DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogiwara et al. (US 2016/0211462) (hereafter “Ogiwara”) in view of Ohsawa et al. (WO 2019/215535), where Ohsawa et al. (US 20210057667) (hereafter “Ohsawa”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-9, Ogiwara teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0272]-[0282]). Ogiwara teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a first compound (TADF material) and a second material (arylamine compound), and can further comprise a phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0029], [0031], and [0107]). Ogiwara teaches that the second compound is a fluorescent emitter and can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0107] and [0137]).
Ogiwara does not teach where the bisanthracene arylamine compounds comprise the applicant’s claimed substitution pattern.
Ohsawa teaches anthracene arylamine compounds for use as fluorescent dopants (paragraph [0135]). Ohsawa teaches that one can improve emission efficiency by attaching protecting groups to the fluorescent materials and teaches that the number of protecting groups should be 5 or more (abstract and paragraph [0123]). Ohsawa teaches the following fluorescent compounds with protecting groups,
,
,
,
, and
are few examples (paragraph [0268]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compounds Ogiwara to have the protecting groups as taught by Ohsawa. The motivation would have been to improve the emission efficiency of the electroluminescent device. This would leave to the following compounds,
and
as examples.
Regarding claims 10-12, Ogiwara teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic device (light emitting apparatus) (paragraph [0217]).
Ogiwara does not teach the structure of the electronic device (light emitting apparatus).
Ohsawa teaches a similar electroluminescent device that can be used in an electronic device (light emitting apparatus) (paragraphs [0445-[0447]). Ohsawa teaches that the electronic apparatus can comprise at least one transistor and a substrate, the electronic device contains the electron apparatus and comprises a microphone, camera, operation button, external connection portion, or a speaker, and teaches a light device comprising the electronic device and a housing, cover, or support (paragraphs [0031], [0338], and [0396]-[0433]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before, the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to use the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara in the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device of Ohsawa. Both Ogiwara and Ohsawa teach similar electroluminescent device and Ogiwara teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic device, but does not teach the structure of the device. Ohsawa teaches the structure of the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device that electroluminescent devices can be used in; therefore, it would have been obvious try to use the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara in the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device of Ohsawa and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara can be used successfully in a light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohsawa et al. (WO 2020/012304) teaches anthracene comprises arylamine groups and protecting groups and the use of the compounds in the electroluminescent device.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759