Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 29, 32, 35-38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 20060291246 A1) in view of Trottier (US 20110182056 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Hattori discloses a pixel structure (Figs. 20-21), comprising: a substrate (4); at least one LED emitter (21/22/23/24) arranged on the substrate, each LED emitter of the at least one LED emitter being configured to emit emission radiation that is emitted within an emission wavelength range (Shown in Fig. 20) and emitted in one or multiple emission directions (D1) within a main emission plane (Figs. 20-21 show D1 confined to a plane); and at least one wavelength converter (3) arranged on the substrate adjacent to the at least one LED emitter (Shown in Fig. 20), each wavelength converter being configured to convert the emission radiation to converted radiation (Para. 10 "a fluorescent element [3] absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams"), the converted radiation being within a converted wavelength range (The converted wavelength range is the visible light range) and propagating from the at least one wavelength converter in a main conversion direction (D2) that is perpendicular to the main emission plane (Shown in Fig. 20), and the converted wavelength range being different from the emission wavelength range (Para. 10 "a light emitting element... emitting light beams within ultraviolet ranges and visible ranges...; a fluorescent element absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams"; the emission wavelength range spans the ultraviolet and visible ranges, while the converted wavelength range only spans the visible range). However, Hattori does not explicitly disclose wherein a height of the at least one wavelength converter
over the substrate is less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate.
On the other hand, Trottier discloses wherein a height of the at least one wavelength converter
over the substrate is less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate (Shown in fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori according to the teachings of Trottier such that the height of the at least one wavelength converter over the substrate would be less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate, in order to minimize the height and material costs of the package.[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 29, Hattori discloses wherein the at least one wavelength converter comprises at least two wavelength converters (Fig. 31 shows 4 separate semicircular wavelength converters), each wavelength converter being configured to convert the emission radiation within the emission wavelength range to the converted radiation (Para. 10 "a fluorescent element [3] absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams") within one of a plurality of different converted wavelength ranges (Each wavelength converter has a converted wavelength range equal to the visible light range).
Regarding claim 32, Hattori discloses wherein: the at least one LED emitter (21/22/23/24) is configured to only emit emission radiation in the main emission plane (Figs. 20-21 show D1 confined to a plane); or the emission radiation, or at least one portion of the emission radiation which is emitted in the main emission plane by the at least one LED emitter, is converted to converted radiation in the at least one wavelength converter (Fig. 20 shows emission radiation D1 being converted to converted radiation D2 in the wavelength convert 3).
Regarding claim 35, Hattori discloses wherein each wavelength converter of the at least one wavelength converter comprises a wavelength conversion material, and the wavelength conversion material comprises a matrix material (Para. 66 "the fluorescent elements 3 are made of matrix (or base materials)") and wavelength conversion particles distributed within the matrix material (Para. 92 "the fluorescent elements 3 contain 20 wt % or more fluorescent materials….the fluorescent materials are granules").
Regarding claim 36, Hattori discloses wherein the wavelength conversion particles are quantum dots or phosphorus material (Para. 87 "Blue fluorescent materials: Sr3(PO4)2").
Regarding claim 37, Hattori discloses wherein each wavelength converter of the at least one wavelength converter (Fig. 20, 3) comprises at least one barrier (47) extending along a periphery of the respective wavelength converter in the main conversion direction (Figs. 20-21 show 47 wrapping peripherally along 3 and extending vertically into the main conversion direction D2), wherein each of the at least one barrier is configured to extend an absorption path of the respective wavelength converter, each absorption path extending in the main emission plane, and the emission radiation propagating along each absorption path, and wherein the conversion of the emission radiation to the converted radiation occurs simultaneously with the propagation (Fig. 22; Para. 117 "the reflecting surface 470 enables the fluorescent element 3 to re-absorb light beams which pass through and are emitted by the fluorescent element 3. This is effective in improving an optical absorption factor of the fluorescent element 3 and in preventing leakage of high energy light beams passing through the fluorescent element 3").
