DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 21, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claim 23 is amended.
Claims 1-8, 10, 23-30, and 32 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information” (Response filed April 21, 2026, page 2).
Wang teaches “In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission” (Wang [Para. 0078]), “the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE” (Wang [Para. 0079]) and “when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted” (Wang [Para. 0080]). According to Wang, a wireless device determines a conflict of transmission resources associated with another wireless device and transmits an indication of the conflict.
Wang further teaches “In step S603, when the collision indication information transmitted by the first type of UE is transmitted to the second type of UE, the second type of UE may be prompted to carry out the resource reselection to avoid collision occurrence” (Wang [Para. 0097]), indicating that that a prompt of reselection is an indication of conflict of resources, and “the collision indication information may be a one-time SA message transmitted by the first type of UE to the second type of UE. The SA message may include a signaling identifier, and the signaling identifier may be 1 bit. When the value of the bit is 1, it may indicate the second type of UE to carry out the resource reselection, and when the value of the bit is 0, the second type of UE does not need to carry out the resource reselection” (Wang [Para. 0100]). Based on Wang, the indication of determination of conflict of the resources associated with the other wireless device is provided by a single bit in a transmission to the other wireless device.
Islam teaches that “UE receive a first and/or a second grant-free resource configuration, where higher layer signaling of first and/or second grant-free resource configurations include a field, such as one bit field, indicate resource usage based on first resource configuration is prioritized in the occasion of an overlap” (Islam, [Para. 0046]). According to Islam, one bit indicating potential conflict of resources in a message constitutes a field, a one bit field.
Therefore, in combination, Wang and Islam teach the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information.
Applicant argues “Islam does not disclose determination of resource conflict during communication between wireless devices or indication of resource conflict through single bit field to other wireless devices” (Response filed April 21, 2026, page 3).
As cited above, Wang teaches “In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission” (Wang [Para. 0078]), “the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE” (Wang [Para. 0079]) and “when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted” (Wang [Para. 0080]). Wang further teaches “In step S603, when the collision indication information transmitted by the first type of UE is transmitted to the second type of UE, the second type of UE may be prompted to carry out the resource reselection to avoid collision occurrence” (Wang [Para. 0097]) and “the collision indication information may be a one-time SA message transmitted by the first type of UE to the second type of UE. The SA message may include a signaling identifier, and the signaling identifier may be 1 bit. When the value of the bit is 1, it may indicate the second type of UE to carry out the resource reselection, and when the value of the bit is 0, the second type of UE does not need to carry out the resource reselection” (Wang [Para. 0100]). According to Wang, the indication of determination of conflict of the resources between wireless devices is provided by a single bit to the other wireless device.
Islam teaches that “UE receive a first and/or a second grant-free resource configuration, where higher layer signaling of first and/or second grant-free resource configurations include a field, such as one bit field, indicate resource usage based on first resource configuration is prioritized in the occasion of an overlap” (Islam, [Para. 0046]). According to Islam, one bit indicating potential conflict of resources in a message constitutes a field, a one bit field. In combination, Wang and Islam teach the indication of the determination of conflict of resources between wireless devices is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information to the other wireless device.
Applicant argues that “Islam focuses on distribution of resources based on priority of logical channels and specific resource configuration to be used by UE during a transmission schedule overlap, whereas the present invention discloses a wireless device determining resources with conflict before transmission by the UE and transmitting a resource coordination information to other wireless device including the conflict indication through a single bit field” (Response filed April 21, 2026, page 3) and “Islam discloses that the resource configuration information is provided by higher layers i.e. by network through RRC signaling, whereas the present invention discloses the action performed by UE during the communication with other UE(s), which are quite distinct in objective” (Response filed April 21, 2026, pages 3-4).
