DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Applicant argues the amended claims. Examiner agrees that the previous rejection does not account for these amendments. However, newly introduced art does teach these limitations. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643).
Regarding claim 1, Lunden discloses a method performed by a wireless device, (See Lunden para. 4; UE (e.g. a wireless device)) the wireless device operating with a first cell group and a second cell group, the method comprising: (See Lunden para. 98; reference reporting groups of cells (e.g. a first group and second group); see also para. 109)
obtaining a measurement configuration for use in the second cell group in a deactivated mode of operation; and (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured)
when in deactivated mode of operation for the second cell group, performing measurements in the deactivated second cell group according to the obtained measurement configuration. (See Lunden para. 110; the cell is measured also in deactivated state according to a measurement config)
Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. However, ETSI TS 138 331 does disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. (See ETSI TS 138 331 pg. 255; measCycleSCell parameter is only used when an SCell is in a deactivated state; which specifies a periodicity of sub-frames for UE wake-up to make measurements; pg. 253; cells) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation of ETSI TS 138 331 with the motivation being to save battery power and further to allow for fine tuning of parameters that allows for efficiencies at both the UE and network and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to utilize resources more efficiently.
Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. However, Kim does disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. (See Kim para. 43; SCG has multiple cells and one of those cells is pScell (e.g. a special cell); para. 42; measurement configuration for UE) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 to include the teaching of wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell of Kim with the motivation being to conserve power consumption of the UE (See Kim para. 44) while at the same time attempting to keeping resources available and further to increase connectivity and further to increase throughput and further to decrease latency and further to enable flexible, robust network deployments that optimize spectrum utilization.
Regarding claim 2, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first cell group is a master cell group (MCG) and the second cell group is a secondary cell group (SCG), or the first cell group is a SCG and the second cell group is a MCG. (See Lunden para. 7; MCG and SCG)
Regarding claim 8, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement configuration comprises a threshold value associated with a measurement, wherein the wireless device uses the threshold to determine whether to perform the associated measurement. (See Lunden para. 109; cycle can be set to different values to determine when or if to perform measurements (e.g. threshold))
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948).
Regarding claim 3, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. However, Narashima does disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Regarding claim 5, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 1. Lunden does not explicitly disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). However, Narasimha does disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled) of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Claims 4, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948) and further in view of Lin (2021/0144049; Provisional 62/931887; Nov 7, 2019).
Regarding claim 4, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the method of claim 3. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. However, Lin does disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 6, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the method of claim 5. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 7, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the method of claim 5. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PCell measurement period T) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc. and further to allow the UE to know when to perform the measurements as opposed to it just guessing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643).
Regarding claim 9, Lunden discloses a wireless device (See Lunden para. 4; UE (e.g. a wireless device)) capable of operating with a first cell group and a second cell group, (See Lunden para. 98; reference reporting groups of cells (e.g. a first group and second group); see also para. 109) the wireless device comprising processing circuitry operable to: (See Lunden para. 127, 132, 134; processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
obtain a measurement configuration for use in the second cell group in a deactivated mode of operation; and (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured)
when in deactivated mode of operation for the second cell group, perform measurements in the deactivated second cell group according to the obtained measurement configuration. (See Lunden para. 110; the cell is measured also in deactivated state according to a measurement config)
Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. However, ETSI TS 138 331 does disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. (See ETSI TS 138 331 pg. 255; measCycleSCell parameter is only used when an SCell is in a deactivated state; which specifies a periodicity of sub-frames for UE wake-up to make measurements; pg. 253; cells) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation of ETSI TS 138 331 with the motivation being to save battery power and further to allow for fine tuning of parameters that allows for efficiencies at both the UE and network and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to utilize resources more efficiently.
Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. However, Kim does disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. (See Kim para. 43; SCG has multiple cells and one of those cells is pScell (e.g. a special cell); para. 42; measurement configuration for UE) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 to include the teaching of wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell of Kim with the motivation being to conserve power consumption of the UE (See Kim para. 44) while at the same time attempting to keeping resources available and further to increase connectivity and further to increase throughput and further to decrease latency and further to enable flexible, robust network deployments that optimize spectrum utilization.
Regarding claim 10, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the first cell group is a master cell group (MCG) and the second cell group is a secondary cell group (SCG), or the first cell group is a SCG and the second cell group is a MCG. (See Lunden para. 7; MCG and SCG)
Regarding claim 16, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 9, wherein the measurement configuration comprises a threshold value associated with a measurement, wherein the wireless device uses the threshold to determine whether to perform the associated measurement. (See Lunden para. 109; cycle can be set to different values to determine when or if to perform measurements (e.g. threshold))
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948).
Regarding claim 11, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 9. Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. However, Narashima does disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Regarding claim 13, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the wireless device of claim 9. Lunden does not explicitly disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). However, Narasimha does disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled) of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Claims 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948) and further in view of Lin (2021/0144049; Provisional 62/931887; Nov 7, 2019).
Regarding claim 12, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the wireless device of claim 11. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. However, Lin does disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 14, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the wireless device of claim 13. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 15, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the wireless device of claim 13. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PCell measurement period T) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc. and further to allow the UE to know when to perform the measurements as opposed to it just guessing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643).
