DETAILED ACTION
The present application and its arguments have been reviewed and currently claims 1-6, 8, 10-17, and 19-22 are rejected, claims 18 are withdrawn, and claims 7 and 9 are cancelled.
Priority
It is noted to the applicant that the examiner inadvertently acknowledged foreign priority in the PTO-326 form and acknowledges that no claim to foreign priority has been made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/2/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicants arguments on pages 8-9 that Freter does not disclose the short fingers are arranged completely within the connector body, the examiner respectfully disagrees because the element 17 depicted in applicants annotated figure is not element 17 and it can be seen in the annotated figure that the short fingers do not extend out of the connector as the ends of the short fingers are flush with the end face of the connector body.
In response to applicants arguments on page 10 that there is a drawing error in Freter, the examiner respectfully disagrees as it is inherent that the pins on the short fingers being beveled is to engage the beveled inner surface of the connector (6:32-34; ex., a bevel pin to engage a beveled inner surface; ex., both figures 1 and 3 show the bevel on the connector).
In response to applicants arguments on page 12 that the hole is not aligned with the recess (ex., phantom element), the examiner respectfully disagrees as it is inherent that the recess would be axially aligned with the hole as the pin is inserted into the recess.
In response to applicants arguments on page 13 that recess is on the coupling element 22, the examiner respectfully disagrees as the beveled recess of the connector body to engage the beveled pin of the coupling element 22 is shown in the annotated figure below.
In response to applicants arguments on page 14 that the short fingers are arranged outside of the connector body, the examiner respectfully disagrees as it can be shown in figure 6 that the short fingers do not extend out of the connector body (ex., as also shown in figures 1 and 3).
In response to applicants arguments on page 21 that Freter fails to disclose a slit extending to a fourth end, the examiner respectfully disagrees as a “slit” presented as “the at least one short finger is spaced apart from the at least one long finger circumferentially along the ring portion by a slit” is a broad term referring to a space/void between two objects and it can be seen in figure 3 that there is a space/void from the ring portion to the fourth end (ex., see figure 3a of the present application where the slit is referring to the space between two objects as the space is the only portion that goes to the most distal end of the long finger).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freter (U.S. Patent No. 7,878,552).
Claim 13, Freter discloses:
A fluid connection assembly (see fig. 2 unless otherwise noted), comprising:
a connector body (2, fig. 1), including:
a first end (see near 12);
a second end (see near 30 in fig. 4);
a first through-bore (see fig. 2);
a gland (11, fig. 2); and
at least one seal (7) arranged in the gland; and
a retainer (see near 3) removably connected to the connector body, the retainer including:
a ring portion (22, fig. 4) ;
a plurality of short fingers (17, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion and operatively arranged to connect the retainer to the connector body; and
a plurality of long fingers (26, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion,
the plurality of long fingers varying in axial length from the plurality of short fingers (see fig. 4);
wherein at least one of the plurality of long fingers comprises a radially inward extending projection (4’, fig. 3) arranged at a distal end thereof
wherein when the retainer is connected to the connector body, the plurality of long fingers extend out of the connector body from the second end (see fig. 2),
the radially inward extending projection is arranged outside of the connector body (see fig. 3); and
the plurality of short fingers are arranged completely within the connector body (see fig. 1).
Claim 14, Freter discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 13, wherein the connector body further comprises at least one recess (see annotated fig. 1 below) arranged proximate the second end,
the at least one recess extending from a radially inward facing surface in the connector body only partially to a radially outward facing surface of the connector body (ex., see the beveled recess below extending radially outward from an inner surface).
Claim 15, Freter discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of short fingers comprises a radially outward extending projection (16, fig. 4) operatively arranged to engage the at least one recess to lock the retainer in the connector body (see annotated fig. 1 above).
Claim 16, Freter discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 15, wherein the connector body further comprises at least one hole (see annotated fig. 1 above) aligned with the at least one recess,
wherein when the retainer is connected to the connector body, the at least one hole provides access to the radially outward extending projections (see annotated fig. 1).
Claim 17, Freter discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 14, wherein the at least one recess comprises a continuous frusto-conical radially inward facing surface (see annotated fig. 3 below; 6:31-32, where the projection comprises a bevel which would match the bevel as shown in annotated fig. 3 below).
