DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed May 26, 2026, which cancels claims 1-3 and 6-12. Claims 4, 5, and 13-19 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed May 26, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-3 and 6-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogiwara et al. (US 2016/0211462) in view of Ohsawa et al. (WO 2019/215535) as set forth in the Office action mailed February 24, 2026. The applicant cancels claims 1-3 and 6-12; therefore, the claims are no longer pending.
Response to Arguments
The amendment that comprised added claims 13-19 was missed by the examiner and are addressed in the rejection below.
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Ohsawa teaches that one can improve emission efficiency by attaching protecting groups to the fluorescent materials and teaches that the number of protecting groups should be 5 or more (abstract and paragraph [0123]). Although the compounds of Ohsawa are not bisanthracene compound, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect similar improvements for the bisanthracene compounds of Ogiwara. The bisanthracene compounds of Ogiwara are used for the same purpose as the compounds of Ohsawa so one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a similar outcome. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that there is no basis for the assertion that the modification would have resulted in improved emission efficiency, the Office points out that Ohsawa teaches that one can improve emission efficiency by attaching protecting groups to the fluorescent materials and teaches that the number of protecting groups should be 5 or more (abstract and paragraph [0123]). This would teach one of ordinary skill in the art that one would expect an improvement in emission efficiency and the applicant has not shown that teaching by Ohsawa is not true. The applicant’s argument is no persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument of unexpected results, the results are commensurate in scope with the claims. The Office points out that applicant’s claimed are just directed to a compound and all the results are for using the compound in a device. The components of electroluminescent devices has significant affect on observed properties. It is unclear if is just the compound itself causing the observed results or the selection of all the compounds in the different layers of the device causing the observed results. The applicant not provide any unexpected results directed to only the compound. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogiwara et al. (US 2016/0211462) (hereafter “Ogiwara”) in view of Ohsawa et al. (WO 2019/215535), where Ohsawa et al. (US 20210057667) (hereafter “Ohsawa”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 13-16, Ogiwara teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0272]-[0282]). Ogiwara teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a first compound (TADF material) and a second material (arylamine compound), and can further comprise a phosphorescent dopant (paragraphs [0029], [0031], and [0107]). Ogiwara teaches that the second compound is a fluorescent emitter and can have the following structure,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraphs [0107] and [0137]).
Ogiwara does not teach where the bisanthracene arylamine compounds comprise the applicant’s claimed substitution pattern.
Ohsawa teaches anthracene arylamine compounds for use as fluorescent dopants (paragraph [0135]). Ohsawa teaches that one can improve emission efficiency by attaching protecting groups to the fluorescent materials and teaches that the number of protecting groups should be 5 or more (abstract and paragraph [0123]). Ohsawa teaches the following fluorescent compounds with protecting groups,
,
,
,
, and
are few examples (paragraph [0268]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compounds Ogiwara to have the protecting groups as taught by Ohsawa. The motivation would have been to improve the emission efficiency of the electroluminescent device. This would leave to the following compounds,
and
as examples.
Regarding claims 17-19, Ogiwara teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic device (light emitting apparatus) (paragraph [0217]).
Ogiwara does not teach the structure of the electronic device (light emitting apparatus).
Ohsawa teaches a similar electroluminescent device that can be used in an electronic device (light emitting apparatus) (paragraphs [0445-[0447]). Ohsawa teaches that the electronic apparatus can comprise at least one transistor and a substrate, the electronic device contains the electron apparatus and comprises a microphone, camera, operation button, external connection portion, or a speaker, and teaches a light device comprising the electronic device and a housing, cover, or support (paragraphs [0031], [0338], and [0396]-[0433]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before, the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to use the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara in the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device of Ohsawa. Both Ogiwara and Ohsawa teach similar electroluminescent device and Ogiwara teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in an electronic device, but does not teach the structure of the device. Ohsawa teaches the structure of the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device that electroluminescent devices can be used in; therefore, it would have been obvious try to use the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara in the light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device of Ohsawa and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the electroluminescent device of Ogiwara can be used successfully in a light emitting apparatus, electronic device, and lighting device.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759