DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action of the instant application 18/008,070
(hereinafter the ‘070 application) filed on 12/2/2022, responsive to the amendment and arguments of 4/7/2026. The ‘070 application claims priority under 35 U.S.C. § 371 to PCT EP2021/064938 filed 6/03/2021, as well as to UNITED KINGDOM GB2008354.9 (6/03/2020) EP20194498.0 (09/04/2020) UNITED KINGDOM GB2105836.7 (04/23/2021) UNITED KINGDOM GB2107876.1 (06/02/2021). A certified copy of each has been received and placed on the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Adaptive Stress Testing for Autonomous Vehicles” by Mark Koren et al., hereinafter Koren and Siddiqui et al., Publication No. 2020/0353943, hereinafter Si, as per claim 1 above, in further view of Chan et al., Patent No. 12,013,693, hereinafter Chan.
With regard to claim 1, which teaches “A computer-implemented method of evaluating the performance of a full or partial autonomous vehicle (AV) stack in simulation, the method comprising:”
Koren teaches The performance is evaluated in simulation, see e.g. page 1898, column 2, paragraph 1: "We present a simulation framework for autonomous vehicles that interfaces with our AST implementation." Here AST refers to adaptive stress testing. See also figure 2.
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “applying an optimization algorithm to a numerical performance function defined over a scenario space,”
Koren applies deep reinforcement learning to find most-likely failure scenarios, see page 1898, column 1, paragraph 3: "Adaptive stress testing (AST) has been proposed as a practical approach to finding most-likely failure scenarios by using a Markov decision process (MDP) formulation." "This paper also proposes deep reinforcement learning (DRL) as an alternative solver for AST." Deep reinforcement learning is an optimization algorithm that optimizes a numerical performance function, see page 1898, column 2, paragraph 4: "The goal of an agent is to find a policy that specifies the action at [...] each state to maximize the expected utility." The utility corresponds to the numerical performance function and is defined over the state S, which represents the scenario space, see equation (1).
Si teaches a method and system for using a driving scenario machine learning network and proving a simulated driving environment in which a user can evaluate the performance / scores of different scenarios to determine which require further evaluation (see paragraphs 3). Si specifically teaches scenario classification where certain driving scenarios are identified as interesting / exceptional as a collision or near collision was identified due to interaction with outside agents (see paragraphs 76-79).
Si further supplements here by noting optimization through training machine learning network through a reinforcement learning method (similar to DRL in Koren), by processing the driving scenario data (including object trajectories) and goals by running “an iterative learning simulation until the goals are achieved or until the dynamic objects crash into one another. After the iterative learning simulation process is performed…the system 100 evaluates trajectories, and scores the trajectories based on a predetermined criteria” (see Si paragraph 64).
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “wherein the numerical performance function quantifies the extent of success or failure of the AV stack as a numerical score,”
In Koren the utility is used to find most-likely failure scenarios. It corresponds to the discounted sum of the reward, which is defined in equation (4). The reward is zero if the state is in the set E and negative elsewhere. The set E encodes the set of states of failure, see page 1899, column 1, paragraph 4: "The inputs to the problem are the pair (S, E), where S is a generative simulator that is treated as a black box and E is a subset of the state space where the event of interest (e.g. a collision) occurs." Hence, the numerical performance function quantifies the extent of success or failure of the AV stack as a numerical score.
Further see Si supra.
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “and the optimization algorithm searches the scenario space for a driving scenario in which the extent of failure of the AV stack is substantially maximized;”
Koren teaches on Page 1898, column 2, paragraph 4: "The goal of an agent is to find a policy that specifies the action at [...] each state to maximize the expected utility."
Further see Si supra.
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “wherein the optimization algorithm evaluates multiple driving scenarios in the search space over multiple iterations,”
Koren teaches Reinforcement learning iteratively which updates its policy by evaluating multiple driving scenarios in the search space over multiple iterations, see page 1899, column 2, paragraph 3: "We start with the solver, which samples environment actions and passes them to the simulator through the control functions INITIALIZE, STEP, and ISTERMINAL. The simulator applies these actions, updates its internal state, and outputs an indication whether an event in E occurred and the likelihood of the latest state transition. The reward function transforms the simulator outputs into a reward to be passed back to the solver. The solver completes the loop by using the reward to choose the next action."
