DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 11/26/2025 claims 21-40 are pending. Independent claims 21 and 37 have been amended to incorporate new limitations not previously presented and/or correct claim objections raised in the Office Action dated 09/25/2025. Claims 23-24, 31-32, 36, and 39-40 have been amended for antecedent basis purposes and/or to cancel limitations.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 11/26/2025, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 21 and 37 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made below in view of a newly cited prior art reference in combination with previously cited prior art references.
The applicant argues in pages 11-15 of the Remarks dated 11/26/2025 that the 35 U.S.C. 101 Rejections should be withdrawn since claims 21-40 are directed towards a practical application. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to the independent claims 21 and 37, the charging limitation is more than an abstract idea, but it is just a field of use limitation. Obtaining prediction information (e.g., real time or historical) is just data gathering necessary for the abstract limitation of feature extraction. Performing feature extraction is directed to abstract mental steps, a person can review the data extra info from it; also this is mathematical because it could be splicing eigenvectors, see ¶[134-150] of the applicant’s specification. Processing with an AI model is an abstract idea since the AI model are considered off the shelf mathematical models, see ¶[76-77] of the applicant’s specification. Determining a charge policy is mental since it is looking at the data and deciding what to do. Performing a second charging according to the charge policy is equivalent of “apply it” after the abstract mental steps.
Therefore, the amended limitations for claims 21 and 37 are not directed towards a practical application. However, claims 25 and 35 present practical applications which would not fall under the 35 U.S.C. 101 Rejection category. Claims 25 and 35 present a real world step of stopping the charging and starting the charging at the control time. Claims 21-24, 26-34, and 36-40 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 per below.
The remaining arguments are moot as the applicant’s arguments for the remaining claims were based on dependency of the independent claims.
The claim objection is withdrawn due to the amendments, however, a new set of claim objections is made below due to the amendments made by the applicant.
This Office Action is made Final due to the amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 21 and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 21 add --first-- before “electronic” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
In line 7 of claim 37 add --first-- before “electronic” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, these limitations will be interpreted as “the first electronic device”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-24, 26-34, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 21 is directed towards a method and claim 37 is directed towards an apparatus, as identified in Step 1.
The claims recite decision-making steps which are considered exceptions because the limitations fall under mental process groupings of the abstract ideas which may be performed mentally by an individual, as identified in Step 2A Prong One.
The limitations that are considered exceptions are the following: “starting, a first charging of a battery coupled to the electronic device; obtaining, during the first charging, charging behavior prediction information, wherein the charging behavior prediction information comprises real-time information or historical storage information of the first electronic device or a user of the first electronic device; performing feature extraction or feature fusion processing on the charging behavior prediction information to obtain one or more features; processing, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, the one or more features to obtain first charging behavior information, wherein the AI model comprises a deep learning (DL) model, an artificial neural network (NN) model, or a machine learning (ML) model; determining a charging control policy based on the first charging behavior information; and performing a second charging according to the charging control policy.”
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the combination of the abstract idea with a first electronic device [generic], a memory [generic], and a processor [generic] with insignificant, extra-solution activities of decision-making steps does not make it practical, as identified in Step 2A Prong Two.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the first electronic device, the memory, and the processor are used for decision-making of the abstract ideas with no additional practical use added as a limitation, as identified in Step 2B.
Dependent claims 22-24, 26-34, 36, and 38-40 are rejected because they only further the abstract idea without additional practical use or significant structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-29, 31-35, and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (USPGPN 20190229547) and further in view of Owen et al. (USPGPN 20200303938).
With respect to independent claims 21 and 37, Lim teaches a charging management method, implemented by a first electronic device (Figs. 1-10; a charging management method, implemented by a first electronic device 101).
Lim teaches one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media configured to store program instructions (Fig. 1; a memory 130 configured to store program instructions 140).
Lim teaches a processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media and configured to execute the program instructions (Fig. 1; a processor 120 coupled to the memory 130 and configured to execute the program instructions 140).
Lim teaches starting a first charging of a battery coupled to the electronic device (¶ [50]; charge the battery 189 in a first designated mode in the first charge section).
Lim teaches processing first charging behavior information (¶ [59]; situation information related to the electronic device 101 including use pattern of the electronic device 100, schedule information of a user stored in the electronic device 101 or an external electronic device, surrounding environment information).
