DETAILED ACTION
Examiner cites particular columns or paragraphs, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In reply to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 1/12/2026, the applicant has filed a response on 5/12/2026, amending claims 1-2, 5, 8, 14 and 17. Claims 3, 10, 12 and 19 have been cancelled. No claim has been added. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 13-18 and 20-22 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a filter out visible light” in line 14, which appears to be “a filter filtering out visible light”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4-9, 11 and 21 are objected based on their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a filter out visible light” in line 15, which appears to be “a filter filtering out visible light”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13-18, 20 and 22 are objected based on their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7, 9, 11 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), and Shai (WO 2010/032223), and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses an electronic device (see Figs. 8, 11 and 17) comprising a display device (see active matrix display device provided with an area sensor in Figs. 8 and 11) and an input device (see pointer 293 in Fig. 11),
wherein the display device includes a display portion including a plurality of pixels (see display portion 21 including pixels 22, as shown in Fig. 8; para[0169]) ,
wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a light-receiving device configured to detect light (see photodiode 252 in Figs. 8, 9 and 11),
wherein the input device includes a light source (para[0220]; see 293 in Fig. 11 includes a light source (e.g. laser light source)),
wherein the input device is configured to emit light from the light source while being used to provide inputs (para[0220]; para[0280]; para[0284]; see Fig. 11 laser pointer 293 emits light from its laser light source such that “coordinate information can be input by pointing the display surface by… laser pointer 293”), and
wherein when the light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed (para[0208]; para[0220]; para[0280]-para[0284]; see Figs. 11 and 17A; “Here, light approaching a plane of the substrate on which the amplifier circuit and the nip photodiode are formed is received by the photodiode 252 and is converted into electrical signals”; “if the display device provided with an area sensor is used as a display device and also as an input device of a device capable of two-way communication, such as a computer or a cable television; coordinate information input to the photoelectric conversion element and coordinate information output to the display element can be associated” in order to execute changes and operations on what is displayed; “The television device having the display device provided with an area sensor can not only display images at high quality without unevenness, but also be used for two-way communication by utilizing an area sensor”; “By pointing to the display device provided with an area sensor with a laser pointer or the like which is mounted on the remote control and selecting displayed images, data can be input from a distance”).
However, Nakamura does not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer,
wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, wherein when the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed.
Kitchens discloses each of a plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels (para[0028]; para[0067]; see in Fig. 14T, each pixel 1,2 comprising display sub-pixels 18a-c corresponding to red, green and blue color sub-pixels, respectively, that is, “three sub-pixels (red, green and blue) of an LCD or OLED display pixel”, and an infrared sensor sub-pixel 20c adjacent to the blue sub-pixel 18c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s invention, with the teachings in Kitchens’ invention, to have each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels, for the advantage of realizing a multifunctional pixel that includes more components and functionality (para[0004]; para[0023]-para[0024]).
However, Nakamura and Kitchens do not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, wherein when the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed.
Paull discloses an input device includes a light source and a battery, the battery electrically connected to the light source (see pen 130 in Figs. 2-3 includes a rechargeable battery 165 electrically connected to “A light-emitting element 140, located proximate to the pen's tip”; column 1, lines 47-52; column 4, lines 35-44 and 50-63; column 5, lines 16-19; column 6, lines 11-15), wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source (“The LED 140 emits infrared light”; column 4, line 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s and Kitchens’ combination, with the teachings in Paull’s invention, to have the input device includes a light source and a battery, the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source, and as a consequence of the combination, when the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed, for the known advantage of e.g. suitable wireless cursor control, selection of options and navigation through windows and applications (column 1, lines 41-42 and 47-52).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens and Paull do not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance.