Claim 19, Freter discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 13, wherein:
the fluid connection assembly further comprises a tube including a shoulder (see 3 in fig. 1); and
the at least one radially inward extending projection is operatively arranged to engage the shoulder outside of the connector body to lock the tube to the retainer (see fig. 1).
Claim 20, Freter discloses:
A fluid connection assembly (see fig. 2 unless otherwise noted), comprising:
a connector body (2, fig. 1), including:
a first end (see near 12);
a second end (see near 30 in fig. 4);
a first through-bore (see fig. 2);
a gland (11, fig. 2); and
at least one seal (7) arranged in the gland; and
a retainer (see near 3) removably connected to the connector body, the retainer including:
a ring portion (22, fig. 4) operatively arranged to enclose the at least one seal in the gland;
a plurality of short fingers (17, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion completely enclosed within the connector body, operatively arranged to lock the retainer to the connector body (see fig. 1), and radially displaceable with respect to the ring portion (see fig. 1);
a plurality of long fingers (26, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion and radially displaceable with respect to the ring portion (ex., see final connection in fig. 2),
a tube including a shoulder (3, fig. 2),
wherein the at least one long finger engages the shoulder outside of the connector body to lock the tube to the retainer (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freter in view of Gunderson (U.S. Patent No. 7,467,813).
In regards to claim 1, Freter discloses:
A fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (2, fig. 1), including:
a first end (see near 12);
a second end (see near 30 in fig. 4);
a first through-bore (see fig. 2);
a gland (11, fig. 2); and
at least one seal (7) arranged in the gland; and
a retainer (see near 3) operatively arranged to be removably connected to the connector body, the retainer including:
a ring portion (22, fig. 4) forming a third end, the third end operatively arranged to enclose the at least one seal in the gland (see fig. 2);
at least one short finger (17, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion in an axial direction and having a first axial length; and
at least one long finger (26, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion in the axial direction and terminating at a fourth end,
the at least one long finger having a radially inward extending projection (4’, fig. 3) and a second axial length greater than the first axial length (see fig. 4);
wherein:
the at least one short finger is spaced apart from the at least one long finger circumferentially along the ring portion by a slit (see near 26 in fig. 4); and
when the retainer is connected to the connector body the at least one long finger extends out of the connector body from the second end and the radially inward extending projection is arranged outside of the connector body (ex., see fig. 3),
the at least one short finger does not extend axially out of the connector body (ex., see figure 6 where the short finger does not extend out of the connector body),
but does not disclose:
the second end comprising a radially inward extending protrusion.
In regards to the radially inward protrusion, Gunderson discloses a similar device (see figs. 2-3) comprising a retainer (see fig. 3) with a plurality of fingers (see fig. 3) and a connector body (14, fig. 2) comprising an annular recess (42) to further define a radially inward protrusion (36) comprising a similar beveled edge (40) and an annular radial surface (38) which serves as an abutment locking surface to retain the retainer within the bore (26; 3:28-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of Freter with the provision of an annular recess to provide the benefit further retaining the retainer within the bore because Freter discloses a device which only requires a simple modification of an annular recess to provide the benefit of further retaining the retainer (ex., the recess defines a radially inward protrusion) and Gunderson discloses a similar device which comprises a similarly beveled end of a radially inward protrusion to retain the retainer within the bore via an annular radial surface (3:28-30).
In regards to claim 2, Freter in view of Gunderson further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one short finger comprises a radially outward extending projection (16, fig. 4) operatively arranged to engage the radially inward extending protrusion (ex., the radially inward protrusion would comprise the beveled surface that would interact with the beveled surface of the radially outward protrusion).
In regards to claim 3, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 2, wherein the radially outward extending projection comprises a frusto-conical surface (20; 6:31-32).
In regards to claim 8, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, further comprising a tube (1, fig. 2) including a shoulder (3, fig. 2),
wherein the radially inward extending projection is operatively arranged to engage the shoulder to lock the tube in the retainer (see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 10, Freter in view of Gunderson further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 2, wherein:
the connector body further comprises a pocket (ex., the annular recess defining the projection); and
the radially outward extending projection is operatively arranged to engage the pocket (ex., see fig. 8 of Gunderson where providing an annular recess allows the projection to be within the recess).