Lim teaches determining a charging control policy based on the first charging behavior information (Figs. 3A-3B; a designated mode of charging is determined based on the situation information).
Lim teaches performing a second charging according to the charging control policy (¶ [50]; charge the battery 189 in a second designated mode in the second charge section. One of ordinary skill understands the designated mode is part of the charging control policy).
However, Lim fails to explicitly teach perform feature extraction or feature fusion processing on the charging behavior prediction information to obtain one or more features; processing, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, the one or more features, wherein the AI model comprises a deep learning (DL) model, an artificial neural network (NN) model, or a machine learning (ML) model.
Owen teaches perform feature extraction or feature fusion processing on the charging behavior prediction information to obtain one or more features and processing, using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, the one or more features, wherein the AI model comprises a deep learning (DL) model, an artificial neural network (NN) model, or a machine learning (ML) model (¶[22-23]; data is processed by an ML-based AI model to forecast normal and deviating battery needs. One of ordinary skill understands the ML technique requires feature extraction to obtain features from the raw signals (e.g., calendar entries, GPS data, battery metrics, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to have adapted Owen’s AI model to Lim’s charging management system in order to obtain features for a ML based algorithm. The advantage to this being this approach provides a seamless adaptation of the battery usage to the user, requiring no action from the user to change how they use their device/battery to improve the battery lifetime and health (see ¶[57] of Owen).
With respect to dependent claims 22 and 38, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 21 and 37, respectively.
First, the examiner notes a first charging behavior prediction information may include information obtained from real-time charging data, historical charging data or sensor data of the first electronic device (i.e., mobile phone 100) as supported by the applicant in ¶ [90-95] of the specification. For examination purposes a first charging behavior prediction information will be interpreted as containing but not limited to only the real-time charging, historical charging, or sensor data collected from a portable computing device.
Second, the examiner notes a second charging behavior prediction information “may include sleep state information of the user, sleep time information of the user, vital sign information of the user, exercise information of the user, interaction status information between the mobile phone 100 and a smart speaker 230, and the like that are collected by a band 210 and a watch 220” as supported by the applicant in ¶ [97] of the specification. For examination purposes a second charging behavior prediction information will be interpreted as the biometric data of an individual collected from a second electronic device which is shared with the portable computing device.
Further, Lim teaches wherein determining the first charging behavior information comprises further determining the first charging behavior information based on first charging behavior prediction information from the first electronic device and second charging behavior prediction information from a second electronic device other than the first electronic device (¶ [67-70]; the situation information related to the electronic device 101 and the situation information of an electronic device 102/104 other than the first electronic device 101 as illustrated in Fig. 1).
With respect to dependent claims 23 and 39, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 22 and 38, respectively. Further, Lim teaches wherein each of the first charging behavior prediction information and the second charging behavior prediction information comprises one or more of sleep state information of the user; sleep time information of the user; exercise information of the user; vital sign information of the user; interaction status information between the first electronic device and the second electronic device; charging information of the first electronic device; sensor information of the first electronic device; a charging date of the first electronic device; a predetermined event on the first electronic device; a charging location of the first electronic device; charging information of the second electronic device; sensor information of the second electronic device; a charging date of the second electronic device; a predetermined event on the second electronic device; or a charging location of the second electronic device (¶ [67-71] list one or more of the situation information: user’s use pattern, user’s sleep pattern, user’s daily routines, user’s schedule stored in an external electronic device 102, information on the location based on GPS sensor or illumination levels around the electronic device 101 using an illumination sensor. One of ordinary skill understands these are non-limiting examples because electronic device 101 comprises additional modules which may be used for behavior information as taught in the disclosure of Lim).
With respect to dependent claims 24 and 40, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 23 and 39, respectively. Further, Lim teaches wherein each of the charging information of the first electronic device and the charging information of the second electronic device comprises one or more of an initial charging time of the first electronic device; an initial state of charge of the first electronic device; a charging duration of the first electronic device; an end state of charge of the first electronic device; an initial charging time of the second electronic device; an initial state of charge of the second electronic device; a charging duration of the second electronic device; or an end state of charge of the second electronic device (¶ [64-77] teaches one or more of the charging information including a charge start time, a charge end time, and a charge stop time).