Kim discloses a display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap a display portion (para[0555]-para[0557]; para[0794]; para[0893]; para[1987]; regarding Figs. 2 and 47, see loop coil 264 disposed to correspond to the entire area of the touch screen 20 which comprises display panel 251 and touch sensor 261, wherein coil driver 263 applies a driving signal to the loop coil 264; “The loop coil 264 may… be composed of an antenna of a short-range communication module 212 such as RFID and NFC”, and “The driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency”; “the loop coil 264 may receive a driving signal from the coil driver 263 and transmit power to the outside”; “When the loop coil 264 generates a magnetic field by a driving signal…, the resonance circuit unit 12 of… stylus pens 10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e resonates using a signal received through a change in a magnetic field”; see also e.g., antenna loop 241 included in loop coil 264 as shown in Figs. 228-231), wherein an input device includes a battery and an antenna (para[0779]; para[0782]-para[0783]; para[0785]; para[0787]-para[0788]; para[0790]-para[0794]; see stylus pen 10 in Figs. 1 and 30(b)-30(e), including battery 14 (or 50) and resonance circuit unit 12 (claimed antenna)), wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery (para[0779]; para[0781]-para[0783]; para[0788]; para[0790]; para[0794]; para[0798]; para[0800]; para[0803]; see Figs. 2, 29-30 and 47; since “The loop coil 264 may… be composed of an antenna of a short-range communication module 212 such as RFID and NFC”, and “The driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency”, “When the loop coil 264 generates a magnetic field…, the resonance circuit unit 12 of the stylus pens 10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e resonates using a signal received through a change in a magnetic field and/or an electric field”; e.g., in the stylus pen 10b shown in Fig. 30b, “The resonant circuit unit 12 resonates using energy transferred from the loop coil 264, and the resonant energy is rectified in the rectifier 13 and can be used to charge the power storage 14”; “The power storage 14 includes a rechargeable battery or a capacitor such as an electric double layered capacitor (EDLC)”), and wherein the input device is configured to be used to provide inputs while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance (para[0356]-para[0358]; para[0798]; “power required for the use of the stylus pen can be delivered at the same time as the use of the stylus pen without separate wireless charging”; that is, the stylus pen can be used even when not charged in advance because it can be charged while being used; “The resonant circuit unit 12 resonates using energy transferred from the loop coil 264, and the resonant energy is rectified in the rectifier 13 and can be used to charge the power storage 14”, with the “advantage of being able to wirelessly charge the stylus pen in use”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’ and Paull’s combination, with the teachings in Kim’s invention, to have the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the input device includes a light source, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, for the advantage of wirelessly delivering power required for the use of the input device at the same time as the use of the input device without separate wireless charging, and in a faster way (para[0356]-para[0358]).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull and Kim do not appear to expressly disclose the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, and the input device includes a ring shaped housing, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use.
Shai discloses an input device includes a ring shaped housing, a battery and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use (see e.g. input device 610 in Fig. 6A, input device 2500 in Fig. 25F, or input device 2660 in Figs. 26D-26E, among many other ring shaped input devices through the disclosure of Shai; regarding e.g. Figs. 26D-26E, see “a finger wearing ring 2650 may be interacting with a touch-screen device” and includes communication unit 2668 which may be an antenna; the “several finger-worn devices described… may require a power-source (e.g. a battery) for supplying power to electric components of such devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s and Kim’s combination, with the teachings Shai’s in invention, to have the input device includes a ring shaped housing, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, for the advantage of a comfortable and visually attractive input device (page 116, third paragraph, of Shai).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim and Shai do not appear to expressly disclose the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer.
Kobayashi discloses a light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound (see light-receiving element 110 in Fig. 15A comprising active layer 113 over the second region of the first common layer 112; “The active layer 113 contains a first organic compound”; para[0087]; para[0141]; para[0146]; para[0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Kim’s and Shai’s combination, with the teachings in Kobayashi’s invention, to have the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, because an organic photodiode is easily made thin, lightweight, and large in area and has a high degree of freedom for shape and design; and because an organic compound is preferable such that the light-emitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer can be formed by the same method and thus a same manufacturing apparatus can be used (para[0076]; para[0227]).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai and Kobayashi do not appear to expressly disclose a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer.
Murai discloses a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping a light-receiving device (para[0093]-para[0094]; para[0098]-para[0100]; para[0102]; see visible light blocking filter 35 in Fig. 3(b), provided in a position overlapping, in a vertical direction, transistor 20d provided in the optical sensor circuit 20; “transistor 20d detects a received light amount”), a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device (para[0093]-para[0094]; see black matrix 34 in Fig. 3(b)), an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer (as shown in Fig. 3(b), and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, end portions of the visible light blocking filter 35 horizontally overlap the black matrix 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Kim’s, Shai’s and Kobayashi’s combination, with the teachings in Murai’s invention, to have a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, for the advantage of providing a configuration in which visible light components of external light are difficult to enter the light-receiving device, and as such, making possible to carry out a stable sensing operation under various circumstances without being adversely affected by external circumstances (such as external light intensity) (para[0100]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses a light-emitting device [e.g. the third in the combination] (light-emitting element 156 in Fig. 11) comprises:
a first pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 139 in Fig. 11);
a light-emitting layer (see light-emitting layer 416 in Fig. 11); and
a first region of a common electrode (see in Fig. 11 a first region of common electrode 237 included in the light-emitting element 156),
wherein the light-receiving device (photodiode 252 in Fig. 11) comprises:
a second pixel electrode (see electrode 129 in Fig. 11);
a first layer over the second pixel electrode (see layer 252a over electrode 129 in Fig. 11);
a photoelectric conversion layer over the first layer (see layer 252b over layer 252a in Fig. 11; para[0205]; para[0208]);
a second layer over the photoelectric conversion layer (see layer 252c over layer 252b in Fig. 11);
a second region of the common electrode over the second layer (see in Fig. 11 a second region of common electrode 237 included in the photodiode 252, over layer 252c).
