DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 19, 22-28, 30, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voges et al. (US 2015/0270506) (hereafter “Voges”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0234098) (hereafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 1-10, 19, 22-28, 30, and 31, Voges teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a p-doped hole transport layer A’ (applicant’s fourth layer) (in contact with the anode and hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer)) (claims 23-25), a hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer) (in contact with the p-doped hole transport layer A’ (applicant’s fourth layer) and in contact with the p-doped hole transport layer B (applicant’s second layer)) (claims 1, 3, 6, 10, 22), a p-doped hole transport layer B (applicant’s second layer) (in contact with the hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer) and the hole transport layer C (applicant’s third layer)) (claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 10), a hole transport layer C (applicant’s third layer) (in contact with the hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer) and the light emitting layer) (claims 8 and 10), a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0127]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2).
Voges teaches that a p-doped hole transport layer A’ (applicant’s fourth layer) comprises the hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) of hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer) and same p-dopant (applicant’s second compound) used in the p-doped hole transport layer B (applicant’s second layer) (claim 23) (paragraphs [0127]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2).
Voges teaches that hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) of hole transport layer A (applicant’s first layer) is a triaryl monoamine compound with a molecular weight between 650 and 1200 (paragraphs [0068], [0098], and [0127]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2) (claims 1, 3-6, 10, 26, and 27).
Voges teachers that the p-doped hole transport layer B (applicant’s second layer) comprises a p-dopant that comprises a fluorine atom, a cyano group, and a LUMO level lower than -5.0 eV,
(F4TCNQ is taught by the applicant as a preferred fluorine compound to use as the second compound, so the compound would meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations), and a hole transport material (applicant’s third compound) that is a triaryl monoamine that is different that the hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) used in the hole transport layer A (paragraphs [0127]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2) (claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 10, and 31). Voges teaches that the HOMO of the hole transport material (applicant’s third compound) of p-doped hole transport layer B is lower than the HOMO of the hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) of the hole transport layer A (paragraphs [0060] and [0126]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2) (claims 7 and 10).
Voges teaches that the hole transport layer C (applicant’s third layer) is composed of the same hole transport material as used in p-doped hole transport layer B (applicant’s second), which is a triaryl monoamine that is different that the hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) and the HOMO of the hole transport material (applicant’s third compound) of hole transport layer C is lower than the HOMO of the hole transport material (applicant’s first compound) of the hole transport layer A (paragraphs [0060] and [0126]-[0148], Tables 1 and 2) (claims 8-10).
Voges does not limit that hole transport materials used in the different hole transport layer, but prefers the use of triaryl monoamine compound (paragraph [0068] and [0098]).
Voges does not specifically teaches triaryl monoamine compounds, where the proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals to the total number of carbon atoms is higher than or equal to 23% and lower than or equal to 55%.
Lee teaches an electroluminescent device comprising multiple hole transport layers (paragraph [0207]). Lee teaches using triarylamine monoamine compounds in hole transport layers of electroluminescent devices, where the different hole transport layers have different refractive indexes (paragraphs [0098] and [0206]). Lee teaches that the refractive index of the layer increase as the hole transport layer position gets closer to the light emitting layer (paragraphs [0206]-[0208]) (claim 10). Lee teaches that the triarylamine monoamine compounds can have the following structure,
,
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0098]) (claims 1-3, 6, 19, 28, and 30).
is the same as applicant’s dchPAF (first compound) that meets the applicant’s claimed refractive index limitation, percentage of sp3 carbon atoms, glass transition temperature, integral value of signals lower than 4 ppm exceeds an integral value of signals 4 pm or higher in a result of 1H-NMR measurement (claims 1-3, 6, 19, 28, and 30). Lee teaches that having different refractive indexes in the hole transporting layer leads to improved emission efficiency of the device (paragraph [0206]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Voges to use the hole transport materials of Lee,
,
,
,
,
, or
and to choose the hole transport materials for the different hole transport layers of Voges, so the HOMO of the hole transport material (first compound) of hole transport layer A is higher than the HOMO of the hole transport material (third compound) of the p-doped hole transport layer B and the hole transport layer C (taught by Voges) and the refractive index of hole transport layer A is lower than the refractive index of the p-doped hole transport layer B and the hole transport layer C as taught by Lee. The motivation to use the compounds with different refractive indexes would have been to improve the efficiency of the device as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iwawaki et al. (US 2007/0228399) teaches an electroluminescent device comprising triaryl monoamine compounds that have t-butyl groups and where the proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals to the total number of carbon atoms is higher than or equal to 23% and lower than or equal to 55%.
Do et al. (WO 2017/116168) teaches electroluminescent device where the hole transporting layer comprising compounds that are triaryl monoamine compounds that have cycloalkyl groups and where the proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals to the total number of carbon atoms is higher than or equal to 23% and lower than or equal to 55%
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759