See also figure 1.
Multiple driving scenarios are spanned by different number of pedestrians and initial conditions, see page 1900, column 2, paragraph 1: "We test with different numbers of pedestrians, as well as with different starting states."
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “by running a simulation of each driving scenario in a simulator, in order to provide perception inputs to the AV stack,”
Koren teaches an overview of the simulator which is used to run the simulation is shown in figure 2. It includes a sensor module to generate sensor data, sensing the pedestrians, see page 1900, column 1, paragraph 1: "The sensors receive the new participant states and output measurements augmented with the noise from the environment actions." The sensor data is provided to the autonomous vehicle stack, see figure 2.
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “and thereby generate at least one simulated agent trace and a simulated ego trace reflecting autonomous decisions taken in the AV stack in response to the simulated perception inputs,”
Koren teaches the evaluation of the reward in equation (4) is based on the position of the nearest pedestrian Pp and the position of the vehicle Pv. Since the reward is evaluated in every iteration, it is directly and unambiguously derivable that a simulated agent trace consisting of the sequences of pedestrian positions and a simulated ego trace consisting of the positions of the vehicle are generated. The positions of the autonomous vehicle are governed by the AV stack, in particular by Intelligent Driver Model which reacts to the pedestrians, see page 1901, column 2, paragraph 2: "The SUT is based on the Intelligent Driver Model [18]. [...] The IDM then tries to follow a safe distance behind the pedestrian based on their relative velocity" Hence, the simulated ego trace reflects the autonomous decisions taken in the AV stack in response to the simulated perception inputs.
Si further supplements here by specifically teaching the evaluation of “Ego” trajectories as compared over time with “Obj” trajectories or intended paths (see paragraphs 55-60).
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “wherein later iterations of the multiple iterations are guided by the results of previous iterations of the multiple iterations,”
Koren teaches the policies which are applied in the later iterations depend on the previous iterations. Hence, the later iterations of the multiple iterations are considered to be guided by the results of the previous iterations of the multiple iterations.
Si further supplements here by specifically teaching the above noted iterative process of using previous results in future iterations to improve optimization (see paragraphs 64 and 68-70).
With regard to claim 1, additionally teaching “with the objective of finding the driving scenario for which the extent of failure of the AV stack is maximized”,
Koren applies deep reinforcement learning to find most-likely failure scenarios, see page 1898, column 1, paragraph 3: "Adaptive stress testing (AST) has been proposed as a practical approach to finding most-likely failure scenarios by using a Markov decision process (MDP) formulation." and "This paper also proposes deep reinforcement learning (DRL) as an alternative solver for AST."
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Si with that of Koren as both pieces of art exist in the same art space and are aiming to help the same problem by using machine learning to evaluate autonomous deriving scenarios and further identifying unique scenarios more critical to evaluation and improvement of the autonomous (semi-autonomous) system.
With regard to claim 1, which further teaches “wherein the later iterations are guided by the earlier iterations, in combination with a predetermined acceptable failure model, with the objective of finding a driving scenario for which (i) the extent of failure is maximized and (ii) failure is unacceptable according to the acceptable failure model, wherein any driving scenario having (iii) a greater extent of failure but (iv) on which failure is acceptable according to the acceptable failure model is excluded from the search”, Chan teaches a system for simulation of scenarios of an autonomous or semiautonomous vehicle (see column 5, lines 10-20 and column 15, lines 26-48), similar to that of Koren and Si, but further specifically teaches making a determination that in some scenarios accidents are unavoidable, that is a reasonably skilled human would not have been able to avoid the accident given maximum acceleration/deceleration, steering rates, environmental data, etc. (see column 16, lines 22-35). Chan gives examples of this unavoidable scenarios such as a blowout of a tire of an adjacent vehicle, swerving of another vehicle into the autonomous vehicle from very close, etc. When these scenarios are identified and failure is imminent, these scenarios are removed from further evaluation to preserve resources for other manageable action decision that can be mitigated (see column 17, lines 1-18).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to combine the teaching of Chan with that of Koren and Si as each of the pieces of art exist in the same art space and are aiming to solve the same problem by using machine learning to evaluate autonomous deriving scenarios and further identifying unique scenarios more critical to evaluation and improvement of the autonomous (semi-autonomous) system.
