DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 29, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 25-26, and 39 are presently pending with claims 1, 18, and 39 being independent. Claims 4 and 21 are original claims. Claims 3,13, 16-17, 20, 22, and 25-26 have been previously presented. Claims 2, 5-6, 9-12, 14-15, 19, 23-24, 27-38, and 40-49 are canceled. Claims 1, 7-8, 18, and 39 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-9, filed January 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 18, and 39 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 25-26, and 39 below in view of amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 13, 16-18, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2021/0120618 A1; hereinafter Lee) in view of Zhao et al. (US 2021/0076443 A1; hereinafter Zhao) further in view of Shi et al. (WO 2021/253182 A1; hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches receiving, from a first network node (read as a base station (BS) or eNB) in the communication network, information for assisting the terminal device to select a resource to perform the reestablishment of the connection to the communication network (Fig. 8, illustrates UE receiving Measurement Configuration Information from BS; Fig. 9 step S910 UE receives UE ID, validity timer and list of cells from a first cell; step S920 UE performs cell selection or reselection; ¶ [0031] The eNB may perform functions of selection for dynamic allocation of resources to the UEs and configuration and provisioning of eNB measurements.; ¶ [0086] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS. A message including the measurement configuration information is referred to as a measurement configuration message.; ¶ [0101] The first cell may be a cell managed by an eNB. The UE ID may be an ID applied to the re-establishment of the RRC connection.; ¶ [0125] A method for a terminal re-establishing an RRC connection based on a measurement report triggering condition.; ¶ [0126] The event triggering condition may be received through a measurement configuration signaled by the base station.),
Lee does not explicitly teach a method performed at a terminal device (read as UE) for control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network, wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; performing a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and transmitting, in response to performing the measurement, to the first network node, a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Zhao teaches a method performed at a terminal device (read as UE) for control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network (read as re-establish an RRC connection) (¶ [0034] In a process of RRC connection re-establishment, which may be implemented by using an eNB CP Relocation Indication message. The first information includes a first request used to re-establish an RRC connection.; ¶ [0044] The UE sends a request to re-establish an RRC connection to the target base station.; ¶ [0045] The request may be implemented by using an RRC Connection Re-establishment Request-NB message.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao with sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network reliability and reduce connection recovery delay, which would improve user satisfaction, by allowing the terminal to quickly obtain connection reestablishment information from the base station during a CP relocation procedure (Zhao: ¶¶ [0003-0004]).
Lee and Zhao do not explicitly teach wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; performing a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and transmitting, in response to performing the measurement, to the first network node a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Shi teaches wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell (¶ [0031] The neighbor cell measurement may include at least one of an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. The UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement before initiating a RRC connection re-establishment procedure of a UE or before cell selection procedure.), and
wherein the information comprises one or both of:
a source cell (read as serving cell) reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure (read as triggering a neighbor cell measurement) (¶ [0046] The condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement, the UE may determine a second signal measurement value of a serving cell of the UE. The second signal measurement value may be based on a RSRP value. The UE may trigger neighbor cell measurement associated with the threshold value.); and
a target cell RSRP threshold (¶ [0059] Measurement configuration information indicates at least one pair of threshold values, wherein each pair of at least one pair of threshold values is associated with an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement, an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement, or an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. One threshold value in a pair of threshold values is a RSRP threshold value.); and
performing a measurement based on the information when a condition is met (¶ [0031] UE determines whether a condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement for at least one neighbor cell is fulfilled based on measurement configuration information. In response to determining that the condition is fulfilled, the UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement.),
wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes (read as “out-of-sync” indications) are detected by the terminal device (¶ [0071] The measurement configuration information may indicate a first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications. The first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310.),
where N is an integer (¶ [0071] First number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310 or may be any other numbers.); and