With respect to claim 25, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 21. Further, Lim teaches wherein determining the charging control policy comprises determining a control intervention start time of the first electronic device and a control end time of the first electronic device based on the first charging behavior information (¶ [79]; a charge stop section is understood by one of ordinary skill to comprise a start time and an end time).
Lim teaches wherein performing the second charging comprises stopping the first charging at the control intervention start time and starting the second charging at the control end time (¶ [79]; the start time of the charge stop section is when charging of the electronic device 101 at a first charge section is stopped and the end time of the charge stop section is when charging of the electronic device 101 at a second charge section is started).
With respect to claim 26, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 25. Further, Lim teaches wherein the first charging behavior information comprises any one of an unplug time of the first electronic device; the unplug time and a battery power of the first electronic device when the first electronic device is unplugged; the control intervention start time and the control end time; or the control intervention start time, the control end time, and the unplug time (Fig. 4; charge stop time 412 (i.e., control intervention start time), the recharge start time 413 (i.e., the control end time), and the charge end time 415 (i.e., the unplug time). One of ordinary skill understands the charge end time 415 is when the device is unplugged).
With respect to claim 27, Lim taches the invention as discussed above in claim 21. Further, Lim teaches further comprising further performing the second charging according to the charging control policy when determining to perform a charging control (Fig. 4; a second charge section 443 is performed according to the designated mode of charging as determined in Figs. 3A-3B which one of ordinary skill understands is a charging control).
With respect to claim 28, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 27. Further, Lim teaches further comprising determining to perform the charging control when a preset charging control condition is met, wherein the preset charging control condition comprises one or more of a first power condition of the first electronic device; a charging time condition of the first electronic device; a charging location condition of the first electronic device; a connection status condition between the first electronic device and a power supply; a second power condition of a third electronic device that supplies power to the first electronic device; or a user status condition (Fig. 3A-3B; one of ordinary skill understands charging control is performed when a preset charging control condition is met comprising the charging information including the charge start time, the charge end time, the charge stop time, and the situation information which includes the user’s use pattern, the user’s sleep pattern, the user’s daily routines, the user’s schedule stored in an external electronic device 102, the information on the location based on the GPS sensor or the illumination levels around the electronic device 101 using the illumination sensor. Further, one of ordinary skill understands that the situation information presented in ¶ [67-71] are non-limiting examples because electronic device 101 comprises additional modules as illustrated in Fig. 1 may be used for behavior information as taught in the disclosure of Lim).
With respect to claim 29, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 27. Further, Lim teaches further determining to perform the charging control when a preset charging control condition is met, wherein the preset charging control condition comprises when a battery power of the first electronic device reaches a preset charging control threshold and a user status is a preset control state (In ¶ [84] one of ordinary skill understands a battery power of the first electronic device reaches a preset charging control threshold when transitioning to the second designated mode of charging. Also, the situation information which includes a user’s use pattern as taught in ¶ [68] is understood by one of ordinary skill to be a user status and a preset control state. Thus, one of ordinary skill understands that charging control is performed when these preset charging conditions are met and as illustrated by Figs. 3A-3B).
With respect to claim 31, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 21. Further, Lim teaches displaying a charging management enabling control on an interface of the first electronic device (Fig. 9; a pop-up window 910 is provided to the user so that the user can select one of a normal charge mode 911 or a battery long-lifespan mode 912 (i.e., a charging management enabling control)).
Lim teaches obtaining charging behavior prediction information during charging when detecting an enable operation performed by the user on the charging management enabling control (Fig. 9; ¶ [136]; the situation information obtained during charging is obtained when an enable operation is performed by a user of a battery long-lifespan mode 912).
Lim teaches skipping obtaining the charging behavior prediction information during charging when detecting a disable operation performed by the user on the charging management enabling control (Fig. 9; ¶ [135]; the situation information is not obtained when a user selects normal charge mode 911. One of ordinary skill understands a disable operation is performed by the user on the charging management enabling control).
With respect to claim 32, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 21. Further, Lim teaches further comprising displaying prompt information reminding the user that charging control has been performed (Fig. 10; ¶ [138]; notifying information is displayed reminding a user that battery long-lifespan mode is being performed).