Regarding claim 38, Hattori discloses further comprising: at least one wall reflector (Fig. 22, reflecting surface 470) arranged on a surface of each barrier (47) extending at least partially in the main conversion direction (Fig. 22 shows 470 extending vertically in the main conversion direction D2), the at least one wall reflector being configured to redirect said emission radiation propagating along the corresponding absorption path in a manner that the corresponding absorption path of the respective wavelength converter is extended within the main emission plane (Fig. 22; Para. 117 "the reflecting surface 470 enables the fluorescent element 3 to re-absorb light beams which pass through and are emitted by the fluorescent element 3. This is effective in improving an optical absorption factor of the fluorescent element 3 and in preventing leakage of high energy light beams passing through the fluorescent element 3").
Regarding claim 41, Hattori discloses wherein the at least one wavelength converter is configured in a manner that a surface (Fig. 14, upper surface of 3) of the at least one wavelength converter extends at an angle to a main substrate plane of the substrate, the surface facing away from the substrate and the surface extending adjacent to the substrate (Shown in Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 28, 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 20060291246 A1) in view of Trottier (US 20110182056 A1) as applied to claims 27, 29, 32, 35-38 and 41 above, and further in view of Tseng (US 20160284950 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Hattori discloses wherein the emission wavelength range is a blue spectral range or an ultraviolet spectral range (Para. 10 "a fluorescent element [3] absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams"); and wherein, when the at least one LED emitter comprises at least two LED emitters (21/22/23/24). However, Hattori does not explicitly disclose the at least two LED emitters being configured to emit radiation having the same wavelength.
On the other hand, Tseng discloses the at least two LED emitters being configured to emit radiation having the same wavelength (Fig. 2, Para. 17 "each of the first light-emitting dies 210 and each of the second light-emitting dies 220 are blue light LED dies"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori according to the teachings of Tseng such that the at least two LED emitters would be configured to emit radiation having the same wavelength, in order to simplify manufacturing and material costs by using multiple of the same LED emitters and various wavelength converters to convert their light to the desired wavelength.[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 30, Hattori in view of Trottier discloses the pixel structure according to claim 29. However, Hattori in view of Trottier does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one first wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converters is configured to convert the emission radiation to a first converted radiation being within a first converted wavelength range; and at least one second wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converters is configured to convert the emission radiation to a second converted radiation being within a second converted wavelength range, the second converted wavelength range being at least partially different from the first converted wavelength range.
On the other hand, Tseng discloses wherein at least one first wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converters is configured to convert the emission radiation to a first converted radiation being within a first converted wavelength range; and at least one second wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converters is configured to convert the emission radiation to a second converted radiation being within a second converted wavelength range, the second converted wavelength range being at least partially different from the first converted wavelength range (Fig. 2; para. 18 "the first wavelength-conversion layers 310 convert most of wavelengths of lights of the first light-emitting dies 210 into light with a first color temperature respectively during the first light-emitting dies 210 emitting the light. At the same time, the second wavelength-conversion layer 500 converts most of wavelengths of light of the second light-emitting dies 220 into the light with a second color temperature respectively during the second light-emitting dies 220 emitting the light. The second color temperature is different from the first color temperature. For example, in some embodiments, the first color temperature is in a range from 1000 K to 4999 K, and the second color temperature is in a range from 5000 K to 10000 K"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori in view of Trottier according to the teachings of Tseng such that at least one first wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converters would be configured to convert the emission radiation to a first converted radiation being with a first converted wavelength range; and at least one second wavelength converter of the at least two wavelength converts would be configured to convert the emission radiation to a second converted radiation within a second converted wavelength range, the second converted wavelength range being at least partially different from the first converted wavelength range, in order to produce different colors with a single pixel.[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 31, Tseng discloses wherein the first converted wavelength range is within a red spectral range and the second converted wavelength range is within a green spectral range (Fig. 2; para. 18 "the first wavelength-conversion layers 310 convert most of wavelengths of lights of the first light-emitting dies 210 into light with a first color temperature respectively during the first light-emitting dies 210 emitting the light. At the same time, the second wavelength-conversion layer 500 converts most of wavelengths of light of the second light-emitting dies 220 into the light with a second color temperature respectively during the second light-emitting dies 220 emitting the light. The second color temperature is different from the first color temperature. For example, in some embodiments, the first color temperature is in a range from 1000 K to 4999 K, and the second color temperature is in a range from 5000 K to 10000 K", wherein 1000 K to 4999 K is known to include red light and 5000 K to 10000 K is known to include green light).
