Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-18 and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Yokoi (WO2020137625A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yokoi discloses a gripping device as claimed in claim 11 comprising, a case (2); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies being mutually matched to grip an object (3-1 and 3-2), and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip configured to grip the object (305-1 and 305-2); a first link fixedly connected to the fingertip (303-1 and 303-2); a second link (301-1 and 301-2), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); a driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link (see Page 2, Para. 12 of English translation provided); and a plurality of load cells (4), each of the plurality of load cells being disposed in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly, and being configured to measure an axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for computing force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein at least the third link is embedded with one of the plurality of load cells in an axial direction to measure the axial force of the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of the third link (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a motor (1); a lead screw connected to an output end of the motor (9), and configured to be driven to rotate about an axial direction by the motor; a nut (10) matched with the lead screw and configured to move in an axial direction of the lead screw responsive to rotation of the lead screw; and a plurality of transmission members (202-2, 201, 202-1)), each of the plurality of transmission members corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies, wherein a first end of each of the plurality of transmission members is rotatably connected to the nut, and a second end of each of the plurality of transmission members is fixedly connected to the second end of the second link, such that the nut rotates the second link responsive to the motor driving the lead screw to rotate about the axial direction (see Fig. 1 and 7-8).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 13, wherein the driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1) is provided with one of the plurality of load cells (4)); and the load cell is configured to measure a driving force output by the driving assembly in the axial direction of the lead screw (see Page 6, Para. 2)).
Regarding claim 15, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of load cells (4) is embedded in a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link in an axial direction, and is configured to measure the axial force of a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of each of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Page 6, Para. 2)).
Regarding claim 16, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the force information comprises a tangential force exerted on a contact surface, a normal force, and a bending moment of the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 2)).
Regarding claim 17, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein the fingertip is further provided with a multi-DOF sensor (Page 3, Para. 5 discloses component ‘5’, which is not shown in figures) to measure force information of the fingertip responsive to the fingertip gripping the object.
Regarding claim 18, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11, wherein each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies is a quadrilateral linkage gripping assembly; the second link and the third link are arranged in parallel (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Yokoi discloses a method for sensing force information, applied to a gripping device comprising: a case (2); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies being mutually matched to grip an object (3-1 and 3-2), and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip configured to grip the object (305-1 and 305-2); a first link fixedly connected to the fingertip (303-1 and 303-2); a second link (301-1 and 301-2), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (1-2); a driving assembly ((202-2, 201, 202-1) ) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link; and a plurality of load cells (4), each of the plurality of load cells being disposed in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly, and being configured to measure an axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for computing force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 2); The method comprising: obtaining force measurements of the plurality of load cells (4) responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium; measuring structural parameters and positional parameters of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Page 6, Para. 2); and establishing a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly based on the force measurements, the structural parameters and the positional parameters, and computing the force information output by the fingertip (305-1 and 305-2)(see Page 3, Para. 2)
Regarding claim 27, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in 26, wherein the establishing the static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly based on the force measurements, the structural parameters and the positional parameters comprises: simplifying each of the first link, the second link and the third link as a two-force member, and simplifying an integration of the driving assembly and the second link as a moment equilibrium model; performing a static force analysis on the two-force member and the moment equilibrium model; and establishing a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly (see Page 5, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in claim 26, wherein the obtaining force measurements of the plurality of load cells responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium comprises: responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium, obtaining at least three of the axial force of the first link, the axial force of the second link, the axial force of the third link and the axial force of the fourth link based on the at least three load cells (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in claim 26, wherein the structural parameters and positional parameters of the first link, the second link and the third link comprises at least one of: an included angle between a length direction of the first link and a horizontal direction; an included angle between a length direction of the second link and the horizontal direction; a length of the first link; a length of the second link; a length from a connection point of the first link and the third link to a connection point of the first link and the fingertip; or a vertical distance from a connecting point of the second link and the transmission member relative to an axial extending direction of the driving assembly (see Page 3, Para. 1-9).