As cited above, Wang teaches “In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission” (Wang [Para. 0078]), “the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE” (Wang [Para. 0079]), “when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted” (Wang [Para. 0080]), “In step S603, when the collision indication information transmitted by the first type of UE is transmitted to the second type of UE, the second type of UE may be prompted to carry out the resource reselection to avoid collision occurrence” (Wang [Para. 0097]) and “the collision indication information may be a one-time SA message transmitted by the first type of UE to the second type of UE. The SA message may include a signaling identifier, and the signaling identifier may be 1 bit. When the value of the bit is 1, it may indicate the second type of UE to carry out the resource reselection, and when the value of the bit is 0, the second type of UE does not need to carry out the resource reselection” (Wang [Para. 0100]). According to Wang, one wireless determines conflict of resources associated with the other wireless device before transmission, and transmits a resource coordination information over sidelink to the other wireless including an indication of the determination of the conflict through a single bit.
Islam teaches that “UE receive a first and/or a second grant-free resource configuration, where higher layer signaling of first and/or second grant-free resource configurations include a field, such as one bit field, indicate resource usage based on first resource configuration is prioritized in the occasion of an overlap” (Islam, [Para. 0046]). According to Islam, one bit indicating potential conflict of resources in a message constitutes a field, a one bit field.
Therefore, in combination, Wang and Islam teach that one wireless determines conflict of resources associated with the other wireless device before transmission, and transmits a resource coordination information over sidelink to the other wireless including an indication of the determination of the conflict through a single bit field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam).
For claim 1, Wang teaches a wireless device ([Para. 0035], a first type of UE), comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0171], user equipment may be physically constituted as a computer apparatus including a processor) configured to ([Para. 0173], processes may be performed by one processor): determine whether at least one of a plurality of transmission resources associated with a first wireless device is part of a resource conflict ([Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE [Examiner’s Note: the second type of UE in the reference is the first wireless device in the application]); and cause transmission of resource coordination information that indicates the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict ([Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. The first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE), wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information ([Para. 0078], In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. [Para. 0097], In step S603, when the collision indication information transmitted by the first type of UE is transmitted to the second type of UE, the second type of UE may be prompted to carry out the resource reselection to avoid collision occurrence. [Para. 0100], the collision indication information may be a one-time SA message transmitted by the first type of UE to the second type of UE. The SA message may include a signaling identifier, and the signaling identifier may be 1 bit. When the value of the bit is 1, it may indicate the second type of UE to carry out the resource reselection, and when the value of the bit is 0, the second type of UE does not need to carry out the resource reselection [Examiner’s Note: Reselection prompt indicates collision]).
Although teaching indication of determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information on resource conflict, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information.
Islam is directed to providing systems and methods for intra-ue multiplexing in new radio (nr). More specifically, Islam teaches wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information ([Para. 0042], The next transmission occasion based on grant-free resource may overlap with the assigned PUSCH resource by the UL grant. [Para. 0046], UE receive a first and/or a second grant-free resource configuration, where higher layer signaling of first and/or second grant-free resource configurations include a field, such as one bit field, indicate resource usage based on first resource configuration is prioritized in the occasion of an overlap [Examiner’s Note: Islam teaches a field of one bit that indicates conflict]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang, so that a one bit in a message constitutes a one bit field for indication of conflict, as taught by Islam. The modification would have facilitated prioritization of one or more of DL and/or UL transmissions in case of resources overlap (Islam [Para. 0031 and 0042]).
For claim 2, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on sensed information determined by the wireless device (Wang [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. The first type of UE may check the first resource in Resource Allocation (SA) and carry out measurement of reference signal received power (RSRP). When the measured power is greater than a preset threshold, the first resource allocated by the base station may be considered being occupied. Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted).
