DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ba et al. [Rotary Power-Flow Controller for Dynamic Performance Evaluation-Part I: RPFC Modeling, IEEE TRANSECTIONS ON POWER DELIVERY, IEEE SERVICE CENTER, NEW YORK, NY, US, vol. 24, no. 3, 1 July 2009, pages 1406-1416, XP011252731, ISSN: 0885-8977] or Pierre et al. [WO 96/15572 A1].
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Ba et al. discloses a transformer assembly [see figures 1a-1b] which comprises:
- a step-up transformer, T series connected between the low voltage corresponding to the output of the phase shift transformer and the high voltage grid, see section II A2;
- a step-down transformer [the shunt transformer Tshunt connected between the high voltage grid and the low voltage phase shift transformer, see section II A1];
- a phase shifting transformer [RPST, figures 1a-1b] having a source side and a load side connected, respectively, to the step-down transformer and the step-up transformer [see section II and figures 1a-1b].
Ba et al. further discloses the use of power transmission lines [page 1406, figures 1a-1b] for the transformer assembly.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Pierre et al. discloses a transformer assembly [figures 1-10] which comprises:
- a step-up transformer [14, 2, 24];
- a step-down transformer [8, 26];
- a phase shifting transformer [10] having a source side and a load side connected, respectively, to the step-down transformer and the step-up transformer [see figures 1-4].
Pierre et al. further discloses the use of transmission lines connecting the transformer assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ba et al. or Pierre et al. in view of Noriyuki et al. [EP 0725470 A1].
Regarding claims 2-3, Ba et al. or Pierre et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the phase shifting transformer.
Noriyuki et al. discloses a phase shifting transformer comprises a single-core phase shifting transformer with delta connected excitation windings [43a, 43b, 43c] and tap windings [42a, 42b, 42c].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the phase shifting transformer of Noriyuki et al. for the phase shifting transformer of Ba et al. for the purpose of protecting the transformer assembly [see abstract].
The combination of Ba et al. or Pierre et al. with Noriyuki et al. would have the tap windings to be connected to the step-up or step-down transformers.
Regarding claims 4-5, the specific transformers [autotransformer or identical transformer] use for the step-up or step-down transformer would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of lowering cost, reducing size, improving voltage regulation and enhancing system flexibility.
Regarding claims 6-8, Pierre et al. further discloses different types of transformers with different functions [figures 5A-5B-5C-5D-5E].
The specific transformer(s) and function(s) use for the step-up and/or step-down transformers would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of reducing harmonic distortion and maintaining stable power output.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837