DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/22/2025 and 9/5/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 25, 2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 9-10, 19 and 28 have been amended.
Claims 1-19 and 28 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Zeng does not teach or suggest determining the bias of the CSI report based on a difference between the reported CSI measurement and an a priori known value, the a priori known value indicating an absence of bias” (Response, filed on June 25, 2025, page 11), and it is persuasive. However, to Applicant’s argument “Sandberg does not teach the features absent from Zeng, Hammarwall, Onggosanusi, and Li” (Response, filed on June 25, 2025, page 14), Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant.
Sandberg teaches “If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value, e.g. in case the estimation error exceeds a predetermined threshold. A SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation” (Sandberg [Para. 0054]), indicating that a predictable channel is not subject to SINR estimation bias while an unpredictable channel is subject to estimation bias. Sandberg further teaches “In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB). However, for a radio channel that is more difficult to predict (less predictable channel) it may be better to be more aggressive with regard to modulation and/or coding, e.g. use a SINR offset. As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6)” (Sandberg [Para. 0064]), further indicating that in case of predictable channel when bias does not exist, SINR estimation based on prediction is the a priori known value, and in case of unpredictable channel when bias exists, the bias is the offset added to SINR estimation. Sandberg also teaches “if a situation where the SINR estimation error is assumed to be high is detected, the MCS selection is based on the estimated SINR increased by a large SINR offset. Such situations may for example be if the CQI reports vary significantly even though they correspond to the same transmission decision hypothesis” (Sandberg [Para. 0066]) and “Receive one or more CQI reports for at least one hypothesis regarding the transmission decisions of one or more neighboring transmission nodes. Estimate a SINR based on information received” (Sandberg [Para. 0042 and 0043]). Based on Sandberg, Offset is determined and added to the SINR estimation made when bias does not exist, based on the significant variation of CQI from the SINR estimation for predictable channel. Therefore, Sandberg teaches determining the bias of the CSI report based on a difference between the reported CSI measurement and an a priori known value, the a priori known value indicating an absence of bias.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-11, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg).
For claim 1, Zeng teaches A network node (base station (FIG. 1)) configured to communicate with a wireless device (terminal device (FIG. 1)), the network node comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0135], Step 106: the base station updates the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device, until the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device meets a convergence condition. [FIG. 5] and [Para. 0155], outer loop link adaptation adjustment apparatus includes a processor 21) configured to: receive a channel state information, CSI, report reporting a CSI measurement ([Para. 0095], For the downlink transmission, the terminal device detects channel quality information of the terminal device, and reports the detected at least one type of channel quality information to the base station. The channel quality information detected by the terminal device is quality information of a downlink channel.[Para. 0099], channel quality information such as SINRs, RSRPs, and MCSs obtained through measurement in a plurality of times of transmission should be combined …. Although the uplink transmission is used as an example for description in the foregoing method, the method is also applicable to the downlink transmission. [Examiner’s Note: Since downlink channel quality information is from the terminal, applying the method, the terminal measures channel quality information]. [Para. 0138], the base station obtains the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster. [Examiner’s Note: The channel quality information indicates the update of the SINR error of the target cluster and the updated SINR error of the target cluster indicates the initial OLLA value, the initial bias value]); and set an initial outerloop link adaptation, OLLA, value based at least on the determined bias of the CSI report ([Para. 0138], the base station …, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster).
Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information as noted above, Zeng does not explicitly disclose determine a bias of the CSI report based on a difference between the reported CSI measurement and an a priori known value, the a priori known value corresponding to an absence of bias.