For claim 23, Wang teaches a first wireless device ([Para. 0035], second type of UE), comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0171], user equipment may be physically constituted as a computer apparatus including a processor) configured to ([Para. 0173], processes may be performed by one processor): receive a resource coordination information ([Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, the first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE), the resource coordination information indicating whether at least one of a plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of a resource conflict ([Para. 0077], The first resource allocated by the base station to the first type of UE ... [Para. 0078], it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted, the first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE); and select resources for transmission based at least on the resource coordination information ([Para. 0080], the first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE, so that the second type of UE reselects the resources for the sidelink transmission. [Para. 0085], according to the above aspects of the present invention, resource collision ... can be effectively avoided), wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information ([Para. 0078], In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. [Para. 0097], In step S603, when the collision indication information transmitted by the first type of UE is transmitted to the second type of UE, the second type of UE may be prompted to carry out the resource reselection to avoid collision occurrence. [Para. 0100], the collision indication information may be a one-time SA message transmitted by the first type of UE to the second type of UE. The SA message may include a signaling identifier, and the signaling identifier may be 1 bit. When the value of the bit is 1, it may indicate the second type of UE to carry out the resource reselection, and when the value of the bit is 0, the second type of UE does not need to carry out the resource reselection [Examiner’s Note: Reselection prompt indicates collision]).
Although teaching indication of determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information on resource conflict, Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information.
Islam is directed to providing systems and methods for intra-ue multiplexing in new radio (nr). More specifically, Islam teaches wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by a single bit field of the resource coordination information ([Para. 0042], The next transmission occasion based on grant-free resource may overlap with the assigned PUSCH resource by the UL grant. [Para. 0046], UE receive a first and/or a second grant-free resource configuration, where higher layer signaling of first and/or second grant-free resource configurations include a field, such as one bit field, indicate resource usage based on first resource configuration is prioritized in the occasion of an overlap).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang, so that a one bit in a message constitutes a one bit field for indication of conflict, as taught by Islam. The modification would have facilitated prioritization of one or more of DL and/or UL transmissions in case of resources overlap (Islam [Para. 0031 and 0042]).
For claim 24, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. The references further teach wherein the resource coordination information indicates that the resource conflict exists (Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. The first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE), the resource conflict corresponding to at least one collision that occurred in resources that include at least the plurality of transmission resources (Wang [Para. 0078], In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. Wang [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted).
Claims 3, 6, 8, 26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam), and further in view of Belleschi et al (WO2020011336A1, hereinafter Belleschi).
For claim 3, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information including the resource conflict, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on sensed information received from a second wireless device.
Belleschi is directed to providing multi-level indicator of radio resource status for intended d2d transmission. More specifically, Belleschi teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on sensed information received from a second wireless device ([Page 24, line 33- Page 25, Line 2], the second UE 30 performs sensing of the resource pool. The second UE 30 detects based on the received SCI 402, 403 that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [Page 25, Lines 4-7], the second UE 30 ... indicates the conflict to the first UE 20 and to the third UE 40 by sending SCI 406 indicating an intention of the second UE 30 to perform a D2D radio transmission on the conflicting resources).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information is based on at least sensed information received from a wireless device other than the first device, as taught by Belleschi. The modification would have allowed the system to allocate radio resources efficiently when hidden node exists ([Page 2. Lines 12-27]).
For claim 6, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information including the resource conflict, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information includes information received from a second wireless device.
Belleschi is directed to providing multi-level indicator of radio resource status for intended d2d transmission. More specifically, Belleschi teaches wherein the resource coordination information includes information received from a second wireless device ([Page 24, line 33- Page 25, Line 2], the second UE 30 performs sensing of the resource pool. The second UE 30 detects based on the received SCI 402, 403 that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [Page 25, Lines 4-7], the second UE 30 ... indicates the conflict to the first UE 20 and to the third UE 40 by sending SCI 406 indicating an intention of the second UE 30 to perform a D2D radio transmission on the conflicting resources [Examiner’s Note: information on the overlapping radio resources is from both UEs 20 and 40]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information includes information from the second wireless device, as taught by Belleschi. The modification would have allowed the system to allocate radio resources efficiently when hidden node exists ([Page 2. Lines 12-27]).
For claim 8, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information including the resource conflict, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources that are indicated as one of: for the first wireless device to use; and available for use.