With respect to claim 33, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 21. Further, Lim teaches determining second charging behavior information; and when the second charging behavior information is different from the first charging behavior information: determining a new charging control policy; and performing a charging control according to the new charging control policy (¶ [146]; the methods taught may be performed “sequentially, in parallel, repeatedly, or heuristically, or one or more of the operations may be executed in a different order or omitted, or one or more other operations may be added” therefore one of ordinary skill understands a second situation information may be determined and when the second situation information is different from the first situation information a new designated mode of charging is determined and a method of charging control is performed according to that new designated mode of charging).
With respect to claim 34, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 33. First, the examiner notes a preset determining period is a period of time such as 30 min, 35 min, or the like as supported by the applicant in ¶ [181] of the disclosure. For examination purposes a preset determining period will be interpreted as a period of time after a run of the method for redetermination purposes.
Further, Lim teaches wherein determining the second charging behavior information comprises: determining the second charging behavior information based on a determining period (¶ [146]; it is understood by one of ordinary skill that the program may execute after a period of time to redetermine the situation information).
Lim discloses the claimed invention except for a preset time period. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a preset time period before executing the program again, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
With respect to claim 35, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 34. Further, Lim teaches further comprising stopping determining the second charging behavior information when the first electronic device is unplugged or a battery power of the first electronic device reaches a preset control stop threshold (Fig. 4; the process stops obtaining situation information when it reaches the end at full charge time 414 through charge end time 415).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Owen, and further in view of Noh et al. (USPGPN 20150048803).
With respect to claim 30, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 29. Further, Lim teaches wherein the preset control state comprises the user status is a sleep state (¶ [68]; the user’s sleep pattern is considered as part of the situation information considered in Figs. 3A-3B for determining if a preset charging control condition is met).
However, Lim fails to explicitly teach the user status is a light sleep state; the user status is a deep sleep state; or a sleep duration reaches a preset sleep duration threshold.
Noh teaches the user status is a light sleep state; the user status is a deep sleep state; or a sleep duration reaches a preset sleep duration threshold (¶ [121-124]; a user’s sleep start time and a user’s sleep end time are a preset sleep duration threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Lim’s user status sleep state by adding Noh’s preset sleep duration threshold, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Owen, and further in view of Bell et al. (USPGPN 20160013678).
With respect to claim 36, Lim teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 21.
First, the examiner notes prompt information is information that charging has been performed as supported by the applicant in ¶ [29] of the specification. Further, device information includes information of another electronic device capable of interacting with the electronic device as supported by the applicant in ¶ [33] of the specification. For examination purposes prompt information will be interpreted as charging information of a secondary electronic device being displayed on the primary electronic device and device information will be interpreted as information that establishes a connection between the primary electronic device and a third electronic device.
Further, Lim teaches receiving a selection from a user to interact with the first electronic device (¶ [31]; a display device 160 visually provides information about the first electronic device 101 with touch screen capabilities enabling a user to make selections to interact with the first electronic device 101).
Lim teaches a display and an interface (Fig. 1; a display device 160 and an interface 177).
Lim teaches a second electronic device and a third electronic device capable of interacting with the first electronic device (Fig. 1; a second electronic device 102 and a third electronic device 104 capable of interacting with the first electronic device 101).
However, Lim fails to explicitly each displaying, on an interface of the first electronic device, prompt information of a second electronic device that is selected by the user to interact with the first electronic device; displaying device information comprising a third electronic device capable of interacting with the first electronic device when detecting a first trigger operation performed by the user on the prompt information; and enabling interaction with the third electronic device when receiving a second trigger operation performed by the user on the device information.
Bell teaches displaying, on an interface of the first electronic device, prompt information of a second electronic device that is selected by the user to interact with the first electronic device (Fig. 5; displaying on a wireless power charging UI 500 of the computing device 534 prompt information of a secondary device that is selected by the user to interact with the computing device 534).
Bell teaches displaying device information comprising a third electronic device capable of interacting with the first electronic device when detecting a first trigger operation performed by the user on the prompt information and enabling interaction with the third electronic device when receiving a second trigger operation performed by the user on the device information (Fig. 5; displaying device information comprising a third device capable of interacting with the computing device 534 and enabled to interact with the computing device 534. ¶ [59-62] teach that a user may select a client device (a GUI representative of the actual physical device) and click and drag a client device to enable interaction in the form of charging display thus one of ordinary skill understands these to be a first and second trigger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Lim’s user interface with Bell’s user interface selection method of external devices for charging information display and interaction, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859