In addition, Kobayashi discloses a light-emitting device (light-emitting element 190 in Fig. 15A) comprises:
a first pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 191 in Fig. 15A);
a first region of a first common layer over the first pixel electrode (see first region of first common layer 112 over the pixel electrode 191 in Fig. 15A);
a light-emitting layer over the first region of the first common layer (see light-emitting layer 193 over the first region of the first common layer 112 in Fig. 15A);
a first region of a second common layer over the light-emitting layer (see first region of second common layer 114 over the light-emitting layer 193 in Fig. 15A); and
a first region of a common electrode over the first region of the second common layer (see in Fig. 15A a first region of common electrode 115 over the first region of the second common layer 114), and
a light-receiving device (light-receiving element 110 in Fig. 15A) comprises:
a second pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 111 in Fig. 15A);
a second region of the first common layer over the second pixel electrode (see second region of the first common layer 112 over the pixel electrode 111 in Fig. 15A);
[[a]] the photoelectric conversion layer over the second region of the first common layer (see active layer 113 over the second region of the first common layer 112 in Fig. 15A);
a second region of the second common layer over the photoelectric conversion layer (see second region of the second common layer 114 over the active layer 113 in Fig. 15A); and
a second region of the common electrode over the second region of the second common layer (see in Fig. 15A a second region of the common electrode 115 over the second region of the second common layer 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the third light-emitting device comprises: a first region of a first common layer over the first pixel electrode; the light-emitting layer over the first region of the first common layer; a first region of a second common layer over the light-emitting layer; and the first region of the common electrode over the first region of the second common layer; the light-receiving device comprises: a second region of the first common layer over the second pixel electrode; the photoelectric conversion layer over the second region of the first common layer; a second region of the second common layer over the photoelectric conversion layer; and the second region of the common electrode over the second region of the second common layer, as also taught by Kobayashi, for the advantage of concurrently forming the light-receiving device with the formation of the third light-emitting device to incorporate a light-receiving element into e.g. a display device, or a light-emitting device, without significant increase in a number of manufacturing steps (para[0001]-para[0002]; para[0148]-para[0149]).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 5). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein the first region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-emitting device [the third in the combination] (para[0027]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0212]-para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252), and
wherein the second region of the common electrode is configured to be an anode of the light-receiving device (para[0016]; para[0057]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0205]-para[0209]; para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. “in the case where the pixel electrode layer 139 is used as a cathode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, the upper electrode layer 237 serves as an anode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 5). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein the first region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-emitting device [the third in the combination] (para[0027]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0212]-para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252), and
wherein the second region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-receiving device (para[0016]; para[0057]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0205]-para[0209]; para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses the light-receiving device is capable of detecting light [the infrared light in the combination] emitted from the light source in a position where the input device is not in contact with the display device (para[0029]; para[0220]; para[0281]; para[0284]; see Fig. 11 and 17A; e.g. “By pointing to the display device provided with an area sensor with a laser pointer or the like which is mounted on the remote control and selecting displayed images, data can be input from a distance”).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses light-emitting devices [e.g. the first to third in the combination] and the light-receiving device are electrically connected to a plurality of transistors (see organic light-emitting element 156 and photodiode 252 connected to transistors, as shown in Figs. 8-9 and 11),
wherein each of the transistors includes a metal oxide in a channel formation region (para[0196]-para[0197]; para[0201]-para[0202]; para[0219]; para[0221]; para[0236]; see in Fig. 11 thin film transistors including an oxide semiconductor layer in a channel formation, containing indium, gallium, and zinc; “main parts of the selection TFT 151, the amplifying TFT 152, the reset TFT 153, the EL-driving TFT 154, and the switching TFT 155 have the same structure”; see e.g. “first oxide semiconductor layer 113_1 is provided over the source electrode layer and the drain electrode layer (115a_1 and 115b_1) facing each other and overlaps with the gate electrode layer 111_1”; “The first oxide semiconductor layer is formed from… InGa--Zn—O-based non-single-crystal film”; “Note that while the selection TFT 151 is formed, the thin film transistors (152, 153, 154, and 155) are also formed in a similar manner”), and
wherein the metal oxide includes In, Zn, and M, M being at least one of Al, Ti, Ga, Ge, Sn, Y, Zr, La, Ce, Nd, and Hf (para[0196]-para[0197]; para [0201]-para[0202]; para[0219]; para[0221]; para[0236]; e.g. “The first oxide semiconductor layer is formed from… InGa--Zn—O-based non-single-crystal film”, that is, contains indium, gallium, and zinc, as claimed).
Regarding claim 21, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 5). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode are covered with a partition, and wherein a third region of the first common layer is located on the partition (in Nakamura: para[0211], see in Fig. 11 an end portion of pixel electrode 139 and an end portion of electrode 129 are covered with a bank/partition formed from the same material as the third interlayer insulating film 221, and a third region of layer 252a is located on the bank/ partition; in Kobayashi: see in Fig. 15A an end portion of pixel electrode 191 and an end portion of pixel electrode 111 are covered with a bank/partition 216, and a third region of first common layer 112 is located on the bank/partition).
