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 26.
Regarding claim 29, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in claim 26,
wherein the structural parameters and positional parameters of the first link, the second link and the
third link comprises at least one of: an included angle between a length direction of the first link and a
horizontal direction (see Fig. 7-8); an included angle between a length direction of the second link and the horizontal direction (see Fig. 7-8); a length of the first link (see Fig. 7-8); a length of the second link (see Fig. 7-8); a length from a connection point of the first link and the third link to a connection point of the first link and the fingertip (see Fig. 7-8); or a vertical distance from a connecting point of the second link and the transmission member relative to an axial extending direction of the driving assembly (see Fig. 7-8).
Claim(s) 19-23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi (WO 2020137625 A1) in view of Wang (US 20200238540 A1), further in view of Altman (US 20050150697 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Yokoi discloses a robot comprising, a gripping device (see Fig. 1) comprising: a case (2; see Fig. 1); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies (3-1 and 3-2) being mutually matched to grip an object, and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip (305-1 and 305-2) configured to grip the object; a first link (303-1 and 303-2) fixedly connected to the fingertip; a second link (301-1 and 301-2), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (1-2; see Fig. 1); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); a driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link; and a plurality of load cells (4; see Fig. 8), each of the plurality of load cells being embedded in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly in an axial direction, and being configured to measure an internal axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for computing force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 1-2); a position measuring device (6; see Page 4, Para. 2; Page 6, Para. 1-2) configured to measure structural parameters and position parameters of each of the first link, the second link and the third link; wherein the structural parameters comprise a length of each of the first link (see Fig. 1), the second link and the third link (see Fig. 1 for lengths of each link); and a control system (102; see Page 3, Para. 12) configured to acquire measurements of the position measuring device (6) and measured values of the plurality of load cells (4) responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium, to establish a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly, and to compute the force information output by the fingertip based on the structural parameters and the positional parameters of each of the first link, the second link and the third link (see page 6, Para. 1-2), wherein the force information comprises a tangential force exerted on a contact surface, a normal force, and a bending moment of the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 8).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor, and wherein the position parameters comprise an attitude vector of each of the first link, the second link and the third link.
However, Altman teaches position parameters comprising an attitude vector of each
of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Para. 0114). Altman is from the same problem-solving area of control and stabilization of positioning data.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the position parameters comprise an attitude vector of each of the first link, the second link and the third link on the gripping device of Yokoi as taught by Altman in order to provide better control and stabilization.
Further, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yokoi’s displacement sensor for a plurality of axial force sensors on the gripping device of Yokoi, as taught by Wang, to detect an internal force from the driving assembly (see Abstract).
Such substitution would have yielded the predictable result of providing force feedback representative of internal axial loading in the links and/or driving assembly during gripping, thereby allowing the gripping device to evaluate gripping/contact conditions and determine force information associated with the fingertip-object interaction, such as force loading at the fingertip. See MPEP § 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 20, Yokoi discloses the robot as claimed in claim 19, wherein at least
the third link is embedded with one of the plurality of load cells in an axial direction to measure the internal axial force of the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of the third link (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 19.
Regarding claim 21, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the robot as claimed in claim 19, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a motor (1; see Fig. 1); a lead screw (9; see Fig. 8) connected to an output end of the motor, and configured to be driven to rotate about an axial direction by the motor; a nut (10; see Fig. 8) matched with the lead screw and configured to move in an axial direction of the lead screw responsive to rotation of the lead screw; and a plurality of transmission members (202-2, 201, 202-1; see Fig. 7), each of the plurality of transmission members corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies (see Fig. 7), wherein a first end of each of the plurality of transmission members is rotatably connected to the nut (see Fig. 7-8), and a second end of each of the plurality of transmission members is fixedly connected to the second end of the second link (see Fig. 7-8), such that the nut rotates the second link responsive to the motor driving the lead screw to rotate about the axial direction (see Fig. 1 and 7-8).
Regarding claim 22, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1; see Fig. 1) is provided with one load cell of the plurality of load cells (4; see Fig. 1); and the load cell is configured to measure a driving force output by the driving assembly in the axial direction of the lead screw (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 19.
Regarding claim 23, Yokoi discloses the robot as claimed in claim 19, wherein each of
the plurality of load cells (4; see Fig. 1) is embedded in a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link in an axial direction (see Fig. 1), and is configured to measure the internal axial force of a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium (see Page 6, Para. 1-2).
Yokoi fails to disclose an axial force sensor.
However, Wang teaches a robot gripper comprising an axial force sensor (see Para. 0006). See motivation of claim 19.
Regarding claim 25, Yokoi, in view of Wang, discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the fingertip is further provided with a multi-DOF sensor (Page 3, Para. 12 discloses component '5', which is not shown in figures) to measure force information of the fingertip responsive to the fingertip gripping the object.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to REHMAN A QURESHI whose telephone number is (571)272-6262. The examiner can normally be reached 7:00am-5:00pm.
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654