transmitting, in response to performing the measurement, to the first network node a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected (¶ [0091] The UE may transmit an assistant message to a serving cell.; ¶ [0099] The UE may transmit the assistant message in response to the neighbor cell measurement is finished.; ¶ [00132] The BS may receive an assistant message. The assistance information may indicate at least one of the following: the UE will trigger the RRC connection re-establishment procedure; CGI of the target cell.; ¶ [00138] The assistant message is received via a RRC signaling or via a media access control (MAC) control element (CE). A new logical identity (LGID) may be allocated to the MAC CE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and signaling overhead, which would improve user satisfaction, by utilizing the measurement based resource selection and the CP relocation procedure that rely on standard RRC and MAC control signaling (Shi: ¶¶ [0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches performing a measurement based on the information, when a condition is met (Fig. 11, step S1130 Measure Serving Cell and Neighboring Cell; ¶ [0138] In step S1130, when the source cell quality is worse than the s-Measure value, the UE may perform intra frequency measurement or inter frequency measurement.).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches wherein a measurement result includes a RSRP of the selected resource (read as neighboring cell) (¶ [0095] The measurement result of the neighboring cell may include a measurement quality. The measured quality may include reference signal received power (RSRP).).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches wherein the terminal device (read as UE) obtains a RSRP from a measurement for a reference signal transmitted in a cell (¶ [0095] The measurement result of the neighboring cell may include a measurement quality of the neighboring cell. The measured quality includes RSRP.); and
wherein the terminal device (read as UE) selects the resource, based at least on a RSRP of respective resource (read as neighboring cell) (¶ [0095] The measurement result of the neighboring cell may include a measurement quality of the neighboring cell. The measured quality includes RSRP.; ¶ [0139] The event A2 and the event A3 is satisfied for the neighboring cell, the UE may declare the radio link failure.; ¶ [0140] The UE may initiate the RRC connection re-establishment procedure. In the RRC connection re-establishment procedure, the UE may perform cell selection.).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer, or wherein the condition includes that a timer for a radio link failure is running (¶ [0072] The UE may be implemented to finish checking whether the selected cell is a suitable cell through the cell selection procedure. To this end, the UE may drive a timer when the RRC connection re-establishment procedure is started. Such a timer is called an RLF timer.; Note: MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches further comprising one or more of:
receiving, from the first network node (read as a cell), an acknowledge or a non-acknowledge about whether the terminal device (read as UE) is granted to use the selected resource for the reestablishment (¶ [0073] If an RRC connection re-establishment request message is received from the UE and the request is accepted, a cell sends an RRC connection re-establishment message to the UE.; ¶ [0075] If the request is not accepted, the cell sends an RRC connection re-establishment reject message to the UE.); and
performing the reestablishment of the connection to the communication network (read as connection completed to the cell) (Fig. 6, step S660 transmitting RRC connection re-establishment complete message; ¶ [0074] The UE completes the restart of the SRB1, and sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message indicative of that the RRC connection re-establishment procedure has been completed to the cell.),
wherein the terminal device (read as UE) performs the reestablishment when the RSRP of a cell serving the terminal device (read as source cell) is less than or equal to a threshold (¶ [0095] The measurement report may include a measured quality of the serving cell. The measured quality may include reference signal received power (RSRP).; ¶ [0125] A method for a terminal re-establishing an RRC connection based on a measurement report triggering condition.; ¶ [0126] The event triggering condition may be received through a measurement configuration signaled by the base station. The event and corresponding reporting conditions may be defined as shown in Table 1.; ¶ [0131] The network sets measurement settings for the event A2 and the event A3 in the UE.; ¶ [0132] When configuring the measurements for the event A2 and the event A3, the UE may use an s-Measure value that means a source cell quality threshold value.).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches wherein the cell serving the terminal device is provided by the first network node (¶ [0101] The UE may receive a UE ID from a first cell. The first cell may be a cell managed by an eNB or gNB.; ¶ [0103] The first cell may be a serving cell.).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches wherein the first network node comprises a base station (read as eNB or gNB) (¶ [0101] The UE may receive a UE ID from a first cell. The first cell may be a cell managed by an eNB or gNB.).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches transmitting, to the terminal device (read as UE), information for assisting the terminal device to select a resource to perform the reestablishment of a connection to the communication network (Fig. 8, illustrates UE receiving Measurement Configuration Information from BS; Fig. 9 step S910 UE receives UE ID, validity timer and list of cells from a first cell; step S920 UE performs cell selection or reselection; ¶ [0031] The eNB may perform functions of selection for dynamic allocation of resources to the UEs and configuration and provisioning of eNB measurements.; ¶ [0086] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS. A message including the measurement configuration information is referred to as a measurement configuration message.; ¶ [0101] The first cell may be a cell managed by an eNB. The UE ID may be an ID applied to the re-establishment of the RRC connection.; ¶ [0125] A method for a terminal re-establishing an RRC connection based on a measurement report triggering condition.; ¶ [0126] The event triggering condition may be received through a measurement configuration signaled by the base station.),
Lee does not explicitly teach a method performed at a first network node for control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network by a terminal device, wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; wherein the terminal device performs a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and receiving, from the terminal device in response to performing the measurement a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Zhao teaches a method performed at a first network node for control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network by a terminal device,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao with sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network reliability and reduce connection recovery delay, which would improve user satisfaction, by allowing the terminal to quickly obtain connection reestablishment information from the base station during a CP relocation procedure (Zhao: ¶¶ [0003-0004]).
