DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment dated 10/3/2025 has been considered and entered into the record. The limitations of claims 2–4 have been incorporated into claim 1. Accordingly, claims 2–4 have been cancelled. Claim 1 has been further limited such that Thigh- Tlow is equal to or less than 17 thereby overcoming the previous anticipatory rejection for the reasons set forth in Applicant’s remarks. As such, the previous prior art rejections based upon Bertelo are withdrawn. The amendment of claim 9 overcomes the previous indefinite rejection. Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the obvious double patenting rejection are persuasive and as such, that rejection is withdrawn. Claims 1 and 5–19 remain pending, while claims 15–18 are withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 5–14, and 19 are examined below.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 10/3/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 5–14, and 19 under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made based upon a new interpretation of Bertelo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5–7, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertelo (US 2011/0287255 A1).
Bertelo discloses a composite fiber material comprising nanofibers and a blend of thermoplastic polymers, wherein the blend comprises first and second polyether ketone ketone (PEKK) polymers and each of the PEKK polymers has a different T/I ratio. Bertelo abstract, ¶¶ 10–12. One example involving the blending of two PEKK polymers involves a first PEKK polymer with a (T/I)low ratio that is lower than a second PEKK polymer (T/I)high ratio. See id. ¶ 11. The blended PEKK polymer fibers may be used to form heat-resistant, high strength fabrics useful in a variety of end-use applications. Id. abstract, ¶¶ 5, 20–21.
A first PEKK polymer may have a (T/I)low ratio of 60/40 and a second PEKK polymer may have a (T/I)high ratio of 80/20. Id. This particular example provides for a Thigh- Tlow value of 20, however, Bertelo teaches that the T/I ratio and by extension the T molarity levels may be adjusted depending on the degree of relative strength/stiffness to flexibility desired. See Bertelo ¶¶ 10–12. Accordingly, the differences in the relative T values — Thigh – Tlow — may be adjusted such that the two PEKK polymers have different, but relatively similar (i.e., less than or equal to 17 mol. %) strengths/stiffness or flexibility. Consequently, absent a clear and convincing showing of unexpected results demonstrating the criticality of the claimed T value difference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize this result-effective variable by routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Each PEKK polymer in Bertelo contains the claimed recurring units RT and RI of claim 3, wherein the R1 and R2 groups are anticipated along with each i and j integer. See id. ¶ 8. Claim 12 is rejected as the composite material may further comprise carbon fibers. Id. ¶ 15.
Although Bertelo does not explicitly teach the claimed features of a crystallization temperature (Tc in C°), determined on second DSC heat scan, higher than the crystallization temperature of a PEKK polymer having the same melting temperature (Tm in C°) determined on second DSC heat scan; a melting temperature (Tm) of less than or equal to 330°C, a heat of fusion (DHf) exceeding 25 J/g; and no crystallization peak upon heating, on second DSC heat scan (“cold crystallization peak”); a relation between melting temperature (Tm in °C) determined on second DSC heat scan, and crystallization temperature (Tc in °C) determined on first DSC cooling scan, which satisfies the following inequality: Tc ≥ 1.3716 x Tm -190°C; wherein Tm, Tc, DHf and the absence of cold crystallization peak are measured by differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) according to ASTM D3418-03, E1356-03, E793-06, E794-06, standard, applying heating and cooling rates of 20°C/min, with a sweep from 300°C to 400°C; an open hole compression strength greater than or equal to 320 MPa, as measured in accordance with ASTM D6484; and/or an in-plane shear modulus of greater than or equal to 4.7 GPa, as measured in accordance with ASTM D3518, it is reasonable to presume that said properties are inherent to Bertelo. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials (i.e. composite material comprising first and second PEKK polymers with different T/I ratios and fibers). The burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present one the Bertelo product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote (CCPA 1977) as to the providing of this rejection made above under 35 USC 102. Reliance upon inherency is not improper even though rejection is based on Section 103 instead of Section 102. In re Skoner, 517 F.2d 947 (CCPA 1975).
Bertelo fails to teach a specific weight ratio between the first and second PEKK polymers, each with different T/I ratios. However, Bertelo does teach that the relative proportions being selected to provide a PEKK mixture having the balance of properties desired for the fibers when compounded with the mineral nanotubes. Bertelo ¶ 11.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have made the PEKK composite material of Bertelo with a weight ratio between PEKKlow and PEKKhigh is of least 60/40 and/or it is of at most 99/1, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertelo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Diez-Pasqual, “High-performance nanocomposites based on polyetherketones.”
Bertelo fails to teach the manner in which PEKK polymers are made.
Diez-Pasquel teaches that PEK polymers, of which PEKK is one, are particularly useful in making nanocomposites and that PEKs are generally synthesized by aromatic nucleophilic substitution of activated aryl dihalides with aromatic diphenolates. Diez-Pasquel abstract, 1109. Nucleophilic substitution reactions are generally more preferable, because of the availability of suitable monomers, the non-corrosive reaction media and the operational convenience in conducting the synthesis and that aromatic electrophilic substitution method is difficult to scale up, and specific monomers must be employed to obtain high molecular weight polymers. Id. at 1111.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to Diez-Pasquel for guidance as to a preferable manner in which to make the PEKK polymers in Bertelo in order to successfully practice the invention of the primary invention.
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertelo as applied to claim 1 above as evidenced by Luise (US 5,124,413).
Bertelo teaches that with PEKK polymers, one can optimize crystallinity and thereby melting point of a particular application. Bertelo ¶ 7. Furthermore, a PEKK polymer with a 60/40 T/I ratio produces fibers with little to no crystallinity. Id. ¶ 23.
Luise teaches that depending on their T/I ratios, PEKKs are either partly crystalline or amorphous, wherein crystalline PEKKs have a melting point of about 330oC or higher. Luise 1:39–45. As such, amorphous PEKK polymers would have melting temperatures of about 330oC or lower due to lack of crystallinity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to have made the PEKK composite composition of Bertelo with a melting temperature of less than or equal to 330oC due to lack of crystallinity.
Luise also teaches the formation of a composite material containing amorphous polyarylate with a PEKK for use in aircraft panels and in other applications that require high burn resistance and good melt processibility. Luise abstract. The composite material is formed into films and sheet and then added to polyvinyl fluoride films or sheets to make a laminate. Id. at 1:1–17.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bertelo with the invention of Luise to make a multilayer laminate using the PEKK composition of Bertelo motivated by the desire to form a particular article that includes PEKK.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D MATZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786