Sandberg is directed to providing radio link adaptation In communication systems. More specifically, Sandberg teaches determine a bias of the CSI report based at least on the indication on a difference between the reported CSI measurement and an a priori known value ([Para. 0033], the transmission node and/or the wireless communication device may modify its measured CQI by a CQI offset. [Para. 0054], If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value, e.g. in case the estimation error exceeds a predetermined threshold. A SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. [Examiner’s Note: The predictable channel is the channel not subject to error (bias) in its SINR estimation]. [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: There is no bias when the channel is predictable and the SINR estimation is the a priori known value]. However, for a radio channel that is more difficult to predict (less predictable channel) it may be better to be more aggressive with regard to modulation and/or coding, e.g. use a SINR offset. As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6) [Examiner’s Note: The offset is the bias in SINR estimation]. [Para. 0066], if a situation where the SINR estimation error is assumed to be high is detected, the MCS selection is based on the estimated SINR increased by a large a large SINR offset. Such situations may for example be if the CQI reports vary significantly even though they correspond to the same transmission decision hypothesis. [Para. 0042], Receive one or more CQI reports for at least one hypothesis regarding the transmission decisions of one or more neighboring transmission nodes. [Para. 0043], Estimate a SINR based on information received [Examiner’s Note: CQI varies significantly from the SINR estimation without error]), the a priori known value corresponding to an absence of bias ([Para. 0054], If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: The SINR estimation when the channel is predictable is the a priori known value]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, so that the offset is added to SINR estimation when bias exists, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation allows the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claim 2, Zeng, and Sandberg teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the bias is indicated by a channel quality indicator, CQI, value included in the CSI report (Sandberg [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: There is no bias when the channel is predictable]. However, for a radio channel that is more difficult to predict (less predictable channel) it may be better to … use a SINR offset. As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6) [Examiner’s Note: The offset is the bias in SINR estimation to be added when channel is not predictable]. Sandberg [Para. 0066], if a situation where the SINR estimation error is assumed to be high is detected, the MCS selection is based on the estimated SINR increased by a large a large SINR offset. Such situations may for example be if the CQI reports vary significantly even though they correspond to the same transmission decision hypothesis. Sandberg [Para. 0042], Receive one or more CQI reports for at least one hypothesis regarding the transmission decisions of one or more neighboring transmission nodes. Sandberg [Para. 0043], Estimate a SINR based on information received [Examiner’s Note: A significant change of CQI value in a CQI report from another indicates the channel is not predictable and SINR estimation error (bias) in the CQI report])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, so that CQI report indicates the channel is not predicable and a bias is in the CQI report, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation allows the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claim 10, Zeng teaches A wireless device (terminal device (FIG. 1)) configured to communicate with a network node (base station (FIG. 1)), the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0092], The terminal device may be a wireless terminal. The wireless terminal may be computer built-in [Examiner’s Note: A computer comprises processing circuitry]) configured to: perform at least one channel quality measurement ([Para. 0095], For the downlink transmission, the terminal device detects channel quality information of the terminal device. The channel quality information detected by the terminal device is quality information of a downlink channel.[Para. 0099], channel quality information such as SINRs, RSRPs, and MCSs obtained through measurement in a plurality of times of transmission should be combined …. Although the uplink transmission is used as an example for description in the foregoing method, the method is also applicable to the downlink transmission. [Examiner’s Note: Since downlink channel quality information is from the terminal, applying the method, the terminal measures channel quality information]); and transmit a channel state information, CSI, report reporting a CSI measurement ([Para. 0095], For the downlink transmission, the terminal device detects channel quality information of the terminal device, and reports the detected at least one type of channel quality information to the base station. The channel quality information detected by the terminal device is quality information of a downlink channel.[Para. 0099], channel quality information such as SINRs, RSRPs, and MCSs obtained through measurement in a plurality of times of transmission should be combined …. Although the uplink transmission is used as an example for description in the foregoing method, the method is also applicable to the downlink transmission. [Para. 0138], the base station obtains the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster. [Examiner’s Note: The channel quality information indicates the update of the SINR error of the target cluster and the updated SINR error of the target cluster indicates the initial OLLA value, the initial bias value]); the bias being based at least on the at least one channel quality measurement ([Para. 0138], the base station …, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster. [Para. 0145], based on the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device, … and update the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device, until the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device meets a convergence condition [Examiner’s Note: the converged OLLA is the final bias]) and being configured to allow for setting of an initial outerloop link adaptation, OLLA, value ([Para. 0138], the base station …, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster).
Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information as noted above, Zeng does not explicitly disclose the CSI measurement indicating a bias by being different than an a priori known value, the a priori known value corresponding to an absence of bias.