Lee and Zhao do not explicitly teach wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; wherein the terminal device performs a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and receiving, from the terminal device in response to performing the measurement a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Shi teaches wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell (¶ [0031] The neighbor cell measurement may include at least one of an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. The UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement before initiating a RRC connection re-establishment procedure of a UE or before cell selection procedure.), and
wherein the information comprises one or both of:
a source cell (read as serving cell) reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure (read as triggering a neighbor cell measurement) (¶ [0046] The condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement, the UE may determine a second signal measurement value of a serving cell of the UE. The second signal measurement value may be based on a RSRP value. The UE may trigger neighbor cell measurement associated with the threshold value.); and
a target cell RSRP threshold (¶ [0059] Measurement configuration information indicates at least one pair of threshold values, wherein each pair of at least one pair of threshold values is associated with an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement, an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement, or an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. One threshold value in a pair of threshold values is a RSRP threshold value.); and
wherein the terminal device performs a measurement based on the information when a condition is met (¶ [0031] UE determines whether a condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement for at least one neighbor cell is fulfilled based on measurement configuration information. In response to determining that the condition is fulfilled, the UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement.),
in which the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes (read as “out-of-sync” indications) are detected by the terminal device (¶ [0071] The measurement configuration information may indicate a first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications. The first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310.),
where N is an integer (¶ [0071] First number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310 or may be any other numbers.); and
receiving, from the terminal device in response to performing the measurement a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected (¶ [0091] The UE may transmit an assistant message to a serving cell.; ¶ [0099] The UE may transmit the assistant message in response to the neighbor cell measurement is finished.; ¶ [00132] The BS may receive an assistant message. The assistance information may indicate at least one of the following: the UE will trigger the RRC connection re-establishment procedure; CGI of the target cell.; ¶ [00138] The assistant message is received via a RRC signaling or via a media access control (MAC) control element (CE). A new logical identity (LGID) may be allocated to the MAC CE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and signaling overhead, which would improve user satisfaction, by utilizing the measurement based resource selection and the CP relocation procedure that rely on standard RRC and MAC control signaling (Shi: ¶¶ [0001-0004]).
Regarding claim 39, Lee teaches receive, from a first network node (read as a base station (BS) or eNB) in the communication network, information for assisting the terminal device to select a resource to perform the reestablishment of the connection to the communication network (Fig. 8, illustrates UE receiving Measurement Configuration Information from BS; Fig. 9 step S910 UE receives UE ID, validity timer and list of cells from a first cell; step S920 UE performs cell selection or reselection; ¶ [0031] The eNB may perform functions of selection for dynamic allocation of resources to the UEs and configuration and provisioning of eNB measurements.; ¶ [0086] A UE receives measurement configuration information from a BS. A message including the measurement configuration information is referred to as a measurement configuration message.; ¶ [0101] The first cell may be a cell managed by an eNB. The UE ID may be an ID applied to the re-establishment of the RRC connection.; ¶ [0125] A method for a terminal re-establishing an RRC connection based on a measurement report triggering condition.; ¶ [0126] The event triggering condition may be received through a measurement configuration signaled by the base station.),
a processor (Fig. 15, element 1510 processor; ¶ [0169] A UE includes a processor.); and
a memory, the memory containing instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal device to (Fig. 15, element 1512 Memory; ¶ [0169] A UE includes a memory. The memory stores various information for driving the processor. The processor implements proposed functions, processes and/or methods.):
Lee does not explicitly teach a terminal device to perform control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network, wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; perform a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and transmit, in response to performing the measurement, to the first network, node a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Zhao teaches a terminal device (read as UE) to perform control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure for narrow band internet of things (NB-IoT) devices using CP cellular internet of things (CIoT) for reestablishment of a connection to a communication network (read as re-establish an RRC connection) (¶ [0034] In a process of RRC connection re-establishment, which may be implemented by using an eNB CP Relocation Indication message. The first information includes a first request used to re-establish an RRC connection.; ¶ [0044] The UE sends a request to re-establish an RRC connection to the target base station.; ¶ [0045] The request may be implemented by using an RRC Connection Re-establishment Request-NB message.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao with sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve network reliability and reduce connection recovery delay, which would improve user satisfaction, by allowing the terminal to quickly obtain connection reestablishment information from the base station during a CP relocation procedure (Zhao: ¶¶ [0003-0004]).