In regards to claim 11, Freter in view of Gunderson further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 10, wherein:
the connector body further comprises at least one hole aligned with the pocket (ex., both are axially aligned); and
the at least one hole provides access to the radially outward extending projection (ex., see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 12, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the retainer comprises a polymer (1:19-21).
In regards to claim 21, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the slit extends in the axial direction from the ring portion to the fourth end (ex., see near 26 in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 22, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the plurality of short fingers do not extend axially out of the connector body (see figure 6).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freter in view of Pardy (WO-9208074).
In regards to claim 1, Freter discloses:
A fluid connection assembly, comprising:
a connector body (2, fig. 1), including:
a first end (see near 12);
a second end (see near 30 in fig. 4);
a first through-bore (see fig. 2);
a gland (11, fig. 2); and
at least one seal (7) arranged in the gland; and
a retainer (see near 3) operatively arranged to be removably connected to the connector body, the retainer including:
a ring portion (22, fig. 4) forming a third end, the third end operatively arranged to enclose the at least one seal in the gland (see fig. 2);
at least one short finger (17, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion in an axial direction and having a first axial length; and
at least one long finger (26, fig. 4) extending from the ring portion in the axial direction and terminating at a fourth end,
the at least one long finger having a radially inward extending projection (4’, fig. 3) and a second axial length greater than the first axial length (see fig. 4);
wherein:
the at least one short finger is spaced apart from the at least one long finger circumferentially along the ring portion by a slit (see near 26 in fig. 4); and
when the retainer is connected to the connector body the at least one long finger extends out of the connector body from the second end and the radially inward extending projection is arranged outside of the connector body (ex., see fig. 3),
the at least one short finger does not extend axially out of the connector body (ex., see figure 6 where the short finger does not extend out of the connector body),
but does not disclose:
the second end comprising a radially inward extending protrusion.
In regards to the radially inward protrusion, Pardy discloses a similar device comprising a connector body (10) comprising a beveled edge (see near 48) and a radially inward protrusion directly adjacent to the beveled surface to prevent the retainer from being removed from the connector body (ex., the retaining lip of claim 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the inner surface of Freter with the provision of radially inward projection to provide the benefit further retaining the retainer within the bore, as taught by Pardy (see claim 4).
In regards to claim 2, Freter in view of Pardy further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one short finger comprises a radially outward extending projection (16, fig. 4) operatively arranged to engage the radially inward extending protrusion (ex., the radially inward protrusion would comprise the beveled surface that would interact with the beveled surface of the radially outward protrusion).
In regards to claim 3, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 2, wherein the radially outward extending projection comprises a frusto-conical surface (20; 6:31-32).
In regards to claim 4, Freter in view of Pardy further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 2, wherein:
the connector body further comprises a frusto-conical radially inward facing surface adjacent the protrusion (see annotated fig. 3 above where the end comprises a bevel; see fig. 3 of Pardy, where the bevel is directly adjacent to protrusion near 48); and
the radially outward extending projection is operatively arranged to engage the frusto- conical radially inward facing surface (it is inherent that the conical surface of the protrusion of Freter would interact with the bevel surface of Freter) when the retainer is connected to the connector body (structurally there is nothing preventing this functional limitation as “connected” is a broad term).
In regards to claim 5, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 4, wherein the connector body further comprises at least one hole (19) aligned with the frusto-conical radially inward facing surface (ex., both are axially aligned with one another).
In regards to claim 6, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 5, wherein when the retainer is connected to the connector body, the at least one hole is aligned with the at least one short finger (ex., see fig. 6).
In regards to claim 8, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, further comprising a tube (1, fig. 2) including a shoulder (3, fig. 2),
wherein the radially inward extending projection is operatively arranged to engage the shoulder to lock the tube in the retainer (see fig. 2).
In regards to claim 12, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the retainer comprises a polymer (1:19-21).
In regards to claim 21, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the slit extends in the axial direction from the ring portion to the fourth end (ex., see near 26 in fig. 4).
In regards to claim 22, Freter further discloses:
The fluid connection assembly as recited in claim 1, wherein the plurality of short fingers do not extend axially out of the connector body (see figure 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679