DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020/071361 (hereinafter referred to as Shimizu) and using U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0397090 as its English Translation equivalent.
Shimizu, in the abstract, and in paragraph nos. [0013], [0018]-[0020], discloses a resist underlayer film forming composition that contains an organic solvent and a reaction product of two hydantoin-containing compound wherein one of the hydantoin-containing compound has two epoxy groups and the following formula,
disclosed as formula (11) of Shimizu, wherein Q is defined in formula (9) as the following,
and the other hydantoin-containing compound disclosed as formula (10) of Shimizu , see below,
and the reactions products disclosed by Shimizu for the resist underlayer film forming composition as disclosed in paragraph nos. [0018]-[0020], do not contain any structural units derived from either barbituric acid or isocyanuric acid and is the same claimed product as recited in claims 1-2. Shimizu, in [0037], and [0054], discloses that the reaction product has a terminal capped with a compound having a functional groups such as hydroxyl group or carboxy group (claims 4-5). Shimizu, in [0085], discloses that the resist underlayer film forming composition includes an acid generator (claim 8). Shimizu, in [0086], discloses that the resist underlayer composition also includes a crosslinking agent (claim 9). Shimizu, in [0008], discloses that the resist underlayer can be used for EUV exposure (i.e., the resist underlayer composition is the claimed EUV resist underlayer film forming composition) (claim 10). Shimizu, in [0091], discloses that the resist underlayer film forming composition is coated onto a substrate and baked to form a resist underlayer film (claimed baked product of a coating film). Shimizu, in [0094], discloses that a photoresist film is formed on the resist underlayer film, and Shimizu, in [0095], discloses that the photoresist film is subjected to a selective exposure (through a mask) to either an electron beam or EUV light, followed by development. Shimizu, in [0096], discloses that the resist pattern (formed by the development) is used as a mask to dry etch the resist underlayer film (forming the patterned resist underlayer, and processing the underlying inorganic film or the semiconductor substrate using the patterned resist underlayer (claims 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/071361 (hereinafter referred to as Shimizu) and using U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0397090 as its English Translation equivalent in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0045820 (hereinafter referred to as Sakaida).
Shimizu is discussed in paragraph no. 3, above.
The difference between the claims and Shimizu is that Shimizu does not disclose the claimed functional group recited in claim 6 or the terminal capped with the structures recited in claim 7.
Sakaida, in [0013], [0019], and [0020], discloses that the resist underlayer film-forming composition includes a reaction product that has a terminal group (terminal capped) with a hydroxyl or carboxy functional group, and can have the following structures, see below,
or
and wherein the functional group contain an aliphatic ring, and can include the following structures, see below,
or
or
or
.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Shimizu by using the terminal group taught by Sakaida because Shimizu teaches that the terminal is capped with a compound having functional groups, and Sakaida, in [0016], discloses that using the claimed terminal structure in the polymer of the resist underlayer composition enables an improvement in the adhesion of the overlying resist pattern during development, and improves the resist pattern roughness.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-13, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,631. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,631 discloses a resist underlayer composition the comprises a reaction product of two hydantoin containing compound that are different from each other and disclosed in claims 6-8, 14, 19-20, and discloses a terminal structure with the same claimed functional groups as disclosed in claims 1, 6, and 14. Claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,631 discloses that the resist underlayer composition can be used an underlayer film underlying a photoresist film and is subjected to photolithography in the same claimed manner,, and thereby fully encompasses claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-13 of the instant application.
Claims 6-7, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,631 in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0045820 (hereinafter referred to as Sakaida).
Claims 1-25 of U. S. Patent No. 12,072,631 is discussed in paragraph no. 7, above.
The difference between the claims and Claims 1-25 of U. S. Patent No. 12,072,631 is that Claims 1-25 of U. S. Patent No. 12,072,631 does not disclose the claimed functional group recited in claim 6 or the terminal capped with the structures recited in claim 7.
Sakaida, in [0013], [0019], and [0020], discloses that the resist underlayer film-forming composition includes a reaction product that has a terminal group (terminal capped) with a hydroxyl or carboxy functional group, and can have the following structures, see below,
or
and wherein the functional group contain an aliphatic ring, and can include the following structures, see below,
or
or
or
.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Claims 1-25 of U. S. Patent No. 12,072,631 by using the terminal structure taught by Sakaida because Claims 1-25 of U. S. Patent No. 12,072,631 teaches that the terminal is capped with a compound having functional groups, and Sakaida, in [0016], discloses that using the claimed terminal structure in the polymer of the resist underlayer composition enables an improvement in the adhesion of the overlying resist pattern during development, and improves the resist pattern roughness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment and Remarks, filed December 2, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over pending claims 1-2, 4-13. With respect to applicant’s argument that Sakaida’s reaction product include structural units derived from barbituric acid or isocyanuric acid and that the amended claims require that the reaction product of the two hydantoin-containing compounds do not have any structural units derived from barbituric acid or isocyanuric acid, Sakaida is no longer dependent upon to disclose the reaction product recited in claim 1, and Shimizu is dependent upon to disclose the claimed reaction product that does not contain any structural units derived from either barbituric acid or isocyanuric acid. See paragraph nos. 3, 5, and 7-8, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark F. Huff can be reached on (571) 272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 4, 2026.