Lee and Zhao do not explicitly teach wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell, and wherein the information comprises one or both of: a source cell reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure; and a target cell RSRP threshold; perform a measurement based on the information when a condition is met, wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes are detected by the terminal device, where N is an integer; and transmit, in response to performing the measurement, to the first network, node a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected.
In analogous art, Shi teaches wherein the resource comprises a frequency and a cell (¶ [0031] The neighbor cell measurement may include at least one of an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. The UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement before initiating a RRC connection re-establishment procedure of a UE or before cell selection procedure.), and
wherein the information comprises one or both of:
a source cell (read as serving cell) reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold for initiating a reestablishment procedure (read as triggering a neighbor cell measurement) (¶ [0046] The condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement, the UE may determine a second signal measurement value of a serving cell of the UE. The second signal measurement value may be based on a RSRP value. The UE may trigger neighbor cell measurement associated with the threshold value.); and
a target cell RSRP threshold (¶ [0059] Measurement configuration information indicates at least one pair of threshold values, wherein each pair of at least one pair of threshold values is associated with an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement, an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement, or an intra frequency neighbor cell measurement and an inter frequency neighbor cell measurement. One threshold value in a pair of threshold values is a RSRP threshold value.); and
perform a measurement based on the information when a condition is met (¶ [0031] UE determines whether a condition for triggering a neighbor cell measurement for at least one neighbor cell is fulfilled based on measurement configuration information. In response to determining that the condition is fulfilled, the UE may trigger the neighbor cell measurement.),
wherein the condition includes that at least N consecutive out-of-sync subframes (read as “out-of-sync” indications) are detected by the terminal device (¶ [0071] The measurement configuration information may indicate a first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications. The first number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310.),
where N is an integer (¶ [0071] First number of consecutive “out-of-sync” indications may be N310 or may be any other numbers.); and
transmit, to the first network node, a message indicating that the terminal device selects the resource to perform the reestablishment, wherein the message includes an identifier of the terminal device and an identifier of the resource selected (¶ [0091] The UE may transmit an assistant message to a serving cell.; ¶ [0099] The UE may transmit the assistant message in response to the neighbor cell measurement is finished.; ¶ [00132] The BS may receive an assistant message. The assistance information may indicate at least one of the following: the UE will trigger the RRC connection re-establishment procedure; CGI of the target cell.; ¶ [00138] The assistant message is received via a RRC signaling or via a media access control (MAC) control element (CE). A new logical identity (LGID) may be allocated to the MAC CE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce latency and signaling overhead, which would improve user satisfaction, by utilizing the measurement based resource selection and the CP relocation procedure that rely on standard RRC and MAC control signaling (Shi: ¶¶ [0001-0004]).
Claims 3-4, 20-21, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Zhao further in view of Shi and Johansson et al. (US 2013/0183974 A1; hereinafter Johansson).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches wherein the information further comprises:
at least one carrier frequency ((¶ [0087] The measurement configuration information may include the following information.; ¶ [0088] The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object or an inter-frequency measurement object.);
system information of the at least one cell (read as serving cell) (Fig. 11, step S1110 serving cell sends measurement configuration to UE; ¶ [0136] Referring to Fig. 11, in step S1110, upon receiving the measurement configuration through system information.); or
any combination thereof (MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Lee does not explicitly teach at least one identifier of at least one cell.
In analogous art, Johansson teaches at least one identifier of at least one cell (¶ [0049] eNB can broadcast a set of parameters for cell selection. A set of physical-cell ID (PCI) ranging can be attached to the configuration. PCI range refers to a list of cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an identifier of a cell taught by Johansson with the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shorten outage time and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by utilizing an explicit cell identifier, the receiving node can map the signal to the correct cell (Johansson: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the at least one carrier frequency comprises an intra-frequency carrier frequency or an inter-frequency carrier frequency (¶ [0088] The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object and an inter-frequency measurement object.).
