DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/31/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 2 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim 17 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 25, the claims each recite "wherein the first organic compound comprises at least one of an alkyl group having 3 to 8 carbon atoms and a cycloalkyl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms." The claim is indefinite because it is unclear if the first organic compound is required to comprise (1) at least one of an alkyl group having 3 to 8 carbon atoms and at least one of a cycloalkyl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms, or (2) at least selected from the group consisting of an alkyl group having 3 to 8 carbon atoms and a cycloalkyl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms.
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as either (1) or (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-26, 28-31, and 33-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US-20210234098-A1 (hereinafter "Lee") in view of Forrest et al. US-20030230980-A1 (hereinafter "Forrest").
Regarding claims 1-11, 14-25, 28-31, and 33-38, Lee teaches a light emitting diode comprising a first electrode, a hole transport region disposed, an emission layer disposed, an electron transport region disposed, and a second electrode (¶ [0007]), in that order. Lee teaches wherein hole transport region comprising a first hole transport layer disposed adjacent to the first electrode and a second hole transport layer disposed adjacent to the emission layer (¶ [0007]), wherein the first hole transport layer and the second hole transport layer may each independently include an amine compound represented by Formula 1 (¶ [0021]), which is an amine compound. Additionally, Lee teaches that the device has excellent light emission efficiency (¶ [0005]). Lee teaches specific examples of the amine compound represented by Formula 1 in paragraph [0098] including compound 52
(page 15), and compound 83
(page 21), which are triaryl monoamine compounds that comprise at least one hydrocarbon having 1 to 12 carbon atoms or cycloalkyl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms.
Lee teaches wherein the device may be part of a small- or medium-sized electronic device such as smart phones, tablets, personal computers, laptop computers, personal digital terminals, car navigation units, game consoles, and cameras or a large-sized electronic device such as televisions, monitors, and external billboards (¶ [0053]), wherein the electronic device may include a display device and a housing (¶ [0054]), which may may receive the display device (¶ [0056]) and which may comprise a circuit layer (¶ [0057]), which includes multiple transistors (¶ [0059]).
Lee does not exemplify a device as discussed above wherein the first hole transport layer further comprises a second compound that comprises a fluorine.
Forrest teaches an OLED having a p-i-n structure has an anode, a p-doped organic layer adapted to transport holes, an emissive layer, an n-doped organic layer adapted to transport electrons, and a cathode (¶ [0015]). Forrest teaches that the p-doped layer has high conductivity and consequently low ohmic losses, and that the injection of carriers into the highly doped transport layer is efficient such that an injection enhancement layer is not necessary (¶ [0038]). Forrest teaches that the p-dopant suitably is F4-TCNQ (¶ [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modified the device of Lee as discussed above by p-doping the first hole transport layer adjacent to the first electrode with F4-TCNQ, based on the teaching of Forrest. The motivation for doing so would have been to promote high conductivity and consequently low ohmic losses and obtain efficient transport of carriers without an injection enhancement layer, as taught by Forrest.
The modified device of Lee in view of Forrest comprises the first hole transport layer comprising a first compound that is the amine compound represented by Formula 1 and a second compound that is the p-dopant F4-TCNQ, which comprises a fluorine.
A proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals in a total number of carbon atoms of compound 52 is 35.1% and the molecular weight of compound 52 is 754.06.
A proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals in a total number of carbon atoms of compound 83 is 38.5%.
Lee appears silent with respect to the property of wherein a refractive index of a layer formed of the amine compound for light with a wavelength of 633 nm is greater than or equal to 1.45 and less than or equal to 1.70.
The instant specification recites that the compound dchPAF having the structure
(specification paragraph [0431]) has a refractive index of a layer formed of the compound for light with a wavelength of 633 nm of 1.65 (TABLE 5, specification page 98). Since Lee teaches the compound 83
, the same structure as disclosed by the applicant, the property of wherein a refractive index of a layer formed of the amine compound for light with a wavelength of 633 nm is 1.65 is considered to be inherent and would be expected to fall within the claimed range of greater than or equal to 1.45 and less than or equal to 1.70, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Lee appears silent with respect to the property of wherein a glass transition temperature of the amine compound is greater than or equal to 90 °C.
The instant specification recites that to increase the glass transition temperature, the molecular weight of the material needs to be increased (specification paragraph [0050]), a compound to which a saturated hydrocarbon group, especially a chain saturated hydrocarbon group is introduced tends to decrease in the glass transition temperature (specification paragraph [0060]), and finally that the glass transition temperature of the compound mmtBuBichPAF
, is 102 °C (specification paragraph [0505]).