Regarding claim 30, Yokoi discloses the method of a gripping device as claimed in claim 26, wherein the force information output by the fingertip comprises at least one of a normal force, a tangential force, or a bending moment output by the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 2)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoi (WO2020137625A1) in view of Altman (US 20050150697 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 11 comprising, a gripping device (see Fig. 1) comprising: a case (2); a plurality of linkage gripping assemblies being mutually matched to grip an object (3-1 and 3-2), and each of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies comprising: a fingertip configured to grip the object (305-1 and 305-2); a first link fixedly connected to the fingertip (303-1 and 303-2); a second link (301-1 and 301-2), wherein a first end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to a first end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) is rotatably connected to the case (1-2); and a third link (302-1 and 302-2), wherein a first end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to a second end of the first link (303-1 and 303-2) and a second end of the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is rotatably connected to the case (2); a driving assembly (202-2, 201, 202-1) being in transmission connection with the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2) and configured to rotate the second link; and a plurality of load cells (4), each of the plurality of load cells being disposed in a respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly, and being configured to measure an axial force of the respective one of at least three of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly of the gripping device in static equilibrium, for computing force information output by the fingertip (see Page 6, Para. 2); a position measuring device (6) configured to measure structural parameters and position parameters of each of the first link, the second link and the third link; wherein the structural parameters comprise a length of each of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Fig. 1 for lengths of each link); and a control system (102) configured to acquire measurements of the position measuring device (6) and measured values of the plurality of load cells (4) responsive to the gripping device being in static equilibrium, to establish a static model of each of the first link, the second link, the third link and the driving assembly, and to compute the force information output by the fingertip.
Yokoi fails to disclose wherein the position parameters comprise an attitude vector of each of the first link, the second link and the third link.
However, Altman teaches wherein the position parameters comprise an attitude vector of each of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Para. 0114). Altman is from the same problem solving area of control and stabilization of positioning data.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the position parameters comprise an attitude vector of each of the first link, the second link and the third link on the gripping device of Yokoi as taught by Altman in order to provide better control and stabilization.
Regarding claim 20, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein at least the third link (302-1 and 302-2) is embedded with one of the plurality of load cells (4) in an axial direction to measure the axial force of the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of the third link (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the driving assembly comprises: a motor (1); a lead screw connected to an output end of the motor (9), and configured to be driven to rotate about an axial direction by the motor; a nut (10) matched with the lead screw and configured to move in an axial direction of the lead screw responsive to rotation of the lead screw; and a plurality of transmission members (202-2, 201, 202-1), each of the plurality of transmission members corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of linkage gripping assemblies, wherein a first end of each of the plurality of transmission members is rotatably connected to the nut (202-2, 201, 202-1), and a second end of each of the plurality of transmission members is fixedly connected to the second end of the second link (301-1 and 301-2), such that the nut rotates the second link responsive to the motor driving the lead screw to rotate about the axial direction (see Fig. 1 and 7-8).
Regarding claim 22, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 21, wherein the driving assembly is provided with one of the plurality of load cells (see Page 6, Para. 2); and the load cell is configured to measure a driving force output by the driving assembly in the axial direction of the lead screw (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein each of the plurality of load cells (4) is embedded in a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link in an axial direction, and is configured to measure the axial force of a respective one of the first link, the second link and the third link of the gripping device in static equilibrium, wherein the axial force includes an internal axial force of each of the first link, the second link and the third link (see Page 6, Para. 2).
Regarding claim 24, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the force information comprises a tangential force exerted on a contact surface, a normal force, and a bending moment of the fingertip (see Page 3, Para. 1)).
Regarding claim 25, Yokoi discloses the gripping device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the fingertip is further provided with a multi-DOF sensor (Page 3, Para. 5 discloses component ‘5’, which is not shown in figures ) to measure force information of the fingertip responsive to the fingertip gripping the object.
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654