Belleschi is directed to providing multi-level indicator of radio resource status for intended d2d transmission. More specifically, Belleschi teaches wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources that are indicated as one of: for the first wireless device to use; and available for use ([Page 12. Lines 22-24], there may be situations when there is a conflict of the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20 and an intended transmission by the second UE 30. [Page 13. Lines 14-23], the feedback message 204 may also indicate an alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission. The second UE 30 may also determine the alternative set of resources in terms of a TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) pattern. Such TDM pattern could for example be indicated in terms of a bitmap. [Page 14. Lines 9-14], The selection of other radio resources may be accomplished on the basis of the above-mentioned indication of an alternative set of radio resources in the feedback message 204. For example, the first UE 20 could select the other radio resources by determining an intersection of PRBs defining the candidate set of resources with the above-mentioned TDM pattern indicated in the feedback message 204).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information includes a bitmap for the first wireless device to use, as taught by Belleschi. The modification would have allowed the system to allocate radio resources efficiently when hidden node exists ([Page 2. Lines 12-27]).
For claim 26, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information is based at least on sensed information received from a second wireless device.
Belleschi is directed to providing multi-level indicator of radio resource status for intended d2d transmission. More specifically, Belleschi teaches wherein the resource coordination information is based at least on sensed information received from a second wireless device ([Page 24, line 33- Page 25, Line 2], the second UE 30 performs sensing of the resource pool. The second UE 30 detects based on the received SCI 402, 403 that the first UE 20 and the third UE 40 intend to perform D2D radio transmissions on overlapping radio resources, i.e., that the intended D2D radio transmissions are conflicting. [Page 25, Lines 4-7], the second UE 30 ... indicates the conflict to the first UE 20 and to the third UE 40 by sending SCI 406 indicating an intention of the second UE 30 to perform a D2D radio transmission on the conflicting resources).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information is based on at least sensed information received from a wireless device other than the first device, as taught by Belleschi. The modification would have allowed the system to allocate radio resources efficiently when hidden node exists ([Page 2. Lines 12-27]).
For claim 28, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources that are indicated as one of: for the first wireless device to use; and available for use.
Belleschi is directed to providing multi-level indicator of radio resource status for intended d2d transmission. More specifically, Belleschi teaches wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources that are indicated as one of: for the first wireless device to use; and available for use ([Page 12. Lines 22-24], there may be situations when there is a conflict of the intended D2D radio transmission by the first UE 20 and an intended transmission by the second UE 30. [Page 13. Lines 14-23], the feedback message 204 may also indicate an alternative set of resources to be used for the intended D2D radio transmission. The second UE 30 may also determine the alternative set of resources in terms of a TDM (Time Division Multiplexing) pattern. Such TDM pattern could for example be indicated in terms of a bitmap. [Page 14. Lines 9-14], The selection of other radio resources may be accomplished on the basis of the above-mentioned indication of an alternative set of radio resources in the feedback message 204. For example, the first UE 20 could select the other radio resources by determining an intersection of PRBs defining the candidate set of resources with the above-mentioned TDM pattern indicated in the feedback message 204).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information includes a bitmap for the first wireless device to use, as taught by Belleschi. The modification would have allowed the system to allocate radio resources efficiently when hidden node exists (Belleschi [Page 2. Lines 12-27]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam), and further in view of Zhao et al (US20180234911A1, hereinafter Zhao).
For claim 4, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information including the resource conflict, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on the determination that the resource conflict exists, the resource conflict corresponding to a resource collision of one of the plurality of transmission resources with at least one other transmission resource associated with another wireless device other than the first wireless device.