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches wherein the information further comprises:
at least one carrier frequency ((¶ [0087] The measurement configuration information may include the following information.; ¶ [0088] The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object or an inter-frequency measurement object.);
system information of the at least one cell (read as serving cell) (Fig. 11, step S1110 serving cell sends measurement configuration to UE; ¶ [0136] Referring to Fig. 11, in step S1110, upon receiving the measurement configuration through system information.); or
any combination thereof (MPEP 2143.03: When a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).).
Lee does not explicitly teach at least one identifier of at least one cell.
In analogous art, Johansson teaches at least one identifier of at least one cell (¶ [0049] eNB can broadcast a set of parameters for cell selection. A set of physical-cell ID (PCI) ranging can be attached to the configuration. PCI range refers to a list of cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an identifier of a cell taught by Johansson with the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shorten outage time and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by utilizing an explicit cell identifier, the receiving node can map the signal to the correct cell (Johansson: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 21, Lee teaches wherein the at least one carrier frequency comprises an intra-frequency carrier frequency or an inter-frequency carrier frequency (¶ [0088] The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object and an inter-frequency measurement object.).
Regarding claim 25, Lee does not explicitly teach further comprising: transmitting, to a third network node, a message indicating that the terminal device selects a resource to perform the reestablishment.
In analogous art, Johansson teaches further comprising: transmitting, to a third network node (read as MME), a message indicating that the terminal device selects a resource to perform the reestablishment (read as NAS service request via S1 interface) (¶ [0058] The UE performs cell selection. The UE transmits an RRC reestablishment request message to the target eNB. eNB inquires the UE context information by forwarding the NAS service request to the MME via S1 interface.; ¶ [0067] The base station inquires UE context from an MME upon receiving the NAS service request.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an identifier of a cell taught by Johansson with the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shorten outage time and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by utilizing an explicit cell identifier, the receiving node can map the signal to the correct cell (Johansson: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Lee does not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from the third network node, an acknowledge or a non-acknowledge about whether the terminal device is granted to use the selected resource for the reestablishment.
In analogous art, Johansson teaches further comprising:
receiving, from the third network node (read as MME), an acknowledge or a non-acknowledge (read as MME does not send the UE context information) about whether the terminal device (read as UE) is granted to use the selected resource for the reestablishment (¶ [0058] eNB inquires the UE context information by forwarding the NAS service request to the MME via S1 interface. The eNB sends an RRC reestablishment message to the UE because eNB has not received the UE context information yet.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an identifier of a cell taught by Johansson with the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi with a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shorten outage time and improve reliability, which increases user satisfaction, by utilizing an explicit cell identifier, the receiving node can map the signal to the correct cell (Johansson: ¶¶ [0005-0007]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view Zhao further in view Shi, Johansson, and Park et al. (US 2020/0229058 A1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 22, Lee and Johansson do not explicitly teach further comprising: receiving, from a second network node, the source cell RSRP threshold.
In analogous art, Park teaches further comprising: receiving, from a second network node, the source cell RSRP threshold (Fig. 15, illustrates gNB1 receiving from gNB2 mobility parameters; ¶ [0260] Mobility parameters for a wireless handover from a second cell served by the second base station to a first cell served by the first base station. The one or more mobility parameters may comprise a handover offset value (e.g., for a received power handover threshold and the like). The second base station may initiate a handover of a wireless device base on the mobility parameters and/or a measurement report. The measurement report may comprise a reference signal received power (RSRP).; ¶ [0266] The first base station may make a decision of the handover at least based on a reference signal received power (RSRP).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine receiving the source cell RSVP threshold taught by Park with an identifier of a cell taught by Johansson, the selection of the resource to perform reestablishment using information taught by Shi, a control plane (CP) relocation indication procedure taught by Zhao, and sending by a base station and receiving by a terminal information for connection reestablishment as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so in order to shorten outage time and improving robustness, which increases user satisfaction, by making a fast reestablishment selection based on source cell RSRP (Park: ¶¶ [0253]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong et al. (US 2019/0357109 A1) discloses “Method for Performing Mobility Process of NB-IoT Terminal, and Apparatus Therefor”
Tenny et al. (US 2010/0124172 A1) discloses “Declaring Radio Link Failure Based on Target-Specific Threshold”
Turakhia et al. (US 2016/0112924 A1) discloses “Early Radio Link (RLF) Declaration”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464