DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 were subject to restriction requirement mailed on 11/06/2025.
Applicant filed a response, and elected Group V, claims 15-17, and withdrew claims 1-14, without traverse on 12/31/2025.
Claims 1-17 are pending, and claims 1-14 are withdrawn.
Claims 15-17 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group V, claims 15-17 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/31/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 is an improper multiple independent claim, as claim 16 is based on two sets of claims and two different inventions. See MPEP 608.01(n).
The examiner interprets “the selection method of an oxygen reduction catalyst according to claim 15, wherein the oxygen reduction catalyst is the oxygen reduction catalyst according to any one of Claims 1-9”, as set forth below:
“the selection method of an oxygen reduction catalyst according to claim 15, wherein the oxygen reduction catalyst is the oxygen reduction catalyst according to claim 1”.
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim 17 cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
The examiner interprets “The selection method of an oxygen reduction catalyst according to Claim 15 or 16” of claim 17 refers to “The selection method of an oxygen reduction catalyst according to Claim 15”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe et al., Fe azaphthalocyanine unimolecular layers (Fe AzULs) on carbon nanotubes for realizing highly active oxygen reduction reaction (ORR) catalytic electrodes, NPG Asia Materials, published October 2019 (Abe) in view of Kurozumi et al., EP 2177263 A1 (Kurozumi) (provided in IDS received on 07/24/2025).
Regarding claims 15-17, Abe teaches a new class of catalysts that included molecular iron phthalocyanine derivatives, namely, iron azaphthalocyanine unimolecular layers adsorbed on oxidized multiwall carbon nanotubes (iron azaphthalocyanine reads upon a metal complex and oxidized multiwall carbon nanotubes read upon a conductive material) (Abe, Abstract);
and the catalyst was prepared into catalytic electrode which exhibited oxygen reduction reaction (the catalyst reads upon an oxygen reduction catalyst) (Abe, Abstract);
the catalytic electrodes are promising catalytic electrode materials for applications, such as polymer electrolyte fuel cells and metal-air batteries (Abe, Abstract).
Further regarding claims 15-16, Abe does not explicitly disclose selecting the catalyst by measuring an ionization potential value of the oxygen reduction catalyst and the catalyst having an ionization potential value of 5.8 eV or lower.
With respect to the difference, Kuromumi teaches catalyst layers having high oxygen reduction activity (Kuromumi, Abstract). Kuromumi specifically teaches the electrocatalyst preferably has an ionization potential in the range of 4.9 to 5.5 eV (Kuromumi, [0049]).
As Kuromumi expressly teaches, this ionization potential ensures that the electrocatalyst shows high oxygen reduction activity (Kuromumi, [0049]).
Kuromumi is analogous art as Kuromumi is drawn to catalyst layers having high oxygen reduction activity.
In light of the motivation of a catalyst with an ionization potential in the range of 4.9 to 5.5 eV, as taught by Kuromumi, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to measure the ionization potential of the catalyst that included molecular iron phthalocyanine derivatives, namely, iron azaphthalocyanine unimolecular layers adsorbed on oxidized multiwall carbon nanotubes, of Abe, to select catalysts that have an ionization potential in the range of 4.9 to 5.5 eV, in order to have high oxygen reduction activity, and thereby arrive a the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732