Sandberg is directed to providing radio link adaptation in communication systems. More specifically, Sandberg teaches the CSI measurement indicating a bias by being different than an a priori known value ([Para. 0033], the transmission node and/or the wireless communication device may modify its measured CQI by a CQI offset. [Para. 0054], If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value, e.g. in case the estimation error exceeds a predetermined threshold. A SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. [Examiner’s Note: The predictable channel is the channel not subject to error (bias) in its SINR estimation]. [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: There is no bias when the channel is predictable and the SINR estimation is the a priori known value]. However, for a radio channel that is more difficult to predict (less predictable channel) it may be better to be more aggressive with regard to modulation and/or coding, e.g. use a SINR offset. As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6) [Examiner’s Note: The offset is the bias in SINR estimation]. [Para. 0066], if a situation where the SINR estimation error is assumed to be high is detected, the MCS selection is based on the estimated SINR increased by a large a large SINR offset. Such situations may for example be if the CQI reports vary significantly even though they correspond to the same transmission decision hypothesis. [Para. 0042], Receive one or more CQI reports for at least one hypothesis regarding the transmission decisions of one or more neighboring transmission nodes. [Para. 0043], Estimate a SINR based on information received [Examiner’s Note: CQI varies significantly from the SINR estimation without error]), the a priori known value corresponding to an absence of bias ([Para. 0054], If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: The SINR estimation when the channel is predictable is the a priori known value]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, so that the offset is added to SINR estimation when bias exists, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation allows the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claim 11, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 10. The references further teach wherein the indicated bias of the CSI report is indicated by a channel quality indicator, CQI, value included in the CSI report (Sandberg [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB) [Examiner’s Note: There is no bias when the channel is predictable]. However, for a radio channel that is more difficult to predict (less predictable channel) it may be better to … use a SINR offset. As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6) [Examiner’s Note: The offset is the bias in SINR estimation to be added when channel is not predictable]. Sandberg [Para. 0066], if a situation where the SINR estimation error is assumed to be high is detected, the MCS selection is based on the estimated SINR increased by a large a large SINR offset. Such situations may for example be if the CQI reports vary significantly even though they correspond to the same transmission decision hypothesis. Sandberg [Para. 0042], Receive one or more CQI reports for at least one hypothesis regarding the transmission decisions of one or more neighboring transmission nodes. Sandberg [Para. 0043], Estimate a SINR based on information received [Examiner’s Note: A significant change of CQI value in a CQI report from another indicates the channel is not predictable and SINR estimation error (bias) in the CQI report])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, so that CQI report indicates the channel is not predicable and a bias is in the CQI report, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation allows the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claims 19 and 28, Claims 19 and 28 are directed to a method claim and they do not teach or further define over limitations recited in claims 1 and 10. Therefore, claims 19 and 28 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 1 and 10.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg), and further in view of Li (CN103023617A, hereinafter Li).
For claim 3, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the CQI value is based on a mapping of at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values (Zeng, [Para. 0003], a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a wireless channel needs to be monitored to measure wireless channel quality).
Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose wherein the CQI value is based on a mapping of at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values.
Li is directed to providing Method for reporting CQIs (channel quality indicators). More specifically, Li teaches wherein the CQI value is based on a mapping of at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values ([Third last paragraph on page 4], After measuring SINR, UE determines CQI according to the SINR and the CQI mapping relations that obtain in advance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the CQI value is included in CSI report based on mapping of SNIR measurement to CQI values, as taught by Li. This implementation would have allowed, under the scene of limited uplink control channel capacity, the CQI most influencing wireless communication to be transmitted preferentially ([Li, [Abstract]).
For claim 12, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to map at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values, the CQI value indicated in the CSI report being based on the mapping (Zeng, [Para. 0003], a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a wireless channel needs to be monitored to measure wireless channel quality).
Although teaching transmitting channel quality information indicating a bias, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to map at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values, the CQI value indicated in the CSI report being based on the mapping.
Li is directed to providing Method for reporting CQIs (channel quality indicators). More specifically, Li teaches wherein the CQI value is based on a mapping of at least one channel quality measurement to one of a plurality of CQI values ([Third last paragraph on page 4], After measuring SINR, UE determines CQI according to the SINR and the CQI mapping relations that obtain in advance), the CQI value indicated in the CSI report being based on the mapping ([Third last paragraph on page 4], After measuring SINR, UE determines CQI according to the SINR and the CQI mapping relations that obtain in advance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the CQI value is included in CSI report based on mapping of SNIR measurement to CQI values, as taught by Li. This implementation would have allowed, under the scene of limited uplink control channel capacity, the CQI most influencing wireless communication to be transmitted preferentially ([Li, [Abstract]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg) and Li (CN103023617A, hereinafter Li), and further in view of Onggosanusi et al (US20200145866A1, hereinafter Onggosanusi).