With regard to claims 3 and 19, which teach “wherein the acceptable failure model is applied to the simulated ego trace and the simulated agent trace of at least generated in at least one of the driving scenarios, in order to determine whether failure on that driving scenario is acceptable or unacceptable”, (see claim 2 supra, rejection equally applicable here). Further the traces defined and outlined above are scenarios that are evaluated (at least initially) to see if they correspond to a special / unique designation and dealt with accordingly (given more attention if preventable / given less attention to relieve processing usage if unpreventable).
With regard to claims 4 and 20, which teach “wherein the scenario space is defined by one or more scenario parameters, and the acceptable failure model excludes, from the search, predetermined values or combinations of values of the one or more scenario parameters”, (see claim 2 supra, rejection equally applicable here). When these scenarios are identified and failure is imminent, these scenarios are removed from further evaluation to preserve resources for other manageable action decision that can be mitigated (see column 17, lines 1-18).
With regard to claim 5, which teaches “wherein a constrained optimization method is used with the objective of finding a driving scenario fulfilling (i) and (ii), wherein (ii) is formulated as a set of one or more hard and/or soft constraints on the constrained optimization of (i) ”, Si teaches constraints in its determination of maximum failure states such as “likelihood of the final collision” and “number of calls to the step function”, each of with weigh in on the determination (see page 1901 paragraph 4 through page 1902 paragraph 1).
With regard to claim 6, which teaches “wherein the acceptable failure model comprises one or more statistics derived from real-world driving data, which are compared with corresponding statistic(s) of a driving scenario, in order to determine whether or not failure on that driving scenario is acceptable”, Chan further teaches making the determination that in some scenarios accidents are unavoidable, being based on statistics of if a reasonably skilled human would have been able to avoid the accident given maximum acceleration/deceleration, steering rates, environmental data, etc. (see column 16, lines 22-35).
With regard to claim 7, which teaches “wherein the acceptable failure model comprises one or more acceptable failure rules applied to one or more blame assessment parameters extracted from the simulated traces”, (see claim 2 supra, rejection equally applicable here). Where it is determined that a reasonably skilled human would not have been able to avoid the accident given maximum acceleration/deceleration, steering rates, environmental data, etc. (see column 16, lines 22-35), given the collision condition (adjacent vehicle swerve into vehicle when near, blown tire, etc.).
With regard to claim 9, which teaches “wherein a gradient-based constrained optimization method is used with the objective of finding a driving scenario fulfilling (i) and (ii), wherein (ii) is formulated as a set of one or more hard and/or soft constraints on the constrained optimization of (i), wherein each iteration computes a gradient of the performance function and the later iterations are guided by the gradients computed in the earlier iterations”, (see claim 2 supra, rejection equally applicable here). Koren teaches optimization being gradient based for each batch where later iteration rely on the gradients computed in previous iterations (see page 1899, paragraphs 2-3).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected for similar reason to claim 1, as the references provide or both a system and medium for storing and processing the above noted method.
With regard to claim 8, which teaches “wherein the optimization algorithm is gradient-based, wherein each iteration computes a gradient of the performance function and the later iterations are guided by the gradients computed in the earlier iterations”, Koren teaches optimization being gradient based where later iteration rely on the gradients computed in earlier iterations (see page 1899, paragraphs 2-3).
With regard to claim 10, which teaches “wherein the gradient of the performance function is estimated numerically in each iteration”, Koren teaches optimization being gradient based for each batch where later iteration rely on the gradients computed in previous iterations (see page 1899, paragraphs 2-3).
With regard to claim 11, which teaches “wherein each scenario in the scenario space is defined by a set of scenario description parameters to be inputted to the simulator, the simulated ego trace dependent on the scenario description parameters and the autonomous decisions taken in the AV stack”, Koren teaches the scenario being defined as a set of scenario parameters input into the simulator as for example velocity of the ith pedestrian, position of the ith pedestrian, ith pedestrian’s acceleration, etc. (see pages 1900-1901).
