DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 claims 1-12, and Compound B, specifically 2-isopropoxy-2,4,6,8-tetramethylcyclotetrasiloxane in the reply filed on 12/17/2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 8, 10 and 13-22 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4/6/2026 is entered and fully considered.
The amendment changes the transitional language from “comprising” to “consisting essentially of”. The new language excludes additional components that would “materially affect the basic and novel characteristics” of the claimed invention. However, applicant has not argued what additional components in the prior art would materially change the characteristics of the composition. According to MPEP 2111.03.III, applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional step or components would materially change the characteristics of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the OGASAWARA reference is too broad and encompasses too many species to teach the specific elected compound. The examiner is not persuaded by the argument because the reference is generically describing cyclosiloxanes in the simplest way possible. It is further noted that the reference specifically states that 2,4,6,8-tetramethylcyclotretrasiloxane is a preferred compound [0016]. From this preferred compound there is only one change in substituent to arrive at the elected compound. The examiner further notes that the comparative properties of the compounds is determined by computer modeling which indicates that they are entirely predictable.
Applicant argues that the MAYORGA reference does not remedy deficiencies of OGASAWARA. However, the rejection over MAYORGA stands on its own. Applicant also argues the compound of MAYORGA are not used for FCVD. However, the claim is a composition and is not limited by its intended use. Applicant finally argues the MAYORGA reference does not state any advantages of the compounds used. However, this is not a requirement when determining the scope and content of the reference when compared to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGASAWARA et al. (US 2007/0232821).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7,
OGASAWARA teaches a stabilizing compound abstract that can be cyclic [0012] shown in general formula I:
The “n” group can be 3 corresponding to the 8 member ring of the elected species [0012]. Formula clearly shows 1 required H group which is also required in applicant’s compounds. The remaining R groups are hydrogen, C1-8 alkyl or alkoxy groups overlapping and homologs to the C1-10 groups claimed [0012]. When the R groups are methyl groups (C1 alkyl), hydrogen (H) and a single alkoxy group (C3 isopropoxy) the generic formula corresponds to the elected species.
The reference does not expressly teach the C3 as a branched (isopropoxy) alkyl. However, when teaching a C1-4 alkoxy group, the straight chain and branched alkyls are considered prima facie obvious as isomers, MPEP 2144.09.II.
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 12,
As described above, the reference teaches the compounds corresponding to claimed formula B. Looking more broadly at the reference, the “n” group could also be 2 or 4 corresponding to the non-elected species. Accordingly, the reference teaches each of the general formulas A-C. The reference does not teach mixing compounds together. However, the same reference is teaching the same generic formula that corresponds to each of the formula A-C. Accordingly, the compounds are each considered equivalents of each other according to the reference. The combination of equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MAYORGA et al. (EP 1321469).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7,
MAYORGA teaches a compound used for stabilizing a precursor for CVD process abstract. The compound has formula:
In the formula, R1-7 are hydrogen, a C1-10 alkyl, or C1-4 alkoxy group [0013].
The generic formula corresponds to the elected 2-isopropoxy-2,4,6,8-tetramethylcyclotetrasiloxane -- when placed together:
The generic formula on the right corresponds to the elected species, when;
R1, R3, R5, and R7 are methyl (C1 alkyl group);
R2 and R6 are hydrogen; and
R4 is C3 alkoxy.
The reference does not expressly teach the C3 as a branched (isopropoxy) alkyl. However, when teaching a C1-4 alkoxy group, the straight chain and branched alkyls are considered prima facie obvious as isomers, MPEP 2144.09.II.
Looking at the other species in claim 7, each of the R groups from MAYORGA can similarly be selected to make each compound. Each alkoxy group are C1-4 in claim 7 as described in the reference. The remaining R groups are methyl (C1) and hydrogen (H). Looking further to the sub-genus Compound B. The examiner further notes that although the generic claim 1 can use alkoxy groups of up to 10 carbons (C10) the increasing length of carbon chains (homologs) may also be considered obvious over the same section of the MPEP.
The reference does not provide a single example in which the particular R group choices described above are made. However, the reference may be relied upon for all that it teaches. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art is taught how to make a large number of compounds while staying within the disclosure. Each of the compounds is considered prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712