For claim 4, Zeng, Sandberg and Li teach the system of claim 3. The references further teach a bias value in the channel quality measurement (Zeng, [Para. 0003], a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a wireless channel needs to be monitored to measure wireless channel quality. Zeng, [Para. 0138], the initial value of an OLLA adjustment amount of a terminal device is determined from two dimensions: an SINR measurement error and an SINR fluctuation), the bias value in the channel quality measurement corresponding to the bias in the CSI report (Zeng, [Para. 0138], the base station …, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster [Examiner’s Note: the bias in channel quality information corresponds to the bias indicated in the CSI report]).
Although teaching receiving mapped channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information, Zeng, Sandberg and Li do not explicitly disclose wherein the channel quality measurement is based at least on: a measurement of a channel component and a measurement of an interference component that are performed on a same signal source.
Onggosanusi is directed to providing method and apparatus for channel and interference measurement and reporting. More specifically, Onggosanusi teaches wherein the channel quality measurement is based at least on: a measurement of a channel component and a measurement of an interference component that are performed on a same signal source ([Para. 0174], The configuration information on the CSI-RSs includes at least one parameter for a channel measurement resource (CMR) and at least one parameter for an interference measurement resource (IMR). One of the CSI-RSs can be configured as a CMR and one other CSI-RS can be configured as an IMR. [Para. 0175], the base station generates and transmits the CSI-RSs (step 702) to UE-k. Here, the CMR is used to measure channel, the IMR is used to measure interference-plus-noise, and the channel and interference-plus-noise measurement is used to calculate the SINR. [Para. 0105], although signal and noise-plus-interference power can be measured from the same signal resource (either the same NZP CSI-RS or SSB), its accuracy degrades in the presence of strong and dominant interference).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, Sandberg and Li, so that both channel and interference are measured in channel quality on the same signal source, as taught by Onggosanusi. This implementation would have allowed the measurement of the quality of the downlink channel and report of this quality to a base station so that a determination can be made regarding whether or not various parameters should be adjusted during communication with the mobile device (Onggosanusi, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 5, Zeng, Sandberg, Li and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 4. The references further teach wherein the indication is configured to indicate a predefined dB value for a CSI report having no bias (Sandberg [Para. 0054], By using and/or combining one or more of the above transmission parameter, the SINR (or a quality of the radio channel in general) predictability can be determined. If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. Thus, a SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. Sandberg [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB). As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6). [Examiner’s Note: The estimated SINR of the predictable channel is CSI having no bias. The added offset to the estimated SINR indicates the predefined dB value as 0 dB value, as expressed in paragraph 0111 in the specification of this application for predefined X dB offset where X=0 dB]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, Li and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined dB value for CSI with no bias, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation have allowed the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claim 6, Zeng, Sandberg, Li and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 5. The references further teach wherein the predefined dB value is one of a zero dB value and a non-zero dB value (Sandberg, [Para. 0054], By using and/or combining one or more of the above transmission parameter, the SINR (or a quality of the radio channel in general) predictability can be determined. If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. Thus, a SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. Sandberg, [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB). As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6). [Examiner’s Note: The estimated SINR of the predictable channel is CSI having no bias. The added offset to the estimated SINR indicates the predefined dB value as 0 dB value, as expressed in paragraph 0111 in the specification of this application for predefined X dB offset where X=0 dB]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, Li and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined 0 dB value for CSI with no bias, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation would have allowed the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg), Li (CN103023617A, hereinafter Li) and Onggosanusi et al (US20200145866A1, hereinafter Onggosanusi), and further in view of Gao et al (US20210266926A1, hereinafter Gao).
For claim 7, Zeng, Sandberg, Li and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 6. Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the non-zero dB value is an offset set value of the channel component.
