DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Achour, the Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose or suggest, “an electrically switchable matching circuit configured to be electronically connected, in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch, to an output port of the power amplifier and to the transmission port of the second transmission/reception switch, wherein the electrically switchable matching circuit comprises two or more matching circuit settings selectable via switching, and wherein respective ones of the two or more matching circuit settings are configured to provide impedance matching for an antenna element at one or more beam steering angles in transmission” as recited by the amended independent claim 19. The
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains the art rejection.
In their arguments the Applicant lists components in the radiation structure disclosed by Figure 1 of Achour and explains that the components may have various configurations. The Applicant then states that Achour fails to teach or suggest “that the electrically switchable matching circuit is configured to be electronically connected, in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch, to an output port of the power amplifier and to the transmission port of the second transmission/reception switch.” It is unclear to the Examiner how the listed radiation structure components or their configurability prevent Achour from disclosing the above limitations. Paragraph [0022] of Achour discloses that the “impedance matching element” and “reactance control elements” are electronically connected in a reconfigurable order. Paragraph [0019] discloses that both the “impedance matching element” and “reactance control elements” are in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch. In that the “reactance control elements” may be integrated into a power amplifier [0012], Achour discloses “that the electrically switchable matching circuit is configured to be electronically connected, in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch, to an output port of the power amplifier.”
In regard to the Applicant’s statement that Achour fails to teach or suggest an electrically switchable matching circuit being connected to the “transmission port of the second/transmission/reception port” or “wherein the electrically switchable matching circuit comprises two or more matching circuit settings selectable via switching, and wherein respective ones of the two or more matching circuit settings are configured to provide impedance matching for an antenna element at one or more beam steering angles in transmission,” Achour is not relied upon to teach either limitation. As explained in further detail in the rejection below, the limitations are disclosed Bierig and Chaing in combination with Achour. The Applicant briefly states on page 9 of their remarks that Bierig and Chaing fail to teach or suggest the above limitations, but does not explain their position. The
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Achour as modified by Bierig and Chaing disclose all the limitations of independent claim 19.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 19, line 1, “A terminal device comprising a beamforming transceiver comprising (i) a radio frequency front end and (i) an antenna array comprising” should be read “A terminal device comprising a beamforming transceiver comprising (i) a radio frequency front end and (ii) an antenna array comprising.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACHOUR (KR20200133767A) in view of Bierig(US4635062A) and further in view of CHIANG(TWI271895B).
Regarding claim 19, ACHOUR discloses,
A terminal device comprising a beamforming transceiver (“The present invention provides smart beam steering and beamforming” [0039]) comprising (i) a radio frequency front end (“The system (100) includes a central processing unit (102)” [0009]) and (i) an antenna array comprising a plurality of antenna elements (“antenna array” [0006]), wherein the radio frequency front end comprises, for respective ones of the plurality of antenna elements, at least two radio frequency beamforming branches (“The DBF process forms multiple independent beams that are steered in all directions” [0038]), and wherein respective ones of at least one of said at least two radio frequency beamforming branches comprises: an electrically tunable phase shifting element (“phase control (130)” [0074]); […] a low-noise amplifier arranged in the reception path of the radio frequency beamforming branch (“low noise amplifier ("LNA") for the receive signal” [0012]); a power amplifier arranged in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch (“a power amplifier ("PA") or high-power amplifier ("HPA") for the transmit path” [0012]); and an electrically switchable matching circuit (“The impedance matching element (118)” [0022]) configured to be electronically connected in the transmission path of the radio frequency beamforming branch, to an output port of the power amplifier (“In some embodiments, the impedance matching element(s) 118 includes reactance control element(s) 120 to modify the capacitance or reactance of the element of the radiation array structure 126.”[0022])
ACHOUR by does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the device comprises a first and second transmission/reception switches. Bierig discloses the device comprising, first and second transmission/reception switches (“T/R switches 18a and 18c” [Col.6, ll.46-47]), wherein respective ones of the first and second transmission/reception switches have a transmission position corresponding to a transmission port (FIG.2, Part.19a) and a reception position corresponding to a reception port (FIG.2, Part.21a), and wherein (a) transmission ports of the first and second transmission/reception switches define between them a transmission path of a radio frequency beamforming branch and (b) reception ports of the first and second transmission/reception switches define between them a reception path of the radio frequency beamforming branch (FIG.2, Part 40) […] an electrically switchable matching circuit configured to be electrically connected […] to the transmission port of the second transmission reception switch (FIG.7, Parts. 513 & 530).
Bierig teaches in the same field of beamforming antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR with the teachings of Bierig to incorporate the features of first and second transmission/reception switches so as to gain the advantage of reducing cost and size factors generally associated with phased array antenna systems [Col.1, ll.46-47, Bierig]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
ACHOUR as modified by Bierig by does not explicitly disclose nor limit wherein the matching circuit comprises two or more matching circuit settings. CHIANG discloses the device wherein, the electrically switchable matching circuit comprises two or more matching circuit settings selectable via switching, each of the two or more matching circuit settings being configured for providing impedance matching for an antenna element at one or more beam steering angles in transmission (“Various switching combinations correspond to different antenna beam modes, and therefore, the input impedance of the active antenna element can be changed between different modes” [Pg.3, ll.1-3]).
