DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 02/03/2026. Claims 4-11, 17, 24-33 and 39 are previously cancelled. Claims 1, 12, 23 and 34 are currently amended. Claims 1-3, 12-16, 18-23, 34-38, 40-44 are pending for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/03/2026 with respect to claims 1, 12, 23 and 34 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 12, 23 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0057476 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan (US 2021/0410155 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Li teaches a method performed by a wireless device (UE) for transmitting a Type-3 (one-Shot) hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, the method comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) requesting a Type-3 (one-shot-BRI) HARQ-ACK codebook and an indication(index) of a priority associated with the Type-3 (one-shot) HARQ-ACK codebook ([0053], Fig. 6, UE receives a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and priority index=1. The UE reports the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook (650) that contains the HARQ-ACK for the HARQ process 1 (620) that has same priority index with the priority index of the DCI (610) triggering one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.) (Hence the UE receives DCI requesting Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook and priority indication 1/P1 of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook.), wherein the DCI request includes a priority associated with the DCI and a separate priority associated with the Type- 3(one-shot) HARQ- ACK codebook transmission ( [0051]; [0053], Fig.6, UE receive a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and the priority index=1{P1=1}, The UE reports NACK for HARQ process 2 (630) that has different priority index {P1=0}with the indication of DCI (610) triggering one-shot HARQ- ACK codebook.); and
based on the DCI request and priority indication, transmitting the Type-3 (one-shot) HARQ- ACK codebook to a network node (base station) ( [0053], Fig. 6, UE receives a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and priority index=1. The UE reports {to base station—[0040]} the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook (650) that contains the HARQ-ACK for the HARQ process 1 (620) that has same priority index with the priority index of the DCI (610) triggering one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)(Hence the UE transmitting the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, based on the DCI request and the priority indication/P1.).
Li does not teach wherein the DCI request includes a priority associated with the DCI and the DCI request includes the separate priority associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission;
However, in an analogous art, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the DCI request includes a priority associated with the DCI and the DCI request includes the separate priority associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission ([0101], UE configures or obtains first HARQ-ACK codebook. Then the UE applies one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback configuration to the first HARQ-ACK codebook. Wherein if the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback is configured for the first but not the second priority, a DCI with a priority indicator field that is set to the second priority value will include a one-shot HARQ-ACK {has first priority} request field that is set to zero.) (Hence DCI includes 2nd priority associated with the DCI and includes 1st priority {that is separate from the 2nd priority} associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Khoshnevisan and apply them on the teaching of Li to provide demand for higher data rates and improved reliability increases, wireless network operators continue to develop mechanisms to maximize throughput and minimize the delay. One such mechanism is the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process (Khoshnevisan; [0003]).
Regarding Claims 16 and 38, Li further teaches wherein the priority indication (index) is included in the DCI request ([0053], Fig. 6, UE receives a DCI (610) with
one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and priority index=1{P1=1}).
Regarding Claims 19 and 41, Li further teaches wherein the priority indication (index) indicates a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration to use for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission ([0053], UE receive a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and the priority index=1; [0076], PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) of the PUCCH transmission carrying this HARQ-ACK codebook may be the same as indicated in the DCI triggered one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook. ) (Hence priority indication indicates a PUCCH for Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission.).
Regarding Claims 20 and 42, Li further teaches wherein the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0076], PUCCH transmission carrying one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.).
Regarding Claims 21 and 43, Li further teaches wherein the DCI request is for scheduling physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) data ([0036]) and the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted via physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) ([0076]).
Regarding Claims 22 and 44, Li further teaches wherein the DCI request comprises any one of DCI format 0_1, DCI format 0_2, DCI format 1_2, and DCI format 1_1 ([0053]; [0073], DCI Format 1_1.).
Regarding Claims 23 and 34, Li teaches a method performed by a network node (base station) for receiving a Type-3 (one-shot) hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook, the method comprising:
transmitting to a wireless device (UE) downlink control information (DCI) requesting a Type-3 (one-shot-BRI) HARQ-ACK codebook and an indication (index) of a priority associated with the Type-3 (one-shot) HARQ-ACK codebook ( [0053], UE receives {from base station—[0040]} a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and priority index=1. The UE reports the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook (650) that contains the HARQ-ACK for the HARQ process 1 (620) that has same priority index with the priority index of the DCI (610) triggering one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.) (Hence the base station transmits DCI requesting Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook and priority indication 1/P1 of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook.),
based on the DCI request and priority indication (index), receiving the Type-3 (one-shot) HARQ- ACK codebook from the wireless device ([0053], UE receives a DCI (610) with one-shot HARQ-ACK request value=1 and priority index=1. The UE reports {to base station—[0040]} the one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook (650) that contains the HARQ-ACK for the HARQ process 1 (620) that has same priority index with the priority index of the DCI (610) triggering one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.)(Hence the base station receiving the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, based on the DCI request and the priority indication/P1.).
