DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
Claim 1, 6-8, 15-18, 21-23 and 26-29 are under examination.
Claim 2-5, 9-14, 19-20 and 24-25 are cancelled.
Claim 1, 6-8, 15-18, 21-23 and 26-29 are rejected.
Withdrawn Rejection
The objections over claim 1, 6, 7, 26, 27 and 29 as set forth in previous office action have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
The 112, second paragraph rejections over claim 23 and 29 as set forth in previous office action have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7, 8, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien et al. (US 8,197,875 B2).
Regarding claim 1 and 6, Chien et al. (Chien) discloses a solution (composition) of chlorogenic acids from a green coffee bean extract (natural extract/concentrated extract) (‘875, col. 11, Example 8) wherein the green coffee bean extract is obtained from green robusta coffee beans (‘875, col. 8, Example 1, ln. 5-35). Chien’s solution (composition) includes water (carrier) (‘875, col. 11, 21-22). Chien discloses a content of the chlorogenic acids is about 35% by weight of the extract (‘ 875, col. 8, ln. 24-26), which is in range with the cited range of claim 1 and 6.
With respect to the recitation of “extracted using methanol/water solvent”, is a product by process limitation, wherein attention is directed to MPEP 2113 I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 7, Chien discloses the chlorogenic acids comprising 3-CQA in an amount of 11.52 % by weight (‘875, col. 8, ln. 30-35), which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 8, Chien discloses the chlorogenic acids from the green coffee bean extract (natural extract/concentrated extract) includes 3,5-dicaffeoylquinic acid (iso-chlorogenic acid A) (‘875, col 6, ln. 15-16).
Regarding claim 15, it is noted the cited “wherein the composition does not have a precipitate under at least one of the following conditions after storage, during storage and light exposure, is considered a functional limitations of the claimed product when it’s at after storage, during storage and light exposure; hence it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitation that stem from the claimed structure (product). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spade, 15 USPQ2d 655,1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Chien discloses the claimed invention as discussed in claim 1, hence meets the functional limitations as set forth in claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, 17 and 18, Chien discloses a method of adding the composition to a beverage, food product (‘875, col. 11, Example 6, ln. 15-35). With respect to the recitation of “to prevent oxidation of at least one of flavours and colours in a beverage or food product” in claim 18, is considered a functional limitations of the claimed product when it’s at after storage, during storage and light exposure; hence it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or substantially identical process, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitation that stem from the claimed structure (product). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spade, 15 USPQ2d 655,1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Chien discloses the claimed invention as discussed in claim 1, hence meets the functional limitations as set forth in claim 18.
Regarding claim 21, 22 and 23, the limitations are directed to process limitation; however the claim is a product claim hence see MPEP 2113 I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
With respect claim 23, Chien discloses a content of the chlorogenic acids is about 35% by weight of the extract (‘ 875, col. 8, ln. 24-26), which is in range with the cited range of claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 8,197,875 B2) in view of Tojo Hiroaki et al. (JP H0638723 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 26, 28, and 29, Chien et al. (Chien) discloses a spray-dried powder (composition) of chlorogenic acids from a green coffee bean extract (natural extract/concentrated extract) (‘875, col. 7, Example 60-67) with carriers; wherein the green coffee bean extract is obtained from green robusta coffee beans (‘875, col. 8, Example 1, ln. 5-35). Chien discloses a content of the chlorogenic acids is about 35% by weight of the extract (‘ 875, col. 8, ln. 24-26), which is in range with the cited range of claim 26 and 29.
Chien does not explicitly disclose the carriers. However, Tojo Hiroaki et al. (Tojo) discloses a composition comprising an antioxidant component chlorogenic acid (‘723, pg. 2, second to last paragraph), wherein the chlorogenic acid is a natural extract from coffee (plant biological material) (‘723, pg. 2, last paragraph, pg. 3, first paragraph) and carrier, wherein the carriers including water, propylene glycol (mono propylene glycol), glycerin (glycerine) (‘723, pg. 3, third paragraph). Tojo and Chien are of the same endeavor of food additive comprising chlorogenic acids with carriers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to employ Tojo’s carriers in Chien’s powder since Tojo clearly teaches known and successful combination of carriers with chlorogenic acids for application in food product.
With respect to the recitation of “extracted using methanol/water solvent” as recited in claim 26 and 29, is a product by process limitation, wherein attention is directed to MPEP 2113 I. PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE IMPLIED BY THE STEPS
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 27, Chien discloses the chlorogenic acids comprising 3-CQA in an amount of 11.52 % by weight (‘875, col. 8, ln. 30-35), which is in range with the cited range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts “…[t]he transitional phrase "consisting of" excludes any element, step, or ingredient not specified in the claim. In re Gray, 53 F.2d 520 (CCPA 1931). There is no guidance or direction in Chien to use only water as a carrier and to exclude all other types of carriers…”.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted the transitional phrase of the claim is “comprising” in claim 1, line 1; claim 26, line 1 and claim 29, line 1; wherein the claims are open-ended to include additional components and step(s). In response to Applicant’s remarks of “consisting” in the claims; it is noted the phrase “consisting” in the claims is in the body of the claims and not in the preamble of the claim 1, 26 and 29.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111.03, II, wherein “…[w]hen the phrase "consisting of" appears in a clause of the body of a claim, rather than immediately following the preamble, there is an "exceptionally strong presumption that a claim term set off with ‘consisting of’ is closed to unrecited elements." Multilayer Stretch Cling Film Holdings, Inc. v. Berry Plastics Corp., 831 F.3d 1350, 1359, 119 USPQ2d 1773, 1781 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (a layer "selected from the group consisting of" specific resins is closed to resins other than those listed). However, the "consisting of" phrase limits only the element set forth in that clause; other elements are not excluded from the claim as a whole. Mannesmann Demag Corp. v. Engineered Metal Products Co., 793 F.2d 1279, 230 USPQ 45 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See also In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 73 USPQ2d 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The claims at issue "related to purified DNA molecules having promoter activity for the human involucrin gene (hINV)." Id., 73 USPQ2d at 1365. In determining the scope of applicant’s claims directed to "a purified oligonucleotide comprising at least a portion of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 wherein said portion consists of the nucleotide sequence from … to 2473 of SEQ ID NO:1, and wherein said portion of the nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 has promoter activity," the court stated that the use of "consists" in the body of the claims did not limit the open-ended "comprising" language in the claims (emphases added). Id. at 1257, 73 USPQ2d at 1367. The court held that the claimed promoter sequence designated as SEQ ID NO:1 was obtained by sequencing the same prior art plasmid and was therefore anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. Id. at 1256 and 1259, 73 USPQ2d at 1366 and 1369. The court affirmed the Board’s interpretation that the transition phrase "consists" did not limit the claims to only the recited numbered nucleotide sequences of SEQ ID NO:1 and that "the transition language ‘comprising’ allowed the claims to cover the entire involucrin gene plus other portions of the plasmid, as long as the gene contained the specific portions of SEQ ID NO:1 recited by the claim[s]." Id. at 1256, 73 USPQ2d at 1366.)
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792