Gao is directed to providing channel state information transmission method and apparatus. More specifically, Gao teaches wherein the non-zero dB value is an offset set value of the channel component ([Para. [0118], the network device may configure, by using a higher layer signaling power control offset (powerControlOffset), a power offset between an RE on which the CSI-RS resource is located and an RE on which the PDSCH is located. A value of the power offset is {. . . 8, . . . ,15}, and a unit is dB. If the power offset configured by using the higher layer signaling is . . . 3 dB, power of an RE on which a PDSCH DMRS resource is located is one time higher than power of the RE in which the CSI-RS resource is located. If CSI obtained based on the PDSCH DMRS resource is CQI A, and CSI obtained based on the CSI-RS resource is also CQI A, a power offset further needs to be considered for the CSI obtained based on the CSI-RS resource, to obtain CQI A+3, This indicates that channel quality of the CSI-RS resource is higher than channel quality of the PDSCH DMRS resource [Examiner’s Note: 3dB is an offset of channel component, PDSCH resource, and the nonzero dB of predefined dB value]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, Sandberg, Li and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined nonzero dB value offset of the channel component from for CSI with no bias, as taught by Gao. This implementation would have allowed the system to transmit CSI more flexibly and quickly (Gao, [Para. 0006]).
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg), and further in view of Li (US20170063436A1, hereinafter Li436).
For claim 8, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 2. Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the CQI value is an average CQI value based on a reference signal sweep over a plurality of resources.
Li436 is directed to providing information processing method, base station, and user equipment. More specifically, Li436 teaches wherein the CQI value is an average CQI value based on a reference signal sweep over a plurality of resources ([Para. 0146], the user equipment receives the reference signal corresponding to each subband group and transmitted by the base station by using each subband group in the multiple subband groups. [Para. 0147], the user equipment may perform channel estimation on each physical resource block in each subband group to obtain an SINR corresponding to each physical resource block in each subband group; perform averaging processing on SINRs corresponding to all physical resource blocks in each subband group to obtain an SINR corresponding to each subband group. [Para. 0151], a CQI obtained from an average SINR of physical resource blocks included in the subband group may reflect channel states in a large frequency domain range).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the CQI is the average CQI based on reference signal over all physical resource blocks in a subband group, as taught by Li436. This implementation would have allowed support of more transmit antennas (Li436, [Para. 0088]).
For claim 13, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 11. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry (Zeng [Para. 0092], The terminal device may be a wireless terminal. The wireless terminal may be computer built-in [Examiner’s Note: A computer comprises processing circuitry]) is further configured to: receive a reference signal that is swept over a plurality of resources.
Although teaching receiving a reference signal, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose receive a reference signal that is swept over a plurality of resources; perform a plurality of channel quality measurement for the plurality of resources based on the reference signal sweep; determine a plurality of CQI values based on the plurality of channel quality measurements; and the CQI value is an average CQI value based on the plurality of CQI values.
Li436 is directed to providing information processing method, base station, and user equipment. More specifically, Li436 teaches receive a reference signal that is swept over a plurality of resources ([FIG. 15], User equipment 600, processor 630. [Para. 0146], the user equipment receives the reference signal corresponding to each subband group and transmitted by the base station by using each subband group in the multiple subband groups); perform a plurality of channel quality measurement for the plurality of resources based on the reference signal sweep ([Para. 0147], the user equipment may perform channel estimation on each physical resource block in each subband group to obtain an SINR corresponding to each physical resource block in each subband group); determine a plurality of CQI values based on the plurality of channel quality measurements ([Para. 0147], the user equipment may perform channel estimation on each physical resource block in each subband group to obtain an SINR corresponding to each physical resource block in each subband group); and the CQI value is an average CQI value based on the plurality of CQI values ([Para. 0147], perform averaging processing on SINRs corresponding to all physical resource blocks in each subband group to obtain an SINR corresponding to each subband group. [Para. 0151], a CQI obtained from an average SINR of physical resource blocks included in the subband group may reflect channel states in a large frequency domain range).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the CQI is the average CQI based on reference signal over all physical resource blocks in a subband group, as taught by Li436. This implementation would have allowed support of more transmit antennas (Li436, [Para. 0088]).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg), and further in view of Levy et al (US20210344399A1, hereinafter Levy).
For claim 9, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit a request for the CSI report with an indication of the bias (Zeng, [Para. 0138], the base station obtains the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster. [Examiner’s Note: The channel quality information indicates the update of the SINR error of the target cluster and the updated SINR error of the target cluster indicates the initial OLLA value, the initial bias value]).
Although teaching receiving channel quality information and setting OLLA value based on the error in the channel quality information, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit a request for the CSI report with the indication of the bias of the CSI report.