Li does not teach wherein the DCI request includes a priority associated with the DCI and the DCI request includes the separate priority associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission;
However, in an analogous art, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the DCI request includes a priority associated with the DCI and the DCI request includes the separate priority associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission ([0101], UE configures or obtains first HARQ-ACK codebook. Then the UE applies one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback configuration to the first HARQ-ACK codebook. Wherein if the one-shot HARQ-ACK feedback is configured for the first but not the second priority, a DCI with a priority indicator field that is set to the second priority value will include a one-shot HARQ-ACK {has first priority} request field that is set to zero.) (Hence DCI includes 2nd priority associated with the DCI and includes 1st priority {that is separate from the 2nd priority} associated with the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission.);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Khoshnevisan and apply them on the teaching of Li to provide demand for higher data rates and improved reliability increases, wireless network operators continue to develop mechanisms to maximize throughput and minimize the delay. One such mechanism is the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) process (Khoshnevisan; [0003]).
Regarding Claims 15 and 37, Li further teaches wherein the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission is in uplink conflict with another transmission, and the conflict is resolved based on the priority indication ([0031], When the transmission of these two codebooks occurs at the same slot, the HARQ-ACK codebook for lower priority (e.g., Priority index=0) may be dropped.).
6. Claims 2, 13 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0057476 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan (US 2021/0410155 A1), further in view of Noh (US 2020/0328849 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 35, Li- Khoshnevisan already teaches Type-3/one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.
Li- Khoshnevisan does not teach wherein the priority indication is associated with a HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of a plurality of PDSCHs, and only HARQ bits associated with the PDSCH are included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook.
However, in an analogous art, Noh teaches wherein the priority indication is associated with a HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) of a plurality of PDSCHs, and only HARQ bits associated with the PDSCH are included in the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook ([0201], terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook with HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCHs transmitted and transmits the HARQ-ACK codebook via a single PUCCH; wherein the terminal receives an indication of Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook configuration, the terminal transmits the HARQ-ACK feedback bits to the largest PDSCH ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Noh and apply them on the teaching of Li- Khoshnevisan to provide in terms of facilitating signal transmission and reception by efficiently configuring a HARQ-ACK codebook between a terminal and a base station (Noh; [0360]).
7. Claims 3, 14 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0057476 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan (US 2021/0410155 A1), further in view of HUAWEI ET AL: "Compatibility analysis between Rel-16 URLLC and Rel-16 NR-U", 3GPP DRAFT; RP-200892, 3GPP TSG RAN Meeting # 88e, Electronic Meeting (Date: June 29-July 3, 2020).
Regarding claims 3, 14 and 36, Li- Khoshnevisan does not teach wherein the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK bits for all HARQ processes without regard for the priority indication.
However, in an analogous art, HUAWEI teaches wherein the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK bits for all HARQ processes without regard for the priority indication (Page 2, 1st and 2nd para-- reporting all HARQ processes in a Type-3 HARQ- ACK codebook even when HARQ processes are assigned with different priorities; the UE reports HARQ-ACK feedback for all HARQ processes{obvious have HARQ-ACK bits} in Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook regardless of priority indication.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of HUAWEI and apply them on the teaching of Li- Khoshnevisan to provide to allow reporting all HARQ processes in a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook with different priorities/regardless of priority indication (HUAWEI; page 2, 1st and 2nd para).
8. Claims 18 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2023/0057476 A1) in view of Khoshnevisan (US 2021/0410155 A1), further in view of Hosseini (US 2021/0266116 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 40, Li- Khoshnevisan already teaches Type-3/one-shot HARQ-ACK codebook.
Li- Khoshnevisan does not teach wherein the DCI request includes a transmission parameter for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission and the priority indication is based on the transmission parameter.
However, in an analogous art, Hosseini teaches wherein the DCI request includes a transmission parameter for the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission and the priority indication is based on the transmission parameter ([0008]; [0064]; Fig. 3 and 4.]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Hosseini and apply them on the teaching of Li- Khoshnevisan to provide DCI includes parameter for HARQ-ACK codebook and priority indication (Hosseini; [0008]).
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415