Claims 2, 14-16, 18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Hicks et al. (US 2014/0253469), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), and Shai (WO 2010/032223), and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses an electronic device (see Figs. 8, 11 and 17) comprising a display device (see active matrix display device provided with an area sensor in Figs. 8 and 11) and an input device (see pointer 293 in Fig. 11),
wherein the display device includes a display portion including a plurality of pixels (see display portion 21 including pixels 22, as shown in Fig. 8; para[0169]),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a light-receiving device configured to detect light (see photodiode 252 in Figs. 8, 9 and 11),
wherein the input device includes a light source (para[0220]; see 293 in Fig. 11 includes a light source (e.g. laser light source)),
wherein the input device is configured to emit light from the light source while being used to provide inputs (para[0220]; para[0280]; para[0284]; see Fig. 11 laser pointer 293 emits light from its laser light source such that “coordinate information can be input by pointing the display surface by… laser pointer 293”), and
wherein when the light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed (para[0208]; para[0220]; para[0280]-para[0284]; see Figs. 11 and 17A; “Here, light approaching a plane of the substrate on which the amplifier circuit and the nip photodiode are formed is received by the photodiode 252 and is converted into electrical signals”; “if the display device provided with an area sensor is used as a display device and also as an input device of a device capable of two-way communication, such as a computer or a cable television; coordinate information input to the photoelectric conversion element and coordinate information output to the display element can be associated” in order to execute changes and operations on what is displayed; “The television device having the display device provided with an area sensor can not only display images at high quality without unevenness, but also be used for two-way communication by utilizing an area sensor”; “By pointing to the display device provided with an area sensor with a laser pointer or the like which is mounted on the remote control and selecting displayed images, data can be input from a distance”).
However, Nakamura does not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a first communication circuit and a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, a second communication circuit, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, wherein when the input device is in a state of being authenticated by the display device through the second communication circuit and the first communication circuit and the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed.
Kitchens discloses each of a plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels (para[0028]; para[0067]; see in Fig. 14T, each pixel 1,2 comprising display sub-pixels 18a-c corresponding to red, green and blue color sub-pixels, respectively, that is, “three sub-pixels (red, green and blue) of an LCD or OLED display pixel”, and an infrared sensor sub-pixel 20c adjacent to the blue sub-pixel 18c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s invention, with the teachings in Kitchens’ invention, to have each of the plurality of pixels comprises a first subpixel having a first light-emitting device configured to emit red light, a second subpixel having a second light-emitting device configured to emit green light, a third subpixel having a third light-emitting device configured to emit blue light, and a fourth subpixel having a light-receiving device configured to detect infrared light, wherein the fourth subpixel is provided adjacent to the third subpixel in each of the plurality of pixels, for the advantage of realizing a multifunctional pixel that includes more components and functionality (para[0004]; para[0023]-para[0024]).
However, Nakamura and Kitchens do not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a first communication circuit and a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, a second communication circuit, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, wherein when the input device is in a state of being authenticated by the display device through the second communication circuit and the first communication circuit and the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed.
Paull discloses an input device includes a light source and a battery, the battery electrically connected to the light source (see pen 130 in Figs. 2-3 includes a rechargeable battery 165 electrically connected to “A light-emitting element 140, located proximate to the pen's tip”; column 1, lines 47-52; column 4, lines 35-44 and 50-63; column 5, lines 16-19; column 6, lines 11-15), wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source (“The LED 140 emits infrared light”; column 4, line 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s and Kitchens’ combination, with the teachings in Paull’s invention, to have the input device includes a light source and a battery, the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source, and as a consequence of the combination, when the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed, for the known advantage of e.g. suitable wireless cursor control, selection of options and navigation through windows and applications (column 1, lines 41-42 and 47-52).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens and Paull do not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a first communication circuit and a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, a second communication circuit and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, and wherein when the input device is in a state of being authenticated by the display device through the second communication circuit and the first communication circuit, display on the display portion is changed.
