DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/2/24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does relies on new reference Yang for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-16, and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0056940 (Chu) in view of WO Publication No. 2019/241223 (Lee, Yang is equivalent is U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0131753).
Chu discloses
1. (Previously Presented) A system (Figs. 1 and 6) for cooling an integrated circuit (IC), the system comprising:
a) a closed vessel (100, ¶ [0025]) for holding a coolant (111, ¶ [0025]) in a liquid phase (¶ [0033]), the vessel being delimited at least in part by a heat transfer region (1, ¶ [0016], 126, ¶ [0030]), the heat transfer region being thermally-coupled with the IC (124, ¶ [0030]); and
b) a heat-releasing element (102 / 104, ¶ [0025]).
Chu fails to disclose
wherein the heat transfer region comprises a Multi-Scale Electroplated Porous (MuSEP) structure exhibiting a gradient of at least one of a porosity and a pore size distribution along at least one dimension of the heat transfer region.
Lee teaches (paragraph numbers used below are from U.S. equivalent)
A system (at least Figs. 28, 29) for cooling an integrated circuit (IC), the system comprising:
wherein the heat transfer region (hybrid mesh structure 2804) comprises a Multi-Scale (multi-layer, [0180]) Electroplated ([0184]) Porous ([0184]) structure ([0175]-[0187]) exhibiting a gradient of at least one of a porosity and a pore size distribution (gradient channels) along at least one dimension of the heat transfer region (hybrid mesh structure 2804). Note the terminology MuSEP is a unique term used by Applicant.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a “MuSEP” structure that exhibits a gradient in Chu to increase surface roughness to improve surface wettability for higher capillary pumping capability and increase effective nucleation site density for bubble nucleation as taught by Lee (Yang ¶[0184]). In addition, wicking velocity is improved and volumetric flow rate is enhanced (Yang ¶[0186]).
Lee teaches
2. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the MuSEP structure is produced by multi-step electroplating (Yang [0184]) with current variation at several ones of the steps. Note, the process is not being given an patentable weight since this is a system claim and not a process claim.
Lee teaches
4. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the MuSEP structure exhibits a porosity gradient along a vertical direction (Figs. 28, 29).
Chu discloses and Lee teaches
5. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 4, wherein the IC comprises a silicon die (¶[0022], ¶[0030]), the MuSEP structure being electrodeposited on a surface of the silicon die (electroplated, Figs. 28, 29) . Note, the process is not being given an patentable weight since this is a system claim and not a process claim.
Chu discloses
6. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer region is an integrated heat spreader (1, ¶ [0016])
Chu discloses
7. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the heat transfer region is made of at least one metallic material (¶ [0020]).
Chu discloses
8. (Original) The system of claim 7, wherein the heat transfer region is made of copper (¶[0032]).
Chu fails to specifically disclose
9. (Original) The system of claim 7, wherein the heat transfer region is made of nickel.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use nickel instead of copper in Chu based on its suitability for an intended purpose. (See MPEP 2144.07).
Chu discloses
10. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 1, wherein the heat-releasing element is a heat sink (1, ¶ [0016]).
Chu discloses
11. (Original) The system of claim 10, wherein the heat sink is in contact with the coolant in a liquid phase (coolant inlet 6, ¶ [0016]).
Lee teaches
12. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the heat-releasing element is a condenser (Yang ¶ [0194]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a condenser in Chu to based on its suitability for the intended use, and to condense vapor as taught by Lee (Yang ¶ [0162]). See MPEP 2144.07.
The combination of references teaches the following unless Applicant can prove otherwise
13. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the coolant is substantially free of non-condensable gas.
Chu discloses
14. (Original) The system of claim 1, further comprising connection means to secure the system to the IC (¶¶ [0031], [0034]).
Chu discloses
15. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 14, wherein the IC (104) is a data processing device (¶[0022], ¶[0030]).
The combination of references teaches the following unless Applicant can prove otherwise
16. (Original) The system of claim 15, wherein there is no contact between the coolant in a liquid phase and the electronic device.
Lee teaches (Figs. 28, 29)
35. (New) The system of claim 1, wherein the MuSEP structure 2804 comprises a random particle formation.
Lee teaches (Yang [0175]-[0187])
36. (New) The system of claim 35, wherein 50% of the particles have a size of less than 15 micrometers.
Lee teaches (Yang [0175]-[0187])
37. (New) The system of claim 35, wherein a porosity of the MuSEP structure is 49.4% (the percentage is close to this value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the porosity based on routine optimization. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Lee as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,386,143 (Fitch).
The combination of Chu and Yang fails to teach
3. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 2, wherein the MuSEP structure comprises small particles in a bottom region, and bigger particles arranged above the smaller particles.
Fitch teaches
A system for cooling an IC (20), comprising:
wherein the MuSEP structure (14) comprises small particles in a bottom region, and bigger particles arranged above the smaller particles (“suitable dimensions”, small pores, larger channels, large pores, column 3, lines 15-32).
Also, Lee teaches the metal mesh 2804 provides a macro-level porosity and the metal particles provide a micro-level porosity.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a smaller and larger particles in Chu for the movement of heat transfer liquid thus providing suitable, mechanical, electrical, and thermal properties as taught by Fitch (column 2, lines 9-13; column 3, lines 15-32) and the arrangement would not change the operation of the system. See MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Conclusion
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Examiner, Art Unit 2893