Zhao is directed to providing method and apparatus for sending and broadcasting resource information. More specifically, Zhao teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on the determination that the resource conflict exists ([FIG. 4] and [Para. 0154], where the vehicle B and the vehicle C transmit over the same timeslot resource, and the vehicle D detects that the transmission resource of the vehicle B collides with that of the vehicle C. [Para. 0157], the vehicle D, which is a node at the edge of the coverage area, detects strong interference, and thereafter reports a strong interference indicator to the base station. [Para. 0158], Thereafter the base station configures the vehicle D, which is a reporting node, to broadcast the resource collision condition. [Para. 0159] and [FIG. 2], the base station can select a node to transmit a resource coordination message. [Para. 0160], the vehicle D is selected as a node currently in the edge area), the resource conflict corresponding to a resource collision of one of the plurality of transmission resources with at least one other transmission resource associated with another wireless device other than the first wireless device ([FIG. 4] and [Para. 0154], where the vehicle B and the vehicle C transmit over the same timeslot resource, and the vehicle D detects that the transmission resource of the vehicle B collides with that of the vehicle C [Examiner’s Note: Vehicles B and C are the first wireless device and another wireless device other than the first wireless device]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the determined conflict in resource coordination information corresponds to collision between resources of the two wireless devices to receive the information, as taught by Zhao. The modification would have allowed the system to guarantee resource continuity in the process of a node moving on a network coverage edge, reduce resource collision and improve the utilization rate of system resources (Zhao [Abstract]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam), and further in view of Sarkis et al (US20210315024A1, hereinafter Sarkis024).
For claim 5, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching determination of resource conflict and transmission of resource coordination information including the resource conflict, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on a distance between the first wireless device and the wireless device.
Sarkis024 is directed to providing Indication of resource collisions in sidelink. Sarkis024 teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the transmission of the resource coordination information based at least on a distance between the first wireless device and the wireless device ([Para. 0078], The operations 700 may include transmitting information including (or indicates) only a subset of the one or more resource collisions. [Para. 0083], the subset of the one or more resource collisions may include collisions involving resource reservations for transmissions from sidelink devices within a threshold distance from each other).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information is based at least on the distance between the wireless devices, as taught by Sarkis024. The modification would have allowed the system to generate and transmit information including one or more resource collisions between sidelink devices, resulting in further improvements in NR and LTE technology (Sarkis024 [Para. 0005 and 0007]).
Claims 7 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam), and further in view of Sun et al (US20230171792A1, hereinafter Sun).
For claim 7, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. Although teaching transmitting the determination of resource conflict in resource coordination information, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources indicating whether each one of the resources are one of available and unavailable.
Sun is directed to providing method and apparatus for sidelink communication. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources indicating whether each one of the resources are one of available and unavailable ([Para. 0098], The UE 201-A may transmit a bitmap to the UE, 201-B each bit indicates whether the associated side link resource is available or not available).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that a bitmap is transmitted in the resource coordination information that each bit indicates availability of sidelink resources, as taught by Sun. The modification would have allowed the system to improve the inter-UE coordination, to enhance the reliability and reduce latency of the sidelink communication (Sun {para. 0003]).
For claim 27, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources indicating whether each one of the resources are one of available and unavailable.
Sun is directed to providing method and apparatus for sidelink communication. More specifically, Sun teaches wherein the resource coordination information includes a bitmap of resources indicating whether each one of the resources are one of available and unavailable ([Para. 0098], The UE 201-A may transmit a bitmap to the UE, 201-B each bit indicates whether the associated side link resource is available or not available).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that a bitmap is received in the resource coordination information that each bit indicates availability of sidelink resources, as taught by Sun. The modification would have allowed the system to improve the inter-UE coordination, to enhance the reliability and reduce latency of the sidelink communication (Sun {para. 0003]).
Claims 10, 25 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam), and further in view of Sarkis et al (US20210266923A1, hereinafter Sarkis).
For claim 10, Wang and Islam teach the wireless device of claim 1. The references further teach wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by sequence (Wang [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. The first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE).
Although teaching transmitting the determination of resource conflict in resource coordination information, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by sequence.
