DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 3/3/26.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 & 23 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-19 & 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zou, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2021/0092584 A1 in view of Pezeshki, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2021/0336687 A1.
As to claim 1, Zou teaches a method performed by a User Equipment, UE, for handling mobility information in a communications network, the method comprising:
determining whether one or multiple conditions are fulfilled for one or multiple cells, at least part of the predicted mobility information being used as input to the one or multiple conditions (Zou, page 2, paragraph 13; page 11, paragraph 116; i.e., [0113] The method also includes reporting, by the UE, a time and location update when the a predicted time and location pair for the one of the cell. The predicted time and location pair determined according to the mobility prediction information message; [0116] the mobility critical path and meet URLLC requirement during the mobility); and
transmitting a message to a network node when it has been determined that the one or multiple conditions are fulfilled (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; page 6, paragraph 80 & 81; i.e., [0080] the target cell measurement is available.
This meets the requirements of O millisecond (ms) interruption and URLLC during the HO. In another aspect, the network pre-transfers the UE's context according to the schedule of the UE's visiting of the target cell(s). [0081] Aspects allow low latency instructions for delay sensitive applications. Allowing RACH less access minimizes the uplink (UL) delay and saves power).
But Zou failed to teach the claim limitation wherein predicting, using a prediction model, mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE's predicted mobility in the communications network.
However, Pezeshki teaches the limitation wherein predicting, using a prediction model, mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE's predicted mobility in the communications network (Pezeshki, page 11, paragraph 134; i.e., [0134] The UE may predict its mobility state based on a machine learning model that is trained to output a prediction, or information that may be used by the UE to predict. The UE may predict the mobility state of the UE based on contextual information, such as signal quality measurements for signals from a plurality of gNBs, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements for reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zou to substitute LTE from Pezeshki for beams from Zou to improving spectral efficiency, lowering
costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and
better integrating with other open standards (Pezeshki, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 2, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the message comprises at least one of: the predicted mobility information; and current mobility information (Zou, page 6, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] provide the mobility prediction information message to the UE which contains the list of the cells/TRPs/beams to be visited and the prediction of visit time of the cell/TRP/beam overages. The UE will send out a location update signal/message if it finds that the difference between the predicted location and the real (actual) location is larger than a threshold value).
As to claim 3, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the message is a measurement report (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; i.e., [0075] the UE based on its measurement of the beam determines whether current cell/beam is as the network predicted. If not, the UE sends a location update message or signal to the network. The network will send update mobility prediction information to the UE).
As to claim 4, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the predicted mobility information is associated with an identity comprised in the message (Zou, page 5, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] The device can also be provided with a list of cell identifiers, beam identifiers, and the like as well as times when the device will be communicating with specific cells or beams).
As to claim 5, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein at least one of beam measurement predictions and information derived from beam measurement predictions are further used as input to the one or more conditions (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; i.e., [0075] the UE based on its measurement of the beam determines whether current cell/beam is as the network predicted. If not, the UE sends a location update message or signal to the network. The network will send update mobility prediction information to the UE).
As to claim 6, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions is configured as an event in a reporting configuration, and wherein the event is at least one of: an Al event, an A2 event, an A3 event, an A4 event, an A5 event and an A6 event, B 1 event, B2 event (Zou, page 7, paragraph 83; i.e., [0083] The UE, based on the predicted mobility information, is scheduled to and perform its activities at the corresponding coverage and times indicated by the predicted mobility information. Following the mobility prediction information, at the moment when the transmitting and receiving events occur, the inactive UE can).
As to claim 7, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the predicted mobility information comprises at least one of: radio related information; information related to cells the UE may enter to coverage of; location information (Zou, page 5, paragraph 72; i.e., [0072] the network has other methods to estimate the UE speed and UE location. For example, the UE speed and location); positioning; information related to beams where the UE predicts it is going to be covered by; and information related to a route the UE is going.
As to claim 9, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein at least one input parameter is used as input to the prediction model, and wherein the at least one input parameter comprises at least one of: measurements (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; i.e., [0075] the UE based on its measurement of the beam determines whether current cell/beam is as the network predicted. If not, the UE sends a location update message or signal to the network. The network will send update mobility prediction information to the UE); UE connection information; UE mobility history information; and time information.
As to claim 10, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the prediction model is stored in the UE or received from the network node (Zou, page 1, paragraph 4; i.e., [0004] a method for resource allocation in a wireless network includes obtaining, at a network entity, a predicted route for a user equipment (UE). The method also includes determining, by the network entity, a predicted time of entering and a predicted duration of stay of the UE in each of a plurality of cells. Each of the plurality of cells includes the finer coverage of local transmission reception point (TRP)(s) and/or beams).
