DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 19 each depend from cancelled claim 4. Where the format of making reference to limitations recited in another claim results in confusion, then a rejection would be proper under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). (MPEP 2173.05(f)) Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang USPGPub 20130004640.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Zhang teaches a beverage comprising a clouding agent. [0010] The clouding agent may comprise a coacervate of zein protein and pectin, carboxymethylcellulose, alginate, xanthan gum, gellan gum or gum Arabic. [0033-0039]
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Zhang discloses that the beverage may be orange juice which comprises citrus fiber as recited in claims 6 and 7. [0049]
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Zhang discloses beverages with a beverage base having a pH of 3-7. [0014]
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses an emulsion comprising 3-15 wt% oil which is sufficiently specific to read on the v/v proportions recited in claim 14.
Regarding claim 19, the coacervated particles of Zhang have a diameter between 1-3 µm. [0043]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang USPGPub 20130004640 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the composition contains less than 20% dispersed complex coacervates which encompasses the range recited in claim 10. [0044] In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Zhang discloses that the beverage may be orange juice. [0049] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have varied the amount of orange pulp (insoluble and insoluble citrus fiber) present in the beverage depending on the preferences of the consumer. As such, the proportion of citrus fiber recited in claims 11-13 does not provide a patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang USPGPub 20130004640 as applied to claims 1 and 8 above in further view of Zhang II “Stabilizing oil-in-water emulsions with regenerated chitin nanofibers”, Food Chemistry, Volume 183, 15 September 2015, Pages 115-121
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches what is recited above but is silent regarding regenerated chitin.
Zhang II teaches that regenerated chitin is suitable for stabilizing emulsions. (Sec. 4)
Zhang and Zhang II are both directed to emulsions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have included regenerated chitin in the emulsion of Zhang since regenerated chitin was known in the art to be a suitable stabilizer for emulsions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have optimized the proportion of regenerated chitin depending on the properties desired for the emulsion. As such, claim 11 is rendered obvious by the modification of Zhang with Zhang II.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793