Sarkis is directed to providing generating resource allocation coordination information for Sidelink Communications. More specifically, Sarkis teaches wherein the indication of the determination whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by sequence ([Para. 0092], the processor may perform operations including determining the resource allocation coordination information. The processor may determine that sidelink communication resources reserved by the third wireless device mean that if a second wireless device were to transmit on those same resources then a sidelink communication resource collision may occur, and transform this conclusion into resource allocation coordination information. [Para. 0096], the processor may configure the message to include one or more of a list of occupied resources or a list of available resources).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the determination of whether the resource of the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by sequence, as taught by Sarkis. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a sidelink communication resource collision and thus perform sidelink communications more efficiently (Sarkis [Para. 0002 and 0003]).
For claim 25, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. The references further teach wherein the resource coordination information indicates that the resource conflict exists (Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted. The first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE), the resource conflict corresponding to at least one predicted collision in reserved resources that include at least the plurality of transmission resources (Wang [Para. 0078], In step S602, it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. Wang [Para. 0079], the first type of UE may determine whether the first resource allocated by the base station is collided with the second resource used by the second type of UE. Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted).
Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose the resource conflict corresponding to at least one predicted collision in reserved resources that include at least the plurality of transmission resources.
Sarkis is directed to providing generating resource allocation coordination information for Sidelink Communications. More specifically, Sarkis teaches the resource conflict corresponding to at least one predicted collision in reserved resources that include at least the plurality of transmission resources ([Para. 0092], the processor may determine that sidelink communication resources reserved by the third wireless device mean that if a second wireless device were to transmit on those same resources (e.g., time slots and channels) then a sidelink communication resource collision may occur, and transform this conclusion into resource allocation coordination information that would be useful by the second computing device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the resource coordination information includes predicted collision, as taught by Sarkis. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a sidelink communication resource collision and thus perform sidelink communications more efficiently (Sarkis [Para. 0002 and 0003]).
For claim 32, Wang and Islam teach the first wireless device of claim 23. The references further teach wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resources conflict is provided by a sequence (Wang [Para. 0077], The first resource allocated by the base station to the first type of UE ... Wang [Para. 0078], it is determined whether the first resource collides with a second resource used by a second type of UE for the sidelink transmission. Wang [Para. 0080], when the first resource collides with the second resource, collision indication information is transmitted, the first type of UE may further transmit the collision indication information to the second type of UE).
Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang and Islam do not explicitly disclose wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resources conflict is provided by a sequence.
Sarkis is directed to providing generating resource allocation coordination information for Sidelink Communications. More specifically, Sarkis teaches wherein the indication of whether the at least one of the plurality of transmission resources associated with the first wireless device is part of the resources conflict is provided by a sequence ([Para. 0092], the processor may perform operations including determining the resource allocation coordination information. The processor may determine that sidelink communication resources reserved by the third wireless device mean that if a second wireless device were to transmit on those same resources then a sidelink communication resource collision may occur, and transform this conclusion into resource allocation coordination information. [Para. 0096], the processor may configure the message to include one or more of a list of occupied resources or a list of available resources).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang and Islam, so that the indication of whether the resource of the first wireless device is part of the resource conflict is provided by sequence, as taught by Sarkis. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a sidelink communication resource collision and thus perform sidelink communications more efficiently (Sarkis [Para. 0002 and 0003]).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20200068609A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Islam et al. (US20220150950A1, hereinafter Islam) and Sun et al (US20230171792A1, hereinafter Sun), and further in view of Sarkis et al (US20210266923A1, hereinafter Sarkis) and Bharadwaj et al (US20200229144A1, hereinafter Bharadwaj).
For claim 29, Wang, Islam and Sun teach the first wireless device of claim 27. Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, Wang, Islam and Sun do not explicitly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive additional resource coordination information including an additional bitmap; and determine an updated set of resources resulting from the bitmap and the additional bitmap, the selected resources for transmission being selected based at least on the updated set of resources.
