Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 12/1/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/25.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/23 was acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GAO et al. (“GAO,” WO 2019218395 A1).
As to claim 1, GAO teaches a method for analyzing a gas, the method comprising: providing a chamber comprising an inlet, an outlet and a sensor (annular working chamber I-1 including a malodorous gas inlet in fig. 9, an outlet in fig. 9, and a gas sensor array I-1); introducing the gas into the chamber (automatic sample introduction system I); controlling a concentration of the gas in the chamber according to a sniffing recipe, wherein the sniffing recipe comprises a sequence of actions and the sniffing recipe is either pre-defined, optimized or determined through machine learning (see figs. 6-7 which describes “in the cyclic sampling period T, the two-position two-way solenoid valve I-5 for controlling the air-to-opening of the ambient air is controlled, and the two-position two-way solenoid valve I-8 for controlling the flow of malodorous gas into the annular working chamber of the gas sensor array is controlled. The two-position two-way solenoid valve I-13 for controlling the clean air on and off is turned on and off 10 times, and the two-position two-way solenoid valve I-10 for controlling the flow conversion is turned on and off 20 times”), wherein the sniffing recipe comprises: (1) inhale, wherein inhale comprises introducing the gas into the chamber (malodorous gas into the annual working chamber); and at least one of the following actions: (2) exhale, wherein exhale comprises cleansing the sensor (fig. 7 describes how “the gas sensor array is annular working chamber I-1, but is directly discharged to the outside by an external vacuum pump III. This 175 second period can be further divided into 2 segments: (b1) 155 seconds of initial recovery of the gas sensor array; (b2) 20 seconds of gas sensor array flushing. In the second stage, the two-position two-way solenoid valve I-13 is disconnected, and the two-position two-way solenoid valves I-5 and I-10 are turned on, and are cleaned by the device IV under the suction of the built-in micro vacuum pump I-14”); (3) wait, wherein wait comprises allowing a concentration of the gas to decrease slowly; and detecting, over time and by the sensor, a characteristic indicative of a compound or compounds present in the gas (see fig. 3 of the malodorous electronic nose instrument 1; also see fig. 5, which describes the machine learning cascade model determines the concentration of inorganic components such as H .sub.2 S, NH .sub.3 , SO .sub.2 and CS .sub.2 according to the responses of 11 MOS types and 4 EC type gas sensors; according to 11 MOS types and 1 PID type gas The response of the sensitive sensor collectively determines the TVOC concentration of malodorous gas and the concentration of organic components such as C .sub.3 H .sub.9 N, C .sub.8 H .sub.8 , CH .sub.4 S, C .sub.2 H .sub.6 S, C .sub.2 H .sub.6 S .sub.2 ; according to all 16 gas sensors The responses together determine the olfactory concentration OU value).
As to claims 2 and 3, GAO teaches the sniffing recipe comprises a pattern of actions, which comprises a specified length of time for each action in the sequence in e.g., fig. 7.
As to claim 4, GAO teaches in fig. 2 et seq. how the gas flows through the annular working chamber.
As to claim 5, GAO teaches the sniffing recipe comprises a plurality of inhale actions alternating with a plurality of hold actions. See abstract et seq. and fig. 7.
As to claim 6, GAO teaches the sniffing recipe comprises a pattern of actions and a specified length of time for each action in the pattern, wherein the sequence of actions and specified length of time are pre-defined. See abstract and fig. 7.
As to claim 7, GAO teaches the pre-defined pattern of actions is based on the gas being analyzed. See abstract et seq.
As to claim 8, GAO teaches the sniffing recipe comprises a first recipe followed by a second recipe, wherein said first recipe is pre-defined and said second recipe is determined based on machine learning from measurements resulting from the first recipe. See abstract et seq.
As to claim 9, GAO teaches comprising priming the chamber with a known compound prior to introducing the gas being analyzed. See e.g., calibration step.
As to claim 10, GAO teaches comprising introducing a known compound simultaneously with the gas being analyzed. See e.g., calibration step, or simultaneous online monitoring of multiple observation points in a specific area.
As to claim 11, GAO teaches introducing a known compound after introducing the gas being analyzed. See “clean ambient air flushing after malodorous gas headspace sampling.”
As to claims 14-15, GAO teaches exhale comprises flushing the chamber with another fluid, wherein flushing the chamber with another fluid comprises injecting the fluid through the inlet, to remove the gas being analyzed. See “malodorous gas headspace sampling (30 seconds), clean ambient air flushing (20 seconds) a total of 5 stages.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of Smolka et al. (“Smolka,” Highly efficient fluorescence sensing with hollow core photonic crystal fibers,” 2007, cited in IDS).
See GAO above.
As to claim 12, GAO does not specifically teach a photonic crystal. Smolka teaches a hollow core photonic crystal fibers in the abstract. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include hollow core photonic crystal fibers because they have promising sensing applications due to the confinement of the light in the hollow core. See section 1. Introduction section of Smolka.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO in view of Setayesh et al. (“Setayesh,” US Pub. No. 2009/0267057).
See GAO above.
As to claim 13, GAO does not specifically teach a field-effect transistor. Setayesh teaches a method for detecting analytes comprising a field-effect transistor according to the present invention. In this, during operation of the field-effect transistor, the capacitance of the assembly gate electrode layer-first dielectric layer is lower than the capacitance of the second dielectric layer. The advantages of this operational characteristic have already been discussed above. See e.g., [0037] et seq. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a field-effect transistor because it has enhanced sensitivity that is capable of performing under adverse conditions. See [0009] of Setayesh.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
9/5/2026