DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-21, 24-26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagisawa et al. (JP 2015183128 A and English machine translation thereof).
Regarding Claims 20-21 and 24-25: Yanagisawa et al. teaches a fluorescent material comprising a resin (polymer matrix) and a compound such as:
(N-(2-(benzo[d]thiazol-2-yl)phenyl)benzamide), a compound of formula 1 wherein X is S, Z is NHR5, R and R1-3 are hydrogen, and R5 is -C(O)OR4 wherein R4 is aryl ([0095] of JP 2015183128 A and [0008], [0015], and [0018] of the English machine translation). Yanagisawa et al. teaches the polymer such as a polyethylene, a polypropylene, and a polyurethane ([0131] of English machine translation).
Yanagisawa et al. does not teach a specific embodiment comprising both N-(2-(benzo[d]thiazol-2-yl)phenyl)benzamide and a polyethylene, a polypropylene, or a polyurethane. However, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include both N-(2-(benzo[d]thiazol-2-yl)phenyl)benzamide and a polyethylene, a polypropylene, or a polyurethane with a reasonable expectation of success and would have been motivated to do so because Yanagisawa et al. teaches that both are suitable for the invention.
Regarding Claim 26: Yanagisawa et al. further teaches compounds such as:
a compound reading on formula 1 wherein X is S, Z is NHR5, R and R1-3 are hydrogen, R5 is -C(O)OR4 wherein R4 is C1 alkyl ([0096] of JP 2015183128 A).
Yanagisawa et al. does not teach a specific embodiment comprising multiple compounds reading on formula 1. However, at the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include both fluorescent compounds of Yanagisawa et al. with a reasonable expectation of success and would have been motivated to do so because Yanagisawa et al. teaches that they are both suitable for the invention. Furthermore, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claims 28-29: Yanagisawa et al. does not teach the composition for securing a product, however, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 and 30-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 19, 2026 have been fully considered and sufficiently responded to in the new grounds of rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 July 29, 2026