Since Lee teaches the amine compound as described above, a substantially similar structure as disclosed by the applicant, with a proportion of sp3 carbon and molecular weight that are substantially similar to the compound of formula (101), the property of wherein a glass transition temperature of the amine compound is greater than or equal to 90 °C is considered to be inherent and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Lee appears silent with respect to the property of an integral value of signals at lower than 4 ppm is larger than an integral value of signals at 4 ppm or higher in a H-NMR measurement result of the amine compound.
The instant specification recites that Considering the difference, the integral value of the signals at lower than 4 ppm larger than the integral value of the signals at 4 ppm or higher in the 1H-NMR measurement results indicates that approximately one-third of all the carbon atoms contained in the molecule exist in the saturated hydrocarbon group (specification paragraph [0071]). Since Lee teaches the amine compound wherein greater than one-third of all the carbon atoms contained in the molecule exist in the saturated hydrocarbon group (the proportion of carbon atoms forming bonds by sp3 hybrid orbitals in a total number of carbon atoms is greater than 33%), the property of an integral value of signals at lower than 4 ppm is larger than an integral value of signals at 4 ppm or higher in a H-NMR is considered to be inherent, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Therefore, the device of Lee in view of Forrest meets claims 1-11, 14-25, 28-29, 30-31, and 33-38.
Regarding claims 12 and 26, Lee in view of Forrest teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 15.
Lee in view of Forrest does not specifically exemplify an amine compound represented by Formula 1 comprising a cyano group. However, Lee teaches that in Formula 1, at least two of Ra to Rc are each independently an adamantyl group or a cyclohexyl group, and the remainder of Ra to Rc may be a hydrogen atom, a cyano group, among others (¶ [0022]).
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute at least one of the hydrogen Ra to Rc substituents on the amine compound with a cyano group, because Lee teaches the variable may suitably be selected as such. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as in the hole transport region of the device of Lee in view of Forrest and possess the beneficial properties of excellent light emission efficiency, taught by Lee. See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US-20210234098-A1 (hereinafter "Lee") in view of Forrest et al. US-20030230980-A1 (hereinafter "Forrest") as applied to claims 1 and 15 above and further in view of X. Han et al. / Organic Electronics 14 (2013) 1116–1121 (hereinafter "Han et al.").
Regarding claims 13 and 27, Lee in view of Forrest teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claims 1 and 15.
Lee in view of Forrest appears silent with respect to the property of wherein a LUMO level of the p-dopant F4-TCNQ is less than or equal to -5.0 eV.
Han et al. recites that F4-TCNQ has a LUMO of -5.2 eV (page 1116, second column). Since Lee in view of Forrest teaches the p-dopant compound F4-TCNQ, the same structure as disclosed by Han et al., the property of wherein the LUMO of F4-TCNQ is -5.2 eV is considered to be inherent and would be expected to fall within the claimed range of wherein a LUMO level of the p-dopant F4-TCNQ is less than or equal to -5.0 eV, absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. See MPEP § 2112.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US-20210234098-A1 (hereinafter "Lee") in view of Forrest et al. US-20030230980-A1 (hereinafter "Forrest") as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Hatwar et al. US-20100288362-A1 (hereinafter "Hatwar").
Regarding claim 32, Lee in view of Forrest teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 15.
Lee in view of Forrest does not specifically teach a device as discussed above further comprising a first light-emitting layer and a second light-emitting layer, and wherein the first layer is positioned between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer.
In the analogous art of OLEDs, Hatwar teaches an organic light-emitting device (see Figure 1 and [0098]) comprising a first electrode (“anode 110”), a second electrode (“cathode 170”), a plurality of light-emitting units in the number of m disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (“N EL units”) comprising at least one emission layer (¶ [0092]), and a plurality of charge generation layers in the number of m-1 disposed between two neighboring light-emitting units (“N-1 intermediate connector regions”) wherein m is an integer of 2 or more (“N is an integer greater than 1”, see [0098]). Hatwar suggests that the colors of the emission layers may be selected so as to obtain the desired properties. For example, Hatwar suggests that a white OLED can be achieved by including blue light emitting layers in combination with red and green emitting layers (¶ [0100]-[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a white OLED comprising the organic EL device of Lee in view of Forrest such that it includes the stacked emission layer structure including light-emitting units of different colors and connector regions disclosed by Hatwar, based on the teaching of Hatwar. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain the desired white light emission as taught by Hatwar.
The modified device of Lee in view of Forrest and Hatwar comprises a first light-emitting layer and a second light-emitting layer, and a first hole transporting layer is positioned between the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer due to the stacked structure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yamada et al. US-20150372238-A1 teaches an aromatic hydrocarbon compound having a ratio of the number of the SP3 carbon atoms to the number of the SP2 carbon atoms of 40% or more (¶ [0018]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786