DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on April 02, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As to claim 6, the disclosed same or identical material of the embedded film and the first insulation film is directed to aluminum oxide in [0065] of the Specification. There is no explicit disclosure or support to have the identical or same material of ZrO2, La2O3, and Y2O3 as amended. Thus, the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 7, the limitation “aluminum oxide film” appears to include a broader scope than what is defined in the independent claim 1 as claim 1 merely recites ZrO2, La2O3, and Y2O3. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0092543 A1 to Ok et al. (“Ok”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,128,334 B1 to Bourjot et al. (“Bourjot”).
As to claim 1, although Ok discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor base (42); and a field effect transistor on the semiconductor base (42), wherein the field effect transistor includes: an insulation layer (52, 60, 70) that includes: a gate opening (at 56); a first insulation film (60, 70) on a main surface of the semiconductor base (42); and a second insulation film (52) on the first insulation film (60, 70); a gate electrode (56) that includes: a head part (top) on the insulation layer (52, 60, 70); and a body part (bottom) extending from the head part (top) toward the main surface of the semiconductor base (42), wherein a width of the head part (top) is larger than a width of the body part (bottom); an embedded film (54) between the first insulation film (60, 70) and the body part (bottom) of the gate electrode (56) in a gate length direction of the gate electrode (56), wherein the embedded film (54) comprises at least one of a zirconium oxide (ZrO2) film, a lanthanum oxide (La2O3) film, or an yttrium oxide (Y2O3) film, and a relative permittivity of the embedded film (54) is equal to a relative permittivity of the second insulation film (52) or higher than the relative permittivity of the second insulation film (52); and a chamber (under 70) in the first insulation film (60, 70), wherein a width of the chamber (under 70) is larger than each of a width of the body part (bottom) of the gate electrode (56) and a width of the gate opening (at 56), and the chamber (under 70) includes the embedded film (54) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Fig. 10, ¶ 0052, ¶ 0053, ¶ 0054, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0060), Ok does not specifically disclose wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film. However, Ok does disclose wherein the second insulation film (52) includes a silicon nitride film (52), the first insulation film (60, 70) is any material used as a hard mask (See ¶ 0054, ¶ 0060) and Bourjot discloses the second insulation film (240) of silicon nitride having etching selectivity higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film (263) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Column 7, lines 60-67, Column 8, lines 1-19, Column 9, lines 5-27). In view of the teachings of Ok and Bourjot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film because the etching selectivity is designed in view of the required manufacturing processes that can be altered as desired, where the higher etching selectivity allows the second insulation film to be etched with respect to the first insulation film serving as the hard mask. Furthermore, the limitation “wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. It has been held it has been held that “The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979). As to claim 2, Ok further discloses wherein the relative permittivity of the embedded film (54) is higher than the relative permittivity of the second insulation film (52) (See ¶ 0054, ¶ 0055). As to claim 3, Ok further discloses wherein the relative permittivity of the embedded film (54) is equal to a relative permittivity of the first insulation film (60, 70) or higher than the relative permittivity of the first insulation film (60, 70) (See ¶ 0054, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0060). As to claim 4, Ok further discloses wherein the embedded film (54) is between the head part (top) of the gate electrode (56) and the semiconductor base (42) (See Fig. 4). As to claim 13, although Ok discloses an electronic apparatus, comprising: a semiconductor device, including: a semiconductor base (42); and a field effect transistor on the semiconductor base (42), wherein the field effect transistor includes: an insulation layer (52, 60, 70) that includes: a gate opening (at 56); a first insulation film (60, 70) on a main surface of the semiconductor base (42); and a second insulation film (52) on the first insulation film (60, 70); a gate electrode (56) that includes: a head part (top) on the insulation layer (52, 60, 70); and a body part (bottom) extending from the head part (top) toward the main surface of the semiconductor base (42), wherein a width of the head part (top) is larger than a width of the body part (bottom); an embedded film (54) between the first insulation film (60, 70) and the body part (bottom) of the gate electrode (56) in a gate length direction of the gate electrode (56), wherein the embedded film (54) comprises at least one of a zirconium oxide (ZrO2) film, a lanthanum oxide (La2O3) film, or an yttrium oxide (Y2O3) film, and a relative permittivity of the embedded film (54) is equal to a relative permittivity of the second insulation film (52) or higher than the relative permittivity of the second insulation film (52); and a chamber (under 70) in the first insulation film (60, 70), wherein a width of the chamber (under 70) is larger than each of a width of the body part (bottom) of the gate electrode (56) and a width of the gate opening (at 56), and the chamber (under 70) includes the embedded film (54) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Fig. 10, ¶ 0052, ¶ 0053, ¶ 0054, ¶ 0055, ¶ 0060), Ok does not specifically disclose wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film. However, Ok does disclose wherein the second insulation film (52) includes a silicon nitride film (52), the first insulation film (60, 70) is any material used as a hard mask (See ¶ 0054, ¶ 0060) and Bourjot discloses the second insulation film (240) of silicon nitride having etching selectivity higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film (263) (See Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Column 7, lines 60-67, Column 8, lines 1-19, Column 9, lines 5-27). In view of the teachings of Ok and Bourjot, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film because the etching selectivity is designed in view of the required manufacturing processes that can be altered as desired, where the higher etching selectivity allows the second insulation film to be etched with respect to the first insulation film serving as the hard mask. Furthermore, the limitation “wherein etching selectivity of the second insulation film is higher than etching selectivity of the first insulation film” is a product-by-process limitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. It has been held it has been held that “The Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature” than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0092543 A1 to Ok et al. (“Ok”) and U.S. Patent No. 10,128,334 B1 to Bourjot et al. (“Bourjot”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0139062 A1 to Yuan et al. (“Yuan”). The teachings of Ok and Bourjot have been discussed above. As to claim 6, although Ok discloses wherein the embedded film (54) includes a high k material and a material of the first insulation film (60, 70) includes any material such has a dielectric metal oxide (See ¶ 0055, ¶ 0060), Ok does not further disclose wherein the embedded film includes a material identical to a material of the first insulation film. However, Yuan does disclose wherein the embedded film (11) includes a material identical to a material of the first insulation film (14) (See Fig. 9, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0073). In view of the teaching of Yuan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Ok to have wherein the embedded film includes a material identical to a material of the first insulation film because the same material allows the first insulation film to protect the gate conductor during the etch process (See ¶ 0027).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815