DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 121, 123-127, 129, 131-138, 151-152, 155-156 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saetrom et al (US 2018/0305689, October 2018, of record).
Concerning claims 121, 129, 151-152, 155-156 Saetrom disclose double stranded RNA with one strand of SEQ ID NO: 1495454 (see paragraph [0111], sequence listing), 19 nucleotides long, which are identical to nucleotides 3-21 of instant SEQ ID NO: 352:
SEQ ID NO: 352 1 GAGGACGAUGAUACUCAGCAACA 23
|||||||||||||||||||
SEQ ID NO: 1495454 1 GGACGAUGAUACUCAGCAA 19
Further Saetrom disclose that such double stranded RNA comprises a second strand complementary to the first (see paragraph [0075]). Such strand fully complementary to SEQ ID NO: 1495454 is 100% identical to nucleotides 1-19 of instant SEQ ID NO: 663.
Saetrom disclose that double stranded RNAs of the invention can include modified nucleotides (see paragraph [0075]), which can include sugar modifications (see paragraph [0116]) and phosphorothioate modifications (see paragraph [0127]).
Concerning claims 123-124, 131-132 Saetrom disclose that double stranded RNAs of the invention can include 2'-OMe sugar modifications (see paragraph [0116]).
Concerning claims 125-126 and 133-134 Saetrom disclose that double stranded RNAs of the invention can include phosphorothioate modifications (see paragraph [0127]).
Concerning claim 127 Saetrom disclose that double stranded RNAs of the invention can include terminal groups (see paragraph [0082]).
Concerning claim 135-138 Saetrom disclose that double stranded RNAs of the invention can include a conjugate group such as lipid or C16 alkyl (palmityl) group and conjugation can be accomplished using a linker (see paragraphs [0125, 0135-0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 121, 123-129, 131-160 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saetrom et al, above, and in further view of Prakash et al (US 2013/0084576, April 2013, of record) and Freier et al (US 2021/0139906, May 2021, of record).
Teachings of Saetrom are discussed above. Saetrom further teach that double stranded RNAs can have varied strands length from 14 to 30 nucleotides (see paragraph [0019]).
Saetrom do not teach the terminal group comprising a 5'- vinylphosphonate, or attaching conjugate group to the second modified oligonucleotide at the 3'-end, or the internucleoside linkage motif of the first modified oligonucleotide is ssooooooooooooooooooss and the internucleoside linkage motif of the second modified oligonucleotide is ssooooooooooooooooss, or the first modified oligonucleotide consisting of 23 linked nucleosides and the second modified oligonucleotide consisting of 21 linked nucleosides.
Prakash teach chemical modifications of double-stranded siRNAs, which improve their potency and efficacy (see paragraphs [0007, 0441]), including 5'- vinylphosphonate modifications (see paragraph [1064]).
Freier teach ssooooooooooooooooooss modification of antisense strand of double- stranded siRNA (see paragraph [0229]) and ssooooooooooooooooss modification of sense strand of double-stranded siRNA (see paragraph [0230]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce modifications taught by Prakash and Freier into double stranded RNA taught by Saetrom and vary length of the strands, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Prakash and Freier teach improvements to double stranded RNAs, which can be introduced into double stranded RNA of Saetrom to improve potency and efficacy. Further Saetrom teach various lengths of double stranded RNA strands, therefore it would be a matter of choice to choose specific lengths as instantly claimed and test them for activity. The matter of attachment of different substituents is also just a matter of choice, because double stranded RNA has only 4 ends, so it would be obvious to try attaching substituents to any of those ends.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning 102 rejection Applicant argues that SEQ ID NO: 1495454 is not disclosed as a duplex. In response in cited paragraph [0111] of Saetrom reference the sequence is disclosed as double stranded duplex. Rejection is maintained.
Concerning 103 rejection Applicant argues that Prakash reference teach a variety of conjugate groups and there is no reasoning to do the conjugation. In response the reference teach that conjugation to any described group increases potency and efficiency of the conjugate, providing reason for conjugation to any of the groups described. Rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637