DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in
Japan (JP 2020-123546) on July 20, 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required
by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
An amendment filed on 10/20/2025 in response to the Office Action mailed on 07/24/2025 is
being acknowledged and entered into the record. The present Final rejection is made by taking into fully
consideration all the amendments.
Response to Arguments
On pages 7-9 of the remarks filed on 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1, Applicant argues that Shingo teaches allowing molten solder to escape into the through-holes, whereas Kalfus seeks to prevent such escaping of solder and thus persons skilled in the art would not consider applying the contradictory configurations of Kalfus and Shingo to modify the features of Takada to arrive at the claimed invention without impermissible hindsight. These arguments are fully considered but are not persuasive. Kalfus’ bent distal end to reduce solder overflow and Shingo’s through-hole to improve solder penetration performs different functions at different locations of the conductive member and are not inherently inconsistent. i.e., the bend end controls solder flow at one location while the through-hole of Shingo facilitates solder flow at another location of the conductive member and thus, both objectives can be achieved simultaneously. Further, improving solder penetration through the through-hole according to the teachings of Shingo does not necessarily require allowing solder to overflow at the bent distal end of the conductive member. A person of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably expect the through hole of Shingo to promote solder wetting while the bent distal end of Kalfus to limit excess solder from escaping beyond the desired region. Thus, the teachings of Shingo and Kalfus are complementary rather than contradictory. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 and its dependents in view of the cited prior art is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations are limitations not explicitly disclosed in the primary
reference but disclosed in the secondary references.
Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (US 20200402946 A1), in view of Kalfus et al. (US 5110761) and Shingo et al. (JP 2016167480 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Takada teaches a semiconductor device 100 comprising:
a first die pad 1 including a first obverse face A facing in a thickness direction z (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {1, A, z}, paragraphs 0026, 0027);
a semiconductor element 3 including an electrode 3B located on a side to which the first obverse face A faces in the thickness direction z (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {3, 3B, z}, paragraph 0033),
the semiconductor element 3 being connected to the first obverse face A (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada);
a conductive member 5 electrically connected to the electrode 3B (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {5, 3B}, paragraphs 0026, 0037);
and a first bonding layer 6B electrically connecting the conductive member 5 and the electrode 3B (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {6B, 5, 3B}, paragraphs 0026, 0040),
wherein the conductive member 5 includes a main portion 5C, a first connecting portion 5A electrically connected to the electrode 3B via the first bonding layer 6B, a first joint portion 5B connecting the main portion 5C and the first connecting portion 5A, and a distal end portion spaced apart from the first joint portion, and connected to the first connecting portion (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {5, 5A, 5B, 5C, 3B, 6B}, paragraph 0045),
as viewed along an in-plane direction of the first obverse face, the distal end portion is inclined so as to be farther from the electrode in a direction away from the first connecting portion,
as viewed along the thickness direction, the electrode includes an expanded region, protruding from the conductive member to an opposite side of the first connecting portion in the in-plane direction, with respect to the distal end portion,
the first connecting portion is formed with a first opening that penetrates through the first connecting portion in the thickness direction,
and the first connecting portion has a first inner circumferential surface defining the first opening, and the first bonding layer is held in contact with the first inner circumferential surface.
Annotated Fig. 2 of Takada (US 20200402946 A1).
Kalfus et al. teaches a semiconductor device comprising a conductive member 50, the conductive member 50 including the following limitations not disclosed in Takada:
a distal end portion 50d spaced apart from the first joint portion 50b, and connected to the first connecting portion 50c, as viewed along an in-plane direction of the first obverse face, the distal end portion 50d is inclined so as to be farther from the electrode 22 in a direction away from the first connecting portion 50c , and as viewed along the thickness direction, the electrode 22 includes an expanded region, protruding from the conductive member 50 to an opposite side of the first connecting portion 50c in the in-plane direction, with respect to the distal end portion 50d (see annotated Fig. 4B of Kalfus et al: {50, 50b, 50c, 50d, 22, expanded region}, column 5, lines 44-51).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Kalfus et al. in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would confine the solder material of the first bonding layer within the electrode region, thereby preventing overflow, as recognized by Kalfus et al. (column 5, lines 44-51).