Claim(s) 33, 39 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 20060291246 A1) in view of Trottier (US 20110182056 A1) as applied to claims 27, 29, 32, 35-38 and 41 above, and further in view of Van Bommel (US 20210373222 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Hattori discloses wherein when the at least one LED emitter comprises at least two LED emitters (Fig. 21, 21/22/23/24). However, Hattori does not explicitly disclose at least one LED emitter of the at least two LED emitters is configured to emit emission radiation in the main conversion direction.
On the other hand, Van Bommel discloses at least one LED emitter (Fig. 1A, 10) of the at least two LED emitters is configured to emit emission radiation in the main conversion direction (Fig. 1A shows at least some component of light emitted from LEDs 10 pointing in the main conversion direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori according to the teachings of Van Bommel such that at least one LED emitter of the at least two LED emitters is configured to emit emission radiation in the main conversion direction, in order to blend the LEDs' direct output color with the filtered light to create the desired color.
Regarding claim 39, Hattori in view of Trottier discloses the pixel structure according to claim 27. However, Hattori in view of Trottier does not explicitly disclose further comprising: at least one bottom reflector arranged between the at least one wavelength converter and the substrate, the at least one bottom reflector extending at least partially in parallel with the main emission plane and being configured to redirect converted radiation propagating within the at least one wavelength converter to the main conversion direction.
On the other hand, Van Bommel discloses further comprising: at least one bottom reflector arranged between the at least one wavelength converter and the substrate, the at least one bottom reflector extending at least partially in parallel with the main emission plane and being configured to redirect converted radiation propagating within the at least one wavelength converter to the main conversion direction (Para. 136 "the lighting device may further include one or more reflectors, especially configured to reflect radiation back into the light transmissive body that escapes from one or more other faces than the radiation exit window. Especially, a face opposite of the radiation exit window may include such reflector", where the face opposite the radiation exit window corresponds to the bottom face of Hattori's wavelength converter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori in view of Trottier according to the teachings of Van Bommel such that the pixel structure would further comprise at least one bottom reflector arranged between the at least one wavelength converter and the substrate, the at least one bottom reflector would extend at least partially in parallel with the main emission plane and , in order to redirect any light that has escaped the converter from a face other than the uppermost face of the converter to improve efficiency and light utilization.[RefA][RefA]
[RefA][RefA]
Regarding claim 40, Van Bommel discloses wherein the at least one wavelength converter comprises a waveguide structure configured to guide the emission radiation as it propagates within the at least one wavelength converter (Figs. 1A-B; luminescent element 5 comprises waveguide 100 and wavelength convert 120).
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori (US 20060291246 A1) in view of Nam (US 20150085527 A1) and Trottier (US 20110182056 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Hattori discloses an electronic device, comprising: an electronic display having a user interface surface (Para. 154 "The present invention is applicable not only to the foregoing embodiments but also… as television systems or personal computers"); and at least one pixel structure (Figs. 20-21), comprising: a substrate (4); at least one LED emitter (21/22/23/24) arranged on the substrate, each LED emitter of the at least one LED emitter being configured to emit emission radiation that is emitted within an emission wavelength range (Shown in Fig. 20) and emitted in multiple emission directions within a main emission plane (Para. 113 "It is assumed that the light emitting element 21 emits light beams in the first direction D1 at a reference angle (i.e., 0 degree). Light beams emitted by the light emitting element 22 are shifted by 90 degrees from the reference angle. Light beams emitted by the light emitting element 23 are shifted by 180 degrees from the reference angle. Further, Light beams emitted by the light emitting element 24 are shifted by 270 degrees from the reference angle."); and at least one wavelength converter (3) arranged on the substrate adjacent to the at least one LED emitter (Shown in Fig. 20), each wavelength converter of the at least one wavelength converter being configured to convert the emission radiation to converted radiation (Para. 10 "a fluorescent element [3] absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams"), the converted radiation being within a converted wavelength range (The converted wavelength range is the visible light range) and propagating from the at least one wavelength converter in a main conversion direction (D2) that is perpendicular to the main emission plane (Shown in Fig. 20), and the converted wavelength range being different from the emission wavelength range (Para. 10 "a light emitting element... emitting light beams within ultraviolet ranges and visible ranges...; a fluorescent element absorbing the light beams emitted from the semiconductor light emitting element, and outputting visible light beams"; the emission wavelength range spans the ultraviolet and visible ranges, while the converted wavelength range only spans the visible range). However, Hattori does not explicitly disclose wherein a height of the at least one wavelength converter over the substrate is less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate; wherein the main emission plane extends in parallel with the user interface surface; and wherein the main conversion direction is perpendicular to the user interface surface.