CHIANG teaches in the same field of impedance matching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR as modified by Bierig with the teachings of CHIANG to incorporate the features of a matching circuit comprising two or more matching circuit settings so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 2, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR does not appear to explicitly disclose matched termination for the antenna element. Bierig discloses the terminal device wherein, the electrically switchable matching circuit comprises a matching circuit setting selectable via switching corresponding to a matched termination for the antenna element (“Transmission line 1320 is terminated at one end in a resistor 1322, here having a value equal to 50 ohms, the characteristic impedance of the transmission line 1320” [Col.13, ll.1-4])
Bierig teaches in the same field of beamforming antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR as modified by CHIANG with the teachings of Bierig to incorporate the features of matched termination for the antenna element so as to gain the advantage of reducing cost and size factors generally associated with phased array antenna systems [Col.1, ll.46-47, Bierig]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 3, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR as modified by Bierig does not appear to explicitly disclose steering angles corresponding to a broadside and to off-broadside angles of the antenna array. CHIANG discloses the terminal device wherein, said one or more beam steering angles, for respective ones of the two or more matching circuit settings, correspond to a broadside angle of the antenna array (“input impedance of the directional mode” [Pg.16, ll.2]) or to two off-broadside angles defined symmetrically around the broadside angle (“the input impedance matching of the omnidirectional mode can be significantly improved” [Pg.18, ll.1-2]).
CHIANG teaches in the same field of impedance matching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR as modified by Bierig with the teachings of CHIANG to incorporate the features of steering angles corresponding to a broadside and to off-broadside angles of the antenna array so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 4, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR discloses the terminal device wherein, a radio frequency beamforming branch associated with the plurality of antenna elements or an antenna element of the plurality of antenna elements comprises: an antenna matching circuit for providing impedance matching between the antenna element and the radio frequency beamforming branch both in transmission and reception (“The control circuit 130 also includes an impedance matching element 118 to match the input impedance in connection to the radiation array structure 126.” [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 4. ACHOUR discloses the terminal device wherein, the antenna matching circuit is configured for providing optimal impedance matching for a pre-defined beam steering angle (The impedance matching element (118) can be configured so that the input signal parameters match the radiating element” [0022]).
Regarding claim 6, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 5. ACHOUR does not appear to explicitly disclose steering angles corresponding to a broadside. Bierig discloses the terminal device wherein, said pre-defined beam steering angle corresponds to a broadside angle of the antenna array (“input impedance of the directional mode” [Pg.16, ll.2]).
Bierig teaches in the same field of beamforming antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR with the teachings of Bierig to incorporate the features of steering angles corresponding to a broadside angle so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 7, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 6. ACHOUR does not appear to explicitly disclose a by-pass circuit providing no additional impedance matching. Bierig discloses the terminal device wherein, one of the two or more matching circuit settings corresponds to said pre-defined beam steering angle, said one of the two or more matching circuit settings implementing a by-pass circuit providing no additional impedance matching (“a short circuit (low impedance path to ground designated by .circle.S ) is produced at the ends 60d.sub.2, 60e.sub.1 and 60f.sub.2 “ [Col.6, ll.1-3]).
Bierig teaches in the same field of beamforming antenna. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR with the teachings of Bierig to incorporate the features of steering angles corresponding to a broadside angle so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 8, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR discloses the terminal device wherein said at least two radio frequency beamforming branches comprise at least one reception-only radio frequency beamforming branch comprising (“The signal is received by each element of the radiating structure (200), where the phase of the radiating array structure (126) is adjusted by the antenna controller (112) to” [0054]) , , at least: an electrically tunable phase shifting element (“phase control (135) (Fig. 1) provides a phase shift” [0074]); and a low-noise amplifier (“low noise amplifier ("LNA")
for the receive signal” [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 8. ACHOUR discloses the terminal device wherein, respective ones of the at least one reception-only radio frequency beamforming branch further comprises an antenna matching circuit for providing impedance matching between the antenna element (“ The control circuit (130) also includes an impedance matching element (118) to match the input impedance in connection to the radiating array structure (126).” [0013]) and a corresponding reception-only radio frequency beamforming branch (“ The RCM 120 serves to change the phase of a signal radiated through individual antenna elements of the radiation array structure 126” [0012]).
Regarding claim 10, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR as modified by Bierig does not appear to explicitly disclose a tuning configuration of one or more tunable circuit elements or a switching configuration. CHIANG discloses the terminal device wherein, respective ones of the two or more matching circuit settings corresponds to a separate matching circuit comprised in the electrically switchable matching circuit, to a tuning configuration of one or more tunable circuit elements of the electrically switchable matching circuit (“The adjusting elements adjust the passive antenna elements to match the input impedance of the multiple antenna modes” [Pg.4, ll.5-6]) or to a switching configuration for one or more switchable circuit elements of the electrically switchable matching circuit transmission (“Various switching combinations correspond to different antenna beam modes, and therefore, the input impedance of the active antenna element can be changed between different modes” [Pg.3, ll.1-3]).
CHIANG teaches in the same field of impedance matching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR as modified by Bierig with the teachings of CHIANG to incorporate the features of a tuning configuration of one or more tunable circuit elements and a switching configuration so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Regarding claim 11, ACHOUR as modified by Bierig and further modified by CHIANG discloses all of the limitations of claim 19. ACHOUR as modified by Bierig does not appear to explicitly disclose a tuning configuration of one or more tunable circuit elements or a switching configuration. CHIANG discloses the terminal device wherein, the electrically tunable phase shifting element and the electrically switchable matching circuit are configured to be controllable by a beam steering control unit of the beamforming transceiver (“The switching control and drive circuits can provide logic control signals to individual switches.” [Pg.2, ll.18-19]).
CHIANG teaches in the same field of impedance matching. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ACHOUR as modified by Bierig with the teachings of CHIANG to incorporate the features of a tuning configuration of one or more tunable circuit elements and a switching configuration controlled by a beam steering control unit so as to gain the advantage of improving impedance matching [Pg.18, ll.1-2, CHIANG]. Also, since it has been held that if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (MPEP 2143).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646