DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group 1, Claims 1-16, 9-12, filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that Groups I, II and III do not lack unity of invention, the argument is not persuasive because 1) for PCT national stage applications, restriction is based upon unity of invention; restriction of a national stage application does not take into account whether or not the inventions are independent or distinct, and does not take into account burden on the examiner. 2) those three groups do not share a common special technical feature because claim 7 is related to a cured composition which is not included in claims 1 and 8.
Therefore, the restriction requirement based on the lack of unity analysis is still deemed proper and is made final. Accordingly, claims 7-8, 13-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 “in an ester residue” should be “in the ester residue” due to inherent antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, 5 objected to because of the following informalities: a proper Markush format is “selected from the group consisting of A, B and C”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3,9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3, 9 recites the limitation "the cured product". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakishita et al (JPH09118839).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of JPH09118839 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Claim 1, 4-5: Kakishita teaches a composition comprising 20wt% of an alkyl 2-cyanoacrylate, 60 wt% of ethoxyethyl-2-cyanoacrylate and 20 wt% of KAYARAD HX-620 and a peroxide (example 2, 0023). The alkyl 2-cyanoacrylate can be isopropyl-2-cyanoacrylate [0010].
Claim 2-3, 9-11: because Kakishita teaches the claimed composition, it is therefore inherent that the composition exhibit claimed property since such a property is evidently dependent upon the nature of the composition used, see MPEP 2112.01. Absent an objective showing to the contrary, the addition of the claimed physical properties to the claim language fails to provide patentable distinction over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakishita et al (JPH09118839) in view of Mcardle et al (US 2016/0251548).
Kakishita teaches the limitation of claim 5 and claim 11, as discussed above. Kakishita further teaches the composition comprising polymerization accelerator such as crown ethers [0021].
Kakishita does not teach the amount of crown ethers.
However, Mcardle discloses a cyanoacrylate composition and teaches an accelerator such as crown ether can be included in an amount of 1000-3000 ppm [0029, 0052]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include crown ethers in an amount like claimed because it is recognized in the art being a suitable amount for cyanoacrylate compositions.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-3, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No.18/004,453. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘453 claims a composition comprising at least 10wt% of a 2-cyanoacrylate having an ether bond in the ester residue, and an alkyl-2-cyanoacrylate..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763