On the other hand, Trottier discloses wherein a height of the at least one wavelength converter
over the substrate is less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate (Shown in fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori according to the teachings of Trottier such that the height of the at least one wavelength converter over the substrate would be less than a height of the at least one LED emitter over the substrate, in order to minimize the height and material costs of the package.
Hattori in view of Trottier still does not disclose wherein the main emission plane extends in parallel with the user interface; and wherein the main conversion direction is perpendicular to the user interface surface. However, Nam discloses wherein the main emission plane extends in parallel with the user interface surface, and wherein the main conversion direction is perpendicular to the user interface surface (Figs. 7-8 show display panel DP being perpendicular to the direction of light outputted from LED 100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Hattori in view of Trottier according to the teachings of Nam such that the main conversion direction would be perpendicular to the user interface, and consequently the main emission plane would extend in parallel with the user interface surface, in order to allow the converted light to illuminate the user interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34 and 43-46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 34, the prior art of record does not disclose the device of claim 27, further comprising at least one radiation scattering device arranged on the substrate adjacent to the at least one LED emitter, wherein the at least one radiation scattering device is configured to redirect emission radiation, propagating in the main emission plane to the main conversion direction. Specifically, the prior art fails to disclose a radiation scattering device redirecting light directly from the source LED into the main conversion direction.
Regarding claim 43, the prior art of record does not disclose the electronic device according the claim 42, wherein the at least one pixel structure comprises a plurality of identical pixel structures, the plurality of identical pixel structures being distributed in the main emission plane in a two-dimensional pattern; wherein the two-dimensional pattern comprises rows of pixel structures and columns of pixel structures, the rows of pixel structures extending in parallel and intersecting the columns of pixel structures at perpendicular angles; wherein in the plurality of identical pixel structures a number of pixel structures in an individual row is independent of a number of pixel structures in an adjacent row, and a number of pixel structures in an individual column is independent of a number of pixel structures in an adjacent column; and wherein a distribution of pixel structures in the two-dimensional pattern allows maximization of a number of pixel structures in an area comprising the two-dimensional pattern. Specifically, the prior art fails to disclose wherein in the plurality of identical pixel structures a number of pixel structures in an individual row is independent of a number of pixel structures in an adjacent row, and a number of pixel structures in an individual column is independent of a number of pixel structures in an adjacent column; and wherein a distribution of pixel structures in the two-dimensional pattern allows maximization of a number of pixel structures in an area comprising the two-dimensional pattern.
As dependents of claim 43, claims 44-46 would also be allowable if claim 43 were rewritten in dependent form.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 9-10, filed 1/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 27 and 42 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
While Hattori still teaches the majority of the structure of claim 27, and Hattori in view of Nam still teaches the majority of the structure of claim 42, Trottier further teaches the new limitations of both amended claims. Trottier’s Fig. 2 shows a pixel structure comprising a LED emitters disposed adjacent to wavelength converts on a substrate, wherein a height of the wavelength converts over the substrate is less than a height of the LED emitters over the substrate. Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Trottier with Hattori in view of Nam in order to minimize the package height and reduce material costs.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817