Regarding claim 17, Lunden discloses a method performed by a network node, the method comprising: (See Lunden para. 101; network node)
determining a measurement configuration for a wireless device capable of operating with a first cell group and a second cell group, (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured; para. 103, fig. 4; network node configures)
wherein the measurement configuration is for use in the second cell group in a deactivated mode of operation; and (See Lunden para. 110; the cell is measured also in deactivated state according to a measurement config)
transmitting the measurement configuration to the wireless device. (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured; para. 103, fig. 4; network node configures)
Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. However, ETSI TS 138 331 does disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. (See ETSI TS 138 331 pg. 255; measCycleSCell parameter is only used when an SCell is in a deactivated state; which specifies a periodicity of sub-frames for UE wake-up to make measurements; pg. 253; cells) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation of ETSI TS 138 331 with the motivation being to save battery power and further to allow for fine tuning of parameters that allows for efficiencies at both the UE and network and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to utilize resources more efficiently.
Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. However, Kim does disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. (See Kim para. 43; SCG has multiple cells and one of those cells is pScell (e.g. a special cell); para. 42; measurement configuration for UE) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 to include the teaching of wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell of Kim with the motivation being to conserve power consumption of the UE (See Kim para. 44) while at the same time attempting to keeping resources available and further to increase connectivity and further to increase throughput and further to decrease latency and further to enable flexible, robust network deployments that optimize spectrum utilization.
Regarding claim 18, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the first cell group is a master cell group (MCG) and the second cell group is a secondary cell group (SCG), or the first cell group is a SCG and the second cell group is a MCG. (See Lunden para. 7; MCG and SCG)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 26, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643).
Regarding claim 25, Lunden discloses a network node (See Lunden para. 101; network node) comprising processing circuitry operable to: (See Lunden para. 127, 132, 134; processor executing an algorithm stored in memory)
determine a measurement configuration for a wireless device capable of operating with a first cell group and a second cell group, (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured; para. 103, fig. 4; network node configures)
wherein the measurement configuration is for use in the second cell group in a deactivated mode of operation; and (See Lunden para. 110; the cell is measured also in deactivated state according to a measurement config)
transmit the measurement configuration to the wireless device. (See Lunden para. 112; network provides an information element in a measurement configuration used to indicate whether or not a configured but deactivated SCell is measured; para. 103, fig. 4; network node configures)
Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. However, ETSI TS 138 331 does disclose wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation. (See ETSI TS 138 331 pg. 255; measCycleSCell parameter is only used when an SCell is in a deactivated state; which specifies a periodicity of sub-frames for UE wake-up to make measurements; pg. 253; cells) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration is different than a measurement configuration for use when the cell is in an activated mode of operation of ETSI TS 138 331 with the motivation being to save battery power and further to allow for fine tuning of parameters that allows for efficiencies at both the UE and network and further to maximize limited wireless resources and further to utilize resources more efficiently.
Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. However, Kim does disclose wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell. (See Kim para. 43; SCG has multiple cells and one of those cells is pScell (e.g. a special cell); para. 42; measurement configuration for UE) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 to include the teaching of wherein the second cell group comprises a plurality of cells, wherein one cell of the plurality of cells comprises a special cell of Kim with the motivation being to conserve power consumption of the UE (See Kim para. 44) while at the same time attempting to keeping resources available and further to increase connectivity and further to increase throughput and further to decrease latency and further to enable flexible, robust network deployments that optimize spectrum utilization.
Regarding claim 26, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the network node of claim 25, wherein the first cell group is a master cell group (MCG) and the second cell group is a secondary cell group (SCG), or the first cell group is a SCG and the second cell group is a MCG. (See Lunden para. 7; MCG and SCG)
Regarding claim 32, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the network node of claim 25, wherein the measurement configuration comprises a threshold value associated with a measurement, wherein the wireless device uses the threshold to determine whether to perform the associated measurement. (See Lunden para. 109; cycle can be set to different values to determine when or if to perform measurements (e.g. threshold))
Claims 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948).
Regarding claim 27, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the network node of claim 25.
Lunden does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. However, Narashima does disclose wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active. (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of wherein the measurement configuration includes more frequent measurement when the link is active of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Regarding claim 29, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim discloses the network node of claim 25. Lunden does not explicitly disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). However, Narasimha does disclose that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled). (See Narasimha para. 23; when activated, UE performs measurements more frequently (e.g. a cycle that is greater)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden to include the teaching of that a measurement cycle is more frequent when enabled (less frequent when not enabled) of Narasimha with the motivation being to ensure best parameters and further to reduce delay, retransmissions, and collisions and further to maximize limited wireless resources by adjusting parameters based upon challenging dynamic wireless conditions.
Claims 28, 30, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunden (2019/0075478), and further in view of ETSI TS 138 331 (“5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification (3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.6.0 Release 15”; v15.6.0; July 2019) and further in view of Kim (2017/0208643) and further in view of Narasimha (2012/0164948) and further in view of Lin (2021/0144049; Provisional 62/931887; Nov 7, 2019).
Regarding claim 28, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the network node of claim 27. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. However, Lin does disclose wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the subset is based on at least one of a type of cell associated with a measurement and a frequency associated with a measurement of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 30, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the network node of claim 29. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PSCell has measurement period of T; SCells have T*K) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a first measurement cycle for a primary secondary cell and a second measurement cycle for a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc.
Regarding claim 31, Lunden in view of ETSI TS 138 331 in view of Kim in view of Narasimha discloses the network node of claim 29. Lunden in view of Narasimha do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. However, Lin does disclose wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell. (See Lin para. 30; PCell measurement period T) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Lunden in view of Narasimha to include the teaching of wherein the measurement cycle comprises a measurement cycle for any measurements other than measurements on a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell of Lin with the motivation being to save battery power and further to reduce UE complexity and to improve UE performance (See Lin para. 30) and further to ensure connectivity while at the same time saving limited resources like battery, memory, processing, etc. and further to allow the UE to know when to perform the measurements as opposed to it just guessing.
Conclusion
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461