Further Shingo et al. teaches a semiconductor device comprising a conductive member with a first connecting portion 5a, comprising the following limitations not disclosed in Takada:
the first connecting portion 5a is formed with a first opening 5h_1 that penetrates through the first connecting portion 5a in the thickness direction, and the first connecting portion 5a has a first inner circumferential surface defining the first opening 5h_1, and the first bonding layer 2b is held in contact with the first inner circumferential surface (annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; 5a, 5h_1, 2b, paragraph 0018, 0019, 0020 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Shingo et al. et al. in order to have the first connecting portion be formed with a first opening that penetrates through the first connecting portion in the thickness direction and the first connecting portion has a first inner circumferential surface defining the first opening, and the first bonding layer is held in contact with the first inner circumferential surface. By doing so, the opening formed in the connecting portion of the conductive member will reduce the stress applied to the connecting portion and thereby improve reliability, as recognized by Shingo et al. (paragraph 0003 in English Translation of Shingo et al.), as well as enable the bonding layer to grip the inner circumference of the opening ensuring stronger mechanical bonding.
Annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 of Shingo et al. (JP 2016167480 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first die pad 1 and the conductive member 5 each contain copper (paragraphs 0030, 0037).
Regarding Claim 3, Takada fails to teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first bonding layer contains tin.
However, Kalfus et al. teaches a first bonding layer 56, wherein the first bonding layer 56 contains tin (Fig. 4B: 56, column 6, lines 64-68, column 7, lines 1-5).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Kalfus et al. in order to have the first bonding layer contain tin. Doing so would improve the corrosion and oxidation resistance of the first bonding layer as tin is a well-known material in the art that is resistant to oxidation.
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Fig. 4B of Kalfus et al. (US 5110761).)]
Regarding Claim 4, Takada fails to teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein, as viewed along the in-plane direction, the first bonding layer includes a fillet formed on the electrode so as to reach the conductive member, and inclined with respect to the electrode, the fillet includes a first edge in contact with the electrode, and a second edge in contact with the conductive member, and the first edge is located on an outer side from the second edge, as viewed along the thickness direction.
However, Kalfus et al. teaches wherein, as viewed along the in-plane direction, the first bonding layer 56 includes a fillet formed on the electrode 22 so as to reach the conductive member 50, and inclined with respect to the electrode 22, the fillet includes a first edge E1 in contact with the electrode 22, and a second edge E2 in contact with the conductive member 50, and the first edge E1 is located on an outer side from the second edge E2, as viewed along the thickness direction (see annotated Fig. 4B of Kalfus et al.).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Kalfus et al. in order to come up with the claimed invention. Doing so would ensure the bonding layer reaches the conductive member, thereby strengthening the electrical connection between the conductive member and the electrode.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Takada and Kalfus et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 4, wherein the first connecting portion 5A includes a connecting surface S opposed to the electrode 3B, and located in contact with the first bonding layer 6B (as taught by Takada, see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: S, 5A, 3B, 6B), the distal end portion 50d includes a bent surface S2 connected to the connecting surface S1, and inclined with respect to the connecting surface S1, and as viewed in the in-plane direction, an inclination angle β1 defined by the fillet with respect to the electrode 22 is narrower than an inclination angle α2 defined by the bent surface S2 with respect to the connecting surface S1 (as taught by Kalfus et al., see zoomed in annotated Fig. 4B of Kalfus et al: S1, S2, α2, β1).
Regarding Claim 6, Kalfus et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein the second edge E2 is in contact with the bent surface S2 (see annotated Fig. 4B of Kalfus et al.: E2, S2).
Regarding Claim 7, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, wherein, as viewed along the in-plane direction, the first joint portion 5B is inclined so as to be farther from the first obverse face A, in a direction from the first connecting portion 5A toward the main portion 5C (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada).
Regarding Claim 8, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein the first joint portion 5B includes an inclined surface S’ connected to the connecting surface S and inclined with respect to the connecting surface S, and as viewed along the thickness direction z, a boundary between the connecting surface S and the inclined surface S’ is located on an inner side of a peripheral edge of the semiconductor element 3 (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: S, S’).
Regarding Claim 9, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein, as viewed along the in-plane direction, an inclination angle α1 defined by the inclined surface S’ with respect to the connecting surface S is between 30° and 60°, both ends inclusive (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: S, S’).
Note that according to Fig. 2 of Takada, the inclination angle is between 0° and 95°. According to MPEP § 2144.05 (I), “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 10, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein a thickness of the first connecting portion 5A is equal to or thinner than twice of a maximum thickness of the first bonding layer 6B (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada).
Regarding Claim 11, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first die pad 1 is thicker than a maximum thickness of the conductive member 5 (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada).
Regarding Claim 12, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second die pad 2 including a second obverse face C oriented in a same direction as the first obverse face A in the thickness direction z, and spaced apart from the first die pad 1 in the in-plane direction (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {1,2, A, C, z}, paragraph 0026);
and a second bonding layer 6D electrically connecting the conductive member 5 and the second obverse face C (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {6D, 5, C}, paragraph 0026),
wherein the conductive member 5 includes a second connecting portion 5E electrically connected to the second obverse face C via the second bonding layer 6D, and a second joint portion 5D connecting between the main portion 5C and the second connecting portion 5E (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {5, 5C, 5D, 5E, C, 6D}, paragraph 0045),
the second die pad 2 contains copper (paragraph 0030).
Takada fails to teach the second bonding layer 6C contains tin.
However, Kalfus et al. teaches a bonding layer 56, wherein the bonding layer 56 contains tin (Fig. 4B: 56, column 6, lines 64-68, column 7, lines 1-5).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Kalfus et al. in order to have the second bonding layer contain tin. Doing so would improve the corrosion and oxidation resistance of the first bonding layer as tin is a well-known material in the art that is resistant to oxidation.
Regarding Claim 13, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein, as viewed along the in-plane direction, the second joint portion 5D is inclined so as to be farther from the second obverse face C, in a direction from the second connecting portion 5E toward the main portion 5C (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada).
Regarding Claim 14, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein a thickness of the second die pad 2 is thicker than a maximum thickness of the conductive member 5 (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada).
Regarding Claim 15, Takada teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, further comprising a sealing resin 7 covering a part of each of the first die pad 1 and the second die pad 2, the semiconductor element 3, and the conductive member 5, wherein the first die pad 1 includes a first reverse face B, oriented to an opposite side of the first obverse face A in the thickness direction z, the second die pad includes a second reverse face D, oriented to an opposite side of the second obverse face C in the thickness direction z, and the first reverse face B and the second reverse face D are exposed from the sealing resin 7 (see annotated Fig. 2 of Takada: {7, 1, 2, 3, A, B, C, D} paragraph 0054).
Regarding Claim 17, Takada fails to teach the semiconductor device according to claim 12, wherein the second connecting portion is formed with a second opening that penetrates through the second connecting portion in the thickness direction.
However, Shingo et al. teaches wherein the second connecting portion 5a is formed with a second opening 5h_2 that penetrates through the second connecting portion 5a in the thickness direction (annotated Fig. 1 and Fig. 2; 5a, 5h_2, paragraph 0018, 0019).
Note that both the first and second connecting portions are indexed together as 5a in Fig. 1-2.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Shingo et al. et al. in order to have the second connecting portion be formed with a second opening that penetrates through the second connecting portion in the thickness direction. By doing so, the opening formed in the connecting portion of the conductive member will reduce the stress applied to the connecting portion and thereby improve reliability, as recognized by Shingo et al. (paragraph 0003 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, unlike Takada, Shingo et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 17, wherein the second connecting portion 5a has a first inner circumferential surface defining the second opening 5h_2, and the second bonding layer 2b is held in contact with the second inner circumferential surface (see annotated Fig. 2: 2b, 5h_2, paragraph 0020 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have combined the teachings of Takada with the teachings of Shingo et al. et al. in order to have the second connecting portion have a second inner circumferential surface defining the second opening, and the first bonding layer be held in contact with the second inner circumferential surface. Doing so would enable the bonding layer to grip the inner circumference of the opening ensuring stronger mechanical bonding.
Regarding Claim 19, Shingo et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 17, wherein the first opening 5h_1 and the second opening 5h_2 are equal to each other in area as viewed in the thickness direction (annotated Fig. 1: 5h_1, 5h_2, paragraph 0019 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Note that each opening has a diameter of 1.5 mm according to paragraph 0019 in English Translation of Shingo et al.
Regarding Claim 20, Shingo et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first opening 5h_1 has a circular shape as viewed in the thickness direction (annotated Fig. 1: 5h_1, paragraph 0019 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Note that the first opening has a diameter of 1.5 mm according to paragraph 0019 in English Translation of Shingo et al.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Takada and Shingo et al. teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1,
wherein the first connecting portion 5A includes: a flat connecting surface S opposed to the electrode 3B and held in contact with the first bonding layer 6B; and a flat upper surface opposite from the flat connecting surface S in the thickness direction Z (as taught by Takada, see annotated Fig. 2: 5A, S, 3B, 6B, Z),
and the first opening 5h_1 extends from the flat connecting surface to the flat upper surface and has a closed circular circumference as viewed in the thickness direction (as taught by Shingo et al., see annotated Fig. 1: 5h_1, paragraph 0019 in English Translation of Shingo et al.).
Note that when the first opening of Shingo et al. is disposed in the first connecting portion of Takada, the first opening would extend from the flat connecting surface to the flat upper surface of the first connecting portion of Takada.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Umeda et al. (US 20200395276 A1) discloses a semiconductor device comprising a conductive member with a bent distal end portion.
Conclusion
/HAMNA FATHIMA IQBAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 06/26/2026
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817