Levy is directed to providing multiple channel quality indicator (cqi) reports for link adaptation. More specifically, Levy teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to transmit a request for the CSI report with the indication of the bias of the CSI report ([Para. 0126], a wireless communication device, such as the BS 105, 205, or 400, may utilize one or more components, such as the processor 402, the memory 404, the channel state module 408, the transceiver 410, the modem 412, and the one or more antennas 416, to execute the steps of method 900. [Para. 0084], the channel state module 508 may be implemented as a processor, circuit, .... [Para. 0058], a BS 105 may transmit a CSF configuration to multiple connected UEs 115, indicating an NZP-CSI-RS resource and requesting precoding, rank, and/or channel quality information from the UEs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the base station may transmit a request for CSI report from the UEs, as taught by Levy. This implementation would have allowed the BS to receive CQI reports and estimate channel variations during time periods when the BS has no data transmissions to the UE, allowing the BS to prepare for link adaptation when the BS receives data for transmission to the UE (Levy, [Para. 0039]).
For claim 18, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 10. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a request for the CSI report with the indication of the bias of the CSI report (Zeng, [Para. 0138], the base station obtains the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster. [Examiner’s Note: The channel quality information indicates the update of the SINR error of the target cluster and the updated SINR error of the target cluster indicates the initial OLLA value, the initial bias value]).
Although teaching transmitting channel quality information indicating a bias, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a request for the CSI report with the indication of the bias of the CSI report.
Levy is directed to providing multiple channel quality indicator (cqi) reports for link adaptation. More specifically, Levy teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to receive a request for the CSI report with the indication of the bias of the CSI report ([Para. 0126], a wireless communication device, such as the BS 105, 205, or 400, may utilize one or more components, such as the processor 402, the memory 404, the channel state module 408, the transceiver 410, the modem 412, and the one or more antennas 416, to execute the steps of method 900. [Para. 0084], the channel state module 508 may be implemented as a processor, circuit, .... [Para. 0058], a BS 105 may transmit a CSF configuration to multiple connected UEs 115, indicating an NZP-CSI-RS resource and requesting precoding, rank, and/or channel quality information from the UEs).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that the base station may transmit a request for CSI report from the UEs, as taught by Levy. This implementation would have allowed the BS to receive CQI reports and estimate channel variations during time periods when the BS has no data transmissions to the UE, allowing the BS to prepare for link adaptation when the BS receives data for transmission to the UE (Levy, [Para. 0039]).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg), and further in view of Onggosanusi et al (US20200145866A1, hereinafter Onggosanusi).
For claim 14, Zeng and Sandberg teach the system of claim 10. The references further teach a bias value in the channel quality measurement (Zeng, [Para. 0003], a signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) of a wireless channel needs to be monitored to measure wireless channel quality. Zeng, [Para. 0138], the initial value of an OLLA adjustment amount of a terminal device is determined from two dimensions: an SINR measurement error and an SINR fluctuation), the bias value in the channel quality measurement corresponding to the bias in the CSI report (Zeng, [Para. 0138], the base station …, determines, based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device and the channel quality ranges of the plurality of clusters in the cell, the target cluster to which the terminal device belongs, updates the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster ... based on the at least one piece of channel quality information of the terminal device, finally determines the initial value of the OLLA adjustment amount of the terminal device based on the SINR error adjustment amount of the target cluster [Examiner’s Note: the bias in channel quality information corresponds to the bias indicated in the CSI report]).
Although teaching transmitting channel quality information indicating a bias, Zeng and Sandberg do not explicitly disclose wherein the channel quality measurement is based at least on: a measurement of a channel component and a measurement of an interference component that are performed on a same signal source.
Onggosanusi is directed to providing method and apparatus for channel and interference measurement and reporting. More specifically, Onggosanusi teaches wherein the channel quality measurement is based at least on: a measurement of a channel component and a measurement of an interference component that are performed on a same signal source ([Para. 0174], The configuration information on the CSI-RSs includes at least one parameter for a channel measurement resource (CMR) and at least one parameter for an interference measurement resource (IMR). One of the CSI-RSs can be configured as a CMR and one other CSI-RS can be configured as an IMR. [Para. 0175], the base station generates and transmits the CSI-RSs (step 702) to UE-k. Here, the CMR is used to measure channel, the IMR is used to measure interference-plus-noise, and the channel and interference-plus-noise measurement is used to calculate the SINR. [Para. 0105], although signal and noise-plus-interference power can be measured from the same signal resource (either the same NZP CSI-RS or SSB), its accuracy degrades in the presence of strong and dominant interference).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Sandberg, so that both channel and interference are measured in channel quality on the same signal source, as taught by Onggosanusi. This implementation would have allowed the measurement of the quality of the downlink channel and report of this quality to a base station so that a determination can be made regarding whether or not various parameters should be adjusted during communication with the mobile device (Onggosanusi, [Para. 0004]).