As to claim 11, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the prediction model is selected by the UE from a plurality of candidate prediction models (Zou, page 1, paragraph 9; i.e., [0009] The schedule of cell reselection is determined according to mobility prediction information).
As to claim 12, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting to the network node capability information indicating that the UE is capable of at least one of: receiving the prediction model from the network node models (Zou, page 1, paragraph 9; i.e., [0009] The schedule of cell reselection is determined according to mobility prediction information); and transmitting the message when one or multiple conditions are fulfilled, wherein the predicted mobility information is used as input to the one or multiple conditions.
As to claim 13, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the UE is configured by the network node to at least one of: to predict the mobility information (Zou, page 6, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] provide the mobility prediction information message to the UE which contains the list of the cells/TRPs/beams to be visited and the prediction of visit time of the cell/TRP/beam overages. The mobility prediction by the network at the cell level resolution or beam level resolution based on predication accuracy); and to transmit the message.
As to claim 14, Zou teaches a method performed by a network node for handling mobility information in a communications network, the method comprising:
receiving a message from a User Equipment, UE, the message being associated with predicted mobility information (Zou, page 1, paragraph 4 & 6; page 5, paragraph 75; page 6, paragraph 82; i.e., [0006] Each of the plurality of cells includes a base station with antenna arrays and generating multiple beams together with local TRPs to cover the entire cell coverage. The network component also includes a mobility prediction information generator configured to determine mobility prediction information; [0082] provide the mobility prediction information message to the UE which contains the list of the cells/TRPs/beams to be visited and the prediction of visit time of the cell/TRP/beam overages); and
performing mobility decisions for the UE based on the message (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; page 6, paragraph 80 & 81; i.e., [0075] the UE based on its measurement of the beam determines whether current cell/beam is as the network predicted. The network will send update mobility prediction information to the UE; [0081] Aspects allow low latency instructions for delay sensitive applications. Allowing RACH less access minimizes the uplink (UL) delay and saves power. In an aspect, the network pre-transfers the UE's context before the schedule time of the UE's reselecting of the target cell(s). Preparation allows the "global" UE identifier).
But Zou failed to teach the claim limitation wherein predicted by the UE via a prediction model, the predicted mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE’s predicted mobility in the communication network.
However, Pezeshki teaches the limitation wherein predicted by the UE via a prediction model, the predicted mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE’s predicted mobility in the communication network (Pezeshki, page 11, paragraph 134; i.e., [0134] The UE may predict its mobility state based on a machine learning model that is trained to output a prediction, or information that may be used by the UE to predict. The UE may predict the mobility state of the UE based on contextual information, such as signal quality measurements for signals from a plurality of gNBs, such as reference signal received power (RSRP) or received signal strength indicator (RSSI) measurements for reference signals transmitted or broadcast by the plurality of gNBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Zou to substitute LTE from Pezeshki for beams from Zou to improving spectral efficiency, lowering
costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum, and better integrating with other open standards (Pezeshki, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 15, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 14, wherein the message comprises current mobility information (Zou, page 6, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] provide the mobility prediction information message to the UE which contains the list of the cells/TRPs/beams to be visited and the prediction of visit time of the cell/TRP/beam overages).
As to claim 18, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 14, comprising: configuring the UE to at least one of:
the predict mobility information (Zou, page 6, paragraph 82; i.e., [0082] provide the mobility prediction information message to the UE which contains the list of the cells/TRPs/beams to be visited and the prediction of visit time of the cell/TRP/beam overages. The mobility prediction by the network at the cell level resolution or beam level resolution based on predication accuracy. The mobility prediction information message); and
transmit the message to network node.
As to claim 19, Zou-Pezeshki teaches the method as recited in claim 14, wherein transmitting information indicating one or multiple prediction models to the UE (Zou, page 5, paragraph 75; page 6, paragraph 80 & 81; i.e., [0075] the UE based on its measurement of the beam determines whether current cell/beam is as the network predicted. [0080] the target cell measurement is available. This meets the requirements of O millisecond (ms) interruption and URLLC during the HO. In another aspect, the network pre-transfers the UE's context according to the schedule of the UE's visiting of the target cell(s)).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are directed to a method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3-4. Therefore, claim(s) 16-17 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3-4.
Claim(s) 23 is/are directed to a system claim and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 23 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-19 & 23 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “the predicted mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE’s predicted mobility in the communication network” (see Applicant’s response, 3/3/26, page 12-16). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Naik disclosed this functionality (see Pezeshki, page 11, paragraph 134). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “the predicted mobility information including predicted radio quality associated with the UE’s predicted mobility in the communication network” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Lee, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210168691 A1 discloses information for estimating mobility state of the UE, quality threshold.
Jung, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20140031039 A1 discloses mobility estimation and cell measurement, specific threshold range.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416