DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 33-34, 36-37, 41, and 49-51 have been amended. Claims 33-34, 36-38, 41, 43-51, and 53 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to claim 1 (and any corresponding independent claim), the claim(s) as it(they) stand solely require a wireless device “determining” a network type and generating a random access report with network identification information. Unless there is any specific or particular step or process through which the device makes this determination, then determining will require the device deciding or finding what a network type is, and using cell identification is a way for the device to distinguish the node and operator to which that cell belongs, and thus the network type. Moreover, generating a random access report that includes a cell identity of the network, inherently implies the device has made a determination of the network type with which there has been a random access attempt, or a radio link failure, or a sensing failure that has prompted the report to be sent in the first place, because of the specific and unique nature of cell identities (i.e. the cell identity of a closed subscriber group will be distinct to the cell identity of a 5G cell, for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-34, 37-38, 46-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0077269; hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 33 Liu discloses a user equipment (fig. 3) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 312); and
at least one memory including computer program code (memory 314), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to:
detect random access attempt to a network (paragraphs 0046, 0047, 0113; wherein listen before talk (LBT) failure leads to detecting random access (RACH) failure);
determine, from a plurality of network types, a network type for the network, the plurality of network types comprising at least one public network and at least one non-public network, wherein the determined network type is a non-public network of the at least one non-public network (paragraphs 0045-0047, 0082-0083, 0090-0091; wherein a cell identity identifies the cell on which the RACH attempt/failure has occurred, wherein each cell is associated with base stations/access points that belong to a plurality of network operators from macro cells (public operators) to small cells as closed subscriber group (CSG; a non-public network) as described in paragraphs 0062-0063); and
based on the determining, generate a random access report, the report including network identifying information related to the random access attempt associated with the determined network type (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Regarding claim 34 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33, wherein the determined network type is a public network (paragraphs 0045-0047, 0082-0083, 0090-0091; wherein a cell identity identifies the cell on which the RACH attempt/failure has occurred, wherein each cell is associated with base stations/access points that belong to a plurality of network operators from macro cells (public operators) to small cells as closed subscriber group (CSG; a non-public network) as described in paragraphs 0062-0063), and wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor are configured to further cause the user equipment to: transmit, the random access report to a network node (paragraph 0089; report may include a radio link failure (RLF) report, a random access channel (RACH) report, or a connection establishment failure (CEF) report. UE 115 transmits report 372).
Regarding claim 37 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33, wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor configured to cause the user equipment to: generate a first random access report for a non-public network and a second random access report for a public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053), wherein the second random access report includes network identifying information related to a random access attempt associated with the public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Regarding claim 38 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 37, wherein the first random access report comprises a first network identifying information associated with the non-public network and the second random access report comprises a second network identifying information associated with the public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Regarding claim 46 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33, wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor are further configured to cause the user equipment to: receive a random access report configuration from a network node (paragraph 0102; configuration message).
Regarding claim 47 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 46, wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor configured to cause the user equipment to: generate the random access report based at least on the random access report configuration (figure 4; report provided according to the configuration).
Regarding claim 48 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 34, wherein the network node is a gNB or a gNB centralized unit (paragraph 0046, gNB).
Regarding claim 49 Liu discloses a method of communications, comprising:
detecting, by a user equipment, a random access attempt to a network (paragraphs 0046, 0047, 0113; wherein listen before talk (LBT) failure leads to detecting random access (RACH) failure);
determine, from a plurality of network types, a network type for the network, the plurality of network types comprising at least one public network and at least one non-public network, wherein the determined network type is a non-public network of the at least one non-public network (paragraphs 0045-0047, 0082-0083, 0090-0091; wherein a cell identity identifies the cell on which the RACH attempt/failure has occurred, wherein each cell is associated with base stations/access points that belong to a plurality of network operators from macro cells (public operators) to small cells as closed subscriber group (CSG; a non-public network) as described in paragraphs 0062-0063); and
based on the determining, generate a random access report, the report including network identifying information related to the random access attempt associated with the determined network type (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36, and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0146467; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 36 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33. Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses wherein the at least one non-public network includes a stand-alone non-public network (figure 6A; wherein in a dual-connectivity embodiment, each network node is a standalone with their own core network element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 41 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 36, wherein the random access report comprises: random access related instances recorded for the network (paragraphs 0046, 0091; the report comprises reasons for at least one random access failure detected at UE). Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses wherein the at least one non-public network includes a stand-alone non-public network (figure 6A; wherein in a dual-connectivity embodiment, each network node is a standalone with their own core network element). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Claim(s) 43-45, 50, 51, and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0023032; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 43 Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33. Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor are further configured to cause the user equipment to: receive a request from a network node for the random access report generated at the user equipment (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information request); and transmit the random access report in response to receiving the request (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 44 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 43. Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses wherein the request is received via a user equipment information request message from the network node (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information request), and wherein the request indicates information for one or more network types (paragraphs 0029-0038; cell identification in the request message). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 45 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 43. Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses wherein the request is received via a user equipment information request message from the network node, and wherein the request indicates information for one or more network types (paragraphs 0029-0038, 0041, 0051; cell identification in the UE information request message; and wherein one or more reports for the one or more network types are transmitted via a user equipment information response message to the network node (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 50 Liu discloses a network node (fig. 4) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 362); and
at least one memory including computer program code (memory 364), the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
receive, a random access report from the user equipment, the random access report including network identifying information related to a random access attempt associated with a non-public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053; paragraphs 0046, 0047, 0113; wherein listen before talk (LBT) failure leads to detecting random access (RACH) failure), wherein the network node is shared with public networks and non-public networks (wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose, but Kim in a similar field of endeavor related to random access procedure, discloses transmit to a user equipment, a request for a random access report generated at the user equipment (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information request); and receive, in response to the request, a report (paragraphs 0029, 0041, 0051; UE information response). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Kim, in order to increase system efficiency (Kim: paragraph 0006).
Regarding claim 51 the modified Liu discloses the network node of claim 50, wherein the computer program code and the at least one processor configured to cause the network node to: receive a second random access report for a non-public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053), wherein the second random access report includes network identifying information related to a random access attempt associated with the non-public network (paragraphs 0044-0048, 0083; the RACH report may include cell ID for each of one or more RACH report entries; wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Regarding claim 53 the modified Liu discloses the user equipment of claim 33, wherein the non-public network is provided by a network node shared with public networks and non-public networks (wherein the wireless device resides in an environment where multiple radio access technologies/radio access networks are available as described in paragraphs 0044, 0050, 0053).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2014/0241285 to Pang et al. – that discloses method and a device for processing a random access parameter, so as to properly adjust the random access parameter and improve a success rate of random access includes receiving a random access report of a first cell reported by one or more user terminals, where a random access detection item recorded in the random access report includes: at least one of number of times of preamble cycles in each random access, a reason for preamble transmission failure within each preamble cycle period and a random access delay; performing random access detection item statistics according to the random access report and obtaining a statistical value, if the statistical value reaches a preset threshold, adjusting the random access parameter of the first cell; and issuing the adjusted random access parameter to a user terminal belonging to the first cell.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466