Hicks discloses a display device that includes a first communication circuit (para[0002]; para[0027]-para[0028]; para[0057]-para[0059]; para[0063]-para[0066]; see display device 200 Figs. 1A, 3A and 3B; “The touchscreen display may be… implemented, for instance, with a light emitting diode (LED) screen”; “Device 200 may detect/sense contact of display 210 by stylus 100 using any of a wide range of touch-sensing techniques, such as:… infrared (IR) touch-sensing; optical imaging touch-sensing; and/or any combination thereof”, and thus, includes a light (IR light) receiving device; “device 200 may include communications componentry to aid in communicatively coupling device 200 and a stylus 100”; “device 200 may include, for example, receiver componentry, transmitter componentry, or transceiver componentry to provide one-way and/or two-way communication with stylus 100”), an input device that includes a second communication circuit (para[0025]; para[0027]-para[0028]; para[0030]-para[0031]; para[0033]; para[0057]; para[0063]-para[0064]; para[0066]; see stylus 100 in Figs. 1A, 2A and 2B; “Device 200 may detect/sense contact of display 210 by stylus 100 using any of a wide range of touch-sensing techniques, such as:…; infrared (IR) touch-sensing; optical imaging touch-sensing; and/or any combination thereof”; “stylus 100 includes… a communications module”; “The communications module can be, for instance, any suitable module which allows for connection to the electronic computing device so that information may be passed between the device and the stylus”), and wherein when the input device is in a state of being authenticated by the display device through the second communication circuit and the first communication circuit, display on the display portion is changed (para[0025]; para[0028]; para[0033]; para[0057]; para[0063]-para[0067]; “Device 200 may be, for example, a tablet, an eReader, a mobile phone, a laptop, a desktop, or any other mobile or non-mobile device that can be paired with the stylus 100”, after which “The stylus 100 is capable providing user input to the device 200 in a normal stylus fashion”; “Note that each of the stylus 100 and device 200 can be associated with a unique ID (e.g., MAC address, cell number, or other such identifier) that can be used to assist the communicative coupling of the stylus 100 and device 200”; once paired, “device 200 generally may be capable of translating direct and/or proximate contact of touch-sensitive display 210 by stylus 100 into an electronic signal that can be manipulated or otherwise used to trigger a UI action”; “stylus 100 may be capable of providing an input to a touch-sensitive device 200 either by direct contact or by proximate contact with a given touch-sensitive surface thereof (e.g., a touchscreen display 210)”; “Device 200 may detect/sense contact of display 210 by stylus 100 using any of a wide range of touch-sensing techniques, such as:… infrared (IR) touch-sensing; optical imaging touch-sensing; and/or any combination thereof”; “device 200 may be configured to display or otherwise provide to the user a touch-sensitive user interface (UI) (e.g., on a touch-sensitive display 210)”, managed/changed by inputs performed using the stylus 100, after pairing/identification/ authentication of stylus, to trigger a corresponding UI action).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’ and Paull’s combination, with the teachings in Hicks’ invention, to have the display device includes a first communication circuit, the input device includes a second communication circuit, and wherein when the input device is in a state of being authenticated by the display device through the second communication circuit and the first communication circuit and the infrared light emitted from the light source is detected by the light-receiving device, display on the display portion is changed, for the advantage of better assisting communicative coupling between the input device and the display device over a network by using unique identifiers for pairing, and improving security by preventing or otherwise reducing misuse of the electronic device (para[0033]; para[0104]).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull and Hicks do not appear to expressly disclose the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, wherein a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, wherein a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, wherein an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, wherein the input device includes a ring shaped housing, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance.
Kim discloses a display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap a display portion (para[0555]-para[0557]; para[0794]; para[0893]; para[1987]; regarding Figs. 2 and 47, see loop coil 264 disposed to correspond to the entire area of the touch screen 20 which comprises display panel 251 and touch sensor 261, wherein coil driver 263 applies a driving signal to the loop coil 264; “The loop coil 264 may… be composed of an antenna of a short-range communication module 212 such as RFID and NFC”, and “The driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency”; “the loop coil 264 may receive a driving signal from the coil driver 263 and transmit power to the outside”; “When the loop coil 264 generates a magnetic field by a driving signal…, the resonance circuit unit 12 of… stylus pens 10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e resonates using a signal received through a change in a magnetic field”; see also e.g., antenna loop 241 included in loop coil 264 as shown in Figs. 228-231), wherein an input device includes a battery and an antenna (para[0779]; para[0782]-para[0783]; para[0785]; para[0787]-para[0788]; para[0790]-para[0794]; see stylus pen 10 in Figs. 1 and 30(b)-30(e), including battery 14 (or 50) and resonance circuit unit 12 (claimed antenna)), wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery (para[0779]; para[0781]-para[0783]; para[0788]; para[0790]; para[0794]; para[0798]; para[0800]; para[0803]; see Figs. 2, 29-30 and 47; since “The loop coil 264 may… be composed of an antenna of a short-range communication module 212 such as RFID and NFC”, and “The driving signal may include an alternating voltage or alternating current having a predetermined frequency”, “When the loop coil 264 generates a magnetic field…, the resonance circuit unit 12 of the stylus pens 10a, 10b, 10c, 10d, 10e resonates using a signal received through a change in a magnetic field and/or an electric field”; e.g., in the stylus pen 10b shown in Fig. 30b, “The resonant circuit unit 12 resonates using energy transferred from the loop coil 264, and the resonant energy is rectified in the rectifier 13 and can be used to charge the power storage 14”; “The power storage 14 includes a rechargeable battery or a capacitor such as an electric double layered capacitor (EDLC)”), and wherein the input device is configured to be used to provide inputs while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance (para[0356]-para[0358]; para[0798]; “power required for the use of the stylus pen can be delivered at the same time as the use of the stylus pen without separate wireless charging”; that is, the stylus pen can be used even when not charged in advance because it can be charged while being used; “The resonant circuit unit 12 resonates using energy transferred from the loop coil 264, and the resonant energy is rectified in the rectifier 13 and can be used to charge the power storage 14”, with the “advantage of being able to wirelessly charge the stylus pen in use”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s and Hick’s combination, with the teachings in Kim’s invention, to have the display device includes a power feeding coil provided to overlap the display portion, wherein the input device includes a light source, a battery, and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to receive radio waves transmitted from the power feeding coil at the antenna and charge the battery electrically connected to the light source, wherein the input device is configured to emit infrared light from the light source while wirelessly charging the battery when the battery is not charged in advance, for the advantage of wirelessly delivering power required for the use of the input device at the same time as the use of the input device without separate wireless charging, and in a faster way (para[0356]-para[0358]).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks and Kim do not appear to expressly disclose the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, and the input device includes a ring shaped housing, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use.