With regard to claim 12, which teaches “wherein the performance function is an aggregation of multiple time-dependent numerical performance metrics used to evaluate the performance of the AV stack, the time-dependent numerical performance metrics selected in dependence on environmental information encoded in the description parameters or generated in the simulator”, Koren teaches the scenario being a time dependent numerical performance metric evaluating the velocity and position at particular time (see page 1899, paragraph 4). Si further appreciates the position over time consideration in its ego trace and object trace (see paragraphs 55-60).
With regard to claim 13, which teaches “wherein the numerical performance function is defined over a continuous numerical range”, Koren evaluates performance over a continuous numerical range (see page 1901, paragraph 3). This would be expected with system such as that in Koren and Si as scenarios with unique situation are given more attention and consideration. These situation are often related to others locally but also distinct from other different specific situations. Further see paragraph 99 of Si which includes an example performance score formula.
With regard to claim 14, which teaches “wherein the numerical performance function is a discontinuous function over the whole of scenario space, but locally continuous over localized regions of the scenario space, wherein the method comprises checking that each of the multiple scenarios is within a common one of the localized regions”, Koren evaluates performance in a discontinuous manner though continuous over localized numerical ranges (see page 1901, paragraph 3). This would be expected with system such as that in Koren and Si as scenarios with unique situation are given more attention and consideration. These situation are often related to others locally but also distinct from other different specific situations. Further see paragraph 99 of Si which includes an example performance score formula.
With regard to claim 15, which teaches “wherein the numerical performance function is based on at least one of: distance between an ego agent and another agent, distance between an ego agent and an environmental element, comfort assessed in terms of acceleration along the ego trace, or a first or higher order time derivative of acceleration, progress”, Koren further bases its performance of scenarios on evaluated distance between the SUT and the nearest pedestrian (see page 1901 paragraph 2). Si teaches a threshold distance in which close proximity is identified between objects identifying a near collision state (see paragraphs 92 and 99).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koren teaches away from the combination.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that yes, Koren is tasked with finding the most likely failure scenarios, where the end result is finding likely fail scenarios without the need for road testing scenarios, so as develop safer autonomous vehicles. Chan finds the ways in which autonomous driving can be improved by analyzing past data but has the added advantage of being able to determine which evaluated situation are avoidable, that is the system capable of making changes so the failure doesn’t occur, and further what situations are unavoidable failures, that is situation where there is not avoiding the failure via changes to the autonomous driving system, in the real world environment. Surely given a situation that no amount of simulation and testing can avoid (a blowout of a tire of an adjacent vehicle, swerving of another vehicle into the autonomous vehicle from very close, etc.) should not be taking up processing resources of the Koren, or any other system, when the end result is the same as without the further evaluation. Therefor Koren / Siddiqui would benefit from the combination and it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the combation.
Applicant argues that “Chan's description of discontinuing analysis of a scenario when the scenario is classified as "unavoidable" is entirely unrelated to excluding such unavoidable scenarios from the scope of a search for high-likelihood failure trajectories. Nothing in any of the cited references even remotely suggests that trajectories corresponding to unavoidable scenarios (the scenarios for which Chan discontinues processing) are not high-likelihood failure trajectories (the trajectories for which Koren is searching).”
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that the scenarios in Chen are described as vehicle paths. Here Chen explicitly describes when an scenarios results in a disengagement which is unavoidable, the system discontinues component verification processing for the current event, to there by allow “processing resources may be reserved for other tasks” (see 17:8-18). This further processing in the combination would include the continued evaluation of the scenario in determining high-likelihood failure trajectories. Thereby allowing the combination to save processing resources in later evaluation / comparison of scenarios in Chen.
Applicant argues that “nothing in the references suggests that this exclusion would have been selectively applied to some trajectories corresponding to unavoidable scenarios but not to other trajectories corresponding to unavoidable scenarios. Thus, no combination of the references would have disclosed "wherein the optimization algorithm evaluates multiple driving scenarios in the search space wherein any driving scenario having (iii) a greater extent of failure but (iv) on which failure is acceptable according to the acceptable failure model is excluded from the search," as recited in claim 1 (emphasis added).”
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits that surely one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the combination to allow Koren / Siddiqui to continue as described therein, but only further provide the benefit of being able to exclude/ignore situation where the failure would be unavoidable as is done in Chan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS G BONSHOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992