Claims 1-5, 13-17, 19-20, 22, 26, 28-29, 35, 42 and 47-48 are pending.
Claims 13-17, 19-20, 22, 26, 28-29 and 35 are withdrawn.
Claims 6-12, 18, 21, 23-25, 27, 30-34, 36-41, 43-46 are cancelled.
Claims 47-48 are added.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 42 are amended.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 42, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO (PLA2-responsive and SPIO-loaded phospholipid micelles. Chem Commun. 2015.) in view of THOMAS (US 2019/0142835 A1).
Regarding claim 1, GAO teaches a micelle that is loaded with phospholipids which are further conjugated to an active agent, such as a dye (abstract and scheme 1). The active agent is released from the phospholipid when hydrolyzed by phospholipase A2 (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, GAO teaches the active agent is released from the phospholipid when hydrolyzed by phospholipase A2 (abstract).
Regarding claim 4, GAO teaches the drug delivery system is a micelle (abstract).
Regarding claim 5, GAO teaches that the micelle comprises a fluorescent dye (page 2, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 42, GAO teaches a micelle that is loaded with phospholipids which are further conjugated to an active agent, such as a dye (abstract and scheme 1).
Additional disclosures: GAO teaches the phospholipids give the delivery system biocompatibility (page 2, paragraph 2). GAO further teaches that elevated levels of PLA2 are associated with cancer, such as in prostate cancer PLA2 levels have been found to be up to 22-fold higher than physiological levels (page 1, paragraph 1). Furthermore, this study is designed for future research to create a PLA2-responsive phospholipid micelles loaded with nanoparticles that could provide drug release specifically in response to PLA2 activity, and also enable non-invasive magnetic resonance (MR) imaging (page 2, paragraph 2). The system was set up to mimic a PLA2-responsvie prodrug (page 2, paragraph 3).
GAO does not teach that the active agent is a phospholipase A2 (PLA2) enzyme inhibitor.
Regarding claim 1, THOMAS teaches treating cancer using a PLA2 inhibitor (claim 1), such as varespladib (claim 3 and figures 5H-J). Varespladib increases cell apoptosis for cancer cells (page 13, paragraph 0179), which decreases tumor growth (page 1, paragraph 0009).
Regarding claims 47-48, THOMAS teaches treating cancer using a PLA2 inhibitor (claim 1), such as varespladib (claim 3 and figures 5H-J).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate using varespladib as the drug. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because varespladib increases cell apoptosis for cancer cells, which leads to decreased tumor growth. Furthermore, PLA2 levels are increased in cancer areas of the body and this would allow the cancer drug to be accurately released in cancer areas and reasonably would have expected success because the references are in the same field of endeavor, such as cancer therapeutics involving PLA2. Further, the delivery system in GAO is designed to be later used as a delivery system for providing drug release specifically in response to PLA2 activity, and also enable non-invasive magnetic resonance (MR) imaging.
The reference does not specifically teach the weight percent of phospholipid as claimed by the Applicant. The weight percent of phospholipid is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of the ordinary skill to determine the optimal weight percent of phospholipid in order to best achieve desired results, such as having enough phospholipids to achieve biocompatibility and to attach the desired amount of active agents. Thus, absent of some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of the weight percent of phospholipid would have been obvious at the time of Applicant’s invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 42 and 46-47 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1618 /JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618