Shai discloses an input device includes a ring shaped housing, a battery and an antenna, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use (see e.g. input device 610 in Fig. 6A, input device 2500 in Fig. 25F, or input device 2660 in Figs. 26D-26E, among many other ring shaped input devices through the disclosure of Shai; regarding e.g. Figs. 26D-26E, see “a finger wearing ring 2650 may be interacting with a touch-screen device” and includes communication unit 2668 which may be an antenna; the “several finger-worn devices described… may require a power-source (e.g. a battery) for supplying power to electric components of such devices”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Hicks’ and Kim’s combination, with the teachings Shai’s in invention, to have the input device includes a ring shaped housing, wherein the input device is configured to be worn on a user’s finger when in use, for the advantage of a comfortable and visually attractive input device (page 116, third paragraph, of Shai).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim and Shai do not appear to expressly disclose the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer.
Kobayashi discloses a light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound (see light-receiving element 110 in Fig. 15A comprising active layer 113 over the second region of the first common layer 112; “The active layer 113 contains a first organic compound”; para[0087]; para[0141]; para[0146]; para[0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Hicks’, Kim’s and Shai’s combination, with the teachings in Kobayashi’s invention, to have the light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound, because an organic photodiode is easily made thin, lightweight, and large in area and has a high degree of freedom for shape and design; and because an organic compound is preferable such that the light-emitting layer and the photoelectric conversion layer can be formed by the same method and thus a same manufacturing apparatus can be used (para[0076]; para[0227]).
However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai and Kobayashi do not appear to expressly disclose a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer.
Murai discloses a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping a light-receiving device (para[0093]-para[0094]; para[0098]-para[0100]; para[0102]; see visible light blocking filter 35 in Fig. 3(b), provided in a position overlapping, in a vertical direction, transistor 20d provided in the optical sensor circuit 20; “transistor 20d detects a received light amount”), a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device (para[0093]-para[0094]; see black matrix 34 in Fig. 3(b)), an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer (as shown in Fig. 3(b), and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, end portions of the visible light blocking filter 35 horizontally overlap the black matrix 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Hicks’, Kim’s, Shai’s and Kobayashi’s combination, with the teachings in Murai’s invention, to have a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device, a light-blocking layer comprising a first opening is provided over the light-receiving device, an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer, for the advantage of providing a configuration in which visible light components of external light are difficult to enter the light-receiving device, and as such, making possible to carry out a stable sensing operation under various circumstances without being adversely affected by external circumstances (such as external light intensity) (para[0100]).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses a light-emitting device [the third in the combination] (light-emitting element 156 in Fig. 11) comprises:
a first pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 139 in Fig. 11);
a light-emitting layer (see light-emitting layer 416 in Fig. 11); and
a first region of a common electrode (see in Fig. 11 a first region of common electrode 237 included in the light-emitting element 156),
wherein the light-receiving device (photodiode 252 in Fig. 11) comprises:
a second pixel electrode (see electrode 129 in Fig. 11);
a first layer over the second pixel electrode (see layer 252a over electrode 129 in Fig. 11);
a photoelectric conversion layer over the first layer (see layer 252b over layer 252a in Fig. 11; para[0205]; para[0208]);
a second layer over the photoelectric conversion layer (see layer 252c over layer 252b in Fig. 11);
a second region of the common electrode over the second layer (see in Fig. 11 a second region of common electrode 237 included in the photodiode 252, over layer 252c).