Sarkis is directed to providing generating Resource Allocation Coordination Information for Sidelink Communications. More specifically, Sarkis teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive additional resource coordination information including an additional bitmap ([Para. 0087], The resource allocation coordination information may include indications of communication resources in side link communications that may be available for use in side link communications by another wireless device. [Para. 0088], the processor may transmit the configured message including the resource allocation coordination information to the second wireless device. [Para. 0092], the processor may perform operations including determining the resource allocation coordination information based on the information received from the third wireless device. For example, the processor may determine that sidelink communication resources reserved by the third wireless device mean that if a second wireless device were to transmit on those same resources then a sidelink communication resource collision may occur, and transform this conclusion into resource allocation coordination information that would be useful by the second computing device. [Para. 0094], the processor may configure the message to include a map of available resources and occupied resources).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang, Islam and Sun, so that the wireless device receives additional resource coordination information including additional bitmap, as taught by Sarkis. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a sidelink communication resource collision and thus perform sidelink communications more efficiently (Sarkis [Para. 0002 and 0003]).
Although teaching receiving determination of resource conflict and selecting transmission resource based on the determination, and receiving additional resource coordination information including additional bitmap, Wang, Islam, Sun and Sarkis do not explicitly disclose and determine an updated set of resources resulting from the bitmap and the additional bitmap, the selected resources for transmission being selected based at least on the updated set of resources.
Bharadwaj is directed to providing resource reservation techniques for wireless communications. More specifically, Bharadwaj teaches and determine an updated set of resources resulting from the bitmap and the additional bitmap (Bharadwaj [Para. 0028], Other UEs may receive the reservation indication and maintain (e.g., update) a resource map accordingly. A resource map may be updated as reservation from other UEs are received.), the selected resources for transmission being selected based at least on the updated set of resources (Bharadwaj [Para. 0028], Based on the resources reserved by other UEs, a UE may determine resources to utilize for transmission of a data packet (e.g., based on a resource avoidance mechanism involving earliest available resources)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang, Islam, Sun and Sarkis, so that an updated set of resources is based on the bitmaps and transmission resources are selected based on the updated reservation map, as taught by Bharadwaj. The modification would have allowed the system to reliably and dynamically reserve resources for varying packet sizes in both periodic and aperiodic communications (Bharadwaj [Para. 0006]).
For claim 30, Wang, Islam, Sun, Sarkis and Bharadwaj teach the first wireless device of claim 29. The references further teach wherein the updated set of resources corresponds to one of: resources that are indicated as being available in the bitmap and the additional bitmap (Bharadwaj [Para. 0028], Other UEs may receive the reservation indication and maintain (e.g., update) a resource map accordingly. A resource map may be updated as reservation from other UEs are received. Based on the resources reserved by other UEs, a UE may determine resources to utilize for transmission of a data packet (e.g., based on a resource avoidance mechanism involving earliest available resources); resources having a priority level one of equal to and less than a priority level associated with the plurality of transmission resources; resources associated with at least one more recent timestamp than the remaining resources indicated in the bitmap and additional bitmap.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first wireless device of Wang, Islam, Sun and Sarkis, so that an updated set of resources corresponds to the resources indicated as being available, as taught by Bharadwaj. The modification would have allowed the system to reliably and dynamically reserve resources for varying packet sizes in both periodic and aperiodic communications (Bharadwaj [Para. 0006]).
The references further teach wherein the updated set of resources corresponds to one of: resources that are indicated as being available in the bitmap and the additional bitmap (Sarkis [Para. 0094], the processor may configure the message to include a map of available resources and occupied resources. The map (e.g., a bitmap) may be configured to indicate with single bits (e.g., “1” or “0”) in a set pattern within a data element (e.g., one or more bytes) s that communicates available and/or occupied resources. The message may be configured as one or more bytes that indicate with a “1” in a particular bit location that the corresponding resource is available); resources having a priority level one of equal to and less than a priority level associated with the plurality of transmission resources; resources associated with at least one more recent timestamp than the remaining resources indicated in the bitmap and additional bitmap.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang, Islam, Sun and Bharadwaj, so that the resources in the received bitmaps are indicated as available or unavailable, as taught by Sarkis. The modification would have allowed the system to avoid a sidelink communication resource collision and thus perform sidelink communications more efficiently (Sarkis [Para. 0002 and 0003]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417