For claim 15, Zeng, Sandberg and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the indication is configured to indicate a predefined dB value for a CSI report having no bias (Sandberg [Para. 0054], By using and/or combining one or more of the above transmission parameter, the SINR (or a quality of the radio channel in general) predictability can be determined. If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. Thus, a SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. Sandberg [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB). As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6). [Examiner’s Note: The estimated SINR of the predictable channel is CSI having no bias. The added offset to the estimated SINR indicates the predefined dB value as 0 dB value, as expressed in paragraph 0111 in the specification of this application for predefined X dB offset where X=0 dB]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined dB value for CSI with no bias, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation have allowed the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
For claim 16, Zeng, Sandberg and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the predefined dB value is one of a zero dB value and a non-zero dB value (Sandberg, [Para. 0054], By using and/or combining one or more of the above transmission parameter, the SINR (or a quality of the radio channel in general) predictability can be determined. If the radio channel is found to be unpredictable, i.e. the estimated quality of the radio channel is subject to a certain estimation error, an offset may be added to the MCS decision input value. Thus, a SINR offset may be added to the estimated SINR and the so adapted SINR may be used in the process of link adaptation. Sandberg, [Para. 0064], In case of a predictable radio channel the best throughput, according to the example provided in FIG. 6, is found around the estimated SINR (offset ˜0 dB). As can be seen the throughput of the less predictable channel is increased by adding an offset to the estimated SINR (located at 0 dB offset in FIG. 6). [Examiner’s Note: The estimated SINR of the predictable channel is CSI having no bias. The added offset to the estimated SINR indicates the predefined dB value as 0 dB value, as expressed in paragraph 0111 in the specification of this application for predefined X dB offset where X=0 dB]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined 0 dB value for CSI with no bias, as taught by Sandberg. This implementation would have allowed the system to mitigate the drawbacks of reduced throughput when SINR error exists and to improve the link adaption mechanism and to improve the link adaption mechanism (Sandberg, [Para. 0008]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng (US20190349789A1, hereinafter Zeng) in view of Sandberg et at (US20190097750A1, hereinafter Sandberg) and Onggosanusi et al (US20200145866A1, hereinafter Onggosanusi), and further in view of Gao et al (US20210266926A1, hereinafter Gao).
For claim 17, Zeng, Sandberg and Onggosanusi teach the system of claim 16. Although teaching transmitting channel quality information indicating a bias, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the non-zero dB value is an offset set value of the channel component.
Gao is directed to providing channel state information transmission method and apparatus. More specifically, Gao teaches wherein the non-zero dB value is an offset set value of the channel component ([Para. [0118], the network device may configure, by using a higher layer signaling power control offset (powerControlOffset), a power offset between an RE on which the CSI-RS resource is located and an RE on which the PDSCH is located. A value of the power offset is {. . . 8, . . . ,15}, and a unit is dB. If the power offset configured by using the higher layer signaling is . . . 3 dB, power of an RE on which a PDSCH DMRS resource is located is one time higher than power of the RE in which the CSI-RS resource is located. If CSI obtained based on the PDSCH DMRS resource is CQI A, and CSI obtained based on the CSI-RS resource is also CQI A, a power offset further needs to be considered for the CSI obtained based on the CSI-RS resource, to obtain CQI A+3, This indicates that channel quality of the CSI-RS resource is higher than channel quality of the PDSCH DMRS resource [Examiner’s Note: 3dB is an offset of channel component, PDSCH resource, and the nonzero dB of predefined dB value]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zeng, Sandberg and Onggosanusi, so that the indicated bias indicates the predefined nonzero dB value offset of the channel component from for CSI with no bias, as taught by Gao. This implementation allows the system to transmit CSI more flexibly and quickly (Gao, [Para. 0006]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417