In addition, Kobayashi discloses a light-emitting device (light-emitting element 190 in Fig. 15A) comprises:
a first pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 191 in Fig. 15A);
a first region of a first common layer over the first pixel electrode (see first region of first common layer 112 over the pixel electrode 191 in Fig. 15A);
a light-emitting layer over the first region of the first common layer (see light-emitting layer 193 over the first region of the first common layer 112 in Fig. 15A);
a first region of a second common layer over the light-emitting layer (see first region of second common layer 114 over the light-emitting layer 193 in Fig. 15A); and
a first region of a common electrode over the first region of the second common layer (see in Fig. 15A a first region of common electrode 115 over the first region of the second common layer 114), and
a light-receiving device (light-receiving element 110 in Fig. 15A) comprises:
a second pixel electrode (see pixel electrode 111 in Fig. 15A);
a second region of the first common layer over the second pixel electrode (see second region of the first common layer 112 over the pixel electrode 111 in Fig. 15A);
[[a]] the photoelectric conversion layer over the second region of the first common layer (see active layer 113 over the second region of the first common layer 112 in Fig. 15A);
a second region of the second common layer over the photoelectric conversion layer (see second region of the second common layer 114 over the active layer 113 in Fig. 15A); and
a second region of the common electrode over the second region of the second common layer (see in Fig. 15A a second region of the common electrode 115 over the second region of the second common layer 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the third light-emitting device comprises: a first region of a first common layer over the first pixel electrode; the light-emitting layer over the first region of the first common layer; a first region of a second common layer over the light-emitting layer; and the first region of the common electrode over the first region of the second common layer; the light-receiving device comprises: a second region of the first common layer over the second pixel electrode; the photoelectric conversion layer over the second region of the first common layer; a second region of the second common layer over the photoelectric conversion layer; and the second region of the common electrode over the second region of the second common layer, as also taught by Kobayashi, for the advantage of concurrently forming the light-receiving device with the formation of the third light-emitting device to incorporate a light-receiving element into e.g. a display device, or a light-emitting device, without significant increase in a number of manufacturing steps (para[0001]-para[0002]; para[0148]-para[0149]).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein the first region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-emitting device [the third in the combination] (para[0027]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0212]-para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252), and
wherein the second region of the common electrode is configured to be an anode of the light-receiving device (para[0016]; para[0057]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0205]-para[0209]; para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. “in the case where the pixel electrode layer 139 is used as a cathode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, the upper electrode layer 237 serves as an anode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252).
Regarding claim 16, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein the first region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-emitting device [the third in the combination] (para[0027]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0212]-para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252), and
wherein the second region of the common electrode is configured to be a cathode of the light-receiving device (para[0016]; para[0057]; para[0176]; para[0181]; para[0205]-para[0209]; para[0213]; para[0239]; para[0245]-para[0246]; see Fig. 11; e.g. when “the pixel electrode layer 139 serves as an anode” of the organic light-emitting element 156, and upper electrode layer 237 serves as a cathode of the organic light-emitting element 156 and the photodiode 252).
Regarding claim 18, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses the light-receiving device is capable of detecting light [the infrared light in the combination] emitted from the light source in a position where the input device is not in contact with the display device (para[0029]; para[0220]; para[0281]; para[0284]; see Fig. 11 and 17A; e.g. “By pointing to the display device provided with an area sensor with a laser pointer or the like which is mounted on the remote control and selecting displayed images, data can be input from a distance”).
Regarding claim 20, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses light-emitting devices [e.g. the first to third in the combination] and the light-receiving device are electrically connected to a plurality of transistors (see organic light-emitting element 156 and photodiode 252 connected to transistors, as shown in Figs. 8-9 and 11),
wherein each of the transistors includes a metal oxide in a channel formation region (para[0196]-para[0197]; para[0201]-para[0202]; para[0219]; para[0221]; para[0236]; see in Fig. 11 thin film transistors including an oxide semiconductor layer in a channel formation, containing indium, gallium, and zinc; “main parts of the selection TFT 151, the amplifying TFT 152, the reset TFT 153, the EL-driving TFT 154, and the switching TFT 155 have the same structure”; see e.g. “first oxide semiconductor layer 113_1 is provided over the source electrode layer and the drain electrode layer (115a_1 and 115b_1) facing each other and overlaps with the gate electrode layer 111_1”; “The first oxide semiconductor layer is formed from… InGa--Zn—O-based non-single-crystal film”; “Note that while the selection TFT 151 is formed, the thin film transistors (152, 153, 154, and 155) are also formed in a similar manner”), and
wherein the metal oxide includes In, Zn, and M, M being at least one of Al, Ti, Ga, Ge, Sn, Y, Zr, La, Ce, Nd, and Hf (para[0196]-para[0197]; para [0201]-para[0202]; para[0219]; para[0221]; para[0236]; e.g. “The first oxide semiconductor layer is formed from… InGa--Zn—O-based non-single-crystal film”, that is, contains indium, gallium, and zinc, as claimed).
Regarding claim 22, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 14). In addition, in the combination, Nakamura discloses wherein an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode are covered with a partition, and wherein a third region of the first common layer is located on the partition (in Nakamura: para[0211], see in Fig. 11 an end portion of pixel electrode 139 and an end portion of electrode 129 are covered with a bank/partition formed from the same material as the third interlayer insulating film 221, and a third region of layer 252a is located on the bank/ partition; in Kobayashi: see in Fig. 15A an end portion of pixel electrode 191 and an end portion of pixel electrode 111 are covered with a bank/partition 216, and a third region of first common layer 112 is located on the bank/partition).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), Shai (WO 2010/032223), Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Perrault et al. (US 2018/0366045).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai do not appear to expressly disclose each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device [[is]] configured to emit white light.
