DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites a crystallization temperature as measurement by DSC without mentioning cooling rate. Crystallization temperature by DSC is heavily dependent on the cooling rate. Without reciting cooling rate, a crystallization temperature is meaningless from scientific point of view.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al (US 2015/0315365) in view of Minowa et al (US 2018/0327580).
Aoki teaches a composition for a molded article comprising 100 parts by weight of a propylene-ethylene random copolymer A, 10-200 parts by weight of a glass fiber C, 5-200 parts of a thermoplastic elastomer D ethylene-octene copolymer, 5-50 parts of a propylene polymer resin E with Tm of 166°C, an acid modified polyolefin in an amount determined depending on the intended use and in general 0.01-0.5 parts, 0.01-0.5 parts of a lubricant such as fatty acid amides (0001, Claims, example 22, 0295-0296, 0303). Case law holds that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Aoki does not teach a nucleating agent.
However, Minowa teaches a similar composition and teaches using a nucleating agent in an amount of 0.05-0.5 parts can improve dimension stability and impact strength, the nucleating agent can be calcium 1,2-cyclohexanedicarboxylate [0117-0121, 0176]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made include a nucleating agent of Minowa into the composition of Aoki to improve dimension stability and impact strength.
Aoki is silent with respect to the crystallization temperature of the composition. However, the teachings from Aoki have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al (US 2015/0315365) in view of Minowa et al (US 2018/0327580) and further in view of PlasticsNet (Milliken chemical features enhanced lineup of polymer additives at NPE 2006).
Aoki and Minowa teach the limitation of claim 1, as discussed above.
Aoki and Minowa do not teach M being sodium.
However, PlasticsNet teaches Hyperform HPN-68L provides better results for polypropylene composition than Hyperform HPN-20E. Hyperform HPN-68L is disodium-bicyclo[2.2.1]heptane-2,3-dicarboxylate, Hyperform HPN-20E is calcium 1,2-cyclohexanedicarboxylate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize a sodium salt nucleating agent Hyperform HPN-68L for the composition of Aoki to improve dimension stability and impact strength.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763