DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 8/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Group II (claims 7-10) and III (claims 11-20) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/11/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recited “the LS comprises the PEG” should be --the CC comprises the PEG--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stoddart (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2017, 56, 11094-11125, 2017).
Regarding claims 1-3, Stoddart teaches formation of a rotaxane in Figure 29, comprising CBPQT4+ rings and polymer chains terminated at both ends with artificial molecular pumps [P11105 Figure 29]. The polymer chain treads through the ring(s) and thus reads on the claimed threading component TC.
The polymer chain comprises oligomethylene chain [P11103 last para.] which collects CBPQT4+ rings, and therefore acts as a collecting chain CC.
The TC is terminated, in order, a first CB (Coulombic Barrier) of 3,5-dimethylpyridinium (PY+) unit (green) [P11104 left column], a first RS (Recognition Site) of bipyridinium (BIPY2+) unit (blue) [P11103 last para.], a first SB (Steric Barrier) of isopropylphenyl (IPP) unit (green) [P11103 Figure 22], the CC of oligomethylene chain (straight line) [P11103 last para.], a second SB, a second RS, and a second CB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoddart (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2017, 56, 11094-11125, 2017).
Regarding claim 4, Stoddart teaches the threading component in claim 1. Stoddart’s CC in Figure 29 is oligomethylene chain (straight line) [P11103 last para.]. However, in a separate embodiment, Stoddart teaches polyethylene glycol (PEG) as the CC terminated with artificial molecular pumps [P11103 Figure 22].
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Stoddart recognized oligomethylene and PEG are equivalent as CC units for the same purpose in a rotaxane, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute oligomethylene with PEG in Stoddart’s rotaxane.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoddart as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Qiu et al (“A Molecular Dual Pump”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2019, 141, 17472−17476).
Regarding claim 5, Stoddart teaches the threading component in claim 4. Stoddart teaches 3,5-dimethylpyridinium instead of the claimed 2,6-dimethylpyridinium as the CB unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Qiu teaches artificial molecular pumps used in rotaxanes [abstract], including 2,6-dimethylpyridinium (PY+) Coulombic barrier [P17437 left column].
It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents for the same purpose where the equivalence is recognized by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Since Stoddart and Qiu recognized 3,5-dimethylpyridinium and 2,6-dimethylpyridinium to be equivalents as the CB unit for the same purpose in a rotaxane, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of filing to substitute 3,5-dimethylpyridinium with 2,6-dimethylpyridinium in Stoddart’s rotaxane.
Therefore, a threading component comprising the following is prima facie obvious from Stoddart in view of Qiu:
the CB comprising 2,6-dimethylpyridinium (PY),
the RS comprising bipyridinium (BIPY),
the SB comprising isopropylphenylene (IPP), and
the CC comprising the PEG.
Regarding claim 6, Stoddart in view of Qiu teaches the threading component of claim 5 as stated above. The threading component stated above does not contain an oxymethyltriazol unit in between the SB (IPP) and the CC.
In a separate embodiment, Stoddart teaches a threading component comprising an oxymethyltriazol unit in between the SB (IPP) and the CC [P11105 Figure 27].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add an oxymethyltriazol bridge in between the SB (IPP) and the CC in the threading component of Stoddart in view of Qiu, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, the threading component of Stoddart in view of Qiu comprises
the CB comprising 2,6-dimethylpyridinium (PY),
the RS comprising bipyridinium (BIPY),
the SB comprising isopropylphenylene (IPP),
the oxymethyltriazole,
the CC comprising the PEG. The PEG in Stoddart Figure 22 has two repeating units (n=2).
the oxymethyltriazole,
the SB comprising isopropylphenylene (IPP),
the RS comprising bipyridinium (BIPY),
the CB comprising 2,6-dimethylpyridinium (PY),
in this order, reading on the claimed structure.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762