Perrault discloses each of a plurality of pixels comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device configured to emit white light (see in Fig. 2, each of a plurality of pixels 204 comprises a red subpixel 210/222, a green subpixel 212/224, a blue subpixel 214/228, an IR photodiode 220, and a white subpixel 216/230; para[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Kim’s, Shai’s, Kobayashi’s and Murai’s combination, with the teachings in Perrault’s invention, to have each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device configured to emit white light, for the advantage of a achieving a combined light output perceived as a single “pixel” of a particular color in which intensity can be effectively controlled (para[0018]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), Shai (WO 2010/032223), Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wissmar (US 2012/0218184).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai do not appear to expressly disclose the antenna is provided along the ring-shaped housing.
Wissmar discloses an antenna provided along a ring-shaped housing (para[0073]; regarding antenna 7 Figs. 1-2, “ In the case of using exclusively an internal antenna option, the internal antenna is located at a position along the circumference of the toroidal shaped finger ring structure 1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Kim’s, Shai’s, Kobayashi’s and Murai’s combination, with the teachings in Wissmar’s invention, to have the antenna is provided along the ring-shaped housing, for the advantage of a feasible alternative for an internal antenna in a way that allows unperturbed radiation (para[0073]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Hicks et al. (US 2014/0253469), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), Shai (WO 2010/032223), Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Perrault et al. (US 2018/0366045).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai do not appear to expressly disclose each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device configured to emit white light.
Perrault discloses each of a plurality of pixels comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device configured to emit white light (see in Fig. 2, each of a plurality of pixels 204 comprises a red subpixel 210/222, a green subpixel 212/224, a blue subpixel 214/228, an IR photodiode 220, and a white subpixel 216/230; para[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Hicks’, Kim’s, Shai’s, Kobayashi’s and Murai’s combination, with the teachings in Perrault’s invention, to have each of the plurality of pixels further comprises a fifth subpixel having a fourth light-emitting device configured to emit white light, for the advantage of a achieving a combined light output perceived as a single “pixel” of a particular color in which intensity can be effectively controlled (para[0018]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2010/0134735), in view of Kitchens et al. (US 2014/0354905), Paull et al. (US 5,945,981), Hicks et al. (US 2014/0253469), Kim et al. (US 2023/0067179), Shai (WO 2010/032223), Kobayashi et al. (WO 2020/075002), (Note: Kobayashi et al. US 2021/0374378 is used as translation and referenced throughout the rejection accordingly) and Murai et al. (US 2012/0241768), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wissmar (US 2012/0218184).
Regarding claim 17, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). However, Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Hicks, Kim, Shai, Kobayashi and Murai do not appear to expressly disclose the antenna is provided along the ring-shaped housing.
Wissmar discloses an antenna provided along a ring-shaped housing (para[0073]; regarding antenna 7 Figs. 1-2, “ In the case of using exclusively an internal antenna option, the internal antenna is located at a position along the circumference of the toroidal shaped finger ring structure 1”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Nakamura’s, Kitchens’, Paull’s, Hicks’, Kim’s, Shai’s, Kobayashi’s and Murai’s combination, with the teachings in Wissmar’s invention, to have the antenna is provided along the ring-shaped housing, for the advantage of a feasible alternative for an internal antenna in a way that allows unperturbed radiation (para[0073]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 (and similar claim 2), the applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks that “none of the cited reference, taken singly or combined, appears to explicitly disclose the newly added limitations related to "a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound" now required in the claimed invention”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, Kobayashi discloses a light-receiving device comprises a photoelectric conversion layer comprising an organic compound (see light-receiving element 110 in Fig. 15A comprising active layer 113 over the second region of the first common layer 112; “The active layer 113 contains a first organic compound”; para[0087]; para[0141]; para[0146]; para[0149]).
In addition, the applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks that “Kobayashi fails to teach the newly added limitations related to "a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device" and "an end portion of the filter overlaps the light-blocking layer"”, and that “none of Nakamura, Kitchens, Paull, Kim, Shai, Hicks, and Perrault appears to teach the feature related to "a filter out visible light is provided in a position overlapping the light-receiving device"”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is noted that none of the references mentioned in this argument were used to reject the specific limitation in the argument.
In addition, the applicant argues on page 12 of the remarks that “FIG. 3B of Murai fails to teach that an end portion of the filter 35 overlaps the light-blocking layer 34”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As shown in the above rejection, Murai discloses an end portion of the claimed filter overlaps the claimed light-blocking layer (as shown in Fig. 3(b), and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations, end portions of the visible light blocking filter 35 horizontally overlap the black matrix 34).
It is noted that the applicant is not claiming features in a way that specifically and particularly distinguish from the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GLORYVID FIGUEROA-GIBSON/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628