DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 21, applicant claims “an internal body”. There is a prior mention of “an internal body” (line 10) and it is unclear as to exactly how many “internal bod(ies)” the applicant is attempting to claim in that under 35 USC 112 each distinct feature/limitation is required to have an exact nomenclature and subsequent references to the same feature/limitation should be preceded by a “said” or “the”. The lack of clarity renders the claimed subject matter indefinite.
In claim 1, line 24, applicant claims “the internal body”. Because of the above lack of clarity as to how many “internal bod(ies)” are attempted to be claimed it is now unclear as to which is being referred and therein rendering the claimed subject matter vague.
Claims 7-11 are rejected based on their claim dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLeod (USP 5,795,222) in view of Yamamoto (USP 4,572,063).
Regarding claims 1 and 12: McLeod discloses the general state of the art agricultural products cleaning machine (as seen in figures 1-7) comprising a grain transport and elevation system (column 9, lines 8 to 10) and operatively connected to a grain bin (as seen in figure 5, at 54 and 98) containing an agricultural product.
Also McLeod discloses the cleaning machine further employing an inferior centrifugal fan (as seen in figure 2, at 114),
a sieving system composed of three overlapping sieves (as seen in figure 2, at 84,86,88),
an extracting auger below the sieve system (as seen in figure 2, at 100),
a principle centrifugal superior fan (as seen in figure 2, at 92) positioned at the superior aspect of the sieving system (as seen in figure 2),
a separating decelerator (as seen in figure 2, generally 106) for air/impurities,
a conduit for impurities (as seen in figure 2, at 48),
a decelerator return air duct (as seen in figure 2, area of 104), an entry inlet (as seen in figure 2, at 74) for agricultural products,
an exit outlet (as seen in figure 2, at 94) for clean agricultural products; and,
a gravity discharge outlet (as seen in figure 2, area of 108) of the impurities separated by the decelerator.
Further, McLeod discloses the machine having an internal body (as seen in figure 5, area 80) that corresponds to a covering that contains the sieving system (as seen in figure 3, 5 and 6) but fails to show the device being entirely enclosed by a covering. However, Yamamoto discloses that it is well known in the agricultural products cleaning machine art to completely enclose in a covering all working components of the machine (as seen in figure 4A). Further, Yamamoto discloses that it is also known to employ an overlapping sieve system (as seen in figure 4B, at 70) as well as to have a secondary internal body (as seen in figure 4B, area of 89) to contain that sieve system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of McLeod with the teachings of Yamamoto in order to provide an agricultural products cleaning machine which could better contain the material being worked as well as